Dragon Age: Origins PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3700 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what would have happened in response had I chosen something else. The combat system is wonderful, I love the tactics involved. Although the system of pausing and issuing orders makes combat seem almost turn based in complicated situations it also feels more rewarding to me personally after having out matched my opponents on a strategic level. The only real critism I have is that outside of specialization, character customization is a bit limited, there aren't really many important talent trade offs. Any time I make a Tank character it's pretty much going to be the same build or if I make a rogue or archer or healer or mage. I would have liked it more had I been forced to choose talents that would make a more magic oriented tank or more single target oriented damage dealer etc. Maybe I was just looking for a more fleshed out specialization system. Anyway back to how awesome the game is; Dragon Age Origins is definitely a game that I recommend buying even just as a salute to the developers for great game making. Even though I haven't finished the game I already see myself spending hours and hours repeatedly playing it through with different classes and on different difficulties; and even now I feel a bit anxieous that I might finish it too soon and have to dread waiting for a new expansion or sequel. Expand
  2. andrzejr
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Love it. I'm enjoying this way more than Baldur's Gate, and I was very happy with that one. This is definitely a successor to that in every way that matters and then some. Too bad all the console gamers won't get to enjoy the visual beauty that the pc version offers.
  3. Mark
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I found the whole concept rather tedious. After my friend saying that he was pretty jazzed about getting this game, I vowed to give it an honest try. By the time I'd finished the origin portion of the game, I was completely hooked. The voice acting is excellent for the most part, and the graphics are pretty good, although the PC version requirements seem to be considerably high for the graphics quality. My son has no trouble with playing it with his dual core AMD CPU, but he has a pretty good graphics card. I guess the best thing I could say about the game, is that I don't want it to end. After playing for more than 50 hours I still have a way to go before finishing my first play through. I will play it through again after giving it a break for a couple of months, and try my hand at a different class of character. That must tell you something. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    The best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving thisThe best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving this game a poor score. Beyond being a sublime game, dragon age origins pushes the boundaries of emotion, choice, and freedom within gaming. DAO doesn't simply faithfully receive Baldur's Gate II's mantle of best game out there, it rips that mante from BG2's cold, dead hands, then uses it as a weapon to single handedly enslave every other game in existence. Expand
  5. KennethR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just by making quick guesses. No graphic sex? Duh, read the label it reads "Partial Nudity". It's obviously a PC game? You Xbox and PS don't know what a relief it is not to have some dumbed-down version of a game made to suit those who don't have a mouse. One day, we'll actually be able to type letters in. (Again) The biggest con is the load times...I have RAID, without it, there's occasionally enough time to make a quick sandwich. Small potatos. Expand
  6. LeahR
    Dec 26, 2009
    3
    Most overrated RPG of the year. The AI is terrible. Left alone, it will either sit around doing nothing, which means you go nowhere if you've chosen to play a ranged or back-line support class--or else it will rush blindly into enemies, leaving you to perform damage control and clean up behind as it continues to charge forward without pause. If you play on anything above casual Most overrated RPG of the year. The AI is terrible. Left alone, it will either sit around doing nothing, which means you go nowhere if you've chosen to play a ranged or back-line support class--or else it will rush blindly into enemies, leaving you to perform damage control and clean up behind as it continues to charge forward without pause. If you play on anything above casual difficulty, you'll fight the AI every step of the way and end up having to constantly micromanage your party. The game offers "tactics" slots which you can use to assign conditional behavior patterns to NPC teammates, e.g. "Heal yourself if your health gets below X%," yet for some insane reason, you have to spend skill points to unlock these tactics slots. Essentially, you must spend skill points to make the AI slightly less stupid. The tactics also need far more flexibility and generality, e.g. "Use any debuff skill not on cooldown" instead of "Use specific skill X." Because of this, the tactics end up being mostly useless on harder difficulty levels and require you to micromanage the team anyway. On top of these gameplay issues, DAO has a ridiculous amount of dialogue, even by Bioware's verbose standards. It's well-written dialogue, for the most part--but it's still redundant jawing. Too much of the narrative is talked about rather than shown in action. This tendency to tell rather than show has been creeping deeper into each successive Bioware game for years, but it feels like DAO finally crossed the line into self-indulgent writing. Ultimately, the game is simply formulaic: it's the same linear, on-rails RPG with the same linear, on-rails dialogue "choices" which are supposed to give us the illusion of making moral decisions in tense, finely-shaded conflicts. Bioware has been making this same well- (if over-) written, painstakingly-realized, yet ultimately stultifying and narratively-funneled game for years. While playing, I kept thinking how cinematic the game felt, and how much more I would have enjoyed it as an animated film, or a novel. Dragon Age: Origins is a throwback RPG addled by last-gen gameplay and self-indulgent, tedious writing. Expand
  7. DmanG
    Feb 14, 2010
    8
    An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate grinding more than anything in the world, so I loved this "feature". The other people who will probably not like this game are the hardcore D&D fans. Much of the nuances of D&D are not in this game, and for me that is welcome. I don't think walking empty fields in games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 is fun, granted that every once and awhile you find a "cool" hidden area or side quest, its not worth the time, for some mundane quest with little to nothing to do with the storyline. Every quest in Dragon Age, down to the leveling "Request Board" quests, are expertly crafted into the main plot and often branching. No, there are no find the +16 mace in the randomly generated dungeon with the same enemies you have been fighting for the last 120 hours...and I'm fine, no I'm ecstatic, about that. I play a game to enjoy it, but to complete it in a "timely" fashion, so I can move on to the next game. For me, games like Diablo and Neverwinter nights cheaply increased there length with pointless side-quests or by including equally mundane multiplayer, and I don't understand how they can be fun other then by the mind trick they employ, of using a gauged-reward system (similar to what you find with slot machines in a Casino). Dragon Age trims the fat, and while there is plenty to explore, a after-work gamer will still be able to beat it (for the first time) in a month or 2 and probably a month if you want a second go...which for me, is perfect. But don't get me wrong, this isn't halo were you can beat the game with your eyes closed, on the normal difficulty the game is challenging and will require you to think, which I really enjoyed. I logged 45 satisfied hours at my first run, and after beating some of the new games that are out. I will most surely give it another go. 3 major problems though. 1. the DLC sucks, i got all 3 and they were all a waste of money, they are also integrated into the main game so much that you feel almost as if you "have" to do them...they are all skip-able. 2. To many pointless NPC interactions, half the time you can give 2 different responses and get the exact same answer, I'm not a real "role-player" maybe if you are one, this makes the game more "realistic" but for me, it was just annoying. 3. The game has memory leaks, if you sit for a long session the loading times get longer and longer and longer, this is fixed by a restart of the game, but an annoying problem never-the-less Highly Recommend for any normal gamer like me, who enjoys a well thought out, well put together game for (I can't after reading the other reviews on here emphasize this enough) NORMAL people. Expand
  8. N.V.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in this game now, wich results in nearly 100 hours a week. Expand
  9. ChuckS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so I could save and replay that moment again. If this is what I get in the first day of play, I lick my chops at the prospect of what follows. Expand
  10. TomB.
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    An incredible game. At the end of the third decade of PC gaming, a near perfect role playing game was delivered to us gamers. Superb and intuitive game controls (on the PC) combined with a way to tell the stories that I am surprised again and again.
  11. JanX
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would have worked differently without EA" - but the world they created is so vivid and believable you instantly become immersed in it and want to play it again several times with different characters, because it will be a whole different experience depending on your race, class and good/evil alignment. Expand
  12. TobiasB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    If you enjoy classic RPG gameplay, then you will love this fabulous game. Great story telling, combat, graphics and more. The only complaint is that the interface could be slightly improved, but outside of that it's near perfection. If you are an ADD twitch FPS type gamer, this is not for you.
  13. CerealLover
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and stop". If you DO have lots of time on your hands though, totally go for the game. The story will suck you in. Expand
  14. Zac
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Incredible RPG experience, they story is compelling and the decisions you make effect the outcomes making for a very satisfying experience. Party interactions are very amusing at times, and add to the overall atmosphere of the game, really making it come alive.
  15. Tom01255
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Traditional RPGs seem to have fallen out of favour of late. Whilst turn based games have almost certainly seen their demise on main stream consoles and PCs; replaced with their action-RPG counterparts, there seem to have been even fewer Baldur
  16. AustinM
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long loading times and somewhat subpar graphics. But honestly, those will matter so little to you as soon as you hear your characters exchange a few pieces of witty dialog (mix and match your party members for some absolutely hilarious exchanges, Alistar and Morigran and Lelina and Sten have particularly funny bits) that they do not impact the game at all. A 9.5 at the least. Expand
  17. ironmike
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    A game that doesn't "go with the flow": it's very long, difficult and with a story and characters well made...casual players please stay away.
  18. Jet
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Just stopping by to say that DA rocks! If you love old BG series and the witcher, you'll bathe in sunlight in this latest title from Bioware.
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is the best Rpg game that i have ever played, and i have played many rpgs like : gothic,diablo,elder scrolls,dungeon siege,mass effect,fallout and many more, but none of them made me lose track of time or being so fascinated by the world which they delivered like Dragon Age Origins. This game is my most favorite game and i can't even explain of how amazing this game is.Dragon Age Origins is the best Rpg game that i have ever played, and i have played many rpgs like : gothic,diablo,elder scrolls,dungeon siege,mass effect,fallout and many more, but none of them made me lose track of time or being so fascinated by the world which they delivered like Dragon Age Origins. This game is my most favorite game and i can't even explain of how amazing this game is. The story is amazing one of the best which i experienced, the gameplay is very unique and i guess some will not like the gameplay but for me the gameplay was perfect, character are funny,amusing,interesting and very easy to like, the graphic for me is very beautiful and i didn't encounter any bugs or any kind of technical issue. All the rpg elements like customization,dialogue,exploration,side missions,items and inventory,skills,abilities,experience and levels all of that is executed perfectly. In the end the only thing i can say about Dragon Age Origins that this is the best game i have ever played in my life Expand
