Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Im one guy more to say :
    Good multiplayer fun,
    responsive and good feeling of controls.
    Many underrated ideas would have modern today
    gamecompany huge balls to have in the released game duke has to have balls!
    For what happened in development process, and we are happy to have tis at all gotta forgive the graphics, but i say i see many nice inventions in models.
    Does actually feel like a Duke Nukem game,
    and the sounds and voice acting is Duke enough said
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    PC graphics are current gen. PC load times are very short. This is a game for PC, and for gamers that appreciate humour above all else. DNF is not politically correct. It is offensive, rude, gross and disgusting. It has lots of variety, and can not be labelled as one genre or another. If you expect a FPS or any other genre for that matter, then don't. The laughs are so unique, silly, and typical Duke that the smile factor overrules the negatives. Gearbox have done a better job than most reviewers are willing to acknowledge. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    I think the metascore here is a little bit too harsh. This game is good fun, although it plays like Doom 3, is still a great game. Although the humour revolves around potty humour a bit too much, Duke Nukem Forever is a refreshing game in an age where we keep getting Call of Duty clones. I like how you can interact with everything (yes, even poo) and I also like the fast paced addictive combat. If it was released at the same time as Doom 3, this game would have been a shining star. This game is fun, and is greatly underrated by critics. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    Ok, this is ABSOLUTELY not what the fans were expecting, but it's actually not THAT bad. There are many flaws, like the fact that the single-player is full of useless things, the health (ego) recharges by itself, you can carry only 2 weapons and there is for sure not so much action like in Duke Nukem 3D. But it's fun to play. The multiplayer was not designed for competitiveness, but for having fun when you have nothing to do, in fact, everybody can kill everybody.

    In other words, if you want to kick asses, play Duke Nukem 3D. If you want to laugh, and not engage yourself, play Duke Nukem Forever.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    4
    Occasionally fun with its moments, but overall rather boring of a forgetful nature. Pacing is uneven with certain combat segments harder than even the hardest bosses. The beginning of the game was rather uninteresting but was soon developed into something better, until it fell flat down again after a boss fight which ended that 'chapter' of the game (which sadly was only about 20% of the whole game). The rest of the game was a boring and below-medicore shooter experience with a few mini-games stuffed within. When the mini-games in a shooter is more fun than the actual shooting and the rest of the game something is really wrong. Expand
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    The most annoying game I've played for ten years. My rating: -10. Extremely annoying jump and run parts stopped me from playing the game to the finish. Expand

See all 434 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.