Driver: Parallel Lines PC

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 69
  2. Negative: 22 out of 69
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    The music chosen for this game was perfect. Every single track is excellent. Pure hits! The soundtrack alone is worth what I paid for this game. At least for the 70s era part. The 00s era's music they chose is 95% garbage, but it does make it funny sometimes. New York has been created and rendered exceptionally well. The streets, the alleys, the cars, and all other parts of the environmentThe music chosen for this game was perfect. Every single track is excellent. Pure hits! The soundtrack alone is worth what I paid for this game. At least for the 70s era part. The 00s era's music they chose is 95% garbage, but it does make it funny sometimes. New York has been created and rendered exceptionally well. The streets, the alleys, the cars, and all other parts of the environment are nicely done. The day and night cycles also look very nice. The cinematics are also done in a film-like fashion, that involves the player from the very beginning. All characters portrayed are quite interesting, and their voice acting is outstanding. Driver: Parallel Lines has the perfect mood, atmosphere, setting, sounds, and interactions to make you feel like you are truly in the game. Controlling any of the vehicles can be close to impossible without crashing them and eventually making them a complete loss. You will lose control of the vehicles easily. This makes the idea of spending money to upgrade cars you own almost completely wasteful and pointless. The game is extremely difficult. I've had to do missions many, many, many times over until I was successful. The untamable vehicle controls are to blame, in conjunction with the sometimes necessary simultaneous shooting. Repeating many of the missions over, and over, and over gets frustrating, repetitive, and extremely annoying. Often, it is infuriating how unforgiving the game is, with its control and handling issues. The speedometer keeps track of the total amount of miles you have traveled in-game, which is not useful, but pretty cool. Mouse sensitivity in the menus is horrible. Making changes in the settings will do little to make the menus useable by your mouse. Expect to choose menu options with the keyboard. The save system is based on completed missions. So, if you quit during the second part of a five parts mission, for example, you will be forced to start the mission from the very beginning next time you load the game, which is ridiculous. All vehicles take visible damage as you drive around the city like a complete lunatic, with very little care for public safety or your own. The chases and crashes are intense and look straight out of a Hollywood movie. The missions are diverse, challenging, exciting, and agitated even though this is primarily a driving game. Investing money into your owned vehicles and altering them is not forced upon the player, with the exception of one mission. Certainly, if you do buy upgrades, your driving will be temporarily made easier and better, but this is totally optional. Especially because money is hard to come by, and the upgrades or parts are expensive. Spend your money on ammunition instead. Several missions involve precision vehicular platform gaming. This means that you will have to slowly and carefully steer your car on ramps and other on ground structures. There are often hilarious AI controlled accidents that occur throughout the game. Because the missions are so difficult to complete successfully, you will develop hate for your enemies and the police. When you finally defeat them, you will rejoice in glory and relief. If you have much patience, and can forgive the game's excessive difficulty and problematic controls and handling, this is a great game. You will experience excitement, variety, and lots of fun. After the campaign is beaten, several vehicles are unlocked and put into your garage. You are also free to roam New York in both eras and do the money making side missions. It took me about 22 hours to complete. Expand
  2. JackGreen
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Reviewers downrating good games to look "fair and independent". I found this game much more fun then GTA Series. And this game shows good graphics even on outdated machines.
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    8
    Realy fun game. I love the story, and the realy nice cutscenes.
    I cant see why meny reviews are rating down this game ... I had meny good hours with this game. It is worth 9,99 euros on steam.
  4. MarcG.
    Jun 29, 2007
    3
    Horrid controls, Im using a game pad an there is overlap on many controls by default which screws things up pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend it.
  5. RobertH
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Theirs a big difference between the Gta and Driver series that alot of people tend to overlook, the game is amazing.
  6. CiroC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Game is great... once you get used to its play system. Driv3r was also very good.
  7. nickreese
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    i have always been a fan of the searies, this game burst with style and humor, its a fun game, my only complaint is the somewhat dated graphics, but with bioshock coming out in 2007 everything looked out dated! lol, its a fun game and a good time, i would recommend it
  8. HeshanthaF.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    @ da Start it's very uneasy to control the game but when you get used it's Very good. Graphics also good.
  9. RoleE
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    Its not actually that bad a game, with acceptable if not stunning graphics, fun vehicles and a decent selection of missions. The police patrols are easy enough to avoid, and the targeting is fairly decent and give some good gun fights. Maybe not a GTA killer, but fun in its own way.
  10. antonys
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    they call it a gta clone when it is nothing like the gta series the story is a completly diffrent thing all together in this you are a "wheelman" and in gta ur a gangsta theres a big diffrence i find with this game for its time the graphics are incredible after having this on the ps2 thought i would get for pc as i find it hard to look at bad graphics and soon as i go into settings i get they call it a gta clone when it is nothing like the gta series the story is a completly diffrent thing all together in this you are a "wheelman" and in gta ur a gangsta theres a big diffrence i find with this game for its time the graphics are incredible after having this on the ps2 thought i would get for pc as i find it hard to look at bad graphics and soon as i go into settings i get HD options and the textures ingame are amazing i find it hard to find any bad detail anywhere appart from wires which even in crysis they look edgy this game has a good and carefully planned out story and all makes sense once u get into the second era if you were to compare this game with gta the clear winner is driver -how dare gamespot say its a dull story- it is so obvioud all they care about is killing and dont understand the story in this game the only people i wouldnt recomend this to are plain stupid idiots who think anything to gaming is aslong as you are just killing you are fine Expand
  11. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    It's almost comical the way Gamespot bashes this game. It sounds so amateuristic to compare it to Gta just because its an open world game where you can kill people and drive cars. Far Cry? True Crime? The Getaway? Scarface, The Godfather, Mercenaries... C'mon people, this is a concept that is used over and over again, and by the way, I think gta is overrated, there, I said it! Gta is notIt's almost comical the way Gamespot bashes this game. It sounds so amateuristic to compare it to Gta just because its an open world game where you can kill people and drive cars. Far Cry? True Crime? The Getaway? Scarface, The Godfather, Mercenaries... C'mon people, this is a concept that is used over and over again, and by the way, I think gta is overrated, there, I said it! Gta is not as fantastic as everyone makes it out to be! First off, When San Andreas came out (Probably the most praised video game on the ps2.) the graphics and frame rate were substantially less than what the ps2 was capable of puting out. I was seeing games that came out before that with better textures and smoother gameplay. The controls of gta are clunky and reminiscent of the kind of fighting and shooting that makes your character look like a drunk three year old. But this is not a gta review. I found driver 2, 3 and 4 to all be pretty good games. Where 4 is concerned, it made its predecessors look boring. The graphics are surprising to say the least, sharp texurs and shadowing give a very open, atmospheric feel to the cityscape. The framerate was smooth and while the controls were, under par, I never found myself rolling a semi because i hit a speedbump (Gta physics reference...). In fact, with a little practice, I got to the point where I realized that the controls were mapped to the controller rather well. Unlike gta, the storyline had DEPTH. I felt like there was actually a point to what I was doing, instead of taxying prostitutes to and from destinations for a person who's supposed to be my enemy (For some reason, I found CJ from San Andreas to be quite a tool.). Anyways, I like the gta series but it gets old when everyone and their dog compares any open world game to it. Expand
  12. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    Famous reviewers make me laugh, this is definitely NOT a GTA clone, just because it has a free-roaming city and missions to choose across the map doesn't mean it's somethign to avoid if this is not called GTA.
    Although this game doesn't really feel like the older Driver games (even if it has the same dark and gritty atmosphere), it's worth a shot. I'll give it a 7 out of 10 because this
    Famous reviewers make me laugh, this is definitely NOT a GTA clone, just because it has a free-roaming city and missions to choose across the map doesn't mean it's somethign to avoid if this is not called GTA.
    Although this game doesn't really feel like the older Driver games (even if it has the same dark and gritty atmosphere), it's worth a shot. I'll give it a 7 out of 10 because this game lacked features, especially when you finish the story, but you can get a couple of hours by beating it 100% and drive/customize your cars. Also, there is no film director, it was something special for the Driver series, but they've deleted it to improve the AI and other stuff.
    But let's think positive now, even if the on-foot gameplay isn't that enjoyable, it's still better than in its predecessor, and the storyline is simple but very decent, cutscenes included. Whenever you are watching the cutscenes or driving during a high-speed chase it's like you are watching a movie.
    Expand
  13. Jan 29, 2017
    9
    Esto es mas que una copia de GTA, esto es un juego con una historia muy peliculera. un videojuego de venganza e imprudencia, el soundtrack es muy bueno, jamas me podre sacar de la cabeza esos hits de Bowie, Blondie, LCD Soundsystem, etc etc. 2 épocas y con lo que ello significa, cambia la ciudad, los vehículos, la gente, las armas, la estética, la música todo. los años 70's y los añosEsto es mas que una copia de GTA, esto es un juego con una historia muy peliculera. un videojuego de venganza e imprudencia, el soundtrack es muy bueno, jamas me podre sacar de la cabeza esos hits de Bowie, Blondie, LCD Soundsystem, etc etc. 2 épocas y con lo que ello significa, cambia la ciudad, los vehículos, la gente, las armas, la estética, la música todo. los años 70's y los años 2000's... juegazo Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. PC Gamer UK
    51
    Empty-souled, dated GTA clone. [Aug 2007, p.84]
  2. PC Zone UK
    73
    For 20 quid, it's a half-decent ride while it lasts. [Sept 2007, p.73]
  3. Driver: Parallel Lines looks seriously outdated on the PC. Its dull story and gameplay prevent it from being recommendable.