Dreamfall: The Longest Journey PC

  • Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2006
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 515 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 515
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Gert
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    Brilliant adventure game. The visuals are stunning and the story excellent. I'm not too sure why some people complain about the voice acting - it's quite good. I really hope there'll be a sequel.
  2. L
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    this is one of the best adventure games i've ever played. once you start you cannot stop playing until the end.
  3. SeanB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    I cannot stress how fantastic of a game this is! It tells a story that competes with some of the best novels. It is not as free form as most game. Instead of that, it tells a story in these fantastic worlds with characters that are incredibly real. This game is worth the time and money. It is an experience to behold and the crowning game in my collection.
  4. Frosty
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    One of the best digital novels either. Dont expect too much gameplay, but a solid story with interesting characters instead.
  5. MikaelN.
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Just a great game, strongly recomend it!
  6. GeneralL.
    Aug 28, 2006
    5
    I was a fan of the original and was pretty sure I'd love Dreamfall when I bought it. But I didn't. Sure the story is well done, but the whole part that takes place in Arcadia is completely useless, and the ending is so frustrating that its apparent purpose, to make you buy the sequel, was completely reversed in my case, it made sure I didn't ever spend money on a game of I was a fan of the original and was pretty sure I'd love Dreamfall when I bought it. But I didn't. Sure the story is well done, but the whole part that takes place in Arcadia is completely useless, and the ending is so frustrating that its apparent purpose, to make you buy the sequel, was completely reversed in my case, it made sure I didn't ever spend money on a game of this series. The game should have been a movie, only if it had been, all the parts you're actually playing would have been cut, as they're the most uninteresting and straightforward parts of the game. Everything of import happens in the (LONG) cutscenes. To be fair, the 3d environments and voice acting are well done, even if the character themselves are badly animated. Expand
  7. JohnH.
    Nov 29, 2007
    6
    The story is the game..and if you like girls in underwear it will add to the experience. However, there is not much of a game. Most of the time playing this I was passive following a good interactive story. I'd love to see how the story evolves from here but I don't mind watching it on VHS/DVD.
  8. PedroS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Intriguing plot, breathtaking environments, beautiful surroundings and the feeling of being together with the characters in each step. A perfect game for those who think playing is more than simply be shooting down people and the monsters. Zoe is brave and lovely.
  9. PaalE.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    It is another masterpiece by Funcom.
  10. FelipeC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    The game is well organized, the story the music and the voices bring to life an adventure never seen it, also the game make you want more of it for me excellent game.
  11. CHristianH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Its an incredible game. And I'm proud that its a Norwegian game too. A MUST try game.
  12. SeleneM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    9
    Its a good game for my was so short i rescue it like in 8 hours but it seems good, he ending was so horrible really but i love April Ryan in first and second part ^^ Waiting for third game CLOSELY.
  13. PavelC.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    A game that reveals an amazingly beautiful world and story, it had me captured from beginning to end. It's like reading a fairy tale, which is a precious rarity in the 21st century.
  14. PhoenixC.
    Jan 25, 2007
    3
    Just so you don't think I overlooked it, the graphics are pretty decent. Way to be on par with Half-Life 2...almost. Okay, with that out of the way, I'd like to say this is the WORST GAME EVER. After I finish writing this, I writing the developers to ask for my money back. This game consists of basically running errands, albeit through a pretty background, but this game is Just so you don't think I overlooked it, the graphics are pretty decent. Way to be on par with Half-Life 2...almost. Okay, with that out of the way, I'd like to say this is the WORST GAME EVER. After I finish writing this, I writing the developers to ask for my money back. This game consists of basically running errands, albeit through a pretty background, but this game is basically devoid of any puzzles, challenges, or action that would have made this game something more than just "pretty". Seriously, this is Sophia Coppola bad...like my uncle or dad greenlighted this miserable failure of a game kind of bad. It looked like some genius decided to market a game that women would get into, but I have a feeling even women gamers would find the glut of dialogue and shallow-end type of "challenges" in this game insultingly easy and vapid. Expand
  15. JamieK.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    I just finished playing this incredible game (after another session of playing it for 8 hours straight) and it felt like a really good book ended. This game is very satisfying, and I felt as though there were little to no flaws. The atmosphere in the game is very vibrant and immersive. The story, voice acting, and humor in the game were very genuine and entertaining; I wasn't bored I just finished playing this incredible game (after another session of playing it for 8 hours straight) and it felt like a really good book ended. This game is very satisfying, and I felt as though there were little to no flaws. The atmosphere in the game is very vibrant and immersive. The story, voice acting, and humor in the game were very genuine and entertaining; I wasn't bored at any time playing this game. I hope that more people pick up a copy so that the developers will be able to make the third volume! Expand
  16. EricG.
    Feb 11, 2007
    7
    Excellent storyline, well assembled and executed. Some dialogue sequences are too long and drawn-out; and the combat controls are absolutely pathetic. But, in all I would say its worth playing, but not twice.
  17. RandallS.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    Story: The story was excellent. It was very interesting and sort of creepy at the same time. I always wanted to find out what happened next. There are few games with such a great sci-fi story, I really enjoyed their portrayal of the future. Gameplay: The controls are a bit awkward, but they are fine once you get used to them. This is not a game for action fans, the battle system in Story: The story was excellent. It was very interesting and sort of creepy at the same time. I always wanted to find out what happened next. There are few games with such a great sci-fi story, I really enjoyed their portrayal of the future. Gameplay: The controls are a bit awkward, but they are fine once you get used to them. This is not a game for action fans, the battle system in shallow, and there are very few battles, like 10 in the whole game. This is really more of a puzzle game, that will challenge you and always throw something new at you. Despite the name of the game, the journey is actually relatively short, and I finished it in about 10 hours. Graphics: The graphics are very good, but they aren't very refined. For instance, the swords of an important character would stick through their cloak as they ran and the read beam from patrol scanners often goes through walls. Sound: The sound is mostly used to paint the environment and for character voices. The environmental sounds were appropriate, clear, and well placed. On the other hand, the voice acting was quite poor. A lot of the conversations didn't sound like conversations at all, the characters often make long pauses that make it sound like they are having trouble piecing together their sentences. Summary: This is a great game for those who like puzzles, but it isn't for those who prefer a lot of action. I was quite disappointed with the end though, that leaves you hanging...painfully. Expand
  18. James
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This game is the closest to art or a movie a "game" has ever been. As long as you get involved in the story it really takes you on a journey and a half.
  19. NemadomM.
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    This game is amazing, of course it has its own problems, here and there, that I wont going to stare at it in 1000 words. I will stare at its "goodness". When you are watching an incredible film in the cinema, and at the end your emotions trap your heart, thats it. Your brain is only thinking on the whole thing. You gota get into the car and travel back home. And while you are going and This game is amazing, of course it has its own problems, here and there, that I wont going to stare at it in 1000 words. I will stare at its "goodness". When you are watching an incredible film in the cinema, and at the end your emotions trap your heart, thats it. Your brain is only thinking on the whole thing. You gota get into the car and travel back home. And while you are going and watching out on the window this feeling that you got is fadeing away, and you are going into sadnes, because you would love to have this strange feeling longer but you can't, it's fadeing... As I sad before this happens on the end of a good film, just as happens at the and of a good game. And well, here, you can have that feeling a bit longer. Of course if you haven't got a brother who suddenly comes in and says to you: What a useless game... And you loose your "Fate" A true amasing, and fantastic game. Expand
  20. DarkE.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Dreamfall: The Longest Journey is an amazing game that has redefined what games should be. The story is amazing and mysterious which keeps you wondering whats next. The soundtrack sets an excellent atmosphere to the world. The characters are interesting and lovable. Yes there is a lot of talking but the conversations are interesting and make the characters and the world more believable. Dreamfall: The Longest Journey is an amazing game that has redefined what games should be. The story is amazing and mysterious which keeps you wondering whats next. The soundtrack sets an excellent atmosphere to the world. The characters are interesting and lovable. Yes there is a lot of talking but the conversations are interesting and make the characters and the world more believable. The only thing that can be improved on is the semi sluggish combat system. Compared to the first The Longest Journey which was nearly impossible for many the puzzles are simplier. Which doesn't affect my rating any considering they were still fun and got you thinking. Expand
  21. IkeM.
    Mar 29, 2007
    5
    Graphics OK, good music, good voice acting. Gameplay is very linear and allows no deviation from the main path. You have no influence at all at the end - which is a cliffhanger. I hate this kind of ending. It's ok for free-tv series, but in computer games this just sucks.
  22. Mike
    Mar 6, 2007
    5
    There are numerous things I don't like about this game. 1. The graphics are decent, but they are not even close to HL2, especially the close ups of faces. 2. The gameplay is VERY linear!! There is nothing to explore. It seems very closed. 3. two of the voice overs are just terrible! How could they pass these voice? 4. annoying running around for example, getting the spices. What a There are numerous things I don't like about this game. 1. The graphics are decent, but they are not even close to HL2, especially the close ups of faces. 2. The gameplay is VERY linear!! There is nothing to explore. It seems very closed. 3. two of the voice overs are just terrible! How could they pass these voice? 4. annoying running around for example, getting the spices. What a waste of time! Overall. If you're into boring adventure games, then you can give it a try. Otherwise stay away from this game! Expand
  23. SoldierX.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Fantastic, the story is keeping you behind the screen of your computer, the graphics are fantastic and its Not point-and-click, its an adventure you can wander everywhere, the animation of characters are smooth. The puzzles aren't to difficult and aren't to easy, just the perfect balance, at the beginning you need to learn master the controls, the only bad thing is that combat Fantastic, the story is keeping you behind the screen of your computer, the graphics are fantastic and its Not point-and-click, its an adventure you can wander everywhere, the animation of characters are smooth. The puzzles aren't to difficult and aren't to easy, just the perfect balance, at the beginning you need to learn master the controls, the only bad thing is that combat is a bit messy, but i don't care in an adventure like this! 10/10 for originality 8/10 for graphics (but best in an adventure i ever saw) 10/10 for gameplay and 10/10 for sound (its heart pumping and you never feel safe in the scary parts!) Expand
  24. MarkB.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, engrossing and addictive. In a gaming world full of brutal soldier shooters that are little more than propaganda filled recruiting vehicles for the US war machine, this stands as a captivating and involving work of art that asks questions - about war, faith and being human. It's also beautifully rendered in full 3D, superbly voiced and very atmospheric. It's also very Beautiful, engrossing and addictive. In a gaming world full of brutal soldier shooters that are little more than propaganda filled recruiting vehicles for the US war machine, this stands as a captivating and involving work of art that asks questions - about war, faith and being human. It's also beautifully rendered in full 3D, superbly voiced and very atmospheric. It's also very funny sometimes, and very sad. The storyline is the best bit though, I was hooked all the way through. The way the three characters intertwine and meet up is interesting, though I felt the Azadi assasin character was underplayed slightly. Puzzle and action-wise it's none too challenging, and only once or twice did I scratch my head or curse my two left thumbs with my control pad (I was playing on a PC connected to my 26inch LCD TV using an Xbox 360 controller - much easier than a mouse). To me that's a good thing - too many games are too hard both mentally and physically, and they just aren't much fun. There is a lot of dialogue, but most of it relevant and/or entertaining... I didn't get too far into the first game as I got a bit bored by all the branching dialogue... however, after playing this I will definitely give it another go as I want to find more about the backstory of Dreamfall. I recommend you get this game. Buy it, watch it, play it, live it ... it's amazing! Expand
