Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    While Dungeon Siege III doesn't quite measure up to its predecessors, its streamlined approach is a solid and enjoyable Action-RPG.
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    Dungeon Siege 3, just as Obsidian's previous game, Alpha Protocol, is an RPG that adds absolutely nothing to the genre.
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    It's not horrible, broken, offensive, unfair or anything like that - it's just completely bland. It doesn't do anything new, and it doesn't excel in anything either. Plus, while the combat is fine, it doesn't offer the fun, blast-through action experience of games such as Torchlight, Diablo or even Titan Quest.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    Putting the number three behind the title should mean progression. Unfortunately, this feels more like a transgression.
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    If you are looking for something to keep you going until Diablo III or Skyrim arrives then Dungeon Siege III might be the RPG filler you are looking for this summer. Personally, I found it an insult to the Dungeon Siege name, lacking any semblance to the previous games in the franchise. Perhaps if they had changed the name they could have avoided comparisons and disappointment, but alas, this is what we got and if you're like me, you probably won't like it.
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III has achieved the impossible – it has finally infiltrated consoles, which was a good move by itself. Otherwise it is solid action-based fun, even though we cannot get rid of a suspicion that the whole thing could be better. This applies especially to the PC version, which suffers from poor controls and user interface.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    Co-op issues aside, there's really nothing particularly wrong with Dungeon Siege III. It's an enjoyable, if un-ambitious game. I enjoyed it for what it was, but at the end of the day I left it having wanted it to be more.
  8. Jun 20, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III is a fun but unambitious dungeon crawler that fails to live up to the games that came before it.
  9. Jun 20, 2011
    Trite as it is and pointless as Obsidian's slavish adherence to some of the old standby systems (like loot and leveling) seems, I genuinely hope it gets another crack at Dungeon Siege. The series has never been particularly memorable, but at least under Obsidian's guidance, it's mostly fun.
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III falls victim to its lack of ambition. With a little extra guts, the developers could have installed an engaging narrative, memorable characters and an online component that would prolong the title's life. Instead, what we have is an emotionless, unrewarding journey that shies away from doing anything special.
  11. Jul 8, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III is a decent game; it just let itself down by not living up to what it could have been and by making some sloppy mistakes and over generalization that took away from any individuality or change in experience from one play through to another.
  12. Jun 27, 2011
    As a PC gamer you can and should not be fully satisfied with Dungeon Siege III.
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    A dungeon crawler with a boring loot table, poorly implemented multiplayer, and little lasting incentive to continue running around the world once the tedious story ends.
  14. Jun 18, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III is a good action RPG if we ignore the fact that it is the continuation of certain video game series. The link with its previous games is only evident in the sense of its atmosphere but it lacks many of the characteristics from other Dungeon Siege games. It's a good option if you enjoy action with a 'co-op' mode with up to 4 friends but do not try to find a successor to Dungeon Siege here.
  15. PC Format
    Aug 8, 2011
    A game destined to be forgotten. [Sept 2011, p.98]
  16. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    Although the series' reincarnation is a clear success, it's a shame that PC version of this Diablo-clone can hardly be played without a gamepad. [July 2011, p.107]
  17. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 10, 2011
    A satisfying but not stellar action-RPG romp. [Aug 2011, p.67]
  18. Jul 14, 2011
    Dungeon Siege 3 is an ambitious game that attempts to change the genre but fails in nailing fundamentals that were perfected over a decade ago.
  19. Jun 30, 2011
    The game doesn't stand out in anything, except in its four-player cooperative mode.
  20. Jul 7, 2011
    Dungeon Siege III isn't a bad game but you have to like the genre. If you like to explore a world and love to see your character grow, you will like this game. If you're looking for an RPG, there are better games available.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    Terrifying, and not in the "the graphics are pretty amazing" way although they are at a level acceptable by todays standards. The gameTerrifying, and not in the "the graphics are pretty amazing" way although they are at a level acceptable by todays standards. The game unfortunately falls short in all other areas. The storyline is predictable, cut scenes look horrible. The fighting engine is completely useless on PC (which stinks of a straight console port), the platform where the game originated and found its roots. Most importantly something I look for in RPG's is the build.. but.. NO CHARACTER MODIFICATION!? PATHETIC SKILL TREES and NO SET BONUS'S ON ITEMS!? COME ON! Highly disappointing that falls short in a number of areas. My main regret with this title beyond the title itself is buying it on Steam, chances of a refund, slim to none. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    After the whole Dragon Age 2 debacle, I think Obsidian Entertainment might be bracing themselves for a fandom backlash, especially consideringAfter the whole Dragon Age 2 debacle, I think Obsidian Entertainment might be bracing themselves for a fandom backlash, especially considering how much they changed Dungeon Siege III from its predecessors. While a solid game in its own right, I almost hesitate to call the game Dungeon Siege at all - essentially the only thing that has been retained in this third entry to this popular PC game franchise is the massive amounts of loot you'll find and the story lore. And frankly, the lore was one of the weaker aspects of the first two titles.

    Dungeon Siege III is a third person action role-playing game developed by Obsidian Entertainment, a company practically known for taking over other people's game series. With titles such as KOTOR II, and Neverwinter Nights 2 (and corresponding expansions) under its belt, Obsidian has a reputation for making deep, engrossing sequels filled with interesting characters and topped off with intricate plots.

    With Dungeon Siege, this fan-favorite developer has stepped outside of familiar territory; most of their games are pseudo turn-based RPGs - Dungeon Siege III is their first fully real-time action RPG. DS3 tries to combine fast-paced action with Obsidian's renowned storytelling and for the most part it succeeds. Operative words being "for the most part."

    See my full review here:
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    Ok, it's a different developer. The GFX are passable, the game doesn't crash for me and you do kill lots of things by clicking on them.Ok, it's a different developer. The GFX are passable, the game doesn't crash for me and you do kill lots of things by clicking on them.
    There, that's the good stuff. The bad stuff. Maaaaan.

    1) Poor control options. Mouse is set up (and noner configurable) to the exact opposite of every other action RPG I have ever played (Titan Quest, WoW, Sacred, Diablo and all their sequels). A 360 controller works ok, but this is a PC game...geddit?
    2) Companion AI is TERRIBLE. If you play with a strategy in mind.. Tank, Heal, DPS whatever, then prepared for your AI companion to be hopeless. Pick a DPS/paper armour like Katerina, and expect to have to gain aggro with every mob you meet while you heavily armoured "tank" sidekick wanders around like an idiot on the periphery. If you play "Cecil" (the Tank character) then it's just about bearable, for any other class it takes whatever tiny little window of tactics this game had left and flushed them straight down the toilet.
    3) Multi-player. Go online and watch every one wanting to host and no-one wanting to join. Why? because you only progress in the game if you are the host! Obsidian? Seriously? in a game whose core attraction is constant progression, where levelling and improving is the very core gameplay mechanic of the genre....did you really think this was a smart move?

    As a WoW player I had little interest in MP gaming with DS3 anyway. The dull "button mash" single player mechanic is a ruiner for me.

    And don't get me on the horrible GUI, lack of inventory control, minimal character customization and mouse hunting during gameplay (very precise clicks are required to do real hardcore stuff the game)

    If the game had a decent one player mode OR a decent multiplayer mode I could have given it a 4 or 5 as a basic "button masher" for kiddies. But as it messes both of those up and lumbers them with a counter intuitive interface, then 2/10 is all I can offer. And I'm trying to remember why it deserves the second of those.
    Full Review »