User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 108
  2. Negative: 22 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This is one of the most fun and challenging games Iv played in years.The game is abound an evil Dungeon Master who runs an amusement park for heros. The developers advertised it a silly and fun multiplier experience and that is exactly what you get. I would go so far as to call this the Mario Party of PC games. That being said, just like Mario Party you are not going to have even half asThis is one of the most fun and challenging games Iv played in years.The game is abound an evil Dungeon Master who runs an amusement park for heros. The developers advertised it a silly and fun multiplier experience and that is exactly what you get. I would go so far as to call this the Mario Party of PC games. That being said, just like Mario Party you are not going to have even half as much fun playing this single player as you would playing with friends. Its clear this game was designed for multiplier and the single player is just a tacked on feature.

    The difficulty of this game is borderlines Hotline Miami level. You take a TON of damage if you get hit, and you die extremely fast. Even on very easy mode. If you do not like hard videogames this is one to avoid. That being said the game has a high skill ceiling and is extremely satisfying to play. Especially when you and your friends all work together and combo ability's to take down the extremely difficult boss monsters. If you are looking for an Epic Narrative with Character growth and a massive RPG world to explore your going to be extremely disappointed because none of that was advertised to began with. The story is extremely bland but its forgivable because of the nature of this game. To continue the Mario Party analogy, No one plays Mario Party for the story. They play it to have fun with friends and occasionally screw them over. The game runs flawlessly on Max settings my 4 year old Laptop though I did experience a few non game breaking bugs, stuff like monsters occasionally running into walls, or spawning but not attacking. But these bugs were rare and not that big an issue. Overall 9/10. -1 for bugs and single player.
    Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Love this game. This is one of the best top down multiplayer games I have ever played. It requires you to really use teamwork to be successful and there are tons of customization for your characters. There's a great feeling of accomplishment when you and your friends make it through all three stages of an amusement park, collecting mad gold and buying tons of items for your character. HasLove this game. This is one of the best top down multiplayer games I have ever played. It requires you to really use teamwork to be successful and there are tons of customization for your characters. There's a great feeling of accomplishment when you and your friends make it through all three stages of an amusement park, collecting mad gold and buying tons of items for your character. Has great RPG elements and tons of fun combinations of elements to kill the oncoming waves with. If you like multiplayer games and have ever been a fan of top down RPG's, then this is the game for you. Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    The best 4fun game i ever played! For old school guys like me, last time i remember played something so, SOOOOOOOOOOOOO fun was in A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.... i highly recommend it. the best experience that u can buy for a few bucks. totally worth it!
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Dungeonland is a "must have game" for anyone who really enjoy co-op with friends, with intense action every minute, you can never feel safe wandering alone, so, you will need to work as a team to survive , even if you think its close to your friends. a group of mobs can jump at you in any second!

    The co-op features are really enjoyable, as you can build your team the way you like, with
    Dungeonland is a "must have game" for anyone who really enjoy co-op with friends, with intense action every minute, you can never feel safe wandering alone, so, you will need to work as a team to survive , even if you think its close to your friends. a group of mobs can jump at you in any second!

    The co-op features are really enjoyable, as you can build your team the way you like, with 3 different characters and 3 classes for each one, besides of perks and different skills combinations that you can use to bring hell to that scary theme park.

    The most awesome thing about Dungeonland is the Dungeon Master mode. What is it? Its nothing more that your bullying friend who wants to become a real DUNGEON MASTER, and he will have control of tons of monsters and a deck of pure evil and will try to retaliate you in many different ways, while those 3 poor heroes (the good friends) try to find their way through tons of monsters and become rich and famous!

    Why!? Why the heroes are looking for bring hell to those monsters? Kinda doesn't matter cause its fun! And the heroes can be happy about it and the retired Dungeon Master can also enjoy the killing and the explosions as well. Better then reading the News for him!

    For the price of $9,99 Dungeonland is a great game because it has a great gameplay (really hard but also awesome) with lots of combinations to do with your friends and a great replay factor, a mode where you can play with a fourth player as the DM (which also have a lot of possible combinations in his deck), and great environments, with many colors, monster and things to blow up!! Oh yeah, did i mention that the DM has an evil laugh button!!! **** Awesome!!
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best multiplayer co-op couch and online experiences I've had in a while, it's totally 100% worth it! The feeling you have playing with your friends, coordinating in order to complete the painfully difficult levels of the game is so awesome! Yeah, Dungeonland is HARD, so hard in fact the "easy" mode is called HARD, you gonna die. a lot. But in the same way Demon's Souls couldOne of the best multiplayer co-op couch and online experiences I've had in a while, it's totally 100% worth it! The feeling you have playing with your friends, coordinating in order to complete the painfully difficult levels of the game is so awesome! Yeah, Dungeonland is HARD, so hard in fact the "easy" mode is called HARD, you gonna die. a lot. But in the same way Demon's Souls could manage death really well and making you want to play until you finished everything, dungeonland manages the same thing, but this time with real coop, local or online, and the game is MORE fun when you put a 4th player as the dungeon maestro who controls everything and tries to kill you and your friends in the best Tabletop RPG Master simulator ever, hahahahahah