  25. AnonymousMC
    Jun 16, 2007
    4
    it could have been so much more than it was. basically, dreamfall was an amazing story with incidental gameplay. while the story was fantastic and sets up nicely for a third installment; actual gameplay was horridly abysmal. it didn't have to be TLJ to be successful. it just had to be good. sadly, as an adventure game, dreamfall missed its mark entirely. the storyline saved itit could have been so much more than it was. basically, dreamfall was an amazing story with incidental gameplay. while the story was fantastic and sets up nicely for a third installment; actual gameplay was horridly abysmal. it didn't have to be TLJ to be successful. it just had to be good. sadly, as an adventure game, dreamfall missed its mark entirely. the storyline saved it from a rating of 1. Expand
  26. HighVoltage
    Jun 3, 2007
    6
    Everything is pretty good; however, the graphics SUCK! I mean... just look at the renders and you'll see what I mean. Next, this is a great quest genre game, but its nothing compared to Neverwinter Nights, Oblivion or even Morrowind. You dont have any "side quests"... I'd say this is an "OK" game, but the thing that pisses me off aobut it is absolutely no "freedom". All I can Everything is pretty good; however, the graphics SUCK! I mean... just look at the renders and you'll see what I mean. Next, this is a great quest genre game, but its nothing compared to Neverwinter Nights, Oblivion or even Morrowind. You dont have any "side quests"... I'd say this is an "OK" game, but the thing that pisses me off aobut it is absolutely no "freedom". All I can conclude from this is that people that made this game did not take their time and were just rushing. If any of you guys whoever made this game ever read this: my advice - next time take your time on the graphics and side quests. Thats probably the main reason why Bioware's games rock - they take their time. So I voted 6/10. 2 problems - poor graphics, and everything is right according to the story... Expand
  27. EmmaB.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing and creepy... Very in depth and strong storyline... Loved it!
  28. RezaA.
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    I loved Longest journey and was looking forward to this game for years but dreamfall disappointed me! good game but not a great game as longest journey.
  29. JonH
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    A wonderfully depicted, beautiful, clever, engaging, and (occasionally) funny game. The tech is now looking a bit dated in places but the game is very well put together and the story is in a class of it's own. My only gripes are: the controls are slightly awkward and (as with Tomb-raider etc) the camera doesn't always point where you want or expect it too. Some of the A wonderfully depicted, beautiful, clever, engaging, and (occasionally) funny game. The tech is now looking a bit dated in places but the game is very well put together and the story is in a class of it's own. My only gripes are: the controls are slightly awkward and (as with Tomb-raider etc) the camera doesn't always point where you want or expect it too. Some of the cut/dialogue scenes are long in places (particularly towards the end), but they're so well crafted and artistic that my advice would be to just enjoy them as the quality is undeniable. Highly Recommended! Expand
  30. AlexH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    The combat can be annoying at times, but overall the game is a beautiful place to play in, has an outstanding soundtrack, and has a constantly evolving and involving storyline that will leave you wanting more.
  31. GlyphL
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. The reviewers who have criticized it for not being a "game" are being too narrow in their definition of the word: it's unfortunately imprecise, but "game" now means "digital interactive experience", and as such a "game", this is an absolute must-play. My only criticism of it, really, is that it's doesn't come to a This is really one of the best games I've ever played. The reviewers who have criticized it for not being a "game" are being too narrow in their definition of the word: it's unfortunately imprecise, but "game" now means "digital interactive experience", and as such a "game", this is an absolute must-play. My only criticism of it, really, is that it's doesn't come to a completely satisfying conclusion because the creators expect to produce a sequel. I pre-ordered this, played it the day it came out, and I've been waiting with baited breath for that sequel since then. Expand
  32. SnaxK.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    This game is excellent, the only way to improve this game I could think of is to free the vertical movement of the camera and to mabye change the view to first person instead of 2nd, but really that is just because I love 1st person shootes. Excellent game!
  33. NatdRat
    Oct 17, 2006
    8
    Dreamfall's story is the most compelling aspect of this adventure game. It's one great story. While the cliffhanger ending slightly dissapoints, what is most dissapointing is the extreme lack of puzzles and the user interface (specifically control and camera). The puzzles are extremely easy and would have been welcome had they been scattered among more difficult or complicated Dreamfall's story is the most compelling aspect of this adventure game. It's one great story. While the cliffhanger ending slightly dissapoints, what is most dissapointing is the extreme lack of puzzles and the user interface (specifically control and camera). The puzzles are extremely easy and would have been welcome had they been scattered among more difficult or complicated ones. The lack of the latter is paramount to the short playtime of Dreamfall. Controls for moving are somewhat clunky, especially during the innane combat sequences. Overall Dreamfall's story is so good that you can overlook it's faults. Those who have played it's predecessor, The Longest Journey, will benefit the most from the game, but adventure fans addicted to serious puzzle solving will feel slightly jilted after playing this very good interactive storybook game. Expand
  34. StuartY.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Ragnar does it again. Another beautiful game from the current master of the adventure genre.
  35. Shira
    May 16, 2006
    10
    Great game, emotional and beautiful. Can't wait for part two.
  36. AH
    May 27, 2006
    10
    the sequel of the longest journey(the best adventure game ever made) is a must-have for all fans. it can be also enjoyed by people that haven't played the first. best gaming experience, this is the essence of computer gaming.
  37. AsifA.
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    Game picks the interest from the begening , graphics are real good , ideas of story is real nice , but ending is sad , hoping for a secong part of the game soon .
