User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2917 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    According to most reviews, this game should be something like the gamer's paradise, well actually its purgatory or worse. I really cant understand why should I prefer it in comparison with such titles as The Witcher, Dragon Knight Saga (that was really fun to play !) or even good old Dungeon Master. I can compare it to watching a movie, separated by short sequences of "tactical" combat inAccording to most reviews, this game should be something like the gamer's paradise, well actually its purgatory or worse. I really cant understand why should I prefer it in comparison with such titles as The Witcher, Dragon Knight Saga (that was really fun to play !) or even good old Dungeon Master. I can compare it to watching a movie, separated by short sequences of "tactical" combat in which Im supposed to metaprogram my companions behavior according to conditions of my or enemy's or ally's parameters. Seems good idea, but sadly, In practice I found this concept really boring. I have to all the time rearrange my "tactical" companion script with every new spell or skill and troubleshooting it through combat. I found this so very uncool, that I really just pray for end of it wave after wave of hurlocks genlocks nad other locks, so i would be able to see another cut scene of the plot. I tried to play this game twice, around 20 hours or so, but in the end I fell asleep somewhere around or after Loithering village. I cant give this movie more than 3 points, just for the work of programmers, sorry. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    1
    I could not get into this game, no matter how hard I tried to like it. The game graphics are horrible to look at even on max settings, the battle is slow and boring, the story might be good but i just could not deal with the other issues to get into it.
  3. Nov 5, 2010
    1
    I bought this game because of the rave reviews and because I loved Oblivion - I naively imagined that the role-playing fantasy genre would have developed a good deal further in five years. Instead, I felt I'd gone back in time, not forward - Dragon Age felt more like my old Amiga games than a state-of-the-art PC game. I gave up after a few hours - never to return.
  4. Feb 20, 2011
    1
    What a completly horrible interface. Worst possible combat ui ever! If your a fan of being attacked by things you can't see because of the terrain overlapping the enemy and the ui unable to rotate it then this is the game for you! Anything remotely close to the Baldur's Gate combat ui would have been preferable. I bought this game due to the high rating and am stunned that so many findWhat a completly horrible interface. Worst possible combat ui ever! If your a fan of being attacked by things you can't see because of the terrain overlapping the enemy and the ui unable to rotate it then this is the game for you! Anything remotely close to the Baldur's Gate combat ui would have been preferable. I bought this game due to the high rating and am stunned that so many find this not only an acceptable game, but a good one. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    I've been a big fan of Bioware ever since the first Baldur's Gate game out. It truly saddens me to see them release this pile of crap. There is nothing I like about this game. The graphics look like the game could've been on the PS2. The combat and whole gameplay has a derpy feeling in it. The story is aimed for babbies. Deleting negative reviews, really now Bioware?
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    3
    I wanted to like this game, I really did. However, I had the same experience with this game as I did with Mass Effect. After about 10 hours, I felt like I was just playing Knights of the Old Republic all over again. However, this game's major saving grace was that the storyline was much more interesting and involved; it's typical dark fantasy stuff, but it had an interesting spin byI wanted to like this game, I really did. However, I had the same experience with this game as I did with Mass Effect. After about 10 hours, I felt like I was just playing Knights of the Old Republic all over again. However, this game's major saving grace was that the storyline was much more interesting and involved; it's typical dark fantasy stuff, but it had an interesting spin by including a nod to real-world Middle Ages politics in the form of an all-powerful church and the existence of slave labor; that bit of mythology was interesting. However, after over 30 hours of play, I stopped caring. Novel ideas were quickly abandoned and there were no new narrative developments or interesting new characters after a while; in fact, there was one character who was so incredibly boring I just kicked him out of my party. Add this to the fact that, despite some new narrative spins, DA:O still managed to implement every single fantasy RPG cliche (not to mention well rehashed BioWare plot devices) into the first two-thirds of the game. As for the game play, I grew tired of a camera that never seemed to be where I needed it to be and AI partners that either never did exactly what I wanted them to do. BioWare threw in a clunky tactics system that was supposed to allow for fine-tuned combat strategy, but it was too complicated to be useful and never really translate into any useful AI actions for me. Not to mention that the endless dialogue trees never felt like they had any actual impact on the game, nor did I ever feel as if my character had any true personality. I really don't understand why this game got the incredible reviews it did and why people love it so much; it's a tired, recycled template with some new modifiers and prettier graphics slapped on it. Time would be better spent reading George R. R. Martin.â Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2011
    4
