Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1077 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    OK so this game needs some positive press, so here's my 2 cents. I've played the Single Player game thoroughly. I'm level 22 or so on Steam (multiplayer). I've had a lot of fun with this game. I mean, a lot. If there are people out there who are deciding not to try the game out because of the bad reviews, I would just suggest to them to try the game out themselves. At least the PC demo. If you're using a console, forget about it. Duke is not meant to be played on console. Get a PC. :) Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a game that can be played over and over and I still laugh. When you're ready for some fun gaming in your downtime this is it! Come get some. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    The game is what it is an old school shooter. Its what I expected for the most part. The only real gripes I have about it are the 2 weapon limit and regen health. Is it fun, YES its fun!! Is it really killer no. I really hope we can see more Duke Nukem without those limitations. Multiplayer is fun also always nice to shrink a friend and stomp him!!! I wish it were longer but its a good game, the critics are totally missing the point that its an old school shooter. Its meant to be fun and enjoyable, not Call of Duty or Battlefield 9 billion. It is what it is and thats fun. I hope Serious Sam is too. Games are for enjoyment not a wanna be paramilitary lifestyle. LOL. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    Many people take this game out of perspective. It is not meant to be a groundbreaking AAA title, but rather mostly just fan-service. DN3D was a very well-known game back in the 90's for it's over-the-top violence, sophomoric humor, excessive nudity, and constant one-liners from the Duke himself and Duke Nukem Forever only tries to be the same. But that is also one of its downfalls.

    This game doesn't strive to be more. It tries to be very much like its predecessor but while doing so, takes away from the game's creativity. Consumers these days are starving for something new and intuitive in a world of constant, mono-tone FPS's. It looked promising enough with the bringing back of the childish humor (although some people don't like that type of humor) and 90's-type gameplay, and its super interactivity, but it's ultimate downfall was trying to catch up to modern times by excluding some key assets that made DN3D so fun. For example, you can only carry 2 weapons at a time; something that most fans gawk at. Then they make the "Mighty Foot" execution-only. It's the little things like that that put not only newcomers off, but fans as well and for a Duke Nukem game, that's not something you want to do.

    The gameplay is good for a little burst of fun here and there, but it ultimately suffers from trying to combine 90's style with the modern era. It isn't horrible, but the mechanics just aren't solidified. Some of the bosses, however, are actually pretty fun.

    The graphics, while they may not be up to par with many of today's top titles, aren't too bad although they could have at least had a bigger color palette. Everything does seem relatively low-poly and the character models are nothing to brag about. Overall, the graphics are acceptable, but not very likeable.

    The very hyped up "interactivity" that they promised turned out to be less than they made it out to be. Sure you can microwave a rat, play some pinball, or even knock a punching bag, but most of that stuff is very obvious. There are no real "secret" things that you can do (as far as I've seen). Most of the time, there will be something in the room that you look at and think "I can probably play with this" but nothing is really shocking. Not to mention that they spoiled all of the "surprising" interactive things (like the turd) in order for more marketing. I've seen games with way more interactivity than this game. They just told us empty promises.

    The levels are very linear with TONS of Half-Life rip-off "physics" puzzles that seem more like scripted events rather than real physics.

    Sound design is OK. Not too much variety and they all seem very monotonous. Duke's grunt from every jump is very unnecessary.

    Overall, fans of Duke might enjoy this game for the nostalgia factor, but that's really all this game is is fan service. It's almost like Gearbox just got the rights for it, and then said, "Alright, this game has been in development hell for years so let's just get this done and get it out there. Fans will love it regardless." The game suffers from trying to catch up with modern times while still trying to be the same. The graphics are OK, the gameplay is fun at times, the puzzles are a joke, and the famed "interactivity" is nothing really to be excited about. The game is alright. It isn't a horrible game. Just don't expect it to win any awards any time soon.
    Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    4
    I'm a simple gamer. A good game does not depend upon high end graphics or cutting edge tech... if just has to be fun! When it came to Duke Nukem Forever, although I never played the original, I so wanted to like this game. I don't know what it is about this game... but it fell SOOOO flat with me. I find it hard to find anything positive to say about it. I love FPS and even the worst FPS I will at least play all the way through. However with Duke Nukem, the moment I encountered the least amount of difficulty, I had no problem deleting the game off of my hard drive (and if this was part of the game, you could have expected Duke to make some sexual crack about his drive always being hard). Although the graphics themselves are not "bad" they feel very outdated in the way they unfold. I kept having to remind myself that the game was released in 2011 and not 2006. The NPC are nothing more than poorly scripted mannequins that don't even turn to speak to you. The puns, jokes, and boobs come straight out of the 6th grade boys bathroom (and even then lacking the sophistication of most 6th grade boys). I had read the bad reviews, but dismissed most of them as people with over expectations. Having never played the original, I was sure that people were just trying to make it what it WAS not what it is today. I kinda felt sorry for all the bad press the game had taken. Less than 2 months after its release I picked it up $9 in the bargain bin and thought that it would be good for at least a laugh... alas the reviews were right, and I still over paid. Expand
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    The most annoying game I've played for ten years. My rating: -10. Extremely annoying jump and run parts stopped me from playing the game to the finish. Expand

See all 442 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.