Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeon Defenders is an original hybrid of two hot genres: Tower Defense and online Action-RPG! The game puts players in the role of one of four distinctive hero classes, tasked with fending off hordes of invading beasties by strategically summoning a variety of Defenses & TrapsDungeon Defenders is an original hybrid of two hot genres: Tower Defense and online Action-RPG! The game puts players in the role of one of four distinctive hero classes, tasked with fending off hordes of invading beasties by strategically summoning a variety of Defenses & Traps throughout their castle.

    But as far more than a strategy game, players directly participate in the action-packed combat with their hero characters, while upgrading their statistics, gathering tons of loot and inventory items, customizing & upgrading equipment, and developing unique class abilities. All of this can be enjoyed in seamless online and split-screen local multiplayer, as players cooperate and compete through the story campaign and challenge missions to build the strongest heroes and achieve the highest scores in the kingdom.

    Combining the depth of strategic gaming with the satisfying action of RPG character building in a beautifully stylized toon fantasy setting, Dungeon Defenders is designed to be a distinctly addictive, easy-to-play experience for casual and hardcore gamers alike.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Dungeon Defenders has a vibrant, cartoony look and feel while providing an addictive and solid tower defense gaming experience. Reinventing tower defense is a tough chore but Dungeon Defenders manages to pull it off.
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    90
    Dungeon Defenders is a co-op focused tower defense game where four heroes try to stop huge monster waves from destroying magic crystals by building all kinds of defensive structures such as walls and cannons. There are also some roleplaying and hack & slash elements so players can level up their heroes and fight enemies with swords and spells. The singleplayer side of the game is lacking but the multiplayer mode is always very fun and addicting. Technically the game is quite polished and doesn't have any fatal bugs which is always a good thing. [Dec 2011]
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    88
    Dungeon Defenders is an indie game with many contents and great replay value.
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    Co-op mode, RPG elements, items and level ups - this game almost has it all. Almost, because team work isn't really encouraged. But it's still fun for weeks for a low price.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    This is a gem that deserves to march past your defences and into your game collection. [Jan 2012, p.62]
  6. May 18, 2011
    77
    Colorful graphics conceal a deep and merciless dungeon that should not be attempted alone. Bring a team to find its treasure. [July 2011, p.70]
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    60
    Games can often sell on concepts. Dungeon Defenders is no different. But its classical style and easy to learn gameplay give it a solid edge.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 139
  2. Negative: 31 out of 139
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    great game! Cool multiplayer, great effects, custom maps like cities from pokemon!!! ...and the price is low, I think.

    - fight with towers
    great game! Cool multiplayer, great effects, custom maps like cities from pokemon!!! ...and the price is low, I think.

    - fight with towers or with your own weapons
    - buy a pet
    - create your own maps
    - beautiful Comic graphic
    ...and much more!!!

    one of my favourite games!!!
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    First of all I will say that Dungeon Defenders is 100 times better than Orcs Must Die, so if you are trying to decide between them, getFirst of all I will say that Dungeon Defenders is 100 times better than Orcs Must Die, so if you are trying to decide between them, get Dungeon Defenders.

    I will admit that when I first downloaded DD from Steam, I wasn't expecting much. The genre seemed strange as well as the visuals so I was a little weary. Within 5 minutes of actually playing the game, I was taken off my feet. True gamers who respect a game for what it is will fall in love with Dungeon Defenders. What I seemed to notice first was the quirky themes throughout the game. The graphics remind me of a mix between Sly cooper and Borderlands, which I thought suited this game perfectly. The boss fights are absolutely incredible and creative, I was blown away with every single one. A lot of people claim that you have to do a lot of grinding to get a high level but I never ran into this problem. As far as weapons go, I pretty sure there are millions of unique possibilities including rare "godly" weapons and armor. The character classes are equally balanced some perfectly compliment each other in online play, which is the best part of the game. So far there are 13 main quest maps and even more challenge maps including "Turkey Hunt" where you kill as many turkeys as you can to move on to the next round. I would even go so far as to say that dollar for dollar, Dungeon Defenders is better than Skyrim (you can quote me on that). If you don't buy this game, you are missing out on a landmark game in the genre.
    Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Up-and-comers Trendy Entertainment are surely starting a trend with their premier title. Dungeon Defenders has already proven to be not onlyUp-and-comers Trendy Entertainment are surely starting a trend with their premier title. Dungeon Defenders has already proven to be not only insanely fun, but also a progressive challenge. with each level, and wave for that matter, becoming more and more difficult, I am sure I will get hundreds of hours of gameplay from this title. Although it does lack more advanced graphic options (namely vertical sync) I love the colors and the general art design. I couldn't ask more from a veteran development team with a $50 dollar release price, let alone a first title from an indie developer for $15. I am impressed and excited see what Trendy has in its future. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    A fun and addictive game. New content are added very frequently, only drawback is that they are usually all classified as dlc and needs extraA fun and addictive game. New content are added very frequently, only drawback is that they are usually all classified as dlc and needs extra payment.
    The holiday events are very good as well. This game is a good fps tower defense with a lot of potential.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Reminds me a lot of Sanctum, only with loot and levelups. That's a good thing. This game is quite a lot of fun in co-op, which is the best wayReminds me a lot of Sanctum, only with loot and levelups. That's a good thing. This game is quite a lot of fun in co-op, which is the best way to play it. Unfortunately sometimes TrendyNet boots me, and I'm docking a point for that issue. So call it an 8 once they get the networking perfected. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    Dungeon Defenders is a Tower defense / Third-Person Action-Adventure hybrid that you just have to "Get" to like. While not particularly goodDungeon Defenders is a Tower defense / Third-Person Action-Adventure hybrid that you just have to "Get" to like. While not particularly good at either of these, the game still manages to be entertaining. In Dungeon Defenders you play as one of many heroes and on a variety of maps from giant boss maps, to floating chess pieces. Each map has a different gimmick, and a new challenge. Perhaps the most aggravating nuisance in DD is that it is not single/Co-op Friendly. A player is expected to level multiple characters at once so they can "Swap" them to use their traps and abilities. I find this practice non-nonsensical and infuriating. A player gets attached to their character, but you can't play the game successfully as nothing but a huntress. Traps are a necessity in later levels, and some classes simply do not have proper traps to be able to solo or even co-op encounters properly. The limited skills to the class is further compounded by Gear which is obtained in a Diabloesque manner; Randomly generated stated gear that may or may not contain the stats you want. Such an approach to gear only compounds the issue of leveling multiple characters and unless you are prepared to drop an enormous amount of time into the game, you will find that it is a monotonous gear grind at max level that doesn't feel rewarding enough. All in all, Dungeon Defenders is a wonderful game; if you have enough players/friends, but otherwise does not have enough to offer those who don't. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    unplayable control setting make player frustrated. too complex game machanism and poor UI design are also big failed. I spent 30 mins inunplayable control setting make player frustrated. too complex game machanism and poor UI design are also big failed. I spent 30 mins in tutorial and I still uncomfortable about this game processing. super super failed. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews