Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals from the 8-bit game have been beautifully re-created as hand-drawn and animated sprites, across a backdrop of luscious, re-envisioned level backgrounds. Furthermore, original Disney Character Voices talent, including some from the cartoon TV series, bring in-game characters to life with charm and wit, while the classic melodies of the original soundtrack are given a modern twist. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    Ducktales Remastered is a nostalgia trip from start to end, frustrating, life-taking warts and all.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    It comes packing a few twists, some better than others. Refreshed boss fights are a nice touch, but Remastered’s confounding emphasis on its story is disruptive and annoying, even if it comes packing some great voice acting.
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    I can’t see many people who grew up only knowing what a virtual gun is accepting the shortness and difficulty curve of DuckTales Remastered.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Duck Tales Remastered is a little gem churned out by Capcom and WayForward.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    60
    More rehashed than remastered, your childhood might be better served holding onto old memories rather than making new ones.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    A pleasant trip down memory lane, but not the one you absolutely need to take. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.66]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Rating this game lower than a 10... is absolutely unacceptable. This game is way better than the classic and legendary NES version with a storyline to boot. The voice acting is spot on. The gameplay is fast and fluid. The graphics are beautiful and the game itself is a legendary series. Maybe this will encourage Capcom to make a Duck Tales 3 you know without any dlc lol!) BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!! Collapse
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Wonderful remake. Sometimes I play old goodie NES games on my computer using emulator. Nostalgia But this game with improved graphics and improved interface, while keeping almost the same difficulty is great! I hope for more such remakes in future! Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Duuuucks)) Thx Capcom. Good game, good work!

    Waiting for darkwing duck, cheap and dale, TNMT and other legendary hits of NES!!

    Perfect
    Graphics and animation! The must have.

    10/10
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    I had my eye on DuckTales Remastered for awhile now, since I loved the NES game so much. Well it was on sale this week so I decided to pick it up and I don't regret it.

    It's a great nostalgic throw back to a franchise many of us 80's and 90's children grew up with. The music has been remastered wonderfully and I haven't had any problems with the controls. It's great that they managed to get (most?) of the voice actors back, that only make's it that much more special.

    The stages are mostly left the same, with minor changes to make it more action packed or interesting, I haven't had a problem with the stages, in my opinion it simply makes the whole experience more "refreshing".

    A complaint that seemed common with people was that the cut scenes cut away from the game and while agree that sometimes there's a little bit TOO much banter interrupting game-play, it really hasn't been a deal breaker for me and some of the major cut-scenes explaining the story and situation has been nice since the original NES game didn't really do too well of a job explaining anything, not that as kids we needed it, ha ha.

    To be perfectly honest, the only major grip I have is the art. The character sprites are wonderfully done, except the artists seem to neglect minor touches to the game, such as having the character's mouths move when they talk. The biggest issue I have though is that the sprites look wonderful, as if they were hand drawn and then everything else is a stagnant, ugly, pastel colored 3D rendered. The two styles class horribly and the artists who were doing the background and foreground work didn't even bother to have proper perspective when considering the sprites. In the introduction stage, doors, chairs and other background objects look to be 10 times bigger then character sprites and it's just lame and off-putting.

    Does that ruin the game for me? No, not really, but it is a little off-putting and really made me wish they would have just went that extra mile for attention to details. All in all, I'd pick it up, especially if it's on sale.
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    A really great example of developers sticking as close to the original material as possible. Essentially it's more or less the same game but with 8-bit art limitation lifted. It is drawn and animated by someone with evident love towards the series and it shows. Also, one of my biggest fears did not come true the music tunes are as catchy as the originals. All in all a masterpiece.

    The only gripe I have with the game can't turn off cutscenes from showing up, thus 9 and not 10.
    Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    So, I went into Ducktales Remastered expecting a refreshing and fun revival of the old Ducktales games (1 and 2), and that's what it essentially was, despite a few little annoyances. The graphics look nice, and the game controls and works fine, as did Ducktales, although I do have two little more problems. Firstly, they could have added more worthwhile content, for example, the minecart sections are pretty cool at first, but they don't really add much, and the redone bosses actively detract from the game. My second little problem is that sometimes the hitboxes seem a teensy bit off. The game's pretty good though, if you're interested in it, it's probably worth buying it. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    I loved the game back in the day on NES and I can still play 8bit version perfectly. This one has partially broken controls pogo isn't as responsive as it used to be. I won't even start on cinematic they are good for the first time nice novelty but after a while they are really tiring. I hate making this game "go there, grab something go elsewhere" back on NES when I wanted to skip through the levels I just did now it is unnecessary monotonous item fetching. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews