Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUNGEON SIEGE 3 seamlessly blends intuitive action gameplay, a robust RPG system featuring a large selection of abilities, an extensive multiplayer component and the depth of story Square Enix and Obsidian Entertainment are known for creating.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    82
    If you can stomach the controls, you'll find a well-polished action RPG beneath that surface.
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Dungeon Siege 3 is clearly better than its predecessors and fights are real fights, not just interactive graphicsl demonstrations. The story around Jeyne Kassynder is good entertainment.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    While we won't be seeing Dungeon Siege III on anyone's "Best of the Year" lists, it's still a well-made hack-and-slash game, and one of the better examples of the genre on this generation of consoles.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    Putting the number three behind the title should mean progression. Unfortunately, this feels more like a transgression.
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III isn't a bad game but you have to like the genre. If you like to explore a world and love to see your character grow, you will like this game. If you're looking for an RPG, there are better games available.
  6. Jun 18, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III is a good action RPG if we ignore the fact that it is the continuation of certain video game series. The link with its previous games is only evident in the sense of its atmosphere but it lacks many of the characteristics from other Dungeon Siege games. It's a good option if you enjoy action with a 'co-op' mode with up to 4 friends but do not try to find a successor to Dungeon Siege here.
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    42
    An obvious console port, this watered-down action RPG just doesn't feel at home on the PC.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 166
  2. Negative: 97 out of 166
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Uff, so much rage. Well here it goes:
    I have never been a big fan of the dungeon siege games (though I have played them both), but I honestly
    I can´t see the flaws the other reviewers find on this when it comes to make comparisons with the previous entries. They weren´t exactly challenging , and despite a few cosmetic changes what we have here It´s basically the same game: Cliché characters (based in ye good old archetipes), endless corridors (full of monsters and loot) and extremely linear gameplay (well, at least here you actually have to click on the enemies for the character to attack taking away a bit of the ¨interactive screensaver¨ feeling of the series). With the controls I had no issue wathsoever.
    About the story, I think it´s an improvement over the prequels (where it was almost non existant). It´s a bit darker, predictable yes, but well written, and the humour is still there, it´s a different kind, a bit more sophisticated without going to extremes.
    Besides that, I beg to differ about the voice acting and companion ai, for me is was pretty good. Whenever the lead character falls, there is a good chance for the companion to resurrect him.
    All in all, if you take it without inflated expectations (what we have here is yet another diablo clone) it´s a pretty good and polished little game (not one bug I found, a new landmark for Obsidian). I´ll give it a 10 though it more like a 7,5 (definitely not a 0). Have fun.
    Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    I highly recommend this game. play it with someone locally (two controllers) for the entire campaign and you wont regret it.
    the main thing i
    can say about it is that its fun, we spend hours playing it and we just had fun. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    Obsidian puts the RPG in Action RPG, however navigating your way through the world of Ehb in this iteration is a tad cumbersome. A fiddly interface, uninspired level design and ridiculously hard battles holds the game back. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    4
    This garbage makes me actually want to play DA2. The controls in this game are pretty mediocre, I understand that it's ported from console, but come on they could have just used the standard over the top rpg controls... It gets even worse in coop with a shared screen betalween all party members, I honestly fail to see the logic behind that move. The gameplay was actually alright, even kind of fun on certain fights... although the game got progressively easier, I played on the highest difficulty and the only time I died was to a miniboss that you encounter about 30 minutes into the game. Unfortunately everything else was terrible, it had horrible voice acting, you honestly could have taken 5 people off the streets and they could have done a better job. Granted they didn't have much to work with as the story and writing is absolute garbage. They tried to make some kind of Mass Effect dialogue wheel, but there's pretty much 1 choice in the game that will probably have a minute effect on the expansion or dlcs. Sadly this game would have been better if they just removed all the dialogue and plot and just stuck a massive arrow over your characters head which directed you through the game. I'm not fond of giving red scores to games with a budget, but this crap legitimately deserved it, it would suck even if it was from some unknown indie developer. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    3
    Environments and graphics looks nice, everything runs smooth, no crashes etc. However the game mechanics is a bad joke, it makes DS3 feel cheap, dull voice acting and terrible cut scenes aswell. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2011
    1
    Oh man, I am so dissapointed...If I wanted to play The Witcher...I would have bought the F&^$ Witcher. To the people that keep saying, "I dunno why they are giving bad reviews," hmmm well that is probably because you never played the first two. Two huge upsets for me this year Duke and DS3...I really hope that HOMM6 does not change their formula for their release. However...they KILLED on the graphics quality...so kudos to that, but Shame shame for changing the DS formula that EVERYONE wanted. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    If they wanted to make castlevania meets the witcher, that's all fine and good but DON"T call it Dungeon Siege III. The practice of hijacking franchise names to rob and mislead the fans of good quality earlier PC titles has just got to stop. This is a mediocre at best, totally linear console game dressed up like a good old fashion PC loot crawler. Why they couldn't just stick the damn established formula, or just come up with a new name for whatever this is, is totally beyond me. Don't' believe the hype, It's NOT a sequel. Expand

See all 166 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.