  20. Macca
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really I tend to review games I play once I've played about 50% the way through. I reserved my judgement on DAO until I completed it. The first thing i'd say is that this game is definately the best RPG on release at this moment. With a few more games coming out here in 2010, fans of this genre are in for some good times, and if you haven't yet played this game then you really should. Graphically, if you have a high end card and a halfway decent CPU then you are in for a visual treat. I played 50% of this game on an 8800gtx and the last 50% on an ATI 5870. The difference between the two allowed me to max out my screen at 1920x1200 and also max out all the settings in-game and whack on some AA. The game looked amazing. Not to say the ageing 8800 couldn't handle it, because it could, but I had to play it in 1680x1050 and lower some of the settings. The game has a main storyline which is a bit Lord of the Rings, but without the rings, and the mass of orcs replaced by Darkspawn, which in essence are the same kind of thing, basically marauding humanoids hellbent on wiping out humanity, which is kind of ironic. To achieve your goals you will have to take part in a series of subplots, which in themselves are rather epic in scale. Tie this in with a large dose of sidequests and you will soon find yourself overwhelmed with quests in your log. So, where does DAO drop from a 10 to a 9? Well, as i'm sure others have mentioned, sometimes the sidequests are very "chorelike" and you can find yourself quickly being taken away from the main objectives you want to achieve for large chunks of time. If you become addicted to the game and play for 5-6 hours solid per session, you could end up sporadically feeling that you haven't achieved much in the session. I myself, played some days like that, and other days I would play for an hour or two, and some days I'd leave it alone completely. When coming back to it, I would feel refreshed and ready to plough on. As for difficulty, playing the game on it's default level is a real challenge for many players i'm sure. Being an old timer myself, and having played too many RPG's to list, I found the challenge on the default setting just right. I died in places I expected to once stepping into a fight I knew were going to require a learning curve to beat, and once beat, I felt a real sense of achievement. Fortunately the combat mechanics in DAO are very well implemented. The tactics you can give to your team are in depth, and the game provides easy to use setups should you not want to spend time mastering your own tactics for each character. The game comes with DLC that you can purchase for a reasonable cost, and if you didn't get the deluxe version that comes with most of it, then buying it is definately something you want to do, especially Soldier's Peak which provides you with a chest for storage. From start to finish, Dragon Age Origins is a masterpiece on the PC. It has very few technical issues (at least on my machine), and plays smoothly. A definate recommendation. Expand
  21. MarkS
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few Actually I'd like to rate this at a 9.5, but I can't give it a 10. This, from what I've read is old school type of RPG. This is different from Oblivion, which for newcomers to the RPG type game, was very easy to pick up. Dragon Age: Origins (DAO) has a different mechanic than that of Oblivion and Fallout 3. At first I found it intimidating, but now with more than just a few hours under my belt, I'm really into this game. The quests come in fast and furious and the main story line and voice acting are excellent. The combat is fun as well, once you get a handle on the controls, and setting up your party. I guess you could blow through the campaign just to get to the end as fast as you can, but I'm enjoying the atmosphere of the game. The dialoge between your party members while you walk adds to the community feeling within a single player game. A tutorial would have been nice, but thankfully both my sons are old pros at these games and I now no longer need their help (errr. . .for the basics. . .) A really good game and I highly recommend it to even non-RPG players. Put an effort into learning the game mechanics, and you may enjoy it more than Oblivion Expand
  22. MK
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them Ok, I ve been playing the game for 8-9 hours straight. The first impression is that it is a solid, well thought out, with good graphics and a very (very) interesting story with many turns in the plot old school RPG. I haven't been this exhilarated with an RPG since BGII almost a decade ago. Some say about the graphics that are dated, in my opinion there is no such issue. I find them way better than most recent RPGs out there. Innovations, there are a couple (one is the use of tactics and tactic slots) but not many to make the game a breakthrough in the genre. The gameplay is one of the bes with, old Bioware-Activision top notch dialogues, a very helpful and immersive CODEX (a kind of encyclopedia), almost real characters and a very helpful UI and intuitive interaction menus. All in all, for me, a great and classic game. Expand
  23. RutgerV
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Been playing this for a few days now and I got the same rare captivating magic feeling as I did with The Witcher, Elder Scrolls, and Fallout3. What an excellently detailed game in every aspect. This game breathes developer's dedication. Nice work EA/Bioware. Worth every cent.
  24. AlexR
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    No matter the frustrations one might feel with the game's flaws (ie. the over-hyped choice-and-consequence factor, the sometimes creepy "uncanny-valley" problems with NPCs, the familiar "hero vs.a- threat-everyone-else-is-not-taking seriously" plot, the cut-scene graphical issues like characters' hands going through bodies and facial hair floating away from the face or No matter the frustrations one might feel with the game's flaws (ie. the over-hyped choice-and-consequence factor, the sometimes creepy "uncanny-valley" problems with NPCs, the familiar "hero vs.a- threat-everyone-else-is-not-taking seriously" plot, the cut-scene graphical issues like characters' hands going through bodies and facial hair floating away from the face or disappearing through fabric, etc.), the game is still the best RPG of 2009. What technical glitches or loading screens that annoy the player is more than compensated for by the characters the PC encounters and the emotions they can draw from him/her. These emotions are what Molyneaux, of the Fable franchise, tried to coax out of the players, but failed to do so. Dragon Age makes you care for your companions, who get mad at you for doing something stupid and who may develop change-of-hearts due to you nourishing your relationships with. This is what role-playing should be able to do: make you care for the people you meet and the world you are in. Of course, you can also choose not care. You can frustrate your companions, anger them until some are forced to draw their weapons against you. You can damn the world by electing poor leaders, or massacring groups of people, or dooming souls for your benefit. That is something this game does well, the element of role-playing. In the end, as far as the year has gone, no other game executes the same element as well as Dragon Age does. That's why there is no denying it is the best 2009 has to offer in RPGs, even the naysayers and flamers have no coherent argument to the contrary. Expand
  25. BradG
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    I think its important to put the game into the proper context. To contest some of the negative user reviews and forewarn potential buyers, you're not buying something akin to Diablo or The Elder Scrolls here. Dragon Age follows the tradition of relatively linear, but well told role playing adventures like Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. Be prepared for a complex story I think its important to put the game into the proper context. To contest some of the negative user reviews and forewarn potential buyers, you're not buying something akin to Diablo or The Elder Scrolls here. Dragon Age follows the tradition of relatively linear, but well told role playing adventures like Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. Be prepared for a complex story and great character development (in terms of loot, stats, and stories), not a big free-roaming world or endless waves of monsters to click on. There are plenty of side quests and places to wander off the beaten path, but the game generally keeps you focused on the central plot. With that in mind, Dragon Age is a truly epic game. Bioware have gone from developing excellent games in other people's universes to producing equally excellent titles with completely new worlds to support them. If you can stomach some serious micromanaging and almost as much dialogue as gameplay, don't pass this title up. Its the best RPG I've played since... well... the last Bioware title. Expand
  26. MikeH
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    One thing is pretty clear to me after reading most of the user reviews in which the score given was 4 or under; the person doing the reviewing in most cases wanted a simple MMO, or a hack-n-slash no brainer, and has no idea what goes into making an RPG deep and meaningful. Nor do they have any idea of what it means to be objective as a reviewer, which really has nothing to do with whether One thing is pretty clear to me after reading most of the user reviews in which the score given was 4 or under; the person doing the reviewing in most cases wanted a simple MMO, or a hack-n-slash no brainer, and has no idea what goes into making an RPG deep and meaningful. Nor do they have any idea of what it means to be objective as a reviewer, which really has nothing to do with whether or not the game suits your personal tastes, yet none of these mmo and/or console generation fanboys seem to understand that simple concept. The fact is that Dragon Age is a very well made game, with a few minor bugs and glitches that would be expected in a release of this size. The combat system resembles a Baldur's Gate/NWN hybrid, but puts a simpler spin on the more complex DnD rules that were used by DA's aforementioned predecessors. This is not to say that combat doesn't require some micromanagement, because it does, and combat throughout is not meant to be rushed into mindlessly, guns blazing. This isn't God of War, it's an actual RPG, tactical thought will be required. Anyone turned off by that notion shouldn't be playing the game to begin with. Bioware does a great job in getting back to what made the genre itself so powerful with past titles, and created an RPG that is a ROLE playing game, not a ROLL playing game. This game features less min/maxing and damage meter watching, and focuses more on story and deep meaningful character development. Whether you like that or not depends on your own tastes as a gamer, but if the past is any indicator of success, the deep and ongoing story will be what truly continues to drive the franchise, beyond just this opening act. One thing that continued to surprise me during my time with this title was the codex, as simple a concept as it is, the depth of the lore and backstory is unparalleled in any recent undertaking, even by Bioware. Anyone who has played video games in the last decade has most likely heard of Bioware, and anyone familiar with their previous titles knows that dialogue will be a focal point of the game. Traditional multiple choice response interface follows, but the game does begin to make you feel as though your responses, as well as your actions will ultimately have an effect somewhere down the line in the story. This may not always be the case, but even the fact that this is a possibility makes the experience a much more conscious and relevant one. The game is not perfectly realized however, as level design does see a bit of staleness, and graphics feel very dated. These things do not detract from the experience as much as they would with smaller caliber titles however, and the scope of story and development still shine through the dull exterior colors. It would have been nice to see a bit more item variation within the game as well. Crafting becomes dependent on a very few important reagents, rather than having the more complex and powerful craftables require more work. There is too much in this game to go over at once, but these were just a few of the more relevant points of note. Overall, if you truly enjoy a story driven RPG, and you aren't put off by a lot of dialogue or combat micromanagement, this game is absolutely worth your time, and despite it's long playtime with all the side quests, will keep you coming back to get your money's worth for multiple plays through and future DLC and expansions. In a very thin and watered down gaming market, this was an actual bright spot, a shining beacon of hope for a genre that is being killed by the disposable MMO and the typical console gamer. One of the best new titles of 2009. Expand
  27. JohnL
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Dragon Age is a serious update to the old-skool Bauldur's Gate style of play and while it definitely follows in the footsteps of BG and takes its story cues from the likes of Lord Of The Rings, it also manages to have its own identity via little touches in the back story as well as gameplay enhancements. It's not perfect, but it is very very good.
  28. ToddR
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Awesome story, decisions come back to bite you in the rear end. Diverse back stories. Endings are totally flexible depending on choices made during game play. Engaging plot and characters. Would have given a 10, but AI, even with the scripting tool, was clunky and not exactly trustworthy.
  29. JonD
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is a very big and elaborate game. There are a lot of cutscenes, quantity enough to be imbalanced at first, but once you get deep enough into it--hours into the game--the actual gameplay finally balances out. I never played Baldur's Gate 2 so I can't compare to that, but the game does remind me a lot of Oblivion in some ways, at least as far as NPC interactions go, outside This is a very big and elaborate game. There are a lot of cutscenes, quantity enough to be imbalanced at first, but once you get deep enough into it--hours into the game--the actual gameplay finally balances out. I never played Baldur's Gate 2 so I can't compare to that, but the game does remind me a lot of Oblivion in some ways, at least as far as NPC interactions go, outside of party interactions. You might call it a cross between Mass Effect in interactions+exploring+fighting gameplay style, Oblivion in setting style, and some 2D RPGs like Neverwinter Nights in party-forming and DA's optional overhead isometric viewing (perhaps this is where Balders Gate 2 comes in? .. I wouldn't know). I do have a complaint about some of the textures, some of them look and feel awfully low-res, but they're at least made up for with lots of hi-res ones. The actual gameplay is fun, but the time it takes to level my main character up enough to have more than three or so special attacks is arduous. Overall, it's a great game. I only play AAA top-notch games anymore these days--too little time to play the merely "good" games--so the fact that I'm still playing Dragon Age should say a lot. Expand
  30. Duncan
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    Been playing this all night and now it's 7 in the morning. Probably not very wise, but very enjoyable. One of the most epic, funny, moving, fun, intelligent games I have had the pleasure of playing. I love Bioware's stuff, loved KOTOR, Mass Effect, but this, I think, is something else. They've captured something truly epic here. I'll just say the word epic again, but Been playing this all night and now it's 7 in the morning. Probably not very wise, but very enjoyable. One of the most epic, funny, moving, fun, intelligent games I have had the pleasure of playing. I love Bioware's stuff, loved KOTOR, Mass Effect, but this, I think, is something else. They've captured something truly epic here. I'll just say the word epic again, but in caps: EPIC. It's like being in the lord of the rings. Expand
  31. AlexG.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Though I do not believe this game to be flawless, I hold it's score much nearer 10 than 9. Engaging storyline, captivating characters, fantastic moral decisions, etc etc. Put simply, everyone who loves, or even just likes RPGs should play Dragon Age: Origins.
  32. MikeK
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Despite a few minor annoyances, this is by far the best fantasy RPG to come out in the last 10 years. Anyone looking for a story driven RPG should play this game. Within the first couple hours you will already be plotting your second playthough.
  33. MohJ
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game is on the top list of my favorites games ever. Listen to what I'm going to say next, and listen carefully .... I'm 20+ hours into the game and I've only completed 14% of it! 20 Bloody hours and only 14% completion and 25% world explored! Hooowaa... The only bad thing is that I have too many exams and this game isn't giving me the chance to study for them.
  34. BlaiseJ
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    I've been a long time Role Player and I must say this game boasts some of the best story telling I've ever seen in a game. Coupled with excellent character development and great game play this is not a title you want to pass up.
  35. TimJ.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    The RPG ive been waiting for since I saw the end-credits roll on Baldurs Gate 2. Although only about 8 hours in, Its an incredible experience. A few minor glitches, but nothing that detracts from it being the best game from Bioware in a long time. Heres to more adventures into the amazing world of Dragon Age! Cheers!
  36. NathanT
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Wow this game just keeps getting better and better as I play it and am only 10+ hours in. The combat is a challenge but that is a good thing. And I find as I play it more I understand the way my party is set up to fight and how to approach groups of enemies without having to waste all my pots to stay up. The combat is something that will take many many hours to get really good at and Wow this game just keeps getting better and better as I play it and am only 10+ hours in. The combat is a challenge but that is a good thing. And I find as I play it more I understand the way my party is set up to fight and how to approach groups of enemies without having to waste all my pots to stay up. The combat is something that will take many many hours to get really good at and almost impossible to completely master. Like some reviews say, this is the best RPG of the decade. GOTY contender along with borderlands and UC2. Expand
  37. JamesC
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Dragon Age is an amazing game. That is no doubt. The voice-work is top notch and the story is immersive and very well written. Every character you encounter, from the lowly guard to the players in your party, has a unique attitude. Interacting with these characters can be a challenge if you're trying to be the 'good guy' because a lot of the choices are unclear as to being Dragon Age is an amazing game. That is no doubt. The voice-work is top notch and the story is immersive and very well written. Every character you encounter, from the lowly guard to the players in your party, has a unique attitude. Interacting with these characters can be a challenge if you're trying to be the 'good guy' because a lot of the choices are unclear as to being right or wrong. Do you kill the child and slay the demon with it or do you sacrifice his mother to save the boy? To make matters more confusing are the extremely different perspectives of your party and how they think of you for doing certain things. Trying to balance a happy party is tough work but with a little help from gifts you acquire along the way, it is feesable to make most of your party pleased with you. Combat is challenging to say the least. Managing your partys actions in combat can be a chore at times. You have very limited combat tactics slots to start with and even as you gain more, you get more and more skills along the way to fill up those few slots. Leaving your team to do their own thing works for the most part using this system but to kill harder foes, you'll more than likely need to take control of them manually in order to access all of their abilities. And trust me, you'll need to use all of the tricks up their sleaves. The mosters of DA:O are no push overs. These aren't your run-of-the-mill RPG trash monsters you crush for XP and money; every battle counts. Even early on you'll find yourself running low on health potions and such. I recommend rolling a healer to start, honestly. I started off as a 2-handed sword swinging brute and later regretted it as combat became more and more difficult without a healer to back me up in the early parts of the game. I could go on for a while about DA:O but I won't delve too much deeper on a Metacritic review. Overall the game is fantastic. Rich lore, great story, exciting (and bloody) combat, amazing sound effects (the combat sounds real), a variety of armor and weapons, skills and items, and downloadable content already out with more to come, I'm sure, make this game definately worth the price tag and then some. $50 bucks for 100 hours of gameplay with numerous endings and extremely high replayability. Can't beat that anyway you look at it. Expand
  38. sakij
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    As of this post i have been playing for 12 hours, and every minute of the game (the part where you decide just how bushie your characters eyebrows are going to be does not count) had me screaming "BWEST GAME EVAR!", the combat is smart and requires tactic and the story, even the stupid side quests that rpg's are famous for, are incredibly well written and the voice acting is superb, As of this post i have been playing for 12 hours, and every minute of the game (the part where you decide just how bushie your characters eyebrows are going to be does not count) had me screaming "BWEST GAME EVAR!", the combat is smart and requires tactic and the story, even the stupid side quests that rpg's are famous for, are incredibly well written and the voice acting is superb, even if this game removed the combat i would still give it a 9, definitely a must buy for every rpg fan out there, but if your in to straight forward action then you can do better than Dragon Age : Origins. a perfect score from me. Expand
  39. ShawnB
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Very well done. I don't have any complaints at all. Epic in scope, epic in execution. George RR Martin fans are in for a treat.. and everyone else will soon be GRRM fans... you've managed to capture what he created and expand.... bravo Bioware! Standing ovation!
  40. DaleF
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    I worked on this game, playing it as a job for the past year. Once it was released I took it home and played it as a GAME, and it's like I'm playing it for the first time, and I'm completely addicted!
  41. PeterW
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    This is my first on metacritic, but I have found this game to be so entirely amazing, I felt compelled. I am a huge rpg fan, finding them to be multiple times more stimulating than any fps. And this is the best Game I have played for a long time! The characters are diverse and intriguing, the combat is exciting and keeps it from becoming tedious due to having to think about tactics- each This is my first on metacritic, but I have found this game to be so entirely amazing, I felt compelled. I am a huge rpg fan, finding them to be multiple times more stimulating than any fps. And this is the best Game I have played for a long time! The characters are diverse and intriguing, the combat is exciting and keeps it from becoming tedious due to having to think about tactics- each fight is a real push! I haven't been this addicted to a game for a very long time! It seems that peoples only trouble is the extent to which it is an original game? My argument is that the fantasy genre has been done so many times that its hard to innovate. There is the danger of being so bogged down in doing something new that it ruins the game, the storyline becoming too convulated and weak. The game play becomes complicated in its innovation, and it becomes tedious to play. The only problem with a lack of originality is that because you have seen it all before it doesn't stimulate you. However dragon age origins doesn't have this probowm beauase it is the top pf the genre. All in all get this game you won't regret it! Expand