    Go buy it, now!
    Collapse
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    excellent game, bought without many expectations, but surpassed them all, especially for those who like the genre, it is essential that this game is played for you RPG Action fans -
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Game extremely entertaining game, your co-op mode is fantastic and its difficulty is very high. We still lack a more dynamic system evolution. But I think it will still be adjusted.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    A totally fun game, no doubts the best hack and slash I've played. The thematic of the park and the Dungeon Master Mode are incredible. I loved the fact of the game is be really hard and have a high replay value of gameplay, because the attitudes of the Master Mode are unpredictable. and is very cheap for the quality of the game. It is AWESOME!
  9. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    So, who likes theme parks? all of you?! well done… oh… you don’t; Liar! Everyone loves theme parks! Dungeonland is set in a theme park owned by “The Evil Lord Dungeon Master” Who is fed up of heroes constantly butting on on his plans to take over the world as we know it! but he has a plan, and that is to build a theme park filled with shops, rides, treasure… oh, and REALLY BIG monsters.So, who likes theme parks? all of you?! well done… oh… you don’t; Liar! Everyone loves theme parks! Dungeonland is set in a theme park owned by “The Evil Lord Dungeon Master” Who is fed up of heroes constantly butting on on his plans to take over the world as we know it! but he has a plan, and that is to build a theme park filled with shops, rides, treasure… oh, and REALLY BIG monsters. Due to the imagination of evil supervillians being quite limited this park is called “Dungeonland”

    The game consists of two modes, the first being adventure mode which is your fairly typical dungeon crawler, and the DM mode where you play the role of the Dungeon Master and it is your sole responsibility to use cards to summon traps, monsters and effects to make it hard for the three heroes to get through the dungeon.

    The character upgrade system is fairly nice, you can upgrade your weapon, your perk and your potions. These all all bought with coins you earn as you play through the game. You can also spend the coins on alternative costumes for your character.

    The three classes you can choose from are fairly typical, The Warrior, The Mage and The Rogue. The Rogue and Mage seem to be pretty much range based with the mage doubling as a healer character.

    The game is made to be played as a multiplayer, you can play on your own with bots but you lack the cohesion needed to progress through the levels, but the nice thing is that you are not forced to play online, if you have wired gamepads you can plug them all in and have 3 people playing on the same computer. This also brings to light another GREAT feature of the game, Multiple user profiles! so 3/4/10/734 of you could all save your data on one computer and then load your own profile to join in the carnage on one PC!

    My first time launching this game I set myself up a local game with bots, at first i thought there was a glitch but no… In adventure mode you get 3 difficulty settings, Hard/Harder/Hardest and you had better believe they are true to their word on that!

    While you play you get lives that are shared between your 3 heroes, 1 life per hero, now what i didn’t realise is that if you get knocked out your team has 10 seconds to revive you without suffering a penalty to your life totals, this is another reason you shouldn’t play with bots… they don’t seem to like to revive you. Everything in the game is shared too, the lives, the loot and the heals; which i thought was a really nice way of doing things.

    The levels in adventure mode are split into 3 stages, Stage1,2 and Boss. I can’t tell you much about the later stages because I’m yet to get there. The stages don’t contain bosses as such but do contain harder than normal enemies, such as the fat phoenix which jumps about and tries to sit on you every chance it gets!

    My favourite thing about this game though, is you can see, feel and rage and the old school TRUE gaming roots that the developers of this game have, it is all all out no holds barred HARDCORE game for those of us who loaded our games from tapes and din’t know what save game meant till we were in double digits!

    There isn’t a lot more i can say about this game in terms of what you get, one thing i can say is DON’T try and play this like a normal dungeon crawler because it isn’t! Overall though i’m giving this game 9/10 because it’s all awesome but the bots let the side down (literally). So glad i got hold of this! it’s available from steam right HERE for £7.99 or if you have friends they do a four pack for £23.99 essentially earning you a free copy! Now go! Enjoy and I’ll catch you all on the battlefield!
    Expand
  10. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    Usually, I am all over game companies and hating them, whether it's the single threaded RTS game that announces the thousands of units you can control at once, or the shallow gameplay or awful graphics games do not exactly push the limits of the imagination these days.

    However, Dungeonland is different. An awesome team game coupled with strategy and MOBA elements unlike most MOBA
    Usually, I am all over game companies and hating them, whether it's the single threaded RTS game that announces the thousands of units you can control at once, or the shallow gameplay or awful graphics games do not exactly push the limits of the imagination these days.

    However, Dungeonland is different. An awesome team game coupled with strategy and MOBA elements unlike most MOBA games the community is fun and full of laughs rather than competitive and full of insults. The amusing the graphical style and content is second to none. The only way the game is lacking is in the single player where the AI isn't so great, but the multiplayer more than makes up for it.
    For $10 this is a definite buy. I give it a 9/10 because of the lacking single player.
    Expand
  11. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    This game is brilliant. As a solo experience it is a little lacking, providing slightly repetitive combat, with great boss fights and tons of charm, but as a co-op or, even better, a 3 vs 1 game it is fantastic. The heroes really need to work together as a team, and it is immensely satisfying to clear a stage or beat a boss. There are many different enemies, each being very unique in theirThis game is brilliant. As a solo experience it is a little lacking, providing slightly repetitive combat, with great boss fights and tons of charm, but as a co-op or, even better, a 3 vs 1 game it is fantastic. The heroes really need to work together as a team, and it is immensely satisfying to clear a stage or beat a boss. There are many different enemies, each being very unique in their abilities and stats, while remaining simple. Everything from orc, who are quick but weak until you enrage them to giant sleeping ducks, spinning across the dungeon if you are foolish enough to awaken them. Now what's even MORE fun than playing the heroes is taking the role of the evil dungeon master, and actually using the cards and abilities at your disposal to wreak havoc among the poor heroes. It is fantastic to spam that "evil laugh" button as your placing traps, casting spells and spawning bosses, only to posses them and take direct control. Overall Dungeonland is a fantastic games if you have a few friends, and still a great one if you don't, due to online multiplayer. The only problem i have with it is that the online connections can sometimes be a bit unreliable, and have on several occasion not let me play with my friends. This has fortunately gotten a lot better since launch. Expand
  12. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    This game is excellent, but quirky. It can be played as an action RPG (heroes) or more of a strategy/tactics game (DM mode). Either way, it is fun and unexpected good things are bound to happen.

    At its best, this game will cause you to break out into laughter as you finally cut down the boss (played by a real person) via teamwork, or terrify the player heroes with a wave of invisible
    This game is excellent, but quirky. It can be played as an action RPG (heroes) or more of a strategy/tactics game (DM mode). Either way, it is fun and unexpected good things are bound to happen.

    At its best, this game will cause you to break out into laughter as you finally cut down the boss (played by a real person) via teamwork, or terrify the player heroes with a wave of invisible dire ducks spawning on top of them. At its worst, this game will seem impossible when you have only rather stupid bots for allies, or when you're trying to challenge an experienced squad of heroes as the DM without having invested into the DLC which gives improved monster spawners.

    The less exceptional positive aspects are many, ranging from the various DM abilities and 9 player types ensuring variety, to the high quality visuals and sound.
    The less exceptional negative aspects are few, but slightly annoying when they do appear, such as the fact the DM DLC is far more powerful than standard DM abilities, the limited multiplayer matches going at any one time, and the rather inept bot AI which never seems to target the key enemies: the spawners.

    I got a 4-pack of this game for $10 on a 75% off steam sale, and was so impressed I ended up spending a bunch more on DLC. Even at $10 for a single copy, though, it is worth the money, being far more fun than many $30-and-up games I've played.

    It really does require friends (either online or locally) to get the best out of it, though. If you're looking for a game to play with a controller, as a party game, this is an amazing choice. If you're more looking to play online, it can be challenging to find the right game, but you'll have a blast when you do.
    Expand
  13. Jan 30, 2013
    0
    One of the best multiplayer co-op couch and online experiences I've had in a while, it's totally 100% worth it! The feeling you have playing with your friends, coordinating in order to complete the painfully difficult levels of the game is so awesome! Yeah, Dungeonland is HARD, so hard in fact the "easy" mode is called HARD, you gonna die. a lot. But in the same way Demon's Souls couldOne of the best multiplayer co-op couch and online experiences I've had in a while, it's totally 100% worth it! The feeling you have playing with your friends, coordinating in order to complete the painfully difficult levels of the game is so awesome! Yeah, Dungeonland is HARD, so hard in fact the "easy" mode is called HARD, you gonna die. a lot. But in the same way Demon's Souls could manage death really well and making you want to play until you finished everything, dungeonland manages the same thing, but this time with real coop, local or online, and the game is MORE fun when you put a 4th player as the dungeon maestro who controls everything and tries to kill you and your friends in the best Tabletop RPG Master simulator ever, hahahahahah

    Go buy it, now!
    Collapse
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    65
    The game’s testers deserve having their butts kicked more than the creatures of Dungeonland. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.81]
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    70
    Dungeonland is ultimately pointless when it comes down to it. Yet it is the good kind of pointless, the kind that still produces entertainment with friends and fills a void. Dungeonland knows it does not amount to much, in fact it revels in it, wilfully mocking itself throughout.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    70
    Dungeonland is nowhere close to perfect, but in multiplayer it’s a brilliant bastard of a game. Just add friends – or enemies.