Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUNGEON SIEGE 3 seamlessly blends intuitive action gameplay, a robust RPG system featuring a large selection of abilities, an extensive multiplayer component and the depth of story Square Enix and Obsidian Entertainment are known for creating.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    82
    If you can stomach the controls, you'll find a well-polished action RPG beneath that surface.
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Dungeon Siege 3 is clearly better than its predecessors and fights are real fights, not just interactive graphicsl demonstrations. The story around Jeyne Kassynder is good entertainment.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    While we won't be seeing Dungeon Siege III on anyone's "Best of the Year" lists, it's still a well-made hack-and-slash game, and one of the better examples of the genre on this generation of consoles.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    Putting the number three behind the title should mean progression. Unfortunately, this feels more like a transgression.
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III isn't a bad game but you have to like the genre. If you like to explore a world and love to see your character grow, you will like this game. If you're looking for an RPG, there are better games available.
  6. Jun 18, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III is a good action RPG if we ignore the fact that it is the continuation of certain video game series. The link with its previous games is only evident in the sense of its atmosphere but it lacks many of the characteristics from other Dungeon Siege games. It's a good option if you enjoy action with a 'co-op' mode with up to 4 friends but do not try to find a successor to Dungeon Siege here.
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    42
    An obvious console port, this watered-down action RPG just doesn't feel at home on the PC.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 180
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Uff, so much rage. Well here it goes:
    I have never been a big fan of the dungeon siege games (though I have played them both), but I honestly
    Uff, so much rage. Well here it goes:
    I have never been a big fan of the dungeon siege games (though I have played them both), but I honestly I can´t see the flaws the other reviewers find on this when it comes to make comparisons with the previous entries. They weren´t exactly challenging , and despite a few cosmetic changes what we have here It´s basically the same game: Cliché characters (based in ye good old archetipes), endless corridors (full of monsters and loot) and extremely linear gameplay (well, at least here you actually have to click on the enemies for the character to attack taking away a bit of the ¨interactive screensaver¨ feeling of the series). With the controls I had no issue wathsoever.
    About the story, I think it´s an improvement over the prequels (where it was almost non existant). It´s a bit darker, predictable yes, but well written, and the humour is still there, it´s a different kind, a bit more sophisticated without going to extremes.
    Besides that, I beg to differ about the voice acting and companion ai, for me is was pretty good. Whenever the lead character falls, there is a good chance for the companion to resurrect him.
    All in all, if you take it without inflated expectations (what we have here is yet another diablo clone) it´s a pretty good and polished little game (not one bug I found, a new landmark for Obsidian). I´ll give it a 10 though it more like a 7,5 (definitely not a 0). Have fun.
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    I bought this game by 17 th -Friday, so I had quite time to play through the weekend. I like it quite much. This game have beautiful graphics,I bought this game by 17 th -Friday, so I had quite time to play through the weekend. I like it quite much. This game have beautiful graphics, good challenging fighting system (more action), ok plot, interesting exploring of new locations, quite well done creatures and for me re-playability â Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    Dungeon Siege 3, although not a good as it's predecessors, is still a fun and enjoyable game to play. The arcade style controls makes itDungeon Siege 3, although not a good as it's predecessors, is still a fun and enjoyable game to play. The arcade style controls makes it great for the console player, however, PC Gamers will not like the clunky, non configurable controls. Using a gamepad for the PC quickly solves the control issue, but some PC Gamers feel that this is a sin to do! The graphics on the game are better than any previous version. The loot system, as well as the inventory and item configuration leaves much to be desired. Constantly clicking on the right button (on the XBOX 360 controller for the PC) is a pain. There are some attributes gained from certain gear that needs some explanation also. Despite the flaws, Dungeon Siege 3 is an enjoyable game, but not a must have. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    This game is terrible, but what makes it so damn tragic is that it could have been awesome. All the crucial elements are there - greatThis game is terrible, but what makes it so damn tragic is that it could have been awesome. All the crucial elements are there - great graphics, talent trees, two prequels full of lore and atmosphere, and a ridiculous amount of loot - but in the end, you're just mashing the same two buttons over and over again regardless of what's on the screen. There's no strategy, no peril, and no variation - just those same two buttons. Over. And. Over. If you're looking for RPG fun, reinstall the first Dungeon Siege - but avoid this title at all costs. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    2
    If you played DS1 or 2 and think this is going to be like that DONT! This game blows and I mean in the worst possible ways. Here are a fewIf you played DS1 or 2 and think this is going to be like that DONT! This game blows and I mean in the worst possible ways. Here are a few pros and cons.

    Pros:
    Graphics are acceptable.

    Cons:
    1. no auto save. you have to run to the light cones to save and you get 40 slots.
    2. no potions.
    3 you and one other member in parties. no more 5 man team as in DS1 or 2.
    4 Totally liniar and i mean it.
    5 you have to click the E key to pic up or interact with ANYTHING other than gold.
    6. NO keyboard binding customization options
    7. POOR to non exsistent character development.
    8. POOR storyline.
    9 POOR voice acting and cut scenes. like my character will be facing away looking at the sky from the npc hes supposed to be talking to.

    And much much more......short version...DONT BUY THIS! Wait for Torchlight 2 in JULY and that might gets us through to D3 :)
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    1
    This game is horrible. The PC controls are obviously not meant for human players and I really wish game devs would focus more on their humanThis game is horrible. The PC controls are obviously not meant for human players and I really wish game devs would focus more on their human customer base and not the martian ones. No, I won't use a gamepad on a computer. I'm not used to play on a gamepad and any game would have to be damn good to make me start using one.

    This game is NOT a Dungeon Siege. The prequels were nice but I couldn't play this one for more than 30 minutes. It's really that bad. Nothing more than a rushed, lazy game made to squeeze some dough from the fools, like me, who bought it.

    Don't waste your money on it. Although I buy alot of games, I haven't played anything so horrible in the last year.
    Expand
  7. May 1, 2015
    0
    Awful awful game, please destroy this franchise. If you buy this game you are surely going to be tagged as a fanboy or a compleat idiot whenAwful awful game, please destroy this franchise. If you buy this game you are surely going to be tagged as a fanboy or a compleat idiot when it comes to CRPGs. SAVE YOUR MONEY for better games dude Expand

See all 180 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.