Driver: San Francisco PC

Driver: San Francisco Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Driver: San Francisco marks the return of the established video game series that has sold 14 million copies worldwide. Gamers will play as Detective John Tanner on a relentless manhunt for crime lord Charles Jericho through the hills of the City by the Bay. Thanks to a groundbreakingDriver: San Francisco marks the return of the established video game series that has sold 14 million copies worldwide. Gamers will play as Detective John Tanner on a relentless manhunt for crime lord Charles Jericho through the hills of the City by the Bay. Thanks to a groundbreaking gameplay feature, players can now seamlessly "shift" between well over a hundred licensed vehicles, keeping them constantly in the heart of the action. With its timeless setting, unique car handling and renewed playability, Driver: San Francisco will revitalize the classic free-roaming, cinematic car chase experience for the current generation of gaming platforms. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Driver: San Francisco Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A true salvation for a nearly-dead franchise. [October 2011, p.68]
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    85
    The car's handling is great, San Francisco is nearly perfect and the progression system and on-line modes are great. There is so much to do in the new Driver.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    85
    Despite the very unusual screenplay, Driver: San Francisco offers a lot of fun. It suprises the player until the last mission, and the "shift" system works very well. With this chapter, Driver won't be anymore perceived as a GTA-clone.
  4. 80
    The Shift ability is the element that makes Driver: San Francisco an interesting game. No matter how stupid the idea behind it is, the possibility to use any car (not just those affordable to you) gives huge freedom. And mixed with varied missions and a good multiplayer, but with a crippled AI and some control issues, Driver manages to revive not only the cop, but also a series that almost no one believed to be viable anymore.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    We were worried that the new Driver would be just "good one" but expectations were exceeded by far. Great story, driving physics and a top soundtrack made new Driver a game to remember. [Nov 2011]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Hardly the drive of your life, but easily one of the most memorable--and a great one-time gimmick done well. [Holiday 2011, p.78]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 4, 2011
    60
    Family-friendly smash-ups and a goofy concept. There's something refreshing in this game's profanity-free self-confidence. [Christmas 2011, p.64]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 62
  2. Negative: 13 out of 62
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Excellent production values and an enormous fun factor. The city, music, cars and story create a 'Starsky and Hutch' style. Humor in variousExcellent production values and an enormous fun factor. The city, music, cars and story create a 'Starsky and Hutch' style. Humor in various dialogues is genuinely funny. Driving/shifting mechanics are perfect. The handling, feel, response, and sound of each vehicle feels very right. This is a brilliant driving game! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I have been playing for 3 weeks. The game is great it!, it will getting better the more advance yo go on story and city or side missions.I have been playing for 3 weeks. The game is great it!, it will getting better the more advance yo go on story and city or side missions. With all type of missions stunts available I'm having a lot of fun, the handling of driving the cars is like a simulator quite realistic also as you go forward in the game you will be driving a lot of new cars suv 's, trucks and sports as well as racing machines and some off road vehicles.

    Also graphics are on top notch to be handled by DX9 every single part of the city, road, cars, crash, civilians, effects are all well detailed ...

    This game is like having 3 in one; NF most wanted, something of Dirt 2, and something of mafia 2.

    I highly recommend it. I know Ubi soft has bad reputation to have screwed some games but this one, is not one of them.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was I surprised when they introduced "shifting" ability early on. Great, innovative idea. First thing I though about is whether I would be able to shift into a truck (from opposite direction) while chasing a suspect. xD And it worked! That was refreshing. Plenty of diverse challenges and dares. After some remapping, controls and general mechanics are intuitive and well though out. It got out much better than I expected.
    Car models are solid, graphics a bit dated and rough but ok, music and sound are brilliant.
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    I've been playing Driver since Driver 1 on the Playstation, then came Driver 2. I still believe GTA looked at Driver 1 & 2 and made a goodI've been playing Driver since Driver 1 on the Playstation, then came Driver 2. I still believe GTA looked at Driver 1 & 2 and made a good copy of Driver. Driver is more a movie. Better graphics than GTA. But it is like apples and peers. I downloaded Driver: San Francisco just a week ago (October 2014) and I must say I love it. Police Persuit is great! And there is a story in this game. Great work, well done. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I began this game, expecting the Driver Franchise to be ruined because I heard that you can't get out of your car, and it was just driving. I expected it to be like the last two. I didn't watch trailers or reviews I just went straight to playing the game. So, here's me thinking this game is going to suck really bad.
    I began playing and already felt like the handling sucked. Driving around, feeling like the game is seriously limited. The voice acting so bad, it made me cringe.
    I stuck to it for a little longer when the game began to change. I was shocked. Completely stunned by what was happening. I was overwhelmed and got goosebumps it was so different.
    I did not expect to be able to jump from your car into another, in such a quick space of time. Control the cars on the road as you race, blocking other racers and opening clear paths for yourself just made this game something else. No other game is like this. It's fantastic. Incredibly unique. The more I played, the more fun I had. I began to get used to the driving and figured out that it was the handling you had to get used to. The voice acting began to make sense. Cheesyness was the best way to play it. The game all began to fit together and make sense to me.
    So yes, I completely changed my view on this game after playing, and it was awesome.
    I would highly advise people to play this game! No matter what you think of it before playing, just do it, it's worth it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2017
    6
    Driver San Francisco for me turned into love/hate affair. It has the potential to be a very good open world driving, racing game, but isDriver San Francisco for me turned into love/hate affair. It has the potential to be a very good open world driving, racing game, but is completely let down by rubbish car physics and driving model. Driving feels like youre on ice all the time, all the time you turn and slow down your car it loses grip and you slide all over the place. That is made even worse by the traffic amount in this game, there are games in which i often wish there were more cars on the road, but on Driver SF there just too much damn traffic which very often turn into you, hit you in blind spots and go crazy when you barely touch them. Plus it seems there are no brakes in the game, the one that should function that way is just another handbrake which doesnt allow you to slow down normally from high speeds, it instantly locks up and causes you to slide all over the place. Of road handling in the game is different kind of bad and annoying, it makes you question what kind of an idiot was responsible for such handling model while developing the game. However if youre just cruising around off missions and activities driving can be serviceable and decently fun, but when it counts it can be become a nightmare.

    Really only thing that kept me playing was the enticing story that i really wanted to see how it plays out, altough the ending of the game made me question ''Is that it ?'', its tad disappointing in my opinion, i wanted something more compelling. Also the way game transitions from CGI cutscenes to in game footage during in game cutscenes felt bit way off and weird, however the CGI parts are really well done. I've never been to San Francisco in real life, closest thing i guess has been San Fierro in GTA San Andreas, but the city felt very well made for the game, and the adding of pedestrians roaming the streets added the alive factor thats missing from most open world driving games.

    Graphics for a 2011 felt bit dated, also game is bit too dark, i often ran into walls and objects that i simply couldnt see while driving fast and focusing on driving itself. Also there was no way to get rid of black bars while playing in my native 16:10 aspect ratio, but it didnt hurt the experience too bad. I wish the HUD wasnt so huge aswell, especially the annoying hint and boost bars, thay made felt like game is straight up console port, but atleast the game ran extremely well with locked 60 fps, without single crash, tho sometimes i saw some visual artifacting occuring, which bugged me out thinking my GPU might be on its last legs.
    Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2017
    0
    In usual Ubisoft fashion, the game is a bad port of a console game that literally doesn't even work. I don't know if the game is any good onIn usual Ubisoft fashion, the game is a bad port of a console game that literally doesn't even work. I don't know if the game is any good on the consoles (it was well-received), but the PC version is a disaster. Barren options menus, crash-prone, no longer available on Steam (and if you already have it on Steam it launches Uplay anyway) and, most importantly, extremely poor gamepad/wheel support.

    Simply put, if you plug in anything other than X360 controller, the game crashes on launch. Reportedly, at times it crashes even WITH a 360 controller. This is a port of a racing game that doesn't properly support racing wheels, forcing you to play with a keyboard or, if the stars allign, maybe a 360 gamepad.

    On top of that there are reports of corrupted saves and problems with system compatibility, crashes and other problems that require messing with local files, reinstalling and manually deleting saves to fix sudden hangs and crashes that make the thing unplayable.

    Ubisoft is the worst AAA company when it comes to PC gaming and they need to be held accountable for distributing product of this quality. 0/10, the game doesn't launch, it's useless.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews