Dragon's Prophet PC

Dragon's Prophet Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Prophet features an action-based combat system that gives players more realistic battle action gameplay. Set in a realm where dragons roam the land, sea and air, the game lets players align and battle with a variety of dragons as they work to restore order to the land from the evilDragon's Prophet features an action-based combat system that gives players more realistic battle action gameplay. Set in a realm where dragons roam the land, sea and air, the game lets players align and battle with a variety of dragons as they work to restore order to the land from the evil Black Dragon that has escaped his eternal prison, unleashed his fire and is more dangerous than ever. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Prophet is a pretty standard MMORPG enriched with some action and tons dragons. Those aren't just mounts but friends, helpers, allies, enemies and ancient gods. Unfortunately, they live in a pretty boring world.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    74
    Do you remember the original hunter in World of Warcraft? Where you could look for and then tame wild beats? I miss that and that's why I like Dragon's Prophet with its Pokémon-like hunt for exotic creatures.
  3. Sep 26, 2014
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    65
    Yes there are tons of dragons and yes, you're gonna catch 'em all, but sadly this is not enough to recommend Dragon's Prophet. Under scales and tusks there is an ordinary MMORPG with boring quests and too much grinding in it, and the old graphics engine doesn't help to keep players engaged, but at least it's free to play.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    Seducing with its dragon theme, free to play and quite well done as it even offers advanced housing, Dragon's Prophet is an MMORPG which does not look ridiculous. But we do have to admit that it lacks some punch to be able to compete against the genre's stars because of poor polish, an old graphics engine, dull quests and a small amount of races and classes. We note that those drawbacks could be improved by an update overtime which allows us hope. But is trying Dragon's Quest enough to get hooked? Not really but at least it's free to try.
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    53
    I had such high hopes for Dragon’s Prophet. Everything about it sounds like so much fun on paper. But what we have is a clear case of a game that needs a lot more time in development before it should be taking money from anyone. This shouldn’t be an open beta, and you shouldn’t be able to spend money in Auretia. I understand that SOE and Runewaker need to pay the bills, but both parties would have been far better off letting the game take a little more time in closed beta to take in and react to feedback from its community. Dragon’s Prophet isn’t the worst game I’ve played this year, but it could have been so much better. And that’s what’s really unfortunate.
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    51
    With dragon taming, action combat, and robust skill and housing systems, there's an enjoyable experience at the core of Dragon's Prophet that never manages to break free of the dull environment and grinding pace that surrounds it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 13 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This Game is the work of what Gamers have been waiting for. Finally there is a Game where you can go Capture a Dragon and use it as a Mount toThis Game is the work of what Gamers have been waiting for. Finally there is a Game where you can go Capture a Dragon and use it as a Mount to Explore or Fight Enemies with.

    It's Still a Very New game and Obviously needs a few tweaks, but what new game doesn't? One of the main things I hope to see sooner than later would be the access to play from Australia. I'm in the US and have gamer friends from Australia; Once they expand to there I will be playing this game every day with my Friends.

    The Combat is good and the amount of skills to use is Goldy-lox. I find that when a Game Implements tons of Spells it Takes away from the Game Experience. I've stopped playing games due to spending too much time messing with the loads of spells that my character has and doesn't really need. Dragon's Prophet has uses a handful of spells that Differ depending on the Class you choose. The best thing about the spells and combat would be the fact they have a combo system. Instead of having a plain spell it offers variety through the different combos you can use.

    There is a large area of different locations in this World of Dragons. The Character Creation process is done very well since they have Implemented a Percentage Based Customization Process. You are offered the experience of going into immense detail when it comes to the different categories of the Character Creation Process.

    To be Straight forward... This is a Great Game especially for being so New.
    Whoever says this game isn't enjoyable or poorly made is either having a bad day or is a pessimistic downer who enjoys spreading negativity wherever they venture.
    This Game is Well made and is Free To Play so forgive me if I don't see how someone wouldn't enjoy playing a Well made game where you can go out and capture a dragon and use it as a mount to go fly around.
    Collapse
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Dragon's Prophet is a pretty standard MMO with all the features you come to expect with MMOs today. It has intuitive, responsive controls withDragon's Prophet is a pretty standard MMO with all the features you come to expect with MMOs today. It has intuitive, responsive controls with a action feel to combat along with a mixed bag of graphics. The environment looks terrific, with great vistas and very long distance field of vision. However, the character models and armor appear to be low quality. Overall, while repetitive in quest grind, it is a fun game where you can tame just about any dragon you encounter and use it as pet or mount. I would normally give it an 8, however I gave it a 10 to offset the ridiculous zeros. This is a polished, high profile studio game, not some f2p,half finished game from some no name company. Zero is simply uncalled for. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    I played this game since 'open beta' and I know some things about this game.

    Positive things: This game is really nice... you can make
    I played this game since 'open beta' and I know some things about this game.

    Positive things:
    This game is really nice... you can make levels more easily compared to other mmorpg. It is a free to
    play and you can get your free (tamable) mount since low levels.

    You can have your own dragon.
    You can train your own dragon.
    You can fight while mounting your dragon (really fantastic)
    Also free-user has a chance to get their own big ancient dragon.

    This game saves your progress in real time (so also if you crush... you don't lose anything)

    The main story is good...

    There are nice events as 'halloween event', 'merry-christmas'....and there are some free useful stuffs for all "free-users".

    It is a good game everytime in expansion and in evolution...

    Negative things
    At the beginning maybe is a little hard because you have many options, panels, and maybe you can be disorientated from that. However are similar to other mmorpgs (otherwise there are settings where you can modify what you want)... Online there is a forum and a wiki with some useful guides.

    The game sometimes (usually) crushes. Randomly.

    In every new patch you can see old bugs fixed... and new bugs that comes... but Isn't it a problem for those who knows 'Skyrim'
    Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    This game suffers from one of the worst early game experiences I have seen. If you have the patience to stick it out for a few hours it getsThis game suffers from one of the worst early game experiences I have seen. If you have the patience to stick it out for a few hours it gets much better, but this makes you wonder why they would make the initial experience so bad? It is like a different team took over the content after level 20 and actually knew what they were doing.
    The game is not horrible, it won't eat your babies or stab your cat or anything. The combat is far better than similar games like ff14 or wow, but the targeting seems heavily based on luck, especially when fighting more than one thing at a time. Ranged classes are somewhat of a joke as nothing stays at range for more than a couple hits and your escape abilities take so long to animate the mob is right on top of you again by the time it finishes.
    Overall id say this is a good game for free, but I wouldn't put any money into it yet. Dropped them a few points for making inventory expansion cost real money then filling your bags with unstack-able useless crap much like Neverwinter does. Never use auto loot, it will drive you crazy pretty quickly.
    It's passable: combat is fun, graphics are horrid, and it starts wanting to stick its fingers in your pockets before your even really settled in. I would play it now cause I doubt it's going to be around later
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    3
    The only thing good about this game is that it includes dragons and action based combat style this is the only reason why this game is stillThe only thing good about this game is that it includes dragons and action based combat style this is the only reason why this game is still alive.

    The questing is your typical kill 10 monsters or go fetch plants/ect. The main story is so utterly bland and feels like normal questing yes it is go kill 10 monsters or fetch plants, the only thing that is different about main quest and normal quests is the npcs or NPC that gives it to you XD

    Everything is RNG, your gear's stats, attribute transfer, dragon skill transfer, dragon skill slots and stats. Even if you buy it with daimonds to obtain those things it is still RNG. I know players that bought 50 whips and was only able to transfer 1 skill over to his dragon.

    There are dragons that can only be purchased by real money and some of these dragons are faster flyers than any other drake you can get ingame.

    Do not join this game if you think you are going to capture a drake and think you are the one of only a select few that will have this drake.

    There is also a huge gap between free players and paying players when it comes to pvp, speaking of pvp it is utterly unbalanced with rangers being OP. Melee class is at a high disadvantage against bosses due to their attacks are aimed to KO close range players in a few shots.

    Can't comment on housing but to own an apartment isn't bad. You do have free reign exactly you want to do on ur piece of land but plots arnt always availible and if you bought a "land marker" (as I would call them) of a certain size and there isnt any well tough luck, hope there comes more islands in the future so you can spend that "land marker"

    Guild system is lacking and players never seem to stay so you are constantly looking for guild members if you are the hardcore type. This game is utterly buggy and your 1st thing your going to do is find out how to minimise your crashing (here's a few tips: delete your 64bit.exe file and also turn you windows theme into basic, take note some dragon skill also cause crashing) some dungeons players even avoid due to crashes or dungeon reset or black screen.

    In the 1st hour of play you will imediatly feel the need to purchase daimonds cause you need dragon space, you need bag space, you need bank space, you want that dragon pack. Well more so to get rid of the things that annoys you.

    Like I said the only reason why players stay is cause this game has dragon you can capture and fight a long side u, but this game is really unpolished so do not expact a lot other than that.
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    1
    I know its a free to play game, but there are some corners you just never cut. Such as interaction sounds for gathering nodes. The lack ofI know its a free to play game, but there are some corners you just never cut. Such as interaction sounds for gathering nodes. The lack of those is really disturbing. "Hold mouse button to attack". Why not just do what everything else did and lock target and auto attack? There has never been an issue with that system... Expand
  7. May 21, 2014
    0
    Well well what to say about this game?
    Lets start with the positive to dont scare you off...
    Positives: Dragons End Negatives:
    Well well what to say about this game?
    Lets start with the positive to dont scare you off...

    Positives:
    Dragons

    End

    Negatives: performance problems, bugs bugs bugs bugs and even more bugs!
    a lot of people cant play this game properly even at roughly 10 FPS where the same PC works fine on much MUCH more complex games and grafical spectacles. The support on European servers has no clue what their doing and tell roughly 80% of people to ask the forums as if people in the forums would know the ansers to game related problems.
    Patches are never tested and always patched, then crashing and so on and so on.

    The Cash Politic on the euro-serversare most likely: pay or lose
    and a lot of people REFUSE to pay anymore because of said problems.
    Servers are empty and performance drops underground for no apperant reason.

    This game really is bad if it wasnt for the dragon part where this still has the monopole on. Create a proper Dragon related MMO on a PROPER game Engine (Yes they created their own engine wich grills grafic cards with extreme temperature while not even using them halveway) and Dragons Prophet will soon be forgotten. It is a forgettable game wch had so much promise in the beginning wich dissapoints their player more and more everyday
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews