Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals fromDuckTales Remastered has seen the development team take the levels and layout from the original 1989 release as a foundation before expanding upon them to significantly enhance the gameplay experience but where this update truly impresses is its graphics and sound. All of the visuals from the 8-bit game have been beautifully re-created as hand-drawn and animated sprites, across a backdrop of luscious, re-envisioned level backgrounds. Furthermore, original Disney Character Voices talent, including some from the cartoon TV series, bring in-game characters to life with charm and wit, while the classic melodies of the original soundtrack are given a modern twist. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    Ducktales Remastered is a nostalgia trip from start to end, frustrating, life-taking warts and all.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    It comes packing a few twists, some better than others. Refreshed boss fights are a nice touch, but Remastered’s confounding emphasis on its story is disruptive and annoying, even if it comes packing some great voice acting.
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    I can’t see many people who grew up only knowing what a virtual gun is accepting the shortness and difficulty curve of DuckTales Remastered.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Duck Tales Remastered is a little gem churned out by Capcom and WayForward.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    60
    More rehashed than remastered, your childhood might be better served holding onto old memories rather than making new ones.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    A pleasant trip down memory lane, but not the one you absolutely need to take. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.66]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Wonderful remake. Sometimes I play old goodie NES games on my computer using emulator. Nostalgia But this game with improved graphics andWonderful remake. Sometimes I play old goodie NES games on my computer using emulator. Nostalgia But this game with improved graphics and improved interface, while keeping almost the same difficulty is great! I hope for more such remakes in future! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Duuuucks)) Thx Capcom. Good game, good work!

    Waiting for darkwing duck, cheap and dale, TNMT and other legendary hits of NES!! Perfect
    Duuuucks)) Thx Capcom. Good game, good work!

    Waiting for darkwing duck, cheap and dale, TNMT and other legendary hits of NES!!

    Perfect Graphics and animation! The must have.

    10/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Rating this game lower than a 10... is absolutely unacceptable. This game is way better than the classic and legendary NES version with aRating this game lower than a 10... is absolutely unacceptable. This game is way better than the classic and legendary NES version with a storyline to boot. The voice acting is spot on. The gameplay is fast and fluid. The graphics are beautiful and the game itself is a legendary series. Maybe this will encourage Capcom to make a Duck Tales 3 you know without any dlc lol!) BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!! Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    9
    This remastered game takes all the great elements of the original Ducktales I for NES and embellishes it with extra level content, newThis remastered game takes all the great elements of the original Ducktales I for NES and embellishes it with extra level content, new puzzles, and energetic music.
    The intro will surprise old gamers with dialogue voiced by the original cast of Ducktales tv cartoons.
    The parallax backgrounds are very nicely drawn and so are the remastered enemies.
    Boss fights are almost completely revamped. Still the same general patterns but with a bunch of new ones and some new full-screen powers and effects are thrown in.
    There's some content to unlock but it's nothing that adds to the game story, just some nostalgia for fans.

    I saved annoyances for last as I don't feel they really impact the enjoyment of the game. Scrooge will sometimes say a line of random dialogue during gameplay, the most annoying one is when he says Mrs. Beagley is as big as a diamond, when you pick one up of course. The way the line is read is long-stetched and annoying after hearing it more than 5 times.
    Some character animations are lacking in animation frames. I've made sure my PC wasn't being laggy, also tried my Desktop which is well equipped for all performance intense games of 2014, and it still seems like there's lack of frames in idle animations.

    Small complaints that don't hinder any enjoyment of the game. I still find the animation to be very nice a fluid for the most part and most importantly, it stays true to the original's style, both in art and level design.
    Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    DuckTales Remastered follows it's predecessors foot steps. It still has the great controls that the original DuckTales had on the NES (playedDuckTales Remastered follows it's predecessors foot steps. It still has the great controls that the original DuckTales had on the NES (played that a lot). The new cartoony graphic style looks nice. The new longer levels are kind of a good thing, but I miss being able to speed run the game in under 12 minutes. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    It took me 2 hours and 50 minutes to finish the main story of the game and the only thing that bothered me was that there were no more levelsIt took me 2 hours and 50 minutes to finish the main story of the game and the only thing that bothered me was that there were no more levels to play in. I loved every single minute of it , even the last boss fight , and I will keep on playing it in order to unlock all the extra content. If your childhood hero is Scrooge McDuck then you should definitely play this classic masterpiece! Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    I loved the game back in the day on NES and I can still play 8bit version perfectly. This one has partially broken controls pogo isn't asI loved the game back in the day on NES and I can still play 8bit version perfectly. This one has partially broken controls pogo isn't as responsive as it used to be. I won't even start on cinematic they are good for the first time nice novelty but after a while they are really tiring. I hate making this game "go there, grab something go elsewhere" back on NES when I wanted to skip through the levels I just did now it is unnecessary monotonous item fetching. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews