Dungeon Lords Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeon Lords is a new breed of epic Fantasy RPG, a unique combination of RPG and Fighter game action in full 3D, featuring a deep storyline shrouded in mystery, surprise, and betrayal. Dungeon Lords is loaded with quests, personal missions, extensive skills and special abilities forDungeon Lords is a new breed of epic Fantasy RPG, a unique combination of RPG and Fighter game action in full 3D, featuring a deep storyline shrouded in mystery, surprise, and betrayal. Dungeon Lords is loaded with quests, personal missions, extensive skills and special abilities for customizing your own character hero from a variety of races and multiple class specializations, as you journey through an enchanted land of ancient castles, dark forests, and dungeon lairs braving an army of diabolical foes in real time action packed combat to uncover the secrets lying hidden within the depths of an evolving storyline. Dungeon Lords can be played either single-player stand alone, or in multi-player group sessions. [DreamCatcher Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 15 out of 28
  1. Since it’s the UK version we are reviewing here, and most of the problems from the USA release have been fixed I think I’m being fair in the score I’ve awarded.
  2. Imagine an old-school RPG with loads of action and dungeon crawling without any asinine anime kids with their sissy tales of woe. With Dungeon Lords it's treasures, monsters and slicing and dicing all the way - just like it was in the good old days.
  3. The title simply appears to have been rushed out without any testing, which is a real shame because underneath its problems, Dungeon Lords is a solid and enjoyable, if not ground-breaking RPG. [PC Zone]
  4. So much squandered potential, it's mind-boggling. Needs serious patching. [Aug 2005, p.66]
  5. You can go bargain-bin diving and come up with a better purchase for five dollars than this disaster, so do yourself a favor and take that option. [July 2005, p.125]
  6. A game that could have been an amazing return of the CRPG, due to a severe lack of polish and some big issues with bugs and failed ventures, becomes premature bargain bin stuffing.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. MarcA.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    The Best Rpg!!!
  2. kc
    May 9, 2005
    8
    Very captivating game play. Has some mild bugs but a good blend of action, role playing and strategy.
  3. JeffreyS.
    May 12, 2005
    6
    Mechanically, the game has some interesting points. Graphics are good. Sound leaves alot to be desired as location can muffle voices to the Mechanically, the game has some interesting points. Graphics are good. Sound leaves alot to be desired as location can muffle voices to the point where you can't hear what is being said. Character appearance customization has been completely disabled in the creation process. Manual leaves alot to be desired in terms of detailing gameplay, UI, functionality, and options. The game has alot of potential, but was rushed out the door in a very incomplete state. Expand
  4. JimmusM.
    May 9, 2005
    3
    I get the feeling that this game was released entirely too soon. While you can SEE the character customization buttons on the screen, none of I get the feeling that this game was released entirely too soon. While you can SEE the character customization buttons on the screen, none of them work. Combat feels like a mouse-button mash (though you can block attacks, they still seem to hit you occasionally, when you feel you're blocking correctly), and the magic casting (pick a spell, cast until you use up the points, then hurry and switch back to a weapon) is a horrid system. The game has decent graphics and sound, but there are problems with those, too. There is a nice shine to your armor and weapons, and this sheen can also be seen on your body and clothing. Gives a very greasy look, overall. Sound is decent and uses some positional cues, but when I zoomed out only a few feet from my character, I couldn't hear any combat or character sounds. This game feels a lot like a bargain title, and I'm scratching my head wondering why I bought such a broken mess for $45+. Expand
  5. DrewM.
    May 27, 2005
    1
    False advertising from Demo down to the instruction book that came with the game, From the game Lies, Lies, coverups, no apologies, This is False advertising from Demo down to the instruction book that came with the game, From the game Lies, Lies, coverups, no apologies, This is 100% a Beta game you are paying to be a Beta tester. Expand
  6. J.H.
    May 6, 2005
    1
    Unfortunately this game was released in a beta stage. It is unfinished; incomplete and lacking many features. It "looks" like it has Unfortunately this game was released in a beta stage. It is unfinished; incomplete and lacking many features. It "looks" like it has potential but was released unfinished. It is unfortunate that there is no litigation yet against producers of computer games (producers, not developers) as the producers are falsely advertising and selling a supposedly finished product. It's like a movie with half the dialogue missing and no ending. Expand
  7. DonnieB.
    May 8, 2005
    0
    Every single aspect of this game.... sorry I mean BETA is wrong, outdated, boring, frustrating and sad. A complete failure it would be, even Every single aspect of this game.... sorry I mean BETA is wrong, outdated, boring, frustrating and sad. A complete failure it would be, even without all the millions of bugs! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews