User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1121 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    2
    I so wanted to like this game. We need new, innovative and daring FPSs - in short we need Duke. So what went wrong? Well this game feels like the rag bag of development that it is. Some levels are ok, not great, but ok. Most levels are terrible. The graphics are very dated - but it isn't just the graphics, the whole feel of the game.is clunky. The level design is boring and extremelyI so wanted to like this game. We need new, innovative and daring FPSs - in short we need Duke. So what went wrong? Well this game feels like the rag bag of development that it is. Some levels are ok, not great, but ok. Most levels are terrible. The graphics are very dated - but it isn't just the graphics, the whole feel of the game.is clunky. The level design is boring and extremely linear. The one liners are funny for the most part but they can't rescue this slow, ploddy game. Long boring driving sections - I love driving sections in most games but this just doesn't work. The vehicles feel like they are slowing you down more than helping. Out of fuel again? What's that - three times? It plods and it plods.

    Really annoying are the many times when a game character blocks your path by standing in the middle of a wide corridor. Look, I could drive a bus through that gap but Duke has his nose against the invisible wall and the game is not letting me past until I've watched a tedious video on a TV or listened to some dialogue. I want to scream "You're Duke - shove that guy out of your way." It isn't happening. This feels really pointlessly irritating when you find a kid sitting on your throne who refuses to move unless you take his photo. Yep that's right - Duke has to run around after some kid before being allowed to proceed. If that doesn't ruin the immersion nothing will. Bad, bad, bad idea - but it's just one example. I had plenty to choose from.

    I have waited for this for years. I played, and loved Duke 3D all those years ago. I wanted this to be great but I'm not letting that blind me to a truly horrible gaming experience. This is my opinion of course - but I have stated clear reasons above why this game is bad. And it really is bad. Oh God it's bad. How ever much of a fan you are stop and think. Or at least stop and wait until this hits the bargain bin - you won't have to wait long.
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    3
    Been on the 3dR forums since '97, have the magazine in which DNF was revealed, still say that Duke3d is the greatest FPS ever made... but DNF is total crud. Seriously, the only reason to play it is just to see for yourself the abomination that it is. This is a nearly heart-breaking Duke Nukem catastrophe, I wish I could go back in time 14 years and tell myself to not wait for DNF and notBeen on the 3dR forums since '97, have the magazine in which DNF was revealed, still say that Duke3d is the greatest FPS ever made... but DNF is total crud. Seriously, the only reason to play it is just to see for yourself the abomination that it is. This is a nearly heart-breaking Duke Nukem catastrophe, I wish I could go back in time 14 years and tell myself to not wait for DNF and not waste attention on it because it's going to blow to the fullest possible extent. The only problem with that, though, is that I'd never believe my future self, as I had so much confidence in 3dR... and how could I not? Considering they made Duke3d, as well as releasing dozens of fantastic smaller games prior? How the mighty have fallen, and how greatly sad it is

    Be warned, there is absolutely nothing old school about this game, not in the least, and especially nothing resembling Doom or Duke3d style shooting. This game is the exact opposite of Old School. DNF is slow moving, with slow movement speed, limited sprint ability, few enemies with combat that is spaced far apart, 2-weapon carry-limit with universal ammo crates, regenerating health, quicktime events, and wtih completely linear & boring level design.

    Anybody who dares try to trick you into buying this game by suggesting it is old school in even the slightest manner is lying to you through their teeth or simply has convinced themselves of a lie to rationalize the 14 years they've wasted waiting for this game. DNF is no more old-school than it is a space-pony training RPG that takes place on Mt Olympus.
    Expand
  3. Fuz
    Jun 15, 2011
    3
    Terrible.
    This is not Duke Nukem, it's a childish parody of it.
    The graphics are terrible, frequent and extremely slow loading times are unacceptable (especially with this graphics), the 2-weapon system is annoying, the maps are just small corridors, the FOV is an abomination, gunfights are boring, driving sections are annoying. The original Duke Nukem was a great game, and doesn't deserve
    Terrible.
    This is not Duke Nukem, it's a childish parody of it.
    The graphics are terrible, frequent and extremely slow loading times are unacceptable (especially with this graphics), the 2-weapon system is annoying, the maps are just small corridors, the FOV is an abomination, gunfights are boring, driving sections are annoying.
    The original Duke Nukem was a great game, and doesn't deserve a sequel so bad.
    Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    1
    Revised review. Even the fact that it's Duke can't save this game. This piece of history has been rendered worthless. But still, it's a piece of history. That's worth one point.
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    3
    This game was so disappointing, The original Duke Nukem was so much fun as it was original, humorous and to top it off was a great fun game to play. This thing fails on so many levels it is hard to know where to begin, The graphics are poor but that can be excused as you don't buy this game for the graphics. The game is incredibly linear, The humor dated and really just identical from theThis game was so disappointing, The original Duke Nukem was so much fun as it was original, humorous and to top it off was a great fun game to play. This thing fails on so many levels it is hard to know where to begin, The graphics are poor but that can be excused as you don't buy this game for the graphics. The game is incredibly linear, The humor dated and really just identical from the previous game 14 years ago, hell you don't even get to use any weapons till you have stumbled around in incredibly boring story line for 20-30 mins, To top it off the controls just seem clunky. Perhaps this is one sequel that really would have been better off left unmade. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    A definite letdown. The game feels unfinished and most of the gameplay mechanics are just horribly dated. It doesn't seem worth the wait but the main problem is that it just feels out of place now. If you're after an example of old school gaming done right then go and play something like Bulletstorm, but as it is, this game just doesn't hold it's own and as a standalone title, it'sA definite letdown. The game feels unfinished and most of the gameplay mechanics are just horribly dated. It doesn't seem worth the wait but the main problem is that it just feels out of place now. If you're after an example of old school gaming done right then go and play something like Bulletstorm, but as it is, this game just doesn't hold it's own and as a standalone title, it's borderline rubbish. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    One of the worse games ever made on any platform. It has so many issues/problems & is certainly not even close to being a full price game or acceptable 2011 game.

    1: Game is not even finished its an alpha version at best. 2: Gfx are very dated/bland/boring/horrible looking. Textures are missing/incomplete or just blank colours. 3: Gameplay is linear/boring/uninteresting. 4: Art
    One of the worse games ever made on any platform. It has so many issues/problems & is certainly not even close to being a full price game or acceptable 2011 game.

    1: Game is not even finished its an alpha version at best.
    2: Gfx are very dated/bland/boring/horrible looking. Textures are missing/incomplete or just blank colours.
    3: Gameplay is linear/boring/uninteresting.
    4: Art design is very very lacking.
    5: Humour & game content are in places quite offensive this is not a game for children/teens as it contains sexist & pornographic humour I do not feel belongs in a computer game at all.

    This game feels to me like a highly cynical cash grab to recover some of the lengthy development budget wasted (boy was it wasted here!). After so long you would reasonably expect something which at least matches Duke Nukem 3D/Manhattan Project well this manages to be vastly inferior to both of them & you have to wonder why this is considered to be a full price game when it would have looked & played poorly 10 years ago!

    Gamer beware this truly is one of the worse games ever made & without the Duke Nukem name would be a budget price at launch & is quite rightly getting a lot of negative reviews.
    Expand
  8. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1.advantage: it's Duke Nukem Hero! DefectS: everything else. horrible graphics, dull gameplay, unfunny humor, absolutely not interesting multiplayer, missing physics, awkward controls Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    roughly 14 years....really sad. i expected so much more. i should have known it the demo was really what it was going to be like. too bad Duke had to go down this way.
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    Duke Nukem Forever is a collection of minigames with short passages of regular FPS gaming. Even getting the game started takes 45 painfilled minutes while Duke admires himself, posters and signs autographs.

    It's a bad game, don't buy it.
  11. Apr 30, 2015
    4
    I really wanted Duke Nukem But this game is a piece of **** don't **** buy this **** game this really ruined the Duke franchise I don't know who to blame 3D realms Piranha Games or Gearbox Software all really good companies I don't know who **** up Duke but I hope some one see's the potential of duke nukem and makes a good game thanks for reading
  12. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    A terrible game, Ive never really seen much to go by in the duke nukem franchise but this game just takes the piss. The story is just bad, the game play is boring the missions are boring, the humor is.....well is it even supposed to be funny. The only reason I gave this game a score higher than 0 was that the little bits added in were actually not bad and take me back to the old days ofA terrible game, Ive never really seen much to go by in the duke nukem franchise but this game just takes the piss. The story is just bad, the game play is boring the missions are boring, the humor is.....well is it even supposed to be funny. The only reason I gave this game a score higher than 0 was that the little bits added in were actually not bad and take me back to the old days of gaming still not enough to make me want to waste my time with this crap though Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    I've been watching for this game since 1998 when the first trailer came out, loved Duke3d which I replayed over and over and still play from time to time even now.

    When I finished DNF my first thought was "is that it", Gearbox promised around 20+ hours of gameplay when they first took over, many will finish this in 9 to 10 hours. Took me 12 but I do tend to dawdle around. Graphics
    I've been watching for this game since 1998 when the first trailer came out, loved Duke3d which I replayed over and over and still play from time to time even now.

    When I finished DNF my first thought was "is that it", Gearbox promised around 20+ hours of gameplay when they first took over, many will finish this in 9 to 10 hours. Took me 12 but I do tend to dawdle around.

    Graphics are basic but they will play on a low end system.
    gameplay is basic but could be fun if your new to FPS shooters.

    My main gripes are,
    Load times every few minutes. Most FPS games at least allow you to finish a level before the load screen.

    "2 weapon limit, makes the freeze gun and shrink ray pointless since you have to keep hold of weapons that are reliable.

    I love t1ts as much as the next man but this game is supposed to be an 18 not a 12 cert for wanking prepubesants. Is this what Duke has been lowered to: searching for **** and f***ng pocorn. ffs

    no story

    boring

    I couldn't wait to get Bioshock 2 loaded back up which , thankfully, I had put on hold to play DNF. At least I had a good proper fps game to look forward to.

    As i mentioned at the start, Duke3d got huge play time, DNF will never be played again and I can;'t even sell the sh1t on because of steam account.

    If I read one more post of someone saying " ooh arn't Gearbox so ace for taking up the mantle and actually getting Duke out here" I think i'll scream. No they are not great they are a bunch of greedy barstewards who saw a quick buck from a huge character that millions of devoted fans have been awaiting for years and years, **** ot not they were always going to make a shed load.

    Reminds me of the Sex Pistols...."ever felt you've been had". The Great Video Game Swindle"
    Expand
  14. ave
    Feb 11, 2015
    0
    I played Duke Nukem 3D years ago and it was a really great shooter.

    This sequel features decent-to-good level design, and a nice set of enemies to fight. The gameplay is more modern since you cannot carry all weapons and your health refills along time. One disappointing thing comes with the relative low efficiency of some weapons you imagined more potent (relative to the ego of
    I played Duke Nukem 3D years ago and it was a really great shooter.

    This sequel features decent-to-good level design, and a nice set of enemies to fight.

    The gameplay is more modern since you cannot carry all weapons and your health refills along time.

    One disappointing thing comes with the relative low efficiency of some weapons you imagined more potent (relative to the ego of the character), namely the revolver and the shotgun. So you end up gunning down aliens mostly with the triple cannon machinegun.

    The story is purely decorative and the characters flat as a carpet. Half of the time the soldiers are coward and stupid, but that does not make Duke intelligent or brave.

    It could have been a decent shooter but the game is blatantly sexist. Of course it comes with the character, but as far as I remember, all the female characters are either : horny at the mere sight of the Duke, blowjob providers, incapable of saving themselves, sex workers, alien surrogate mothers begging you to shoot them. I don't recall any female soldiers, scientists or civilians worth noticing. The developers pushed the envelope up to the following point : aliens are only abducting women, so you have to save them!

    Is there an irony here? Maybe aliens are in fact abducting women to protect from the Duke? That would have been a hell of a twist!

    So if you're confortable with that level of sexism, Duke Nukem Forever deserved a 6/7 as a shooter. Otherwise it's preferable to ignore it.
    Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    Basically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal people will find their dreams and expectations shattered. Nothing can live up to almost 1 1/2 Decades of hype and expectations building up, but all i wanted was a good contemporary shooter, and it failed to deliver. The graphics are medieval, and it stillBasically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal people will find their dreams and expectations shattered. Nothing can live up to almost 1 1/2 Decades of hype and expectations building up, but all i wanted was a good contemporary shooter, and it failed to deliver. The graphics are medieval, and it still manages to have frame rate drops on a modern system. The story is flat, boring, humorless and plain simple stupid. It basically brings nothing new to the table, nothing that hasn't been seen before; there is no shame in "borrowing" ideas, the best also do it, but doing it badly is a huge nono, and that's basically everything that was done here, old bad ideas made worse and mushed into the rough shape of a game. Just as this review it got tons of useless filler. Did i mention it looks medieval? The only good thing is the dukes voice. Get Manhatten Project instead if you want some duke, it just costs a fraction of DNF, it's much more fun, and lasts a lot longer. Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2014
    4
    How could this happen? Duke, what have you done to us? It's not a terrible game, I played through it an meh, it was playable, but it should have never happened in the first place. I understand the hell of a development cycle this game must have gone through over the years, so I guess it's understandable, but it's a pity. Duke Nukem 3D was one of the best, if not THE best FPS ever and DukeHow could this happen? Duke, what have you done to us? It's not a terrible game, I played through it an meh, it was playable, but it should have never happened in the first place. I understand the hell of a development cycle this game must have gone through over the years, so I guess it's understandable, but it's a pity. Duke Nukem 3D was one of the best, if not THE best FPS ever and Duke deserved more. This was quite embarrassing, 4/10 Expand
  17. Jul 6, 2011
    0
    +10 years in the making and the only thing the Developers think of doing are sexual and stereotypical portrayals of women. It feels like like thats the only thing the Developers really focused on to be honest. Since this game got a pretty big following I'm assuming the phrase 'sex sells' is in work here. Stay away from this game.
  18. Dec 10, 2011
    4
    I'm a simple gamer. A good game does not depend upon high end graphics or cutting edge tech... if just has to be fun! When it came to Duke Nukem Forever, although I never played the original, I so wanted to like this game. I don't know what it is about this game... but it fell SOOOO flat with me. I find it hard to find anything positive to say about it. I love FPS and even the worstI'm a simple gamer. A good game does not depend upon high end graphics or cutting edge tech... if just has to be fun! When it came to Duke Nukem Forever, although I never played the original, I so wanted to like this game. I don't know what it is about this game... but it fell SOOOO flat with me. I find it hard to find anything positive to say about it. I love FPS and even the worst FPS I will at least play all the way through. However with Duke Nukem, the moment I encountered the least amount of difficulty, I had no problem deleting the game off of my hard drive (and if this was part of the game, you could have expected Duke to make some sexual crack about his drive always being hard). Although the graphics themselves are not "bad" they feel very outdated in the way they unfold. I kept having to remind myself that the game was released in 2011 and not 2006. The NPC are nothing more than poorly scripted mannequins that don't even turn to speak to you. The puns, jokes, and boobs come straight out of the 6th grade boys bathroom (and even then lacking the sophistication of most 6th grade boys). I had read the bad reviews, but dismissed most of them as people with over expectations. Having never played the original, I was sure that people were just trying to make it what it WAS not what it is today. I kinda felt sorry for all the bad press the game had taken. Less than 2 months after its release I picked it up $9 in the bargain bin and thought that it would be good for at least a laugh... alas the reviews were right, and I still over paid. Expand
  19. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    I really wanted to like this game really did but it was so bad. The jokes are mainly bad and graphics look like puke, weird to think same engine that did bioshock unreal 2.5. game play just sucks not even like duke nukem 3d which was great im not even going to give out multiple scores don't buy it you will waste you money and time.
  20. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Wow I can't believe they released this, oh well the companies broke now so the risk didn't pay off, this game is dull boring and lifeless. The graphics are total garbage, (but graphics don't make a game wahhh wahhhh) YES they do. If the graphics are good and the gameplay is also good then the game can attract followers and stand on it's own two legs without needing people to troll onWow I can't believe they released this, oh well the companies broke now so the risk didn't pay off, this game is dull boring and lifeless. The graphics are total garbage, (but graphics don't make a game wahhh wahhhh) YES they do. If the graphics are good and the gameplay is also good then the game can attract followers and stand on it's own two legs without needing people to troll on either side of the fence. If the gameplay and graphics were good then I would say like or leave. But it's total garbage, and so are all the other versions of duke on the ds, on xbla on psn and all the others. Yes maybe 16 years ago I laughed when a toilet could flush but let me drill that to you again.....16 YEARS AGO! The game was a flop when I seen tHe first trailer for it about 4 years ago, then they thought should we or shouldn't we release this game, well no is the answer. If this cost £1million pounds to make I would rather have wasted my money on 1million lottery tickets! Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    Its rushed, crappy game of 2011. They abused the title and character to make some quick money and **** us off with crappy game. If they polished it and released maybe 5+ years ago, it would have been a decent game, but as of now its just rubbish. Totally not 2011 standards.
  22. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    Well, I was disappointed. 14 years in development and I get boring levels, poor AI, dated graphics (looks like its from 2002 or so) and nothing innovative... Even Duke's jokes are already heard and seen somewhere. I was shocked by clumsy NPC animations and lifeless surroundings. They needed more time I guess to finish this game. Score 2.0
  23. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    I wanted this game to be good, like struggling through the desert, dying from dehydration. And then this idiot comes and offers me a beer.
    Starting with the gameplay, I keep getting the sense that the game is trying to evoke the feel of REALLY old school games, I think we may be beyond retro with this. The only problem is I recall retro games having more than just two enemies at a time,
    I wanted this game to be good, like struggling through the desert, dying from dehydration. And then this idiot comes and offers me a beer.
    Starting with the gameplay, I keep getting the sense that the game is trying to evoke the feel of REALLY old school games, I think we may be beyond retro with this. The only problem is I recall retro games having more than just two enemies at a time, various types of enemies, all gunning for me, with health pickups and plenty o' guns. Instead, no, the most baddies I've seen at once are three, there's hardly ever a difference, you have regenerative health if you go and hide like a wuss behind a wall, and Duke is so manly he can now only heft two weapons-wait what?
    Graphics? Passable, I guess, I'm not one to pay too much attention, but at the same time I kept noticing how bland and midgrade they were.
    The humor? We've heard these jokes before... YEARS before, and these are the type of jokes that never age well. Here's one: You have to go with this rookie soldier named Jenkins, yes you can tell where this is going. Within the minute he gets turned into paste, and Duke declares, "Dammit Leroy." You can practically hear the character on the stand-up stage waving desperately for a guy on drums to do a roll on snare.
    Which comes from the voice acting itself. Every single character sounds as much an idiot as the folks who thought up their lines. Sure a couple of the soldiers early in the game bounced insults off each other pretty well, but you never get that experience again. Apparently all the females understood just how much they were doing their gender a disservice and aimed to make every character they voiced as annoying or unsexy as possible, and I'm sorry, hearing the balls in a woman's voice is unwanted.
    Thankfully, Duke's original voice actor reprises the role. Unfortunately, he's aged more than the character, what once were nicely paced quips and well delivered lines, now plod along at a slower pace, leaving a much more dimwitted mind behind, leaving every spoken line just hanging out there like an older person wearing less clothing.
    In the end, I found myself asking, "Why am I playing this? There's far more fun games all around me."
    It's nice that Gearbox wanted to credit every person who worked on this game within the last decade or so, that way we have a nice shopping list of people to blame for this letdown and, what could be called, cashgrab. You might argue against that, but pray tell, could there have been plenty of people that noticed their game was utter garbage before it left to shelves?
    Expand
  24. Jun 16, 2011
    2
    After hearing that Duke Nukem Forever was actually going to be released, I was eager to play it. I did however have low expectations. After playing Bulletstorm earlier this year, I did have hope for the retro-style game that could have been. What I was expecting was not stop battles with loads of alien enemies swarming the screen with barely a breather in between. I was also expecting aAfter hearing that Duke Nukem Forever was actually going to be released, I was eager to play it. I did however have low expectations. After playing Bulletstorm earlier this year, I did have hope for the retro-style game that could have been. What I was expecting was not stop battles with loads of alien enemies swarming the screen with barely a breather in between. I was also expecting a game with quality visuals and some raunchy, and current topical humour. None of these are in the game. It's a boring, dull looking mess. The weapons (except for the shotgun) are stale. The platform jumping puzzles are just annoying, as are the driving sections where it feels like you are being forced to take a tour of the dated graphics. This can't be blamed on the game engine. While the UT3 graphics engine is getting old, by current standards, there have been some recent and good looking games that have utilized it much better than this. FYI, I am an older guy. I am one of many that remembers playing Duke 3D when it was first released and loving the competition it gave to Doom II. I played that campaign at least 4 times, and spent many nights with friends playing the multi-player part as well. The Duke Nukem here is just a pathetic goon, not a renegade hero. The voice acting is weak as well. Little QA was done to this game. I once got trapped by an invisible wall which means that I got to a place in the map that I wasn't supposed to have access. It would be easy to forgive a few of the issues, that I personally don't like, but there are so many bad things about Duke Nukem Forever that they by far outweigh the very few good parts of the game. Expand
  25. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    Play Duke 3D and pretend it was just released. You'll have a much better time than with this abysmal garbage. For one, despite enjoying D3D immensely, and enjoying racy humor, DNF misses the mark and biffs the portrayal of the famous egotist into an unlikable moron who's unpleasant to play. I'll leave aside all the details of this distortion, or the off-note trivialization of rape, andPlay Duke 3D and pretend it was just released. You'll have a much better time than with this abysmal garbage. For one, despite enjoying D3D immensely, and enjoying racy humor, DNF misses the mark and biffs the portrayal of the famous egotist into an unlikable moron who's unpleasant to play. I'll leave aside all the details of this distortion, or the off-note trivialization of rape, and attribute it to 3DRealms being immersed in it for 12 years and losing sight of reality. Sadly, the gameplay fares no better. The game delights in mocking successful FPS titles that have risen since production began, including Halo and the entire Half-Life series so far, while confusedly grabbing elements from them. Recharging health? Check (have fun with Duke regaining "ego" by cowering around a corner). 2 weapon carry limit? Check, which you'll hate because almost all of the weapons feel unsatisfying. Awkward, 90s era platforming? Check. Linear corridor levels, shunting you down the only path by closing off others with random debris, a la CoD? Check! The game garbles all sorts of elements together from its successful cousins but manages to miss the elements of each of those games that made them fun.

    While the loads aren't as awful as they apparently are on consoles, they're still pretty stupid, especially for sections where by the start of the next level, you'll have loaded twice for a three minute section of non-combat navigating. Graphics aren't awful, but they aren't very good, and everything has had obnoxious glow slapped all over it. The vehicle sections are awful, whereas the parts forced in between one of the vehicle sections turn out to be the best part of the game. It's a very short title, but you probably won't want to replay. I haven't tried the multiplayer much, but on brief trial it seems like renting a 1998 N64 knockoff of a popular game.

    These 12 years would have been better spent on anything else.
    Expand
  26. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    Like everybody else, the hype got to me. I too remember the good times I had with Duke Nukem 3D back in the day in my parents basement. So, when they rolled out the trailers for this I pre-ordered and expected greatness. Why? Because I am dumb as a whistle apparently. The awful truth about this game however, is that it is horribly dated, rushed, badly designed and just plain boring. I didLike everybody else, the hype got to me. I too remember the good times I had with Duke Nukem 3D back in the day in my parents basement. So, when they rolled out the trailers for this I pre-ordered and expected greatness. Why? Because I am dumb as a whistle apparently. The awful truth about this game however, is that it is horribly dated, rushed, badly designed and just plain boring. I did not play more than a few hours before I finally came to terms with the fact that this game is really really bad. So, 2K Games and Take-Two Interactive has capitalized on the hype this game had, produced a really REALLY bad game - and lost me as a consumer for life. These guys deserve no respect. Duke Nukem is not back, he is in fact hiding at home with his face in his hands - thinking about this pile of dung with his name on it. Expand
  27. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    should have been a 0 this game is nothing but hype, total trash with a name put on the box. the controls are horrid game play were is it? was going to buy it and a very good friend of mine called and said come over i got the game, after playing this pile of crap boy was i glade he got it before me the levels are so bad i had to watch him for a while before we uninstalled it. i don'tshould have been a 0 this game is nothing but hype, total trash with a name put on the box. the controls are horrid game play were is it? was going to buy it and a very good friend of mine called and said come over i got the game, after playing this pile of crap boy was i glade he got it before me the levels are so bad i had to watch him for a while before we uninstalled it. i don't care if gearbox only been working on this game for 2 years if that is even true. the graphics are so bad in this so called game i999 i wished i was back in, and last but not least, this game stinks so bad i can smell the poo in the game, the mini games are just plane dumb, the so called humor is childish and overrated, well in the end the friend and split the cost lol what are friends for. bottom line save your money it will be 9.99 one day. Expand
  28. Jun 24, 2011
    3
    The problem with Duke Nukem Forever has less to do with the fact that it feels like a title from over ten years ago and more to do with the fact that it is full of poor design decisions, shoddy game mechanics, and tedious, unnecessary puzzles to pad the length of the game. Overall, the game suffers from a lack of suspense and challenge as it holds your hand and directs your gaze the wholeThe problem with Duke Nukem Forever has less to do with the fact that it feels like a title from over ten years ago and more to do with the fact that it is full of poor design decisions, shoddy game mechanics, and tedious, unnecessary puzzles to pad the length of the game. Overall, the game suffers from a lack of suspense and challenge as it holds your hand and directs your gaze the whole way through like a messed up tour. In terms of design, a couple things had me scratching my head. First, you can only carry two weapons at once rather than an arsenal of weapons. Instead of worrying about what two weapons you should take with you, the game litters areas with weapons for you ahead of mostly scripted events where you will need them. This may sound like a plus to some people, but a perhaps unintended consequence of this is a lack of freedom for the player in how to approach certain areas. Rather than forging a play style around a favored group of weapons or using certain weapons for certain enemies, the game essentially directs the player when to use what weapon for the given situation. In fact, most every enemy encounter amounts to Duke entering an area, waves of enemies entering from one point, and defeating wave after wave until some new scripted event occurs to allow the player to progress into the next area. Meanwhile, the game leaves plenty of weapons perfectly suited for the situation lying around for you to pick up at your leisure. Think of them as turret sections without the turret (and there are plenty of turret sections, too believe me). Even on hard, this presents absolutely no challenge - and most importantly, no fun. Another interesting decision was regenerating health. Your health meter, labeled "Ego," will regenerate after a few brief seconds (even on hard) often necessitating a quick duck into cover. It's ironic a meter labeled ego recharges through players avoiding conflict. Perhaps it should have been labeled "Cowardice" or "Anxiety." But once again, this sucks all the challenge out of the game since, even during what would otherwise be tense firefights, the health meter recharges almost instantly. One feature related to ego bar I did appreciate was that interacting with certain objects in the game world grants permanent bonuses to your maximum health. For example, lifting weights or admiring Duke's reflection will raise his maximum health bar a couple of points. A neat touch but that's all really. Level design is simply poor. It's cramped, and even the outdoor areas funnel you along a fixed path. There's a lot of smoke and mirrors going on with the engine to help mask lazy design and muddy textures. Puzzles abound and more often than not present players with tedious, uninteresting tasks. One example is toward the beginning of the game where Duke encounters a locked gate. The button will not work since it has no power. He has to climb a small trailer, jump in through a window, then turn a generator on. Once back at the gate, the player presses the button only to see the gate has jammed and is now glowing (as all objects do just in case you didn't know you could interact with it) to let the player know he can now mash space to force it open. Why didn't we just do that in the first place? I'd like to think that if this game came out ten years ago, it still would've been criticized as the overly scripted, restrictive, and uninteresting experience it is. The game doesn't feel completely dated, it feels like it's lacking a crucial element - fun. This game is for the die hards - the people who preordered this game twelve years ago and still have their receipts. Only obnoxiously loyal fans of Duke Nukem will be able to find this game entertaining. For the rest of us, it's better to just to move on. Expand
  29. Feb 9, 2012
    3
    This is in no way a good game, but how bad it is depends a lot on how you judge a game. If you think a game should only be judged by the gameplay itself, its now HORRIBLE, just run of the mill bad. But if you judge it on its development time, numerous delays, overhype, lackluster humor, dated graphics and most of all outright ruining of the character, than its one of the worst games of theThis is in no way a good game, but how bad it is depends a lot on how you judge a game. If you think a game should only be judged by the gameplay itself, its now HORRIBLE, just run of the mill bad. But if you judge it on its development time, numerous delays, overhype, lackluster humor, dated graphics and most of all outright ruining of the character, than its one of the worst games of the year. I judge on more of a mix between, I will admit I have seen worse when it comes to game mechanics, but the 13 year development time, the graphics and aesthetics and the self righteousness of the game make it so I can't help but call it the 2nd worst game of the year, only to be beaten by Modern Warfare 3 (for similar reasons, look up my review if you really care, and if it makes you feel better I'm sure BF3 was just as bad but I won't expose myself to that much **** in one year). So, no it is not the worst on a mechanical standpoint but that doesn't mean that anyone should ever buy this game because it is still bad. No one should ever enjoy this and a 50 dollar price tag makes it all the worse. Just do yourself a favor and stay away. Expand
  30. Jul 2, 2011
    3
    Don't waste your money, this game is seriously outdated, the game play is stodgy, the graphics are sub par, the maps are extremely boring, this game might have been cool if it was released 8 years ago, definitely a major step back compared to the original Duke Nukem, very disappointed.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    55
    Duke Nukem Forever would be quite decent if one felt entirely certain it's intended purely as a self-parody. As is, it doesn't do the expectations, the buyer or the Duke justice – oh, had he rather remained a vaporware legend!
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    29
    Petty, nasty and anachronistic. Duke is only relevant as a warning from the past. Avoid these mistakes, developers. [Aug 2011, p.76]
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    72
    Bottom line: Duke Nukem Forever was not worth the 15-year wait, nor is it worth paying the full $50. However, I cannot deny that I thought it was both fun and funny, which at the end of the day is what this franchise is all about.