  38. KR
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    A great game. Very engrossing plot, with a massive cliffhanger end. Needs a sequel.
  39. Richard
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Best game I ever played, seriously. Can't believe the critics ratings are that low. Graphics, sound and story, are just incredible.
  40. JayK.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    This game probably has the best story, writing, and voice acting of any I've ever played. It is intensely enjoyable, and not to be missed by adventure gamers. It is also far superior to the prequel, whose voice acting and dialogue were annoying. The fighting system is lame but doesn't ruin anything. The puzzles are easy but amusing and keep the intriguing story moving. Please This game probably has the best story, writing, and voice acting of any I've ever played. It is intensely enjoyable, and not to be missed by adventure gamers. It is also far superior to the prequel, whose voice acting and dialogue were annoying. The fighting system is lame but doesn't ruin anything. The puzzles are easy but amusing and keep the intriguing story moving. Please buy this so we can all see an ending to this awesome story! Expand
  41. BarbannisW.
    Mar 26, 2007
    8
    Awesome game, great storyline. The only faults I could see with this game were mainly 3 things, the camera views were hard to get used to, took a bit at first but in the end you get used to it. Second, the character expressions. They never changed, there was no scared, there was no happy, there was no sad, just the same. heh other then that it was too dang short!. The story was awesome! Awesome game, great storyline. The only faults I could see with this game were mainly 3 things, the camera views were hard to get used to, took a bit at first but in the end you get used to it. Second, the character expressions. They never changed, there was no scared, there was no happy, there was no sad, just the same. heh other then that it was too dang short!. The story was awesome! The environments and characters like Crow were so fun all in all, 8/10 good game, can't wait for a sequel! Expand
  42. JoeB.
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    A good game, but the ending sucked and was a obvious setup for a third game.
  43. RockL.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    This game was amazing, it had the best story line i've seen in any game, i wish all games cared about story as much as this game does. It had a very beautiful world and characters. I can't wait for a sequal.
  44. DonR
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    This is on of the best games adventure I've ever played. The story is truly compelling and thought provoking. The characters draw you into their story. The game play was an enjoyable mix of elements while the story telling was exciting and suspenseful. This game left me anxious almost desperate for a sequel. Plots like this could usure in a new era in video games where they are This is on of the best games adventure I've ever played. The story is truly compelling and thought provoking. The characters draw you into their story. The game play was an enjoyable mix of elements while the story telling was exciting and suspenseful. This game left me anxious almost desperate for a sequel. Plots like this could usure in a new era in video games where they are considered a legitatment media to tell the greatest stories of our time. Expand
  45. MatthewK.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    In an absolute class of its own for story-telling and as a result a unique and uniquely good experience. By half an hour in you care about the main character because both she and the setting are so interesting and believable. The fighting and stealth sequences are much-criticised but I didn't have a problem with them in a game where the primary rewards are not from individual In an absolute class of its own for story-telling and as a result a unique and uniquely good experience. By half an hour in you care about the main character because both she and the setting are so interesting and believable. The fighting and stealth sequences are much-criticised but I didn't have a problem with them in a game where the primary rewards are not from individual gameplay elements but from immersion in the world, story and characters. I don't play games often these days but was entranced by Dreamfall - a very special game. Expand
  46. MC
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    A wonderful game all around. The only reason it doesn't score higher is because of the usual low-intelligence people that despise cut scenes. Being an adventure game, it is obviously all about cut scenes. These people should play action games, not adventure games. They probably don't have a clue as to the difference. I have talked to many of the people that don't like cut A wonderful game all around. The only reason it doesn't score higher is because of the usual low-intelligence people that despise cut scenes. Being an adventure game, it is obviously all about cut scenes. These people should play action games, not adventure games. They probably don't have a clue as to the difference. I have talked to many of the people that don't like cut scenes and people that do and you can usually tell before you ask whether they will like them or not based on the person's intelligence. The dumber they are, the less they like cut scenes. Of course if you can't sit still like a big boy and keep pressing the space bar to get through cut scenes your not going to enjoy it. I bet these low brows have never read a book in their lives. I have a deep sense of pity for someone who goes around life without curiosity. How sad. Anyway if you deduct these scores, a correct assessment would be somewhere between 8 and 10 for most people. Expand
  47. JamesC.
    Feb 18, 2008
    9
    I wish I could give this 10. It's one of my favorite games of all time, but sadly the awful controls and fight sequences mean I have to take a point off. I'm replaying it at the moment, and really not looking forward to the stealth sequences. I am though, loving every line of dialog, and every moment exploring Ragnar Tornquist's worlds. Very much hoping that the sequel will I wish I could give this 10. It's one of my favorite games of all time, but sadly the awful controls and fight sequences mean I have to take a point off. I'm replaying it at the moment, and really not looking forward to the stealth sequences. I am though, loving every line of dialog, and every moment exploring Ragnar Tornquist's worlds. Very much hoping that the sequel will come sooner rather than later. Expand
  48. BenjaminG.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, can't wait for the final installment! I'd probably give it a 9.5 if possible, due to somewhat clumsy action sequences, but the storytelling and immersion factors are well beyond most other games.
  49. Adventuregamer
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    Crap. Fails as a game and as a low budget movie.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Nov 16, 2007
    3
    Let's get one thing clear right from the start: calling Dreamfall a game is like spending a night in the bathroom with a girlie magazine and calling it a date with a hot chick. Yes, some folks might enjoy it just as much, but who are we kidding?

    Dreamfall is mostly devoid of any fun gaming elements, and chock full of a hodge podge of the worst gaming mechanics handpicked from all
    Let's get one thing clear right from the start: calling Dreamfall a game is like spending a night in the bathroom with a girlie magazine and calling it a date with a hot chick. Yes, some folks might enjoy it just as much, but who are we kidding?

    Dreamfall is mostly devoid of any fun gaming elements, and chock full of a hodge podge of the worst gaming mechanics handpicked from all genres. Erratic third-person view camera that gets in your way? Check. Stilted button-mashing fights? Check. Pointless fetch quests consisting of nothing but running back and forth? Check. Forced stealth sequences? Check. But wait! "It's an adventure game," you say, "I can overlook all of that if the adventure bit is good."

    Well, it's not.
    I'll enumerate the three things that define an adventure game for me:

    1. A sense of exploration and discovery. Dreamfall has some beautiful environments, but there's invariably nothing interesting to interact with aside from what you need to proceed with the storyline. In fact, some chapters consist entirely of just walking a bit and triggering cutscenes. There's never a sense that you are interacting with the world, just rolling through it on fairly obvious rails.
    2. Clever puzzles to solve. One of the weaknesses of The Longest Journey was that most of the puzzles were pretty much sequential; It was always clear you had one puzzle to solve, and you weren't allowed to do anything else until you solved it. This is bad because it makes the puzzles easier to solve, since you're always sure you have the resources to solve it in your immediate area, and also because if you do get stuck, there's nothing else you can do in the game until you solve it. Dreamfall continues that tradition and makes even the exercise itself annoying. The puzzles are either trivial. ("Oh look, here's a key and here's a locked door right in front of me. Hmmm ...") or require triggering an obtuse mechanic even if the solution is obvious to the player ("Wait, I just saw the combination, why won't the game let me enter it?") The puzzles don't have to be difficult, but they should feel like more than just going through the motions to get to the next cutscene. If the story is the payoff to your night with a girlie magazine, then the puzzles in this game are like the advertisements showing hairy, fat, naked men on every other page in said girlie mag.
    3. An engaging story and characters. I would like to say that this is where Dreamfall delivers, but it's really only good compared against the lowered expectations for what passes for plot in a computer game. Overall, the multiple characters makes plotting less tight than in The Longest Journey, and often a little contrived in the way it makes the characters Zoe and April meander back and forth aimlessly ("I need to get to Arcadia to get April to help Reza! No, wait, I really should be back in Stark to do something about the Static! No, let me be whisked off by fate to achieve ... nothing!")Given what the gameplay is like, I recommend reading a book or watching a movie to get your fix of fictional narrative instead. Both are better delivery mechanisms for story than the machinima cutscenes in Dreamfall.
    One other strike against the plot is that it's mostly setting up for another sequel, and as you can imagine, feels about as satisfying as getting to the centerfold in your girlie mag and finding out it's been replaced with those annoying subscription mailer things.
    And yes, I only flogged that metaphor into a bloody dead horse pulp because I care.
    Have we gotten so desperate for adventure games that this steaming pile manages to walk off with a game of the year award from anyone? Go play some other better games instead:

    The Longest Journey from FunCom, if you haven't played it already.

    Sam & Max from Telltale Games, if you want something current, actually like to have fun and want the adventure game genre to live on.
    The Gabriel Knight series from Sierra, if you want an adventure game with mature themes and good writing. Be warned that this is old school adventure game difficulty.

    Psychonauts from Double Fine Games, for an example of a genre bender evolved from adventure games, which has all the fun elements instead of all the sucky ones. Beyond Good and Evil, from Ubisoft for the PS2 is another fun example.
    Expand
  51. DanS.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing adventure! Just a great story, well done!
  52. Rene
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    I've played the longest journy part one, but I liked Dreamfall even more. Execellent graphics, great scene's and a very good story. This is the best adventure I've ever played. I liked all the characters so much!!
  53. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Great game only downside were the combat although there wasn't much of it and possibly the puzzles were a little easy but perhaps that's a good thing because they don't get in the way of an amazing story and flow of the game. Took 9-hrs to complete no guides needed.
  54. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know what it is with this game. Just like it's predecessor, I have played a big part of the game being either annoyed, or amused by weaknesses, simplicity, or oversights in writing and/or gameplay. I've wondered lots of times what the hype could've possibly been about, especially when running from a to b and back for the millionth time. I still kept playing though. After about 2/3 into the game it had somehow managed to get a firm grip on me and while the faults and annoyances remained, I'm deeply immersed into the whole story.

    So, is the story that good ? I can't really tell. It's definitely not bad, but I've played the Witcher 2 just before this and, for comparison, that game does have what I'd easily call a really good story. Dreamfall is more like the series Lost. There's holes and gaps and things that happen that don't seem to matter, but then there are also great story elements and moments which just kept me hooked. In the end, the good parts do balance out the bad.

    **Minor spoiler alert**

    ...until it suddenly ends with a bunch of cliffhangers that dwarf the hanging gardens of Babylon, which I thought was very annoying. I still can't hate it for it though. Despite all it's flaws, and there are many, the game is just good.

