Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1086 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Un juego Bastante entretenido, que tardo en llegar, un poco raro la jugabilidad con respecto a la versión original o el primero pero sin duda un clásico cumplido, buenos diseños de monstruos niveles y graficos, aunque un poco corto ojala haya venido junto con su dlc who cloned me, aun asi se realizo un buen trabajo, quede satisfecho pero debería de haber salido un par de años antes y habría cautivado 100% a mas de los fans. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    The fact that they finally made a CHALLENGING game, blew me away. Duke Nukem Forever is one of my favorite games of the last decade. This game did things the old school way, they made it hard to beat, it required actual skill. Call if clunky if you want, if you can't deal with it, obviously your not good at video games, and you can rage your way back to that Call Of Duty series. The last time I played a game with this kind of feel was on the Nintendo 64, and thats not a bad thing. I throughly enjoyed it in everyway. Even though it could have been a bit more epic than it ended up being, hell it was Duke Nukem! And it was hiliarious in the sense of just plain ridiculousness. Also while playing the game, it gave you more of the sense that you were actually Duke Nukem. Sequences where he did executions and fell down due to explosions made most first person shooters for me seem uneventful. I want to say job well done on Duke Nukem Forever, and like Duke says, power armor is for **** Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    The game is what it is an old school shooter. Its what I expected for the most part. The only real gripes I have about it are the 2 weapon limit and regen health. Is it fun, YES its fun!! Is it really killer no. I really hope we can see more Duke Nukem without those limitations. Multiplayer is fun also always nice to shrink a friend and stomp him!!! I wish it were longer but its a good game, the critics are totally missing the point that its an old school shooter. Its meant to be fun and enjoyable, not Call of Duty or Battlefield 9 billion. It is what it is and thats fun. I hope Serious Sam is too. Games are for enjoyment not a wanna be paramilitary lifestyle. LOL. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    Many people take this game out of perspective. It is not meant to be a groundbreaking AAA title, but rather mostly just fan-service. DN3D was a very well-known game back in the 90's for it's over-the-top violence, sophomoric humor, excessive nudity, and constant one-liners from the Duke himself and Duke Nukem Forever only tries to be the same. But that is also one of its downfalls.

    This game doesn't strive to be more. It tries to be very much like its predecessor but while doing so, takes away from the game's creativity. Consumers these days are starving for something new and intuitive in a world of constant, mono-tone FPS's. It looked promising enough with the bringing back of the childish humor (although some people don't like that type of humor) and 90's-type gameplay, and its super interactivity, but it's ultimate downfall was trying to catch up to modern times by excluding some key assets that made DN3D so fun. For example, you can only carry 2 weapons at a time; something that most fans gawk at. Then they make the "Mighty Foot" execution-only. It's the little things like that that put not only newcomers off, but fans as well and for a Duke Nukem game, that's not something you want to do.

    The gameplay is good for a little burst of fun here and there, but it ultimately suffers from trying to combine 90's style with the modern era. It isn't horrible, but the mechanics just aren't solidified. Some of the bosses, however, are actually pretty fun.

    The graphics, while they may not be up to par with many of today's top titles, aren't too bad although they could have at least had a bigger color palette. Everything does seem relatively low-poly and the character models are nothing to brag about. Overall, the graphics are acceptable, but not very likeable.

    The very hyped up "interactivity" that they promised turned out to be less than they made it out to be. Sure you can microwave a rat, play some pinball, or even knock a punching bag, but most of that stuff is very obvious. There are no real "secret" things that you can do (as far as I've seen). Most of the time, there will be something in the room that you look at and think "I can probably play with this" but nothing is really shocking. Not to mention that they spoiled all of the "surprising" interactive things (like the turd) in order for more marketing. I've seen games with way more interactivity than this game. They just told us empty promises.

    The levels are very linear with TONS of Half-Life rip-off "physics" puzzles that seem more like scripted events rather than real physics.

    Sound design is OK. Not too much variety and they all seem very monotonous. Duke's grunt from every jump is very unnecessary.

    Overall, fans of Duke might enjoy this game for the nostalgia factor, but that's really all this game is is fan service. It's almost like Gearbox just got the rights for it, and then said, "Alright, this game has been in development hell for years so let's just get this done and get it out there. Fans will love it regardless." The game suffers from trying to catch up with modern times while still trying to be the same. The graphics are OK, the gameplay is fun at times, the puzzles are a joke, and the famed "interactivity" is nothing really to be excited about. The game is alright. It isn't a horrible game. Just don't expect it to win any awards any time soon.
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    4
    How could this happen? Duke, what have you done to us? It's not a terrible game, I played through it an meh, it was playable, but it should have never happened in the first place. I understand the hell of a development cycle this game must have gone through over the years, so I guess it's understandable, but it's a pity. Duke Nukem 3D was one of the best, if not THE best FPS ever and Duke deserved more. This was quite embarrassing, 4/10 Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    Really? We waited 20 something years for this steaming pile of code and graphics? What a way to totally destroy a franchise gifted to you. *golf claps* Expand

See all 445 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.