• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2005
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 90
    Quotation forthcoming. [Dec 2005]
  2. It's an ingenious mix of resource management, micromanagement, action, RPG elements, tactics, strategy, innovation, and good old-fashioned D&D atmosphere.
  3. Dragonshard is more concerned with recapturing the long-lost energy of those dorky all-night session then with remaining faithful to the math and canon per se. [Dec p.53]
  4. Dragonshard has a great mix of solid gameplay, good features, and a beautiful world.
  5. The multiplayer game really is something different from other RTS games you’ve played online, and if you’re an RTS multiplayer fan it is well worth your time to give Dragonshard a try.
  6. The 3D action and well-done graphics as well as the ease of control and use of both the above and below ground experiences make for a great adventure and real-time strategy experience.
  7. The story is interesting and well-told, and the dual-map system breathes new life into a genre that was beginning to leave a sour taste on the palates of many gamers.
  8. It's good-looking and fast-paced, and it will have you crushing armies in one moment and plundering tombs the next. That's a heck of a combination.
  9. It is a very solid game overall with some nice tweaks and a good presentation.
  10. 85
    Dragonshard has a core of a solid graphics engine, adequate sound and introduces some innovative gameplay elements such as the dual realms.
  11. 84
    Sending heroes down below to negotiate traps, battle huge monsters or collect loot is as important and exciting as building vast armies, securing shards and taking the fight to the enemy’s base. And it’s just as fun too.
  12. A veritable host of small technical problems keep Dragonshard from reaching the potential created by its innovative design. [Nov 2005, p.174]
  13. A bit on the shallow side, but it's the only D&D RTS game in town. [Dec 2005, p.80]
  14. A nice romp through a D&D universe, but at times, it felt like I was playing through what I have done before, most likely because the mechanics are a melting pot of aspects from various preceding games.
  15. So, a passable RPG/RTS that wants to be a Star Trek chess set in the D&D universe, but not as beardies know and love it. [PC Zone]
  16. Not spectacular, but solid - a nice surprise for at least short-order strategy. [Dec 2005, p.93]
  17. It's amusingly offbeat in places, but I can't help suspecting that the D&D hardcore will be deeply dissatisfied with Atari's offerings, at least until Dungeons & Dragons Online turns up.
  18. A fun mix of strategy and role-playing, minus all the pencils and dice.
  19. 70
    Maybe not all of the ideas came together properly, but at the end of the day it's a fresh and interesting game. Hopefully, Liquid will get a chance to perfect the formula in a sequel.
  20. The single player campaigns are a bit short, and we really wished there was a unit carryover and more transferable items to further compliment the RTS/RPG features, but Dragonshard has accomplished quite a bit with what they've done.
  21. Just when you become well-entrenched in the world of Eberron, the single-player campaign comes to an abrupt end. The only way to continue the fun is to get online and master the multiplayer side to the game, which is something that might not appeal to every adventurer out there.
  22. Its mechanics are simple and its missions are boring, and so there’s just nothing to recommend about it.
  23. Dragonshard has so much going for it: great graphics, good sound, an entertaining and functional setting, innovative elements like the home base structuring and the familiarity of the D&D license.
  24. 60
    The actual strategy aspect is drastically limited, thanks to the small arenas and abbreviated unit types. With only two short campaigns that interest will quickly turn to boredom.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. FrankRizzo
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Wow - this game is cool. Not sure how people are comparing it to WC3 - it has a very different feel from normal RTS. No buliding tech tree! No peons! Cool monsters! Building monuments affect your troops! Treasures and magical items you can pick up! Real quests! Great environment! All around very fun. Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    I first tried this game as the umbragen; the classes were hard to understand and while I'm trying to understand the different unit roles and beginning to collect resources I get swarm-killed(med ai). I then decide to try out easy with the same faction; I build up an army of two healers, three tanks, one gatherer, two ranger units, and the vampire queen hero. I get swarmed again by a giant splot of blue on the map and half of my units are dead before I can select any of the units I need. I had level 3 walls and I got @ss-raped. I deleted this sorry excuse for a game off my harddrive two seconds later.

    boooo......
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    2
    Not of my liking I made the mistake of buying the game please do not made the same one. Nothing more to say besides DO NOT BUY IT by any chance, predictable like a poor clone of Warcraft Full Review »