    Very big let down. I should let you know I have never played any othe RPG other than Chrono Trigger (SNES) and Final Fantasy VII (PS1). PROS: The voice acting was incredible for a few characters, and I loved how characters within the party interacted with each other. The conversations were witty and modernized, the humor was not stale at all. The variety of the quests was predictable, butVery big let down. I should let you know I have never played any othe RPG other than Chrono Trigger (SNES) and Final Fantasy VII (PS1). PROS: The voice acting was incredible for a few characters, and I loved how characters within the party interacted with each other. The conversations were witty and modernized, the humor was not stale at all. The variety of the quests was predictable, but still entertaining. I enjoyed the storylines much more than I expected I would due to some of the criticisms here. CONS: Coming from first person shooters, I like to play games in real time and even on normal difficulty some of the combat was impossible to perform in real time in order to survive. The fact that most crowd damage spells are friendly fire capable means that you have to position your party well...something that is impossible in real time. "Tanking" does not work, your party will still head straight for the enemies and your "meat shield" pretty much whacks away with useless damage done. Chain-chugging potions to stay alive or restore mana is extremely boring and demotivating. "Tactics" scripting does not work at all; it is a result of very poor AI in the programming. You may enjoy this game it you are familiar with the genre, but expect frustration and displeasure if you like to play games in real time. Expand
  8. May 6, 2011
    4
    At the core, it's a movie. You get to create a character from some limited options, play a 'beginning' that has a scripted result every time, and which has no effect on what happens later. Most dialog is like that, hinting that it has an effect but in reality the same things occur no matter what you say. After you learn this, the invasive dialog prompts become a waste of time. I put inAt the core, it's a movie. You get to create a character from some limited options, play a 'beginning' that has a scripted result every time, and which has no effect on what happens later. Most dialog is like that, hinting that it has an effect but in reality the same things occur no matter what you say. After you learn this, the invasive dialog prompts become a waste of time. I put in probably 20 hours, always getting to the same point and dieing because my AI is so poor. And I wasn't even that far into the game, since with all the dialog and prompts, the game moves at a snail's pace. The dialog is good, and characters developed, but BioWare just needs to give up and make movies, because these games are just time consumers and disgraces to their genres. No open world, no real choices, 3 classes, long loading screens at every room, and a game world that is made up of a bunch of rooms... this is a joke of an RPG, and shows that BioWare is truly overrated. Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    I wanted to go this far and write a review to let people know to stay away from this game, like most of you I read the reviews and gave this game a chance, I must say this game will make you pull your hair out, got pretty far in the game and it was not even fun, you spend most of your time dying, trying different strategies to defeat your opponents, what makes it so hard is AI is soI wanted to go this far and write a review to let people know to stay away from this game, like most of you I read the reviews and gave this game a chance, I must say this game will make you pull your hair out, got pretty far in the game and it was not even fun, you spend most of your time dying, trying different strategies to defeat your opponents, what makes it so hard is AI is so horrible, people here aren't lying its really bad, midway through the game and Im still wondering when Ill get some armor to compensate on some battles where I fight 20 enemies at once or an overblown boss. I suggest you buy this game when its 10 dollars and spend the rest of the money on beer just so you'll manage to ignore all the flaws in this game. Buyer Beware. Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This game has NO HEART in it. The world is boring. No NPC to talk to. Full of one liners. All you do is stare at the mini map and follow in one direction towards the marker. There is no exploration. There is no good loot. In fact they made it easy by letting you find a bunch of junk items and a "SELL ALL JUNK" when visiting a merchant. What's the point of picking up junks simplyThis game has NO HEART in it. The world is boring. No NPC to talk to. Full of one liners. All you do is stare at the mini map and follow in one direction towards the marker. There is no exploration. There is no good loot. In fact they made it easy by letting you find a bunch of junk items and a "SELL ALL JUNK" when visiting a merchant. What's the point of picking up junks simply for selling? Normally junk is considered items you end up not using but could be used if you had plans or skills for it. They really took the "role playing" out of RPG. All that left really is just a vanilla game. You cannot customize your party equipment. You are forced into using certain roles for your companion if you want to maximize their potential. The actions of this game also go so fast that it feels like you're in a freaking shooter game with the ability to pause. Don't get me started on the DLC money making scheme either ... ... and be careful with these reviews. Google "dragon age Chris Hoban" and see for yourself. This game should rank somewhere in the low 7s as average score due to the graphics. Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    I'm a Bioware fan-boy so it's difficult for me to admit just how bad this game is. But when I'm honest with myself I have to admit it's a bad game. It just is. It's difficult to point out where it all went wrong. Maybe they just tried too hard. Maybe they thought the name alone would sell it. I don't know.

    The story is totally non-compelling. The combat system is horrible and there
    I'm a Bioware fan-boy so it's difficult for me to admit just how bad this game is. But when I'm honest with myself I have to admit it's a bad game. It just is. It's difficult to point out where it all went wrong. Maybe they just tried too hard. Maybe they thought the name alone would sell it. I don't know.

    The story is totally non-compelling. The combat system is horrible and there is just way too much combat that doesn't advance the story. The personalities of the NPCs are mostly uninspiring. The only reason I don't give it a zero is because I think it retains Bioware's solid production values. Very few bugs.
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2011
    1
    Is that really a 2009 game ? Limited area of play, bad AI, no way to get out of dialog when you want to (have to click, click and click), so so graphic . I tried to like it ! When you get some action, it's only to get bored . I wont buy another game from Bioware . If you like watching a movie go ahead . If not, stay away .
  13. Apr 3, 2011
    3
    I really want to like this game, i really do but there is one critical flaw that bioware made. THE GAME IS TO DAM DIFFICULT! There so much good in the game, but the difficulty just makes me hate it so much. Even on easy your gonna have a nightmare trying to win large fights,and by large fights i mean more than 5 enemies at one time. You enter these large fights, your party lasts about 1I really want to like this game, i really do but there is one critical flaw that bioware made. THE GAME IS TO DAM DIFFICULT! There so much good in the game, but the difficulty just makes me hate it so much. Even on easy your gonna have a nightmare trying to win large fights,and by large fights i mean more than 5 enemies at one time. You enter these large fights, your party lasts about 1 minute, your left alone and eventually get piled. You die and you are knocked back about 30 minutes worth of playing. You lose all the xp and items you gained and you have to do it all again.Cant enjoy it, at all. Mass effect was done much better, this just feels half ass compared to the effort put in mass effect. Expand
  14. Aug 20, 2011
    0
    Absolutely terrible combat I am properly disgusted that developers would think this would be a good combat system in this day and age! Just stand there and watch your character and an enemy stand there and take turns hitting each other, what is this Runescape? If you want to play a half decent RPG play Mass Effect or The Witcher 2, at least you will be able to actually take control ofAbsolutely terrible combat I am properly disgusted that developers would think this would be a good combat system in this day and age! Just stand there and watch your character and an enemy stand there and take turns hitting each other, what is this Runescape? If you want to play a half decent RPG play Mass Effect or The Witcher 2, at least you will be able to actually take control of combat and actually do something rather than sit back and helplessly watch your characters die. Expand
  15. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    I'm disappointed. I guess I was expecting too much from this game. I can't help but notice that "Dragon Age" is nothing more than "Neverwinter Nights" with a new graphic engine. I've been playing "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" for a while and I can say that it humiliates "Dragon Age" in every aspect.
    This game is so tatty that I can't understand its fame. As far as I've seen, it has a
    I'm disappointed. I guess I was expecting too much from this game. I can't help but notice that "Dragon Age" is nothing more than "Neverwinter Nights" with a new graphic engine. I've been playing "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" for a while and I can say that it humiliates "Dragon Age" in every aspect.
    This game is so tatty that I can't understand its fame. As far as I've seen, it has a weak/childish story, poor character depth (if any), it still uses the "Neverwinter Nights" command/navigation systems,and its graphic engine, however improved, is already obsolete.

    In one word: Disappointing.
    Expand
  16. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    This game sucks.
    I must have played a completely different game that the rest of the people who enjoyed this game. Everything in this game was a grind.
    I found none of the characters (Sten kinda grew on me) enjoyable. What's with the 10,000,000 gallons of blood on everything all the time? Dialogs were drawn out long winded whining. Did I miss the part in Superman where he had to
    This game sucks.
    I must have played a completely different game that the rest of the people who enjoyed this game. Everything in this game was a grind.
    I found none of the characters (Sten kinda grew on me) enjoyable.
    What's with the 10,000,000 gallons of blood on everything all the time?
    Dialogs were drawn out long winded whining.
    Did I miss the part in Superman where he had to deliver groceries to little old ladies to gain valuable experience?
    My character is a Grey Warden... not Fedex. Have someone else deliver the message!

    What's with the endless quantity of ho-hum quests?
    Seriously, you want me to go the forest and shoot a flaming arrow? You mean the forest where I just slaughtered everything but the squirrels? You are too scared to go in there now? but you are willing to talk to the blood drenched group that just emerged from the woods?
    Expand
  17. Aug 17, 2010
    0
    I don't know what the deal with this game is. I can't play it at all on the easiest difficulty. Even when I do the ai is so retarded that you have to sit and hold their hand while spamming pause constantly. This should not have been labeled rpg, but small scale rts. I also don't understand how they make this game so reliant on tactics and such then throw in so many solo moments.
  18. Aug 17, 2010
    0
    Wow! This is like the most overrated game of all time. The game looks unfinished and yet the publisher has released some DLCs and even an expansion! There is still so much space for improvement! The bugs haven't even fixed! When the game released, I was like.. "Man, this game looks awesome.. Gotta buy it someday!". I waited for the game to have some discount on steam because $50 was tooWow! This is like the most overrated game of all time. The game looks unfinished and yet the publisher has released some DLCs and even an expansion! There is still so much space for improvement! The bugs haven't even fixed! When the game released, I was like.. "Man, this game looks awesome.. Gotta buy it someday!". I waited for the game to have some discount on steam because $50 was too much for a student to buy a game. A couple of months later, I got the game for 33% off, and I believe it is still not worth the money. It is a huge disappointment.

    The tactics system is Final Fantasy XII's gambit system rip-off, but it's not even better. FFXII was released like 4 years ago, but the system is still better.

    Storyline is pretty linear with boring small branches (boring side quests and stupid conversations and stupid sex scenes). I did not feel any freedom of exploring in this game. I played for like 80 hours and was always waiting for the good part, but it never came. It's not worth restarting.

    You can't even play the ranger class because of the freaking pet bugs. That is so annoying!

