Duke Nukem Forever PC

Duke Nukem Forever Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall whoThe release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Gearbox Software, 3D Realms
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Duke Nukem Forever Feces Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. PC Format
    Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for theQuite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Duke, The King, It's A Nomber One. After twelve years, it finally came to us! I waited for this since the Duke Nukem 3D. This game is someDuke, The King, It's A Nomber One. After twelve years, it finally came to us! I waited for this since the Duke Nukem 3D. This game is some kind of nostalgia returner, you just playing it and feeling something wonderful that make you feel yourself like in goood-oooold times, that's right. Hail To The King, baby! Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    The game really was everything what i expected and even more. Gameplay is good, maps are good and characters are good. I thought that only 2The game really was everything what i expected and even more. Gameplay is good, maps are good and characters are good. I thought that only 2 guns with you would be weird in Duke but actually i didn't even notice that when playing because the shooting was so fun and worked so well. Beer, steroids, monster, puzzles, "little duke", etc worked well and was fun. Those who want graphics or just multiplayer can eat bubblegum but those who want good singleplayer first time in years: it's time to kick ass! Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2017
    8
    The game was overhyped but it is not a bad game it is actually really fun and enjoyable. Maybe the jokes are not so funny but the weapons areThe game was overhyped but it is not a bad game it is actually really fun and enjoyable. Maybe the jokes are not so funny but the weapons are nice and the maps are fun to play. The multiplayer is also pretty enjoyable Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    People will say that this is a taste of 'old school' gaming. It's not. Others will say that this is a step away from the consolized CoD typePeople will say that this is a taste of 'old school' gaming. It's not. Others will say that this is a step away from the consolized CoD type games it's not. What the game is and isn't are two very different things. DN/DN3D was the call of the over the top action hero, lugging around every weapon and then some, with over the top comments. DNF is a game that started out as that, and ended up with regening health, 2 weapons, and QTE's. With a liberal rolling of things that would make the old Duke cry kittens. No secrets(check), poor level design(check), consolized design(check). If it had been released 6 or 7 years ago, it would have been good. As it stands now, it's a bargin bin game. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    An awful game. It's so bad, I gave up half-way through and deleted it. I loved playing the original Duke Nukem games in the 80's and 90's, butAn awful game. It's so bad, I gave up half-way through and deleted it. I loved playing the original Duke Nukem games in the 80's and 90's, but this new version disappoints. They keep saying this game took 12 years to release, and it shows. The graphics are dated and the game play is clunky and awkward. I wish I could get my money back! Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2017
    0
    parabens umaparabens uma bosta!...................................................................................................................................................................................e ponto final. Expand

See all 433 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.