Disney DuckTales Remastered PC

Disney DuckTales Remastered Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals fromDuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals from the 8-bit game have been beautifully re-created as hand-drawn and animated sprites, across a backdrop of luscious, re-envisioned level backgrounds. Furthermore, original Disney Character Voices talent, including some from the cartoon TV series, bring in-game characters to life with charm and wit, while the classic melodies of the original soundtrack are given a modern twist. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    Ducktales Remastered is a nostalgia trip from start to end, frustrating, life-taking warts and all.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    It comes packing a few twists, some better than others. Refreshed boss fights are a nice touch, but Remastered’s confounding emphasis on its story is disruptive and annoying, even if it comes packing some great voice acting.
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    I can’t see many people who grew up only knowing what a virtual gun is accepting the shortness and difficulty curve of DuckTales Remastered.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Duck Tales Remastered is a little gem churned out by Capcom and WayForward.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    60
    More rehashed than remastered, your childhood might be better served holding onto old memories rather than making new ones.
  6. CD-Action
    Aug 28, 2013
    50
    A pleasant trip down memory lane, but not the one you absolutely need to take. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.66]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic and deserves all the praise in the world for being a good remake of a classic, enjoyable game. Disney-qualityThis game is fantastic and deserves all the praise in the world for being a good remake of a classic, enjoyable game. Disney-quality animation, improved soundtrack, deeper and more complex boss fights and the original voice actors from the show are all terribly awesome reasons to play this game again. The best part is that now, in addition to the addictive nature of collecting all that cash in-game, you can actually spend it on cool tributes and art from the show (even the original soundtrack!). There's even a story now, so it's like you're playing an episode from one of the greatest cartoon shows ever, and if you want to skip the cinematics, just hit two buttons and off you go. This helped to remind me why Capcom is one of the best. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Gameplay is faithful to the original. Graphics and audio are remastered from scratch, but maintain the same theme. If you are a zealous fan ofGameplay is faithful to the original. Graphics and audio are remastered from scratch, but maintain the same theme. If you are a zealous fan of the original games, the storytelling and dialogue will seem intrusive. Many of us who enjoyed the game and the TV series both will thoroughly enjoy the spirit the story brings. The additions like the new intro level (its stage music is FANTASTIC btw) and gallery are welcome to fans of the show and gives good incentive to collect as much cash ingame. However, the most awesome addition will fulfill the desires of ANY DuckTales fan:

    YOU CAN ACTUALLY DIVE INTO AND SWIM AROUND SCROOGE'S MONEY PIT. SOLD.
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Rating this game lower than a 10... is absolutely unacceptable. This game is way better than the classic and legendary NES version with aRating this game lower than a 10... is absolutely unacceptable. This game is way better than the classic and legendary NES version with a storyline to boot. The voice acting is spot on. The gameplay is fast and fluid. The graphics are beautiful and the game itself is a legendary series. Maybe this will encourage Capcom to make a Duck Tales 3 you know without any dlc lol!) BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!! Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    I had my eye on DuckTales Remastered for awhile now, since I loved the NES game so much. Well it was on sale this week so I decided to pick itI had my eye on DuckTales Remastered for awhile now, since I loved the NES game so much. Well it was on sale this week so I decided to pick it up and I don't regret it.

    It's a great nostalgic throw back to a franchise many of us 80's and 90's children grew up with. The music has been remastered wonderfully and I haven't had any problems with the controls. It's great that they managed to get (most?) of the voice actors back, that only make's it that much more special.

    The stages are mostly left the same, with minor changes to make it more action packed or interesting, I haven't had a problem with the stages, in my opinion it simply makes the whole experience more "refreshing".

    A complaint that seemed common with people was that the cut scenes cut away from the game and while agree that sometimes there's a little bit TOO much banter interrupting game-play, it really hasn't been a deal breaker for me and some of the major cut-scenes explaining the story and situation has been nice since the original NES game didn't really do too well of a job explaining anything, not that as kids we needed it, ha ha.

    To be perfectly honest, the only major grip I have is the art. The character sprites are wonderfully done, except the artists seem to neglect minor touches to the game, such as having the character's mouths move when they talk. The biggest issue I have though is that the sprites look wonderful, as if they were hand drawn and then everything else is a stagnant, ugly, pastel colored 3D rendered. The two styles class horribly and the artists who were doing the background and foreground work didn't even bother to have proper perspective when considering the sprites. In the introduction stage, doors, chairs and other background objects look to be 10 times bigger then character sprites and it's just lame and off-putting.

    Does that ruin the game for me? No, not really, but it is a little off-putting and really made me wish they would have just went that extra mile for attention to details. All in all, I'd pick it up, especially if it's on sale.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    The game is really good remaster from the original. It will bring a lot of people, who new how it was to play these type of games back in theThe game is really good remaster from the original. It will bring a lot of people, who new how it was to play these type of games back in the days, a lot of joy. The only point that maybe needs to be changed is a neasier way of skipping the cinematics. They stayed with the orignal concept and haven't created a totally different game.
    If you get further in the game you can even open extra's where you can see the change they made to the original game.
    Overall a lot of joy if you know the games we used to play.
    Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2015
    7
    This game was an overall satisfying experience for me and I would most likely recommend it to fans of platformers in general, but in the longThis game was an overall satisfying experience for me and I would most likely recommend it to fans of platformers in general, but in the long run, 'DuckTales: Remastered' just doesn't compare to the original. I'm not sure what it is, but something was lost in the translation; it just doesn't have the same charm that the original game had for the NES. But without comparing this game to the original, it's still an enjoyable experience. But how could I not compare this to the original? It's arguably one of the greatest games for the original Nintendo console, and tons of people, myself included, hold it near and dear to their hearts. So it's nearly impossible not to compare this 'updated' version to the original game that came out almost three decades ago.

    One of the biggest reasons this game doesn't have the same charm as the original, at least for me, is the soundtrack. I know some people think they did a great job with it, and maybe they did, but most of the new versions of these beloved songs are just awful, and at times barely even recognizable. I would have been much happier with this game if they had just re-released the same game with the same music and just updated the textures, but whatever, it's not the worst thing ever. And I'm not sure if they went ahead and made some of these levels longer, but the levels feel longer, and sometimes for no reason at all other than to extend the time of play. And lastly, the cut-scenes; these initially made me dislike the game greatly as there are far too many of them, but once you realize you can skip them, they're not so bad.

    Overall, this game is good, but it could have been much better. If you've never played the original than you will probably like it more than I did. It's got everything you want in a solid title; the controls are tight, the graphics are crisp and look great in high resolution, it works perfectly with a controller, and the voice acting is very well done.
    Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    I loved the game back in the day on NES and I can still play 8bit version perfectly. This one has partially broken controls pogo isn't asI loved the game back in the day on NES and I can still play 8bit version perfectly. This one has partially broken controls pogo isn't as responsive as it used to be. I won't even start on cinematic they are good for the first time nice novelty but after a while they are really tiring. I hate making this game "go there, grab something go elsewhere" back on NES when I wanted to skip through the levels I just did now it is unnecessary monotonous item fetching. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews