Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall whoThe release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    A great classic Duke romp. The reason it gets so much hate, is because expecations are far too high because of the very extended dev time.A great classic Duke romp. The reason it gets so much hate, is because expecations are far too high because of the very extended dev time. This is a triple A game and deserves that respect. Great fun. decent graphics by todays standards. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a gameI love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a game that can be played over and over and I still laugh. When you're ready for some fun gaming in your downtime this is it! Come get some. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for theQuite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I thought this was actually a very bad game considering the reviews but I liked it lot (except for end bosses, but I don't like those in anyI thought this was actually a very bad game considering the reviews but I liked it lot (except for end bosses, but I don't like those in any game). It has much of the same humor as the old duke3d game but pretty good graphics. Not much to say about game play, like any FPS you shoot, blow etc. through a level and at the end there is the end boss. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2011
    6
    This game was certainly mediocre. You can disregard the reviews that say this game is horrible - it is not. You can also disregard the reviewsThis game was certainly mediocre. You can disregard the reviews that say this game is horrible - it is not. You can also disregard the reviews that say this game is perfect in every way - it definitely is not. There are mildly amusing parts, some good shooting action.....and some puzzles that were ok (most were just tedious). In short, a simply OK game. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    4
    The gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played itThe gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played it you tend to see that this game doesn't take itself too seriously but even then that does not make the game. I would only recommend that you get this game if its on some sale for Steam. Expand
  7. ave
    Feb 11, 2015
    0
    I played Duke Nukem 3D years ago and it was a really great shooter.

    This sequel features decent-to-good level design, and a nice set of
    I played Duke Nukem 3D years ago and it was a really great shooter.

    This sequel features decent-to-good level design, and a nice set of enemies to fight.

    The gameplay is more modern since you cannot carry all weapons and your health refills along time.

    One disappointing thing comes with the relative low efficiency of some weapons you imagined more potent (relative to the ego of the character), namely the revolver and the shotgun. So you end up gunning down aliens mostly with the triple cannon machinegun.

    The story is purely decorative and the characters flat as a carpet. Half of the time the soldiers are coward and stupid, but that does not make Duke intelligent or brave.

    It could have been a decent shooter but the game is blatantly sexist. Of course it comes with the character, but as far as I remember, all the female characters are either : horny at the mere sight of the Duke, blowjob providers, incapable of saving themselves, sex workers, alien surrogate mothers begging you to shoot them. I don't recall any female soldiers, scientists or civilians worth noticing. The developers pushed the envelope up to the following point : aliens are only abducting women, so you have to save them!

    Is there an irony here? Maybe aliens are in fact abducting women to protect from the Duke? That would have been a hell of a twist!

    So if you're confortable with that level of sexism, Duke Nukem Forever deserved a 6/7 as a shooter. Otherwise it's preferable to ignore it.
    Expand

See all 448 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.