    This game is just a wow! I do not understand why this game has 91 metascore.
    Expand
  19. Aug 24, 2010
    0
    Generic is generic. If you're into RPGs and just want something fluffy go for this. If you want something new with an interesting and not at all cluster%&$# battle system go someplace else. If you've played a Bioware RPG just go somewhere else, you've played this game you can know the story within the first two seconds and you even know how it's going to end. I give this game a 0 out of 10Generic is generic. If you're into RPGs and just want something fluffy go for this. If you want something new with an interesting and not at all cluster%&$# battle system go someplace else. If you've played a Bioware RPG just go somewhere else, you've played this game you can know the story within the first two seconds and you even know how it's going to end. I give this game a 0 out of 10 for being cliche and generic to the point of madness, having a battle system with both fake difficulty and being totally lacking in tactics for a tactical rpg and minus further points for character options that literally have no effect at all on game play. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2010
    1
    I just played more than 40 hours and i must say i can't understand how this game could get such a high score. Graphics are okay, soundtrack too, and the first two or three hours (origins) are interesting. From there on the game becomes linear, boring and repetitive. The biggest disappointment, in my opinion, is the extremely limited freedom of action: exploration is non existing, partyI just played more than 40 hours and i must say i can't understand how this game could get such a high score. Graphics are okay, soundtrack too, and the first two or three hours (origins) are interesting. From there on the game becomes linear, boring and repetitive. The biggest disappointment, in my opinion, is the extremely limited freedom of action: exploration is non existing, party members are few and "hardcoded", the biggest city in the game contains two merchants or something like that, new locations "appear" on the map only after you pick the quest, invisible walls everywhere...Claustrophobic to say the least. Oh, and sidequests: probably the worst aspect of the whole game. Dull, linear, irrelevant. Whole areas appear out of nowhere just to let you fight useless battles for yet more useless rewards (expecially in late game). The game is pretty much all about the main story line, which although mildly interesting (up to the battle in Ostagar i was liking it), is quite generic as well (a great evil descends upon the land, a mighty hero is here to save the day). The total absence of "true" exploration, limited interaction with the outside world (whole rooms full of stuff you can't interact with) and boring and repetitive combat really kills the fun for me. And the world is SO small! i found myself travelling from the urn of ashes ruins to brecillian forest just to buy ingredients and then going back! Add to this very few npc's, a party of 4 members which you cannot evolve as you like, since if you don't follow their starting skills you basically water them down (something you simply can't afford when party is only 4 people) and basically next to no "true" secondary quests (the npc quests are really just a couple of boring dialogues to get and one or two locations you must visit to complete the whole thing), and I really wonder how it is possible that so many people are giving 90+ to this game. Considering the size (15GB!) and the year it was released i would have expected sooooo much more. There are many games that are much better, for less than half the size and without all this hype about "choices that really matter", which is plainly false. Whatever you do or say at the end of these never ending cutscenes, has very little impact in the long term, other than "good" or "evil" ending with a couple of variants. In my opinion, DaO is a huge step back in terms of rpg gaming. I just hope this is not what we will get in the years to come, although i'm afraid it is. Expand
  21. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    Extremely disappointing game. Combat is fun, but there is no where near enough. There is far too much story, which isn't even too good. The plot is confused and disjointed and the characters have no logic. The story is long, but I was too bored to get past 10 or so hours. It may have gotten more interesting after that, but I had better things to do than wait and see.
  22. Mar 21, 2011
    2
    I am a big fan of Dragon Age Origins and was very disappointed in Dragon Age 2. In Dragon Age 2 there is very limited ability to personalize your character. You can only play human and if you choose a warrior you do not have the option of utilizing two sword as you did in Dragon Age Origins. One of my largest concerns with this game is the lack of being able to read your complete dialogI am a big fan of Dragon Age Origins and was very disappointed in Dragon Age 2. In Dragon Age 2 there is very limited ability to personalize your character. You can only play human and if you choose a warrior you do not have the option of utilizing two sword as you did in Dragon Age Origins. One of my largest concerns with this game is the lack of being able to read your complete dialog prior to choosing a path. They provide two to three words to choose from and at times your dialog does not go in the direction you would like. This alone somewhat ruins the game for me. you cannot choose armor for your companions and instead can only upgrade. Different is not always better. Bioware should have stuck with what they do well, bring a great story to life allowing the player to choose their path. Dragon Age Origins is so much better than Dragon Age 2 on so many levels. Many individuals , including me, are also having difficulty getting the game to play correctly (Check out the Dragon Age 2 forum on their home page). My set up is above and beyond the recommended yet my game will slow down and lock up, especially during dialog. Check out the forums on Dragon Age 2 before purchasing, Maybe they will have a patch out shortly. If there is a Dragon Age three, they lost me at two. I will no longer preorder Bioware games until after I read reviews. Expand
  23. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game didn't aged well. after finishing skyrim and witcher 2 i just can't get myself into it. fighting system is pathetic, plot is meh at best. bunch of rednecks betraying each others. just few hours into game i already lost my entire family, home city, king and my order. it's just doesn't make any sense considering there're monsters invading my land. For example imagine 1942 Europe. Hitler is biggest threat in centuries but all of sudden uk decide to betray usa even that without them uk chances to survive.are much smaller Its just silly and unrealistic. Not to mention that my character, some unexperienced kid is leading team with senior member of my order, and gods only know how old witch. Expand
  24. Oct 11, 2014
    3
    I eagerly followed the development of this game, then hated it. It was so formulaic, unoriginal and limited. Role-playing games are about exploration and surprises. Locations were limited and the dialogue very poor, especially in comparison with The Witcher.

    I am giving it another go with all the content added.

    I am holding out for Pillars of Eternity.
  25. Jul 7, 2011
    3
    It's actually frustrating to see so many positive reviews, since when did you like unnesisary gore, guys? In this game you slice up random unnesisary creatures in the most disturbing ways known possible, be it sliced muscles, or just gore in general. The graphics are a problem to this, while the storyline is just wrong. It's unreliable, but I did find some interest in the length. TheIt's actually frustrating to see so many positive reviews, since when did you like unnesisary gore, guys? In this game you slice up random unnesisary creatures in the most disturbing ways known possible, be it sliced muscles, or just gore in general. The graphics are a problem to this, while the storyline is just wrong. It's unreliable, but I did find some interest in the length. The originality is fine. But still won't save what the game has turned out to be. Expand
  26. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    I was so overwhelmingly excited to play this game.
    I have played the Baldurs Gate series (I and II + ToB) as well as some IWD I & II, NWN I + SoU + HotU and the KotOR series, so I have experience in Bioware's CRPG genre and have always enjoyed their games.
    EA really did a good job promoting this game with the teaser trailers and their announcement that this was the spiritual successor to
    I was so overwhelmingly excited to play this game.
    I have played the Baldurs Gate series (I and II + ToB) as well as some IWD I & II, NWN I + SoU + HotU and the KotOR series, so I have experience in Bioware's CRPG genre and have always enjoyed their games.
    EA really did a good job promoting this game with the teaser trailers and their announcement that this was the spiritual successor to BG.
    But this game doesn't deserve to be on the same list as the above mentioned games because it doesn't have any of the qualities that it's predecessors. I found the story boring and linear and found the exploration of dungeons to be droll and repetitive. The spell system was ridiculously bad and the side quests were forgettable. My hate (and yes I mean hate, because I hate this game and will never ever touch this again) for this game might have been a product of over-excitement, but that fault, imo, still lies on EA's and Bioware's shoulders. I hope Bioware pulls their **** together and retracts any previous comments on the equality of this game and BG and starts developing a true successor to BG.

    Because the graphics and sound effects were fine, I will give this a score of 3 only based on these aspects of the game,

    TL;DR; Very disappointing result of something that could have been great.
    Expand
  27. Dec 2, 2013
    2
    The AI is enough to drive you insane. The amount of times I told the dumb followers to follow me only to turn round and they were nowhere to be seen.
    In combat you will spend more time telling your companions what to do then actually fighting yourself.
    I bought this expecting a cross betwenn Oblivion and Mass effect, but got a 1990s through back RPG that was neither enjoyable play or
    The AI is enough to drive you insane. The amount of times I told the dumb followers to follow me only to turn round and they were nowhere to be seen.
    In combat you will spend more time telling your companions what to do then actually fighting yourself.
    I bought this expecting a cross betwenn Oblivion and Mass effect, but got a 1990s through back RPG that was neither enjoyable play or particularly good to look at. Something went seriously awry in the development process.
    Expand
  28. Oct 3, 2014
    4
    If you're looking for an action packed, thrilling adventure that you feel completely immersed in... look elsewhere.
    The combat is pretty much in pause mode 90% of the time if you want to get anywhere in the game.
    The graphics look like they're from 2005 at best. The voice acting and character rigging are both awful in every way. The character progression doesnt feel like it has much
    If you're looking for an action packed, thrilling adventure that you feel completely immersed in... look elsewhere.
    The combat is pretty much in pause mode 90% of the time if you want to get anywhere in the game.
    The graphics look like they're from 2005 at best.
    The voice acting and character rigging are both awful in every way.

    The character progression doesnt feel like it has much meaning, most skills dont really combo with others and the passives tree(if you can call it a tree) is basically "here's the thing that lets you use that useless crap in your inventory, here's the thing the lets you steal so you can afford items etc." and you just keep making the one passive slightly better with each point, gated by your attribute points so you HAVE to build you character a certain way to a point.

    Overall, this is a rather biased opinion since i cant stand turnbased games, it is pretty much a turnbased RPG with a mediocre storyline, last decades graphics and a skill tree that has no real choice to it other than "do I get this now? or in a few hours?"
    So if you're looking for a rather slowpaced rpg where the most interesting part of the game is the ending and the rest is just wading through the rubbish left to that point... this is the game for you.
    I here Dragon Age 2 is good, ill go check that out instead
    Expand
  29. Dec 30, 2012
    3
    overhyped game, i have buyed it from the steam winter sales but the combat system of this game sucks hard, the only reason why i played this game more than 1 hour is the nice story and the nice music.
  30. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    Buggy. I have played a lot of RPGs over the last 20 years. this one is ok. It has a very predictable storyline, and a really stupid chest and lock picking system. The auto save also sucks as well This game did not click with me at all.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!