Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1098 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall whoThe release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Un juego Bastante entretenido, que tardo en llegar, un poco raro la jugabilidad con respecto a la versión original o el primero pero sin dudaUn juego Bastante entretenido, que tardo en llegar, un poco raro la jugabilidad con respecto a la versión original o el primero pero sin duda un clásico cumplido, buenos diseños de monstruos niveles y graficos, aunque un poco corto ojala haya venido junto con su dlc who cloned me, aun asi se realizo un buen trabajo, quede satisfecho pero debería de haber salido un par de años antes y habría cautivado 100% a mas de los fans. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a gameI love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a game that can be played over and over and I still laugh. When you're ready for some fun gaming in your downtime this is it! Come get some. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for theQuite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    If anybody is looking at the average Metacritic score of DNF... don't believe it! The critics are morons who act like this game should haveIf anybody is looking at the average Metacritic score of DNF... don't believe it! The critics are morons who act like this game should have been a masterpiece, which it isn't but it's far from bad. This game is very enjoyable. Not only is the game play amazing and the weaponry pretty sweet, but over all, it's just a really fun game to play. Everybody thinks that it's graphics are to outdated and the story sucks. Well yeah the graphics are a bit out dated, but what do you expect. The game has been in development for 14 years! Once 3D Realms went under, Gearbox was kind enough to finish it up. Once the public found out about this, everybody started pressuring them more and more to release it. Yes, the development towards the end was rushed which caused the game to be lacking in some areas, but the game is still very fun and I enjoyed playing it. I've heard many things from people, like the graphics are dated, the game play sucks, the humor is childish and offensive... well guess what, it's a Duke Nukem game, of course it's gonna be offensive, if you don't like it, don't play the game! And no, the game play doesn't suck, unless the only games you've ever played in your life are call of duty modern warfare or halo, then yes, you may not be used to a game that is actually good. I just can't believe the reviews critics are giving this game. When the game first came out in North America, the average metacritic score was 62! Now its 58! There are so many games that are far worse than DNF, yet they always seem to get pretty good scores and this game just gets crapped on. The only game critic I think that gave DNF a good, honest score was PC Gamer, because they give their honest opinion on games, instead of just saying a game sucks because it doesn't meet all their stupid expectations. And if you're playing DNF on an Xbox 360 and giving it a bad review, then you're a stupid moron. Playing ports of games that were meant for the PC in the first place is a bad idea, especially with DNF. Development for this game began back in 1997, when the only console out at the time that didn't suck was the Playstation 1. So when some dumb 15 year-old says he doesn't like the game, well that's because he was still crapping his diapers when Duke 3D came out, and had no idea what games were really like back then. In a nutshell, Duke Nukem Forever is well worth the money, and is a solid fps game. No, it is not worth waiting 14 years for, but really... what game is? Thank you for reading my rant and I hope you realize that you should never say a game sucks because some stuck up critic douchebag says it does. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    Duke Nukem Forever is a nice change of pace from the current FPS heavyweights. It has a similar kind of charm as a throwback action movie. ADuke Nukem Forever is a nice change of pace from the current FPS heavyweights. It has a similar kind of charm as a throwback action movie. A mix of campy humour, sex, and a ton of violence. Alot of effort was made to bring back the old Duke feel and I think the development team(s) did a good job. Probably one of DNF's biggest strengths. Level design was interesting at times and dull at others, about what you'd expect from all but the very best FPS's. Gameplay is comprised of not just killing hoards of aliens but also puzzles, vehicles, and mini games (reminds me of Deus Ex). The graphics are on par with Halo 3, polished but dated by todays standards. All in all I had fun kicking @$$ with the Duke after all these years. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    4
    The gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played itThe gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played it you tend to see that this game doesn't take itself too seriously but even then that does not make the game. I would only recommend that you get this game if its on some sale for Steam. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    Basically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal peopleBasically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal people will find their dreams and expectations shattered. Nothing can live up to almost 1 1/2 Decades of hype and expectations building up, but all i wanted was a good contemporary shooter, and it failed to deliver. The graphics are medieval, and it still manages to have frame rate drops on a modern system. The story is flat, boring, humorless and plain simple stupid. It basically brings nothing new to the table, nothing that hasn't been seen before; there is no shame in "borrowing" ideas, the best also do it, but doing it badly is a huge nono, and that's basically everything that was done here, old bad ideas made worse and mushed into the rough shape of a game. Just as this review it got tons of useless filler. Did i mention it looks medieval? The only good thing is the dukes voice. Get Manhatten Project instead if you want some duke, it just costs a fraction of DNF, it's much more fun, and lasts a lot longer. Expand

See all 446 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.