Duke Nukem Forever PC

Duke Nukem Forever Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall whoThe release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. PC Format
    Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Great game, nice to play, good multyplay, lovely character it is simple and has action, has nice enemys and I want more, please make a newGreat game, nice to play, good multyplay, lovely character it is simple and has action, has nice enemys and I want more, please make a new Duke Nukem game, now do in sandbox style, like Farcry 3 and Dead Island, please, dont going to do a linear game again, the game could be better, if it was exploration with maps, principal missions and side quest. The rest of it, is a rockroll game. Nice to play. Expand
  2. BMF
    Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Duke is getting so much hate from critics but almost all of it is unfounded. Duke Nukem Forever might not be 15 years dev time good but itsDuke is getting so much hate from critics but almost all of it is unfounded. Duke Nukem Forever might not be 15 years dev time good but its still a great game that many people are missing the point with. Alot of the fun in DNF comes from your hilarious interaction with the world and objects around you so if you just rush threw and dont try things out you will miss alot. All in all I would give duke a 8.5 a handfull of bugs and looking out of date in some places cant take away from the pure uncensored fun Duke provides. Im giving this a 10 to balance out the feminists and people who just didnt get it. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for theQuite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is really good. Not awesome, but nearly there. Huge (and mildly disturbing) bosses were fun to fight, well, most of them anyway. One certain boss(ALIEN QUEEN) pissed me off. The Leeroy reference instantly deserved an 8. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    Good game, can improve in a few area. Feels like a Duke Nukem game so that part is definitely there. I see a lot of reviewers here areGood game, can improve in a few area. Feels like a Duke Nukem game so that part is definitely there. I see a lot of reviewers here are reviewing simply out of distaste at some content within the game. Stop thinking that Duke Nukem is meant to be your hero or idol. DNF is a great game with puzzles and plenty of action! The graphics are nice as well as the sound! Everyone will always find things to nitpick . But if your into Action/FPS while playing a **** character, Duke Nukem is for you. Video games are NOT created to set a good example, but for entertainment purposes. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    The graphics are terrible, but worst, the character animations are just too poor. Try jumping in front of a mirror and you will see a brickThe graphics are terrible, but worst, the character animations are just too poor. Try jumping in front of a mirror and you will see a brick going up and down. Besides that, the game is too linear, the monster AI is terrible and allowing you to carry such a small quantity of equipment removes the feeling of being playing with a badass character as Duke. This game is totally dispensable in any collection, because it doesn't bring anything new to the genre. Imagine that it doesn't have the name Duke on it, would you buy it anyway? Expand
  7. May 16, 2012
    0
    Ugg mistakenly gave this thing a 10 out 10.. re-submitted.

    This pos is so bad and is mostly just boring. I suppose this is the reason why G
    Ugg mistakenly gave this thing a 10 out 10.. re-submitted.

    This pos is so bad and is mostly just boring. I suppose this is the reason why G Broussard didn't get it out the door, even changing engines couldn't help this train wreck. All the negative reviews are true, avoid.
    Expand

See all 455 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.