    I also liked that I felt a bit like playing a low-violence Tombraider.
    Expand
  55. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I truly loved this game when it first came out, the story and atmosphere and even most of the VA work was top notch. The core game play did have a few control issues that seemed to crop out here and there but nothing so bad as to pull you out of a great experience.
  56. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is a first rate classic of adventure gaming and the metascore of only 75 shows that critics who get bored if they haven't killed anything for 5 seconds, and can't resist sniping at adventure games, shouldn't review them. Dreamfall has a wonderful story and provides a captivating experience.
  57. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    Fantastic writing, amazing setting, characterization and storyline are superb, the audio is also amazing. So why am I giving it a mere "7" you ask. Well, sadly the game mechanics themselves are a little clunky, especially the fighting. However the story is so good it's worth playing anyway. As to how good it is in comparison with the original? Well, I haven't played that yet so I couldn't say.
  58. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    A really brilliant adventure game that everyone should try at least once, highly engrossing storyline with memorable characters and very finely crafted levels with a variety of 'not too difficult' puzzles.
    Extremely enjoyable to play and certainly one game you will always remember.
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I consider myself a fan of the original title, The Longest Journey - it had a unique atmosphere, captivating storytelling, likable characters and much more. It was a rewarding experience to play this game and that time was definitely not wasted for me. This title also has a replay value, although of course, it doesn't offer any new content or new ways of solving puzzles, but it's the kindI consider myself a fan of the original title, The Longest Journey - it had a unique atmosphere, captivating storytelling, likable characters and much more. It was a rewarding experience to play this game and that time was definitely not wasted for me. This title also has a replay value, although of course, it doesn't offer any new content or new ways of solving puzzles, but it's the kind of game that I like to play again from time to time (time being measured in years) and still enjoy myself while doing so. It's a very good relaxant. I am sure though, that this kind of title generally has more appeal to female audience than to a male one. / I was looking forward to the sequel, but that was probably because I hadn't been seeking any gameplay-related information in advance. If only I had known... / The game was fine at first, only to gradually get worse and worse. Fighting in TLJ? Really? And of course, also a pretty lame one. Why put that there? So the console users would feel satisfied about having at least some action and wouldn't run away to let off their steam elsewhere? The biggest problem though - at certain point, the game stopped being a game and turned into an interactive movie. Also, the storyline... I can't comment about the inconsistencies with the prequel because it has been quite a long time since I played both games (and when I was playing Dreamfall, I didn't remember all the nuances of the original title to be able to compare the storylines perfectly). But I must say, seeing April again was dissatisfying and her character was only a shell of her old self (which is understandable, given the circumstances, but still... a letdown) and the ending was depressing and clearly prepared for a next installment. / What bothers me about this (apart from what I already mentioned), is that some imagination was clearly still present here - e.g. nice and interesting environments, but for some reason, it's full potential was not unleashed. It's always sad to see there WAS some idea, but the team failed in delivering what they were supposed to deliver in terms of gameplay. / I am definitely not looking forward to another TLJ title (if any will be produced), because I don't believe that anything is going to change here, even though a lot of criticism has been voiced towards the creators. Seems to me like the authors are just milking the fame of the original game and they want to happily continue doing so. /
    I am giving this game a 4 (I considered giving it a 5) - the main reason for it being a lack of gameplay. I don't want to support a trend of movies posing as adventure games. And of course, the re-playability I mentioned in the beginning drops to zero for me with this title.
    Expand
  60. Apr 24, 2012
    6
    Whilst some aspects of this game continue from the original (nice look-and-feel, good music and I thought the voice acting just fine), it is let down by some very poor choices. I don't mind the moving controls, but the fighting is horrendous (-1), if you sort out out to move and swing, you win every fight easy. The puzzles are also repetitive or dull (-1), and the end, sheesh, even if theyWhilst some aspects of this game continue from the original (nice look-and-feel, good music and I thought the voice acting just fine), it is let down by some very poor choices. I don't mind the moving controls, but the fighting is horrendous (-1), if you sort out out to move and swing, you win every fight easy. The puzzles are also repetitive or dull (-1), and the end, sheesh, even if they were thinking of a sequel, it is still a really bad and inconclusive ending (-2). It's better to warn people so. That aside, it still entertains in terms of a game, story is enjoyable, and you are interested in getting to the end. For $10 or less, not a bad game to add to the collection. Expand
  61. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    It's a pity I couldn't actually finish Dreamfall, since it seemed like a great retro game that could stand the test of time! Unfortunately showstopper bugs and the juxtaposition of insanely easy puzzles and insanely difficult ones, made the game less appealing than its predecessor.
  62. May 7, 2012
    9
    Sequel to the best(in my opinion) adventure game of all time: The Longest Journey. Story and character wise its still a masterpiece, but unfortunately most things that were changed from the original are problematic. The biggest problem are the controls - game dropped point-and-click style play and introduced third person view. The controls are clunky and stiff.That is a big problem whenSequel to the best(in my opinion) adventure game of all time: The Longest Journey. Story and character wise its still a masterpiece, but unfortunately most things that were changed from the original are problematic. The biggest problem are the controls - game dropped point-and-click style play and introduced third person view. The controls are clunky and stiff.That is a big problem when you take into account new features - fighting and stealth sections. Fortunately the rest of the game is as good or even in some parts better then its predecessor. The story, characters, dialogues are excellent! The story itself is very intelligent and moving. The story has an open ending and by the end You will be probably in tears...yes its that damn good. The sad thing is that the ending sets up a third part, that probably will never come...Either way this is a great game,and if You can overlook the clunky controls You will not regret playing it! My rating: 9/10 Expand
  63. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    This game needs more mixed reviews. It's a decent spin off that doesn't quite live up to its predecessor. It's less memorable, less immersive and quirky. And it's gameplay is really boring. If you can look past its shortcomings it's a beautiful game with a captivating story. (Story that is to be concluded in Dreamfall Chapters).
    Also, the first game was definitely more daring, but
    This game needs more mixed reviews. It's a decent spin off that doesn't quite live up to its predecessor. It's less memorable, less immersive and quirky. And it's gameplay is really boring. If you can look past its shortcomings it's a beautiful game with a captivating story. (Story that is to be concluded in Dreamfall Chapters).
    Also, the first game was definitely more daring, but Dreamfall stays mature in the way it deals with difficult occurrences, and the more complex, blurry motives of its characters. No hand holding in this regard. Intriguing.
    Expand
  64. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Visually this game is far superior to the original and the story is equally engaging. The biggest drawback is the lack of complex puzzles to solve, the very awkward controls and the after though introduction of a combat system. However the cut scenes and acting are excellent and keep you moving deeper into what could be best described as a movie/book/game hybrid. Very unique and a gameVisually this game is far superior to the original and the story is equally engaging. The biggest drawback is the lack of complex puzzles to solve, the very awkward controls and the after though introduction of a combat system. However the cut scenes and acting are excellent and keep you moving deeper into what could be best described as a movie/book/game hybrid. Very unique and a game I love for the sheer impact of the story it tells. Expand
  65. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    Dreamfall: TLJ is a 3-d third-person point and click adventure game. The game is a sequel to a classic adventure game released in 1998 called The Longest Journey. It is not necessary to play the original TLJ to play Dreamfall, but it helps a lot, since the game universe and many characters are the same. The game is very heavy on story, dialogue, and cinematics, and light on puzzles andDreamfall: TLJ is a 3-d third-person point and click adventure game. The game is a sequel to a classic adventure game released in 1998 called The Longest Journey. It is not necessary to play the original TLJ to play Dreamfall, but it helps a lot, since the game universe and many characters are the same. The game is very heavy on story, dialogue, and cinematics, and light on puzzles and gameplay.

    Story: the story is both the best and the worst I have ever seen in an adventure game. In the last two years I have completed 12 adventure games including old classics and modern indies. Dreamfall has a very complex and compelling story involving several interesting characters, political movements, and the complex game universe. It includes elements of comedy, drama, and tragedy. The story really gathers steam toward the end, resolving one storyline while introducing several more. Then, in the middle of the gathering drama and revelations, the game suddenly ends with no resolution to the fate of a dozen major characters and a dozen major plotlines. This is perhaps the most unsatisfying ending I have ever seen in a game, movie, book etc. Even if they did plan on a sequel, this was just plain terrible. I know a lot of people hated The Empire Strikes Back because of the unresolved plotlines. This is 100x worse.

    Gameplay: there are a few puzzles that require some thought, but overall the mental challenge of this game is on the light side for an adventure game. It is a little unfair to say that this is just an interactive movie, there are some clever puzzles. Unfortunately there are many times you are just sent on a mission to fetch a particular item and bring it to a particular place. The purpose of these brainless missions is to trigger cutscenes that move the story along. A lot of the action takes place in small rooms and tunnels. This means the camera that follows you has to zoom in and out a lot. I suppose this is a problem with any 3-d third-person game, but it can make you a bit dizzy. The interface was tweaked to be more "console friendly". This makes it a little more clunky for the PC, but not terrible.

    Fighting and stealth: the developers added a few fights and a few stealth sequences in the game. The fighting is flat out a waste of time. Just stand in front of your enemy and smash the mouse button and you win. Either that, or the enemy is so tough you always lose. The stealth sequences were much better, although they did not really fit in an adventure game. I like to play adventure games leisurely, with one hand on the mouse and the other hand holding a cup of coffee. I don't want action.

    Graphics: the graphics are dated by 2013 standards, but they are nice, especially the Dreamcore sequence. The close-up shots of faces look the worst. Lots of cutscenes, some of which are pretty cool.

    Sound: there seems to be a lot of interesting music and sounds, much better than the typical adventure game.

    Overall, from the quality of the story, to the quality of the sound and graphics, to the overall scope of the game, this had the potential to be EASILY the best adventure game of all time. Unfortunately the game was crippled by bizarre decisions by the developers: the mega-cliffhanger ending, the introduction of bad action elements, the clunky interface, the too-easy puzzles. What were they thinking?
    Expand
  66. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I give Dreamfall a 10 for the simple reason that I have played through it at least 5 times, maybe more. It's not a perfect game, and it has its issues, but something in it compels me to play through it again from time to time, something most games do not do.
  67. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    This is a typical adventure game were the award lies within the story. The puzzles aren't many, and often not that interesting. But the characters, dialog, story and especially the setting are all interesting and engaging. The game will take you through all sorts of environments, from futuristic versions of our world into medieval fantasy landscapes. But the gameplay isn't that advanced;This is a typical adventure game were the award lies within the story. The puzzles aren't many, and often not that interesting. But the characters, dialog, story and especially the setting are all interesting and engaging. The game will take you through all sorts of environments, from futuristic versions of our world into medieval fantasy landscapes. But the gameplay isn't that advanced; it mostly consists of running around and clicking on stuff, and you won't have much trouble figuring out which items to combine or were to use them. There are a handful of fights within the game, but the fighting mode isn't very well made. But as this isn't a fighting game, I can't say I expected the fights to be that grandiose, and frankly I didn't expect any fighting at all. But since the setting of the game triggers a lot of curiosity, I will have to say that I somehow from time to time found myself wishing I played something else instead, as I missed being able to interact in more ways within the world, rather than just hearing the protagonists comments about stuff I click on and talking to people. I'd say the reason of this lies within how linear the story could be at times. If there were more ways to complete different tasks, or at least more complicated one's, I'd feel more engaged in the actual gameplay. Another thing I would welcome was if there were side quests or just small stuff to explore in general, to sidetrack a bit from the main story. The main story is interesting though, it feels like an epic adventure as it will build up from something feeling like a "regular life simulator" into an magnificent journey between worlds. Expand
  68. Oct 25, 2014
    8
    I would start by saying that Dreamfall is basically a masterpiece in terms of storytelling (and perhaps some more). Right before Chapters got released I decided to play TLJ and Dreamfall again. I must admit that playing Dreamfall straight after playing TLJ made me see clearly some of DF's flaws and understand why some fans were disappointed.

    Dreamfall is drastically different than its
    I would start by saying that Dreamfall is basically a masterpiece in terms of storytelling (and perhaps some more). Right before Chapters got released I decided to play TLJ and Dreamfall again. I must admit that playing Dreamfall straight after playing TLJ made me see clearly some of DF's flaws and understand why some fans were disappointed.

    Dreamfall is drastically different than its predecessor. The old point-n'-click interface is almost completely dropped as you're now moving the characters around 3d environment with controller. (I actually prefer that interface) BUT, that's not all.
    In general, DF has more "hollywoodish" feeling in it. It feels much more like an interactive movie in a way, unlike TLJ. Its pace as much faster compared with TLJ, and many aspect, while good, feel inferior regarding TLJ: The characters are (usually) not as appealing or memorable as on the first game, the puzzles aren't as original, the dialogues aren't as clever, and April Ryan, the loved heroine from TLJ comes back in a rather gothic-gloomy-just-leave-me-alone fashion (although that's a part of the STORY and is completely understandable), and in general it felt as if we've lost some of TLJ's depth.
    Don't get me wrong, these aspects are good(!) within the game, but can be easily overshadowed by TLJ.

    And now, enough with comparisons, I'll try reviewing DF on its own:
    The graphics are beautiful! Both Stark and Arcadia looks fantastic on medium-high settings and even better with anti-aliasing (mainly with ATI video cards I think). I truly enjoyed exploring and viewing the environments in the game.
    The musical score for DF is also amazing in my opinion. Much more "hollywoodish" as I said earlier, it feels orchestrated, and although at times it's poorly mixed into the game (in my opinion) it is very well done, the music as felt all the way throughout the game, and not because it loops infinitely, but because as in a movie it is carefully fitted into every scene alone.
    Story is amazing, of course. It stars of in a weak way. It actually starts off like TLJ - some teenager who's lost direction in her life, and just walking around aimlessly talking to everyone etc'.. The thing is that Zoe looks more dull and shallow than April in TLJ. Give her a chance, though. You'll learn to like her quickly enough as the story twists and turns wittily and Zoe changes and develops.
    In general, the three main characters you'll control in the game would go through interesting changes, which are wonderfully presented to you in DF's cinematic ways. And towards the end it gets really emotional and touchy, you'd probably have no choice but to sympathize the protagonists.

    Now let's talk about some weaker points of the game, as much as I'd like to ignore them... But they're still there: Gameplay wise, well, DF is NOT a big hit. At all. It tried to introduce some action sequences with combat and stealth (I actually kinda liked some of the stealth parts, but..) they were pretty badly done, and for that reason they didn't add to the game as much as they could! (You can avoid many of those sections though). Aside from that, there are *some* inventory puzzles. Not that many. So, what's left besides the aforementioned gameplay aspects? Well... Dialogues. And running around. From cutscene to cutscene. It's sad for me to say these things, because I enjoyed DF so much! Yet, I simply couldn't ignore that big parts of the game I just passed with listening to conversations (merely listening, not even choosing what to say), or with backtracking, which is, at some point, well, not fun.
    And unfortunately, it makes exploration of the beautiful world introduces in DF somewhat tiring and not too rewarding. That's a minus. (Not to mention that the entire game is rather easy!)
    Nice thing about the gameplay, though, some sections can be played in several different ways, in some dialogues you can respond in different ways, and that's actually a great and well done addition to DF's replayability.

    And I'm getting out of chars here, so lets make it quick! DF has some technical flaws as well. Minor, but still - The loading screen appears just way too much! Every time you go from one location to another. This can get pretty annoying! (Although the waiting isn't too long, just a couple of seconds).
    At times, the characters walking around simply fade away! Not aesthetic.
    The characters' animations aren't that good usually, which is a pity as the 3d models themselves and graphics in general are so fine.
    One last thing which didn't annoy me personally but is a drawback - there are many characters and terms which players that are new to TLJ's universe are not familiar with, and Dreamfall doesn't introduce those well.

    That's all I suppose. It's clear that Dreamfall isn't the perfect game, but whoever plays it should understand that the real thing is the story, which most people would agree - is great.
    The game gave me great joy and excitement, and it deserves high grade.
    Expand
  69. Dec 13, 2015
    9
    Truly an amazing game. The story, the music, dialogs. I love its promoting of gender equality, as there's lots of leading female characters. Very interesting game. One of the best games to be honest. I wish there was a lot more games like this one. I want to thank the makers of this game. Truly spectacular.
  70. Feb 5, 2015
    5
    I'd like to be short for this review, if I could give this game a 5.5/10 I would as I don't think it's quite deserving of a 6/10

    It's a very pretty, graphically polished game that immediately drew me in Voice acting is heavy in the game and thankfully they managed to hire talented VAs to do the job, and has some pretty solid writing. Music is just fine, although nothing the stood
    I'd like to be short for this review, if I could give this game a 5.5/10 I would as I don't think it's quite deserving of a 6/10

    It's a very pretty, graphically polished game that immediately drew me in

    Voice acting is heavy in the game and thankfully they managed to hire talented VAs to do the job, and has some pretty solid writing.

    Music is just fine, although nothing the stood out for me

    Now the negatives...

    You are essentially playing a walking simulator from beginning to end,
    It's puzzles are far too easy and uninspired, it attempts to bring a fighting mechanic into the mix, but it's just terrible and felt completely phoned in.

    While you are given multiple choices in the game in the form of dialogue prompts, I've heard that the choices you make really don't affect the game in any way, making it completely linear.

    It's story actually pulled me in and made me want to find out what's really going on.

    But in the end I was like... "WHAT?!"

    It's very confusing and apparently has a lot of references to it's original game which I haven't played.

    I went into the game thinking that I was going to be treated to a head-scratching Broken Sword-esque puzzle solver, but was disappointed.

    It's worthy of at least one playthrough but beyond that it doesn't really have anything else to bring you back.

    It really does have some great visuals and audio though
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. 40
    Edited down to a tight package this could probably make a pretty good machinima feature (or Sci-Fi original motion picture for that matter). But as a game, it fails.
  2. 100
    Dreamfall is an amazing journey that propels players into a world where science, magic, art, and music combine to make a whole much greater than the sum of its parts.
  3. Where Dreamfall excels is in telling a story. The imaginative characters and locations are truly memorable and create a unique experience that makes the ride more enjoyable than the destination.