  42. GeoffreyG
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing. It's the same formula that made the Baldur's Gate series popular brought to a whole new level. The world is remarkable largely for it's amazing depth, and the true three dimensionality of the characters and relationships between them. Easily the best RPG of the year, and a good contender for the RPG of the decade.
  43. ChrisB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is astounding in every fashion. If you find one things wrong, there are 20 very RIGHT things to counter it. Get this game, and don't listen to the nay-sayers.
  44. AppleOrange
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    First on metacritic, but I have to point out some of these reviews are being completely unfair. This game held me attention from beggining to end, it wasn't a game where I EVER felt tired to play. From the gameplay to graphics to story, the game Bioware created is top notch, and will join the league of great games that were created by them. It is definately a must buy. Fans of RPGs First on metacritic, but I have to point out some of these reviews are being completely unfair. This game held me attention from beggining to end, it wasn't a game where I EVER felt tired to play. From the gameplay to graphics to story, the game Bioware created is top notch, and will join the league of great games that were created by them. It is definately a must buy. Fans of RPGs and strategy will extremely enjoy this game. Expand
  45. DanielB
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is a real return to form for Bioware. It's hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate in gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. It's not a simple game, by any means. I really don't understand what people are talking about when they say it's like last gen's graphics; i've got the settings This is a real return to form for Bioware. It's hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate in gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. It's not a simple game, by any means. I really don't understand what people are talking about when they say it's like last gen's graphics; i've got the settings maxed out on my pc and honestly, it's pretty stunning. Voice acting is really well done, and party members bounce off one another superbly. There have been some lines that made me laugh out loud while playing. Keeping everybody happy is proving to be quite a challenge too, much more so than Mass Effect of KOTOR were. I welcome the challenge; it makes you really consider everything you do much more carefully. Speaking of which, I've been moaning for years the polarity of 'morality choices' in these games. I applauded the initiative to make choices matter, but found the execution lacking. Everything was always 'be good' or 'be evil', with no interesting choices. Bioware have really nailed it in this game. So far, at around 30 hours into the game, I've encountered situations where there is no good or bad choice; rather I've found myself confronted by agonising decisions where there are no right answers, and every choice could conceivably have disasterous outcomes for all involved. The major decisions in this game carry a lot of weight, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how they play out through the rest of the campaign. This is the most engaging RPG i've played in nearly a decade, and although it's not perfect, and definitely not for everyone, it's a comfortable 10 from me. Expand
  46. sdOK
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Simply spectacular. I get very easily bored of tolkienesque generic fantasy settings. And this game is very much in that genre. But Dragon Age is just so superbly executed any minor quibbles are rendered irrelevant. If you like epic fantasy; this is it. Mature, intelligent and exciting. I dont think I have ever been moved by the characters in a game so much. And I would also say as an Simply spectacular. I get very easily bored of tolkienesque generic fantasy settings. And this game is very much in that genre. But Dragon Age is just so superbly executed any minor quibbles are rendered irrelevant. If you like epic fantasy; this is it. Mature, intelligent and exciting. I dont think I have ever been moved by the characters in a game so much. And I would also say as an avid and voracious reader of scifi/fantasy fiction this is the first time that I would say a game could rival a decent fantasy novel. Plus after playing the game to the conclusion with some very long sessions the game ran like a dream. Absolutely no bugs or crashes. 10/10 Expand
  47. AndiM
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Finally, an RPG without the "action" moniker stuck in front. Though there's plenty of action to be had, it's in the tactical combat and amazing story, not how fast i can press a button on my mouse.
  48. JenniferC
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    This is my kind of RPG. I love the interactive fiction/movie aspect of it. It has a very well written story, a well fleshed out world, and is a lot of fun to go through and see what other options will do for the story.
  49. ScottW
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    An epicly long campain. Be prepared to micromanage. If you're prepared to give this game a good run, don't give up early. It took me about 12 hours of gameplay to get to the point where it was no longer terrible. 40 hours in, I was really enjoying myself. By 80 hours, I was addicted. Reminiscent of a single-player World of Warcraft with more strategy involved.
  50. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best and most true RPG to date. This is/was and always will be, BioWare's best work - the best masterpiece created in video-gaming history, ever... !
  51. JamesW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Delightfully addictive, even for the most jaded gamer, despite a few minor flaws. I confess that recently I've been thinking about DA:O tactics and adventure when I should have been listening to my wife. . . apparently.
  52. AndyP.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    I've spent 36 hours on this game in the last three days. (And, by the way, I think I'm only about a third of the way through the story). If that simple fact is not recommendation enough, allow me to expand on that... although the world of Dragon Age is hardly revolutionary in its setting, it is consistent, believable and convincing. The plot and story are engrossing, the I've spent 36 hours on this game in the last three days. (And, by the way, I think I'm only about a third of the way through the story). If that simple fact is not recommendation enough, allow me to expand on that... although the world of Dragon Age is hardly revolutionary in its setting, it is consistent, believable and convincing. The plot and story are engrossing, the background is interesting, the characters (some likeable, some not) are all, well, characterful and the battle system is excellent. The interface is extremely well polished and so far I've only encountered two minor bugs. This game is polished to the nth degree. I am loving playing it and expect to be spending time on it for a while to come. I cannot recommend this game enough. Expand
  53. RansakB
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    It's been a long time since a RPG has actually came out that wasn't completely devoid of any real plot. I've been playing this game since release and I'm still floored by how well the story is done. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. Diablo sadly took this and threw it out the window leaving us with the 'action RPG' genre It's been a long time since a RPG has actually came out that wasn't completely devoid of any real plot. I've been playing this game since release and I'm still floored by how well the story is done. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. Diablo sadly took this and threw it out the window leaving us with the 'action RPG' genre taking over. I loved the original Baldur's Gate trilogy as well and so far this game ranks amongst them. Expand
  54. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    Dragon Age:Origins is a unique but quite narrow game. The game has no aspect of free worldness, Fallout 3 is a great example of a free world game. Nothing like it. It is the only shortcoming in the game. I hope in Dragon Age 2, Bioware will create a more creative game and they should really take after Bethesda. In conclusion, Dragon Age is a very good game as the main story is veryDragon Age:Origins is a unique but quite narrow game. The game has no aspect of free worldness, Fallout 3 is a great example of a free world game. Nothing like it. It is the only shortcoming in the game. I hope in Dragon Age 2, Bioware will create a more creative game and they should really take after Bethesda. In conclusion, Dragon Age is a very good game as the main story is very compelling and lucrative. Expand
  55. May 20, 2011
    9
    dragon age origins is pretty much the best PC RPG since Balur's Gate II, My first rpg is Baldur's Gate II which is still the pinnacle of the PC rpgs till this date imho. Dragon age origins is hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate II in concept and gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. Yet the D&D fans (I am not one of them) maydragon age origins is pretty much the best PC RPG since Balur's Gate II, My first rpg is Baldur's Gate II which is still the pinnacle of the PC rpgs till this date imho. Dragon age origins is hugely reminiscent of Baldur's Gate II in concept and gameplay, although I could see it being confusing for people who weren't fans of the genre back then. Yet the D&D fans (I am not one of them) may not agree with this since DAO's combat mechanics is modernized. However, the witty writings, characters, interactions and puzzles really draw myself back to Baldur's gate II. the interactive cinematic in the game is highly inspired by kotor, but this is not a bad thing since keeping everybody happy is still important. RPGs used to be about telling a story with you as the hero/villain. sadly the most popular rpgs right now like diablo and TES threw the core of rpgs out the window. But DAO shows a new way combining modernized tactical combat, dramatic story telling, and involving characters together to form a true epic. Expand
  56. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The game really looks and shocking still, even after its release it very fun to play, and want to hope that these games will be in the future. This Masterpiece!
  57. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best RPG i ever played. A real mature story, with real choices which guides your epic adventure. The relations with companions are really fantastics, and romance give a funny touch (I will never forget Morigan ;) ) . Game-play and characteristic of each companion could be configured. Sure the world isn't open than Oblivion but the rest give a real immersive game.
  58. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game in a lot of ways, but the best is the story/character immersion. The graphics could have been sharper, but personally I can forgive that. Gameplay is decent; it's not the greatest but by the end of the game you do have a lot of options on your task bar and several playstyles within the tree design to choose from (a community mod that allows you to respec your Warden is aFantastic game in a lot of ways, but the best is the story/character immersion. The graphics could have been sharper, but personally I can forgive that. Gameplay is decent; it's not the greatest but by the end of the game you do have a lot of options on your task bar and several playstyles within the tree design to choose from (a community mod that allows you to respec your Warden is a must). The game included a toolkit for mod makers, and there are a ton of options to improve the game experience that you can choose from. Expand
  59. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I found the artwork absolutely gorgeous, and the interface extremely slick. Some things were 'streamlined' compared to the first, but I much preferred the new interface. Combat was still challenging and required strategic placement and use of skills - though I did miss friendly fire on Hard mode. I loved the new ability trees and crafting mechanics, which didn't feel like a chore.I found the artwork absolutely gorgeous, and the interface extremely slick. Some things were 'streamlined' compared to the first, but I much preferred the new interface. Combat was still challenging and required strategic placement and use of skills - though I did miss friendly fire on Hard mode. I loved the new ability trees and crafting mechanics, which didn't feel like a chore.

    But what I really play Dragon Age for is the story. This one did not disappoint. It felt a bit slow at the start, since Act I is mostly building up your character through various tasks without really being able to see where it is going. The threads fairly quickly begin to weave together though, into very satisfying second and third acts. The story isn't quite as epic as the first one, but I think a more personal story is actually the better choice here, rather than a "save the world again" rehash. My character went through moments of tragic loss, impossible moral dilemmas, and a shocking betrayal.

    The new companions can give the old ones a run for their money, and having a protagonist that isn't silent is a big improvement in character interaction. Secondary characters are extremely well done; the Arishok was a particular favourite.
    Expand
  60. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This is the best RPG of the last 3 years at least, and is a truly epic and inspiring adventure. There is so much depth to this game its ridiculous - obviously TONS of game design went into it. I bought this after purchasing DA2 and realizing it was terrible, and seeing reviews of this game were much different. This is a far superior game to DA2.
    In any case - this is awesome, and the
    This is the best RPG of the last 3 years at least, and is a truly epic and inspiring adventure. There is so much depth to this game its ridiculous - obviously TONS of game design went into it. I bought this after purchasing DA2 and realizing it was terrible, and seeing reviews of this game were much different. This is a far superior game to DA2.
    In any case - this is awesome, and the "Ultimate" edition is now only like $40. thats like 200 hrs of gameplay for $40. sweet.
    Expand
  61. May 2, 2011
    10
    I hated this game when I first started playing it, the opening story seemed completely fake, and unconsuming. After getting into the game, I could not help myself but to download and complete every DLC, and am halfway through Awakening. I fell in love with the characters and the world, and if I make a mistake in a quest, where I accidentally choose the evil option, I am tormented by "notI hated this game when I first started playing it, the opening story seemed completely fake, and unconsuming. After getting into the game, I could not help myself but to download and complete every DLC, and am halfway through Awakening. I fell in love with the characters and the world, and if I make a mistake in a quest, where I accidentally choose the evil option, I am tormented by "not saving" before making the choice!

    I can honestly say that the game gets better and better as you play it, and it is definitely worth spending some time to get hooked.
    Expand
  62. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    The story, the setting, the characters and the gameplay are fantastic i actually couldnt stop playing it. Its like a book you cant put down until you know what happens next
  63. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, one of the best RPG'S ever made, incredible deep story and dialogues, perfect gameplay, and wonderfull voice acting . Totally recommend for everyone and a must have if you are a RPG fan, in conclusion a long and incredibly satisfiying game.
  64. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    This is a great game and with the sequel out, Origins looks even better than ever. The amount of detail and meatiness to its dungeon crawls, 6 different Origin stories and fan development with the toolset has put my total time related to this game in the multiple hundreds of hours. As a drawback Origins preforms poorly compared to similar or better looking games out there. Its memory leakThis is a great game and with the sequel out, Origins looks even better than ever. The amount of detail and meatiness to its dungeon crawls, 6 different Origin stories and fan development with the toolset has put my total time related to this game in the multiple hundreds of hours. As a drawback Origins preforms poorly compared to similar or better looking games out there. Its memory leak on launch has improved with its patch but not eliminated. The loading times are long; I've never appreciated having a solid state drive more than I do when I play this game. DLC installation can be buggy and DRM server instability has broken and locked players out of their games. Perusing the game files with toolset it is apparent that assorted lines of dialog with voice acting or other small bits of content isn't implemented for no apparent reason. If you like this game you owe it to yourself to download mods to restore this content and user-developed bug fixes from Dragon Age Nexus; I could rate my game installed with mods at a 9 or 10. Expand
  65. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game that held my attention throughout, made me emotional at times (ranging from fear, to genuine anger, to affection, to crushing sadness - you name it) and ended wonderfully. When I finished it, I had no choice but to replay it. And I've replayed it many times - it has marvellous replay value. It's not perfect, no. But it's a damn good game. Anyone who likes RPGs, or evenA beautiful game that held my attention throughout, made me emotional at times (ranging from fear, to genuine anger, to affection, to crushing sadness - you name it) and ended wonderfully. When I finished it, I had no choice but to replay it. And I've replayed it many times - it has marvellous replay value. It's not perfect, no. But it's a damn good game. Anyone who likes RPGs, or even just a good story, should play this. Okay, yes, it may have quite a generic 'gather-an-army-and-save-the-world-from-the-big-bad' plotline, but it's the sub-plots and the choices and the characters that make it so rich. Expand
  66. May 22, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. Anyone whon likes RPG's should get and play this ASAP, it's an instant classing. And unlike Mass effect 3, the game ends how you choose!
  67. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    The last great mainstream RPG. Probably Bioware's last great game. It was definitely downhill from here. Lots of replay value, great characters, great dialogue, engaging gameplay. It's a challenging game that makes you stop and think about your tactics and choices in combat, and that's rare these days. You can and will make mistakes developing your characters. Replaying the game is alwaysThe last great mainstream RPG. Probably Bioware's last great game. It was definitely downhill from here. Lots of replay value, great characters, great dialogue, engaging gameplay. It's a challenging game that makes you stop and think about your tactics and choices in combat, and that's rare these days. You can and will make mistakes developing your characters. Replaying the game is always a gem and you'll usually find new things to notice every time you play through. This game made a big impression on me, and it really illustrated to me just how horrible most video games are because it provided such a high quality experience. A must own, a rental will not do it justice. Also, mod support for the PC is a plus! Expand
  68. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    A true epic adventure which took me 70+ hours to complete, sidequests included. It has great characters, a rich and interesting world and a superb story!
  69. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    This is the most solid fantasy RPG of the generation, and I loved every minute. It is quite Lord of the Rings (in a good way, if also in a cliched way), and there is not a huge amount of innovation to be found here. Nonetheless, the game world is rich and detailed, voice acting is excellent, companions are interesting for the most part, and combat is addictive and deep. The game is alsoThis is the most solid fantasy RPG of the generation, and I loved every minute. It is quite Lord of the Rings (in a good way, if also in a cliched way), and there is not a huge amount of innovation to be found here. Nonetheless, the game world is rich and detailed, voice acting is excellent, companions are interesting for the most part, and combat is addictive and deep. The game is also long, and feels like a genuine epic (unlike, say, Oblivion, which feels oddly empty and soulless at times)........... This game is receiving a 8 from me on consoles, and a 10 on PC, simply because it is very 'click heavy', and is suited for mouse and keyboard over a controller. It's also been optimised for PC. Enjoy the game, ignore the sequel DA:2, and let's hope DA:3 builds on this solid foundation. Highly recommended. Expand
  70. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Dragon Age is very enjoyable experience. Of course there are some bumps here and there but overall this game is great. For example combat is not as fluid as it should be but engaging story, chalenging fights and some very memorable characters (Morrighan honey... I'll come back to you every year, I promise!) let me forget about minor issues and enjoy it a lot.
  71. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Dragon Age: Origins is what you would expect from Bioware, a polished rpg experience with great characters and background lore. The combat is tactical and challenging as you control four characters at a time. Positioning and strategy is very important if you want to defeat some of the bosses in the game, atleast on the higher difficulties. When it comes to the world design I guess it's ok.Dragon Age: Origins is what you would expect from Bioware, a polished rpg experience with great characters and background lore. The combat is tactical and challenging as you control four characters at a time. Positioning and strategy is very important if you want to defeat some of the bosses in the game, atleast on the higher difficulties. When it comes to the world design I guess it's ok. Some areas are a little too small, textures are bad and they have a lot of reused dungeons. Despite some of the flaws this is still one of the best rpg experiences out there for the pc Expand
  72. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Where to start? this game is the first BioWare game since KOTOR that can truly be called an RPG: fantastic combat system, most of the characters are deep and very interesting (although they ask you money for the best one, belive it) and the world is fantastic in its history and lore, even if it is a rip-off of many others. The problem is the main story. Decision making is there, itWhere to start? this game is the first BioWare game since KOTOR that can truly be called an RPG: fantastic combat system, most of the characters are deep and very interesting (although they ask you money for the best one, belive it) and the world is fantastic in its history and lore, even if it is a rip-off of many others. The problem is the main story. Decision making is there, it matters, but the overall plot, well... there isn't one. World is in chaos, and you race to its four corners too gather help, end every were you ask for it you'll have to work for it, so you could stand a chance in the final battle. Simple and very bad as that. Expand
  73. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    While it isn't as complex and huge as older cRPGs, Dragon: Age Origins at least TRIES to be like them, and that alone makes it better than most western RPGs on the market. The huge, original (not D&D) world is really well crafted and the graphics are pretty to look at, even in 2012. This could have been the birth of an amazing series of games but sadly Bioware decided to screw it all upWhile it isn't as complex and huge as older cRPGs, Dragon: Age Origins at least TRIES to be like them, and that alone makes it better than most western RPGs on the market. The huge, original (not D&D) world is really well crafted and the graphics are pretty to look at, even in 2012. This could have been the birth of an amazing series of games but sadly Bioware decided to screw it all up with Dragon Age 2. Even if Dragon Age 3 is good, the series is always going to have a huge blemish on it and that's a shame. Expand
  74. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I never forgot this awesome game. It was one of my best game no contest. I liked it the story ,the deep of interaction with pnj , the system of skill . One bad point , the game was so cheated with a Wiz blood spell just awesome . But one of my best feeling witht Morrow FoT 1 and others beautiful games i forgot XD
  75. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    this is by far one of my favorite games probably top 5 of all time. the story is so in depth has lots of cool secrets the game play was original and fun characters were awesome basically if you haven't played this game you missed out pick it up it's better than part 2. i would give this a 10 for perfect but it was lacking good expansions the few i played were kind of lame. Awakening (thethis is by far one of my favorite games probably top 5 of all time. the story is so in depth has lots of cool secrets the game play was original and fun characters were awesome basically if you haven't played this game you missed out pick it up it's better than part 2. i would give this a 10 for perfect but it was lacking good expansions the few i played were kind of lame. Awakening (the main one) had a corny twist to make up a story with characters that weren't nearly as cool to add on to a game that was so amazing. The only big thing i would've changed with origins is having the skill reset tool like they did in awakening i had a good fun with that. Otherwise Origins has a TON of replay ability and was just plain amazing. Expand
  76. May 21, 2014
    10
    The best RPG game I ever played.
    People who don't like fighting system in Bioware games might not be comfortable with it (pausing the game during combat and choosing what will the four characters in the party do by clicking at icons with different abilities). But I can't imagine that it would make somebody stop playing the game, because the story, the world, the atmosphere and most of the
    The best RPG game I ever played.
    People who don't like fighting system in Bioware games might not be comfortable with it (pausing the game during combat and choosing what will the four characters in the party do by clicking at icons with different abilities). But I can't imagine that it would make somebody stop playing the game, because the story, the world, the atmosphere and most of the characters are awesome.
    I would define the story as semi-linear, because it will go the same way, but you choose the means. Only non-linear parts of the game are prolog and epilog.
    Expand
  77. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Not only is the lore in DA: Origins fantastic, but the way Bioware was able to craft an engaging story around it from start to finish (the main storyline alone is probably 50+hrs) left me unable to put the game down until the end credits began to roll. The characters, the assorted collection of companions, the voice work, the personalities, the playful banter, the diversity on theNot only is the lore in DA: Origins fantastic, but the way Bioware was able to craft an engaging story around it from start to finish (the main storyline alone is probably 50+hrs) left me unable to put the game down until the end credits began to roll. The characters, the assorted collection of companions, the voice work, the personalities, the playful banter, the diversity on the main/side quests, and most importantly the choices presented at every turn allow you to really shape the adventure in your own eyes.

