Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 12, 2016
    80
    Boring puzzles and at times jarring low-budget visuals stir a lot of negative emotions, but all this anger and frustration will be wiped away by the narrative tide of sincere emotions and soothing nostalgia. Ragnar Tornquist creates colorful character, and writes witty dialogue; he knows how to carry on the intrigue, make you laugh and, when the gods of drama demand it, sucker-punch you with full force.
  2. Jul 5, 2016
    80
    You have to run a lot in Dreamfall Chapters, but it is still an enjoyable story and an ending to a long journey. The story elements are in focus as the puzzles are usually rather simple and straightforward.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Aug 23, 2016
    78
    Last chapter of a game shouldn’t be “just another adventure”, but a final that nicely ties up all loose threads. Unfortunately, Dreamfall Chapters’ ending leaves enough of those to knit a whole sweater for Christmas. [Issue#211, p.65]
  4. Jun 24, 2016
    78
    Chapters is a solid game, but the gameplay rarely engages and the ending of the story leaves too much unsaid. Still, there is plenty of intrigue and a fantastic cast of characters driven by a superb script and delightful voice acting.
  5. May 7, 2017
    75
    The characters, along with the story, are the strong point of the title, returning many of the classics we could see being a jumble of pixels in 2D so many years ago.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 28, 2016
    73
    Dreamfall Chapters is a mess of a game, with both story and gameplay segments varying wildly in quality. That said, it is still a must-play for all fans of the series. There are very few games that attempt to weave such an ambitious narrative. [Aug 2016]
  7. CD-Action
    Sep 17, 2016
    70
    Dreamfall Chapters is a satisfactory successor to The Longest Journey and Dreamfall, but not a good enough game in its own right. [09/2016, p.46]
  8. Aug 11, 2016
    70
    Successful adventure offers a satisfactory ending of a saga. Its advantages include excellent atmosphere and screenwriting, fantastic dubbing and an interesting story. Pity there is also wrong pace of the game in its first half, a lot of unnecessary running, and some not-so-imaginative puzzles. Even though the positives far outweigh the negatives and game can be recommended to adventure fans.
  9. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 14, 2016
    60
    You must forgive this whole game so many things, but its strong moments will pay you back. The answers to the burning questions from the past, unfortunately, don´t belong among them. [Issue#266]
  10. Aug 17, 2016
    60
    Dreamfall Chapters is a good game that requires following the series from the beginning. You have to really know the characters and their worlds. Without it you get a game full of outdated gameplay solutions with mediocre technical side and occasional extremely boring parts. If you do not love The Longest Journey focus on something like Life is Strange, it'll be better for you.
  11. Jul 1, 2016
    50
    An ambitious sequel to 2006’s Dreamfall, Chapters is worth playing to see how the saga ends but doesn’t hold up as a standalone adventure.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 65
  2. Negative: 22 out of 65
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Not much of a review, because i am too biased.

    The longest journey is the best adventure i played, Dreamfall is my favourite storybased
    Not much of a review, because i am too biased.

    The longest journey is the best adventure i played, Dreamfall is my favourite storybased game, and chapters just continues.

    To be more objective - it is less a "game" and more a "story" - or lets say - game elements won t get in the way of the story too much. TLJ was a better "game" than Dreamfall for sure. - Chapters tries to mix it up a little bit - offering more gameplay than "go from A to B and watch the next cutscene".

    chapters looks great, has a great soundtrack and feels very good. If you loved Dreamfall, i am sure you love chapters, too.
    Full Review »
  2. Fuz
    Oct 23, 2014
    2
    I'll start saying that The Longest Journey is one of my favourite adventure games ever. Beautful game.
    I also enjoyed quite a lot the first
    I'll start saying that The Longest Journey is one of my favourite adventure games ever. Beautful game.
    I also enjoyed quite a lot the first Dreamfall.
    So, why this low score? Easy said: shoulder camera. It's sort of a new trend in gaming that I can't tolerate. It makes me feel unbalanced and ill, I have problems moving around and going straight with it. Even zooming out, the camera stays (although less) on the side of the character... and it often gets back to a more zoomed in position, adding the annoyance of zooming it out again quite often.
    The first Dreamfall had a perfectly fine and functional centered camera. I wish developers would have just sticked with that (or at least gave us the option to choose). It would have worked way better.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Beautiful game. Beautiful world. Beautiful characters. It's got a heart inside of it which beats constantly and stops never. I haven't playedBeautiful game. Beautiful world. Beautiful characters. It's got a heart inside of it which beats constantly and stops never. I haven't played the previous titles but this one looks good enough to impress me when there haven't been too many beautiful games (mostly craps) since 2014. You gotta give it a try and it'll take you down, deep deep down, into its heart. I wish the upcoming versions were as good as this one or even better. Full Review »