Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    35
    If only Daggerdale could offer fun gameplay, we would have forgiven it for dull story, horrible visuals and buggy multiplayer. Alas, the combat is beyond redemption as well.
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    20
    A game that's functional in the strictest sense of the word, but still ugly and uninspiring.
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    30
    A grotesque game that makes you run around in circles in three small areas filled with endlessly respawning enemies and proofs of developer's incompetence. Daggerdale is dumb, tiresome and extremely bugged. [July 2011, p.80]
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    60
    Daggerdale is a lengthy adventure, but most of the monsters and quests start to feel reiterative after the first couple of hours. Nonetheless, there are few other places to go right now for a downloadable fantasy game with co-op included. Someone should really get on that problem, because Daggerdale isn't the solution.
  5. Jun 12, 2011
    80
    Daggerdale, as these things go, isn't bad, and you do get a lot of game for your money here, particularly if you go through it cooperatively. There are never quite enough co-op dungeon crawlers on the market, and while this isn't a particularly pretty or intuitive one, it allows you to kill a whole boatload of monsters while stealing all their money to spend on ways to improve your ability to kill entire boatloads of slightly tougher monsters, and that's pretty much all you need out of this kind of game.
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    52
    Looks like the developers had to spend all their budget to buy the D&D license, otherwise it's hard to explain the amount of bugs and the lack of care for the game.
  8. 60
    Cooperative dungeon crawler based on Dungeons & Dragons rules might sound like RPG heaven. But it is not for so many reasons – and that's a real shame and pity. [July 2011]
  9. Jul 12, 2011
    60
    A decent co-op game, ruined by expectations associated with its brand name.
  10. Jul 14, 2011
    35
    Slow, clunky, and prone to glitchiness, playing Daggerdale feels like a sentence to an actual dungeon.
  11. Jul 21, 2011
    60
    It's really hard to resist and not dub this game as "Buggerdale". Surprisingly, there are moments when it plays even better than its full-priced rivals. [August 2011, p.107]
  12. 50
    By the time you reach the end boss, complete with compulsory quick-time events, you'll be glad it's over.
  13. Jun 7, 2011
    45
    Dungeons And Dragons: Daggerdale barely has any memorable features to it, as it is nothing more than a generic dungeon crawler. This is worsened by the repetitive missions and a lack of checkpoints. The decent controls and the co-op add a little enjoyment, but cannot save this game from disaster.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. May 31, 2011
    3
    This game is not even worth the $15 entry fee. Skip it. Numerous bugs. Game breaking bugs. Want to lose all of skills? Want to lose all of your progress? Empty vendors? Textures missing so your character looks like a smurf, nothing but a blue blob walking around. Standing corpses. Now bugs aside, this game is a total console sellout. There is NOTHING different for the PC. No graphics settings. No 16:10 resolution support. No sound settings (set your computer to stereo only if you have no sound in surround sound). No difficulty settings. You can choose anything other than the 4 race/class/sex premades they have for you. You can't be a female dwarf cleric only the male premade. Just like Diablo from how far back? They did not