    The choices themselves were all so deeply routed in fundamental morality that the story essentially teases, tempts, and tests your conscience and better judgment. You basically have a little angel on one shoulder and a little demon on the other the entire time. Do it! Do it! They whisper, but who will you listen to? Throw in the fact that the storytelling itself is filled with all forms of deceit, scandal, and just about every other Shakespearean trick in the book made it a joy to play through.

    And of course mention to the combat is important. Tactical, strategic, challenging. Its the standard deep proven D&D real-time (optionally pause-able) party-based combat that just works. I never had any issues with the AI not following my pre-designed tactic rule sets or the enemy AI doing anything dumb. Only slightly disappointing thing here was the limitation on the number of tactical slots for each character as it tended to hamper more intricate and useful automated strategies.

    Final Score: 9/10. Love the first play-through and still feel a second one has lots to offer not only story wise, but difficulty wise should one dare to test their skill on the Hard or Insane difficulties.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Various nitpicks below, which prevented me from giving a 10/10. I might as well mention them I figure:

    - Despite being the Ultimate edition patched to the max this game engine loved to crash like crazy on a standard Intel i5 multicore machine. Literally every 10-30mins another random crash to the point I'd have to frequently quick save or risk losing my precious progress. Only after I forced the game to run on a single core did the crashing cease entirely (thank GOD!)

    - Enemies never respawn... ever. If you encounter an area that you are struggling to clear there is no going back and farming some levels so that you can comeback stronger. What you are is what you have. No more raising of gold to buy more potions. No compensating for earlier build errors in your characters. Everything is simply permanent. You can literally be f'ed and have no choice but to drop the game to Easy difficulty level to proceed (especially at the endgame which loves to absolutely f' you hard by dumping you into inescapable quests with no shops to replenish supplies between boss fights. Because of this the last 3 hours of my 60 hour journey were spent in gaming heII).

    - The in-game crafting was lacking to say the least (no smithing at all and the other skills like herbalism mostly an after thought). I also felt at times the character skillsets to be lacking (especially the general skills shared between all classes). And...making you have to hunt the game world to learn some specializations for your characters felt completely unnecessary (one shouldn't have to run to a Wiki to have fun.)

    - The shapeshifter class. I was so looking forward to this one...only the game makes it so frustrating to use that I literally abandoned it all together. Thing is, the game forceably turns all shapeshifters into human form during every cutscene. Problem? Every boss fight begins with a cutscene. Bigger problem? To reshapeshift requires not only a long spellcast but also a long cooldown on the skill itself. Yeah, you are essentially screwed for even attempting to use this class. Seriously, insta-shifting the character back into animal form after the scene ends would have been a simple fix how did this game have so many patches and an Ultimate edition with this kind of gamebreaking nuisance going unnoticed? Even one of the most useful skills "Overwhelm" wasn't included in the tactic's menu at all for shapeshifters (the dog yes, but not shapeshifters) so if you wanted to use it you always had to micromanage it. *shakes head*

    - The final boss fight was an epic battle between you and *spoiler alert* the fking P.O.S. camera. To have such a useful for camera for 95% of the game only to pull that. Really guys?
    Expand
  78. May 31, 2013
    9
    Great game that tells a really great story and plays very well. This game is about telling a deep story and immersing you into your character and defining who you are and how you will become the strongest of the strong.

    This, with the exception of Mass Effect series which I enjoyed all three was the last great story telling for Bioware.
  79. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Prior to Dragon Age Origins I was sure that Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights and Star Wars were the best Bioware games and that we would never see anything like that again. But DA:O came out and made me realize that Bioware still had what it took to make great games. The story, characters, gameplay and loot make this game a wonder to behold. I played this with the expansion (note I saidPrior to Dragon Age Origins I was sure that Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights and Star Wars were the best Bioware games and that we would never see anything like that again. But DA:O came out and made me realize that Bioware still had what it took to make great games. The story, characters, gameplay and loot make this game a wonder to behold. I played this with the expansion (note I said expansion--- not DLC) and this game was an outstanding experience. The presence of an online community that made mods made this game even better. Don't hesitate to get this game. It deserves your time and money and you will be glad you gave it a shot. Expand
  80. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    A very good game which I played thru once and explored almost everything. A whole month of fun. I am still giving it 9 and not 10 because of the ending. I expected some twist in the end or an additional zone or something, but it was just the last dragon and done. Dunno, the ending was just too predictable.
    Also, there is just 1 mage and 1 healer in the game (which are hard to keep both),
    A very good game which I played thru once and explored almost everything. A whole month of fun. I am still giving it 9 and not 10 because of the ending. I expected some twist in the end or an additional zone or something, but it was just the last dragon and done. Dunno, the ending was just too predictable.
    Also, there is just 1 mage and 1 healer in the game (which are hard to keep both), and too many melee characters.
    All this said, the game is very very good. Anyone should see it. It has amazing story, very deep and balanced gameplay. Actually, it's one of those rare games where I cared to read dialogs! That's something.
    Expand
  81. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Aaaand this is why I love BioWare. Immersive and immense game. Great graphics and effects and a story and characters that are well written and you get invested in. Honestly, these are some of the most memorable characters in gaming memory, in my opinion, and it is so much fun to see the relationships first-hand between all the characters as you're walking around and they talk to each otherAaaand this is why I love BioWare. Immersive and immense game. Great graphics and effects and a story and characters that are well written and you get invested in. Honestly, these are some of the most memorable characters in gaming memory, in my opinion, and it is so much fun to see the relationships first-hand between all the characters as you're walking around and they talk to each other and react to the environments and missions differently depending on who's with you. Each character had unbelievable depth and, with the excellent voice acting and graphics, make for a very real experience when trying to dig deeper into each character as the story progresses.

    Arguably the most immersive RPG game I've played so far. Plus the Origins aspect where you, in a way, craft your own backstory, and how that affects how not only the characters treat you but the options made available to you and how you can progress the game, that is truly magical.

    Essentially, one of my all-time favorites and one that I have replayed numerous times (and I still play it even today!) If you haven't played it, and you love RPG games with an incredibly immersive fantasy world with memorable characters and multiple options about how to move the story (and accompanying consequences), this is the game for you.
    Expand
  82. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    This game is huge, and you get the feeling that you build your own story with many decisions, starting by how you create your character. Your companions are enjoyable, as well as the feeling of strategy in battles. It looks very good too, but the most important thing is that as a modern RPG, it didn't betray what I expected from it.
  83. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    A Masterpiece game, that is made by a great company in Bioware. Story is always interesting, allowing you to pick your own character race and each one has their own back story. Like playing as a Human Noble, City Elf, Circle Mage, etc. Gameplay is great, with great use of a tactical system and dialogue in-game provides great fun. Graphics are great, with blood and gore. Presentation isA Masterpiece game, that is made by a great company in Bioware. Story is always interesting, allowing you to pick your own character race and each one has their own back story. Like playing as a Human Noble, City Elf, Circle Mage, etc. Gameplay is great, with great use of a tactical system and dialogue in-game provides great fun. Graphics are great, with blood and gore. Presentation is like a story book style, and everything is easy to use. Sound in the game is great with amazing atmospheric music, and voice overs are well done. Although, it can be a bit on the low volume, so you might have to crank your volume up more than usual to hear. Also, some DLCs have come out for it to enhance the story even more. Overall, a masterpiece game. I don't remember another RPG like it, maybe except Neverwinter Nights 1. Expand
  84. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    Very, very good. Interesting locations, NPCs, quests and storyline. Great character customization options, even for your NPC party members. Even pulls off humor with surprising frequency. There are one or two minor niggles, like the fact some NPC companions start off with sub-optimal skillsets, but that can be fixed with mods. All in all, one of the best RPGs I've ever played. Just don'tVery, very good. Interesting locations, NPCs, quests and storyline. Great character customization options, even for your NPC party members. Even pulls off humor with surprising frequency. There are one or two minor niggles, like the fact some NPC companions start off with sub-optimal skillsets, but that can be fixed with mods. All in all, one of the best RPGs I've ever played. Just don't bother with the sequel, DA2 isn't as good as this. Expand
  85. Jaz
    Feb 23, 2013
    10
    A great game. Very immersing story, believable world, interesting NPCs, fun and demanding combat. You could replay it with a new class (as i did) and still game was great. Highly recommended.
  86. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best party-based RPG of the last 5 years. The fantasy setting of this game might seem generic at first, but the story develops a lot and has its charm. The party members are very well crafted, the dialogue is great, even the secondary quests are pretty interesting. The main thing that makes this game unique for this generation is the combat. It really takes a few hoursThis is by far the best party-based RPG of the last 5 years. The fantasy setting of this game might seem generic at first, but the story develops a lot and has its charm. The party members are very well crafted, the dialogue is great, even the secondary quests are pretty interesting. The main thing that makes this game unique for this generation is the combat. It really takes a few hours for the non-hardcore party-based rpg players to get used to it, but it's really well thought and requires a lot of tactics. Every battle seems unique, every character has its weaknesses. Even the inventory is greatly designed, unlike most of the Bioware games (and other rpgs alike). Forget about the hype surrounding the Mass Effect trilogy, this is the game to play from Bioware. Expand
  87. May 16, 2013
    9
    Easily one of the best fantasy RPG, but a huge minus for me the main antagonist(Loghain aside) is a mindless dragon, and you're protagonist doesn't speak. Conclusion if you like fantasy this is must own 4 you!
  88. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    An argument can be made that dragon age origins does nothing new. All the things that are in this game have been done before, right? So why play it?

    Because it does those things right! Bioware successfully replaces the Dnd world with a world created by their own writers. The overarching plot is simple (an evil force that soughts to destroy everything), but has been done very well.
    An argument can be made that dragon age origins does nothing new. All the things that are in this game have been done before, right? So why play it?

    Because it does those things right! Bioware successfully replaces the Dnd world with a world created by their own writers. The overarching plot is simple (an evil force that soughts to destroy everything), but has been done very well. Combat has been refined from baldur's gate/icewind dale series. Choice system is good (not great), etc.. But what this game does primarily well is :

    A) Content! Loads of rpgs have lots of contents. But DA:O makes that content interesting TILL THE END. At no point do you feel bored and exhausted.

    B) Characters! They really stand out and you will remember them even after you have played the game. Each of them has their own motivations for why they are in your team. Again, this has been done before, but DA:O does this all most better than all the other rpgs (atleast wrpgs :P)

    For me, Dragon Age Origins wasn't a game. It was an experience
    Expand
  89. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This game is a 10/10. A lot better than the sequel. If you don't have it yet, then run to the store and buy it!! This is a must play for all rpg and strategy lovers out there. :D
  90. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Best RPG of all time. Huge world, fantastic voice acting, interactive, reactive story that takes into account all of your decisions. Great modding community, tons of additional content created for it. Great tactical pausable real-time combat system, with amazing cinematic kill cams. Multiple unique origin stories, you can play as a Dwarf or an Elf and have a completely different gameBest RPG of all time. Huge world, fantastic voice acting, interactive, reactive story that takes into account all of your decisions. Great modding community, tons of additional content created for it. Great tactical pausable real-time combat system, with amazing cinematic kill cams. Multiple unique origin stories, you can play as a Dwarf or an Elf and have a completely different game to start. Looong game, lots and lots of content. Each character is very memorable, Morrigan being one of the most memorable video game characters of all time. I can't recommend this game highly enough, especially on PC. Major shout outs to the mods Dragon Age Redesigned and Combat Tweaks. If you do play it, check those out. Expand
  91. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Started this game as a female dalish elf and it played fine enough, would've given it about an 8/10. After it crashed about an hour and a half in though and hadn't saved (my computer's fault, NOT the game's), I restarted as a male human noble. The story lines are actually different enough it peaked my interest to keep going. Turned into a game that jus got better and better. Recommend thisStarted this game as a female dalish elf and it played fine enough, would've given it about an 8/10. After it crashed about an hour and a half in though and hadn't saved (my computer's fault, NOT the game's), I restarted as a male human noble. The story lines are actually different enough it peaked my interest to keep going. Turned into a game that jus got better and better. Recommend this off the charts. Expand
  92. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    A masterful game in every sense that will go down as one of the greatest Western RPGs ever made. Fantastic story & setting, grown-up dialogue, incredible interaction with characters, stirring music, immersive gameplay. If you like RPGs, pick this up and play it.

    What I love about the story: Bioware takes long-running fantasy races like elves & dwarves and puts their own stamp on them.
    A masterful game in every sense that will go down as one of the greatest Western RPGs ever made. Fantastic story & setting, grown-up dialogue, incredible interaction with characters, stirring music, immersive gameplay. If you like RPGs, pick this up and play it.

    What I love about the story: Bioware takes long-running fantasy races like elves & dwarves and puts their own stamp on them. Nothing about the world of Ferelden feels generic or lifted straight from another story. The intricately detailed backstory for virtually every group you run across is just fascinating. I read every codex entry I found, surprised at how deep the writing was. I could go on but it would be hard to do without getting into spoilers.

    Combat on the PC takes a very strategic bent and I recommend it over console ports. Graphics are also better. It is not easy but not overly difficult, either. It requires you to pay attention to what you’re doing and plan out attacks rather than sit there & button mash repeatedly, which is very nice. Boss battles are appropriately difficult, often requiring several tries and special strategies but not to the point where you will be breaking the keyboard in frustration.

    There’s nothing I can fault this game with. All of the origin stories were fun to play through and resulted in me connecting with all six possible character types. The multiple endings were neat to explore, as well. It was an amazing experience and a joy to play. Such a shame that Bioware is in decline and butchered the sequel because Dragon Age had unlimited potential to be a long-running RPG franchise. Even so, DAO will always hold a special place in my heart.
    Expand
  93. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Goods
    - Excellent story
    - CHOICES - Character customization - Gameplay - Characters - Music Especially the title screen music, got my attention after awhile) - Challenging yet rewarding ! - SO much content as there are so many play through available - Good graphics Bads - Random graphic glitches - Sometimes huge difficulty spike - Can feel boring and repetitive Extras -
    Goods
    - Excellent story
    - CHOICES
    - Character customization
    - Gameplay
    - Characters
    - Music Especially the title screen music, got my attention after awhile)
    - Challenging yet rewarding !
    - SO much content as there are so many play through available
    - Good graphics

    Bads
    - Random graphic glitches
    - Sometimes huge difficulty spike
    - Can feel boring and repetitive

    Extras
    - Highly recommended to ANY RPG players out there
    Expand
  94. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    There's only a few good RPG's this gen and this is one of them, i couldn't wait to sit down and continue the story when away from the Xbox. If you're a RPG fan this is a must play.
  95. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    One of the best RPG games I have ever played, spent 100's of hours replaying it, which is the key to a successful game. If you haven't played it yet - try it. Fantastic.

    Superb storyline, great plot and characters.
  96. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    I love RPG style, and this is one of those game that enjoyed a lot. Nice story, characters, spells, combat system, etc. The world needs more games like this one!
  97. May 26, 2014
    10
    Dragon Age: Origins (along with Diablo I & II, and Skyrim) is one of my favourites RPG of all times.

    Unlike some others RPG, it can be played again and again, with completely different stories (I think there's a total of 6 main stories, each one offering approximately 40h of gameplay), depending on the character (race, class and background) that you choose. This is an absolutely amazing
    Dragon Age: Origins (along with Diablo I & II, and Skyrim) is one of my favourites RPG of all times.

    Unlike some others RPG, it can be played again and again, with completely different stories (I think there's a total of 6 main stories, each one offering approximately 40h of gameplay), depending on the character (race, class and background) that you choose. This is an absolutely amazing achievement that gives you so many hours of entertainment, with very diifferent and rich scripts in each story.

    One of my favourite features is the complex, yet simple, strategy and tactis mechanics, where you can pause the game, give a set of orders to your individual characters of the party, and then un-pause it to follow up the action, changing from above the shoulder to top camera as you like.

    I give this game a solid 10.
    Expand
  98. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Best RPG of the decade. Epic story, well balanced skill trees, companions, you WILL have an opinion on. Sometimes the AI glitches a bit, but that's the DAO's only weakness. My score however does not include DLCs, which are not bad, but mostly just long and not really necessary.
  99. Dec 10, 2014
    8
    Dragon Age: Origins has a grand sense of scale with its epic, if a bit cliche story of slaying a big dragon who threatens the existence of all nice things in yet another fantasy world where city elves are subjucated, mages wear pajamas for armor and dwarves are drunks who are good at swinging battleaxes. There's nothing particularly original or groundbreaking in this RPG, but is still aDragon Age: Origins has a grand sense of scale with its epic, if a bit cliche story of slaying a big dragon who threatens the existence of all nice things in yet another fantasy world where city elves are subjucated, mages wear pajamas for armor and dwarves are drunks who are good at swinging battleaxes. There's nothing particularly original or groundbreaking in this RPG, but is still a thoroughly entertaining game nonetheless.

    In general, the combat provides a nice strategic experience, though difficulty can sometimes be a little inconsistent. Writing is for the most part quite strong and most companions are fairly interesting, however depending on the order you complete the main quest, I find that some companions are introduced too late in the game for you to build a strong rapport with. My other negative would have to be the visuals which are a little outdated, even for 2009.

    Overall rating: 8.4/10
    Expand
  100. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    This game is consuming me for hours, great story, nice tactical combat and pretty required to play in hard + difficult. BioWare with your D&D games makes people like me who love RPG games with lot of features very happy,
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. PC Gamer
    92
    An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!