Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This free-to-play game combines the action of a third-person brawler with the mechanics of a colorful online role-playing game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    85
    Its combat is deep and rewarding, and pits you against some truly interesting encounters. The care put into each and every bit of character dialogue is also evident throughout, and adds a great deal to the charm of the world.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Dragon Nest is a fun game that has an extremely flexible and dynamic combat system.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    60
    The European version of Dragon Nest is far from perfect, but It’s really entertaining if you’re looking for a simple and fun MMO experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    I think that people tend to judge these types of games too negatively. The fact is, having good gear just makes you feel good. I don't know what it was like a year or two ago, but the whole point is to have fun, and achieving said gear is part of that process. If a dungeon is too hard, don't go blaming the developers for "unbalanced game play"; lower the difficulty and keep on going. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I'm enjoying this game a lot. The combat is fast-paced & fun, plays more like a FPS or action-RPG than a traditional MMO yet has detailed character stats, interesting loot and customizable skill tree. Some of the quest writing really is good and has made me laugh a number of times. I like that I can play it a single-player RPG with the option to group when I want to. The PVP is pretty fun too. The only real downside seems to be limited content, if you are the kind of person who puts crazy hours into grinding an MMO until you hit the level cap it will probably take you < 1 week, but me being a casual player I've still got a ways to go. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Great solid mmo, the fast paced pvp is definitely a breath of fresh air. The combat system is unique and comprehensive, particularly for the archer class. In addition to the 9 slots for skills I find myself using 4-6 on the fly aerial moves and counters at any given time. The armor and weapon system is pretty standard and easy to pick up on, twenty minutes of research or so is enough to go into the game with a fairly good understanding of what needs to be done. There are some unique features like the mentor/apprentice system that are simple, yet border on ingenious. There's benefits even for maxed players to actively be leveling noobies, which has resulted in one of the most respectful and tight nit communities I've seen in an mmo. The only drawbacks I can really see with this game is not enough end game pvm content to keep people busy outside of the pvp, though I do see other complaints, primarily that there's pay to win elements which in all honestly is a misunderstanding of what pay to win is. Buying Nx can save you some time but you can become just as powerful without doing so as if you had. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    The combat system is light years ahead of any action game, the flow of the abilities is near flawless, that alone is enough to try it and and level to at least 40. The biggest problem with this game, is the bottlenecking to the cash shop, and always will be. If they toned down on the bottlenecking, this game would be much more successful. I searched for awhile to find an MMO with similiar combat, but Tera which was similiar, was not even close to this near perfect combat system. There enhancement system is also similiar to TERA, its completely RNG. But, it makes gearing up a lot slower unless you invest some $$ into it. The story is pretty good for a "free to play" MMO, and has several cutscenes. PvP is very fun and takes a lot more skill then WoW or GW2. The "raid" content is also very fun, and UNFORGIVING. The effects are also top notch and demand a lot from your GPUs but man....what a light show. You feel powerful. Very fun, but expect to invest into the cash shop. I give it a solid 7.5 / 10 Collapse
  5. May 26, 2013
    7
    The Plot was okay.
    - Great look with its particle effects
    - Game play was sort of grindy
    - Matching System is okay but can use some fixes

    - Lack of Customization has to be the worst part
    - Has a bad pay system
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    Game play similar to Vindictus. Based on dungeons. Very nice game for casual player

    Good things : graphics, game play, many job change per
    class, free to play
    less : world, lifetime

    Game play : 7/10, graphics : 7/10, back ground : 6/10, lifetime : 6/10, sound : 7/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    3
    Fairly bad MMO, yet still better than other average garbage-grinders.
    This one takes an approach of action-oriented Combat and attempts to
    shine with so-called combo-attacks.

    There are only like 6-7 Skills you can have totally, which leads to very boring and redundant combat consisting of the same combos over and over and over. In reality, you cannot call this even a combo.
    What the community calls a "combo" is a **** unfinished mechanic which allows you to endlessly juggle your opponent without any fair chance to fight back, and that is in PvP.
    In PvE there is the same situation.
    Bosses can stunlock/knock-up-lock you, even though you are supposed to be laying on the ground and getting given a time to stand up and fight again, even the slightest minor attack will send you airborne again. Very unclear and poorly done.

    Imagine, games like Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter, now put in random lag and let the characters which are knocked-over on the floor, magically get thrown up into the air again by some silly jab attack, over and over, that what Dragon Nest is.


    The game is a hassle to play due to such poorly done physics. Developers put minimal effort into the Combat System and the Physics.
    They just mainly orient themselves on the Cash-Shop.

    In other words, another company's cash-cow, and only little under-aged kids with no grasp of concept of good video games, play and glorify this abomination.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews