• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2009
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 17 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArielH
    Jan 15, 2010
    2
    Its like Painkiller, but you only have 2 guns at any time. That kind of just made me stop playing after 10 minutes.
  2. RichardC
    Jan 11, 2010
    3
    An incredible concept executed incredibly wrong. Even the great idea for this game could not make one ignore the outstandingly repetitive fighting of horde after horde of monsters using below-average FPS mechanics. The graphics are mediocre, which usually would not be much of an issue, but since the levels are supposed to be the embodiment of a person's mind, you'd think it An incredible concept executed incredibly wrong. Even the great idea for this game could not make one ignore the outstandingly repetitive fighting of horde after horde of monsters using below-average FPS mechanics. The graphics are mediocre, which usually would not be much of an issue, but since the levels are supposed to be the embodiment of a person's mind, you'd think it would be a bit more... Vivid? Or at least inspired. This game is like "Serious Sam", a fun game where you genocide hordes of absurd monsters with a comedic tone to it, if it took itself seriously. Dreamkiller could have been great, but its inspired story concept did not save it from its uninspired gameplay. Expand
  3. BrianV
    Dec 31, 2009
    3
    The graphics, story and sound were ok at the beginning, but it just gets so repetitive: from room to room, from monster to monster. Nothing fun at all
  4. RussD
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    Very boring, goes on and on, nothing fun, nothing good.
  5. AaronL
    Dec 12, 2009
    3
    You remember those really really good games that has pretty bad graphics, done to death gameplay, no story and short game time but still turns out to be a great game? Me neither.
  6. AndreyS.
    Dec 11, 2009
    0
    Graphics OK, Sound Good, Story Good, Game play BORING. Repetitive, Annoying, Not Fun. Going from room to room killing off hordes of enemies endlessly, hop in a portal to kill baddies that look like molten rock, hop out. This is a great concept that was poorly executed. I can only recommend this game to people that really enjoy PainKiller but thats about it. Got to play DreamKilled during Graphics OK, Sound Good, Story Good, Game play BORING. Repetitive, Annoying, Not Fun. Going from room to room killing off hordes of enemies endlessly, hop in a portal to kill baddies that look like molten rock, hop out. This is a great concept that was poorly executed. I can only recommend this game to people that really enjoy PainKiller but thats about it. Got to play DreamKilled during free weekend on steam. Expand
  7. ANlevantl
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    what a... poor game... it is a really good concept, pretty bad developed, teh game is based on killing hordes of monsters and killing hordes of monsters and killing hordes of monsters and... killign hordes of monsters... whichmakes teh game very repetitive, you get bored after the first horde you killed, i played teh game in a free trial, and after the first lv i noticed teh game what a... poor game... it is a really good concept, pretty bad developed, teh game is based on killing hordes of monsters and killing hordes of monsters and killing hordes of monsters and... killign hordes of monsters... whichmakes teh game very repetitive, you get bored after the first horde you killed, i played teh game in a free trial, and after the first lv i noticed teh game wasn't going to get any better... it "sucked" though it had an awesome sound, good graphics, and a nice story Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    Despite its awesome premise ( Psychonauts combined with Painkiller) Dreamkiller is nothing more than a standard old school corridor shooter. Which makes it totally unforgivable that the fights are quite unsatisfying. The guns feels unresponsive and unsatisfying to use and neither sound, visuals or physics manages to brings the fights to life. And since most fights play out the same becauseDespite its awesome premise ( Psychonauts combined with Painkiller) Dreamkiller is nothing more than a standard old school corridor shooter. Which makes it totally unforgivable that the fights are quite unsatisfying. The guns feels unresponsive and unsatisfying to use and neither sound, visuals or physics manages to brings the fights to life. And since most fights play out the same because of the dumb AI the game also gets quite repetitive. The interesting premise could have saved the game but neither the environments, enemies or story are particularly intriguing . The game do have some kind of interesting environments here and there but it never manages to escape from the fact the the general gameplay feels quite sub-par. Collapse
  9. IvanT
    Dec 12, 2009
    3
    Wow. This is the worst game I've played in ages. The graphics are decent -- I've recently been playing Crysis, so my expectations are high -- but the gameplay is TERRIBLE. First-person shooters are always in danger of mind-numbing repeatedness, but typically a high variety of weapons, maps and monsters keep it well in the green zone. Not Dreamkiller. I played through one "level" Wow. This is the worst game I've played in ages. The graphics are decent -- I've recently been playing Crysis, so my expectations are high -- but the gameplay is TERRIBLE. First-person shooters are always in danger of mind-numbing repeatedness, but typically a high variety of weapons, maps and monsters keep it well in the green zone. Not Dreamkiller. I played through one "level" and started the next one before realizing that the game was not going to get any better. Thankfully I tried a free version so I didn't have to waste my money. Expand
  10. Jun 5, 2012
    0
    One of the most horrible game i ever played. Looks like then Painkiller, but its a cheep copy. Don't buy it and don't play it.
  11. Aug 18, 2012
    0
    Despite its awesome premise ( Psychonauts combined with Painkiller) Dreamkiller is nothing more than a standard old school corridor shooter. Which makes it totally unforgivable that the fights are quite unsatisfying. The guns feels unresponsive and unsatisfying to use and neither sound, visuals or physics manages to brings the fights to life. And since most fights play out the same becauseDespite its awesome premise ( Psychonauts combined with Painkiller) Dreamkiller is nothing more than a standard old school corridor shooter. Which makes it totally unforgivable that the fights are quite unsatisfying. The guns feels unresponsive and unsatisfying to use and neither sound, visuals or physics manages to brings the fights to life. And since most fights play out the same because of the dumb AI the game also gets quite repetitive. The interesting premise could have saved the game but neither the environments, enemies or story are particularly intriguing . The game do have some kind of interesting environments here and there but it never manages to escape from the fact the the general gameplay feels quite sub-par. Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Dreamkiller is, through and through, a budget game. The visuals are colorful but look decidedly old, the action is as shallow as it gets in a modern shooter, and the sound effects lack oomph. The premise is neat, and some of the enemy designs are legitimately awesome. But if you've been dreaming of some old-fashioned twitch shooting, you should return to the old standbys and let this sleeping dog lie.
  2. It's fun, but the fun is short lived. Dreamkiller is a copy-cat game that tries to emulate Serious Sam but places Sam in a cube.
  3. 42
    The game's spectacular premise is ultimately unfulfilled. What might have been a truly eye-opening, perspective-shattering trip through the battlefields of a tortured psyche is merely a rehash of everything we've been through in the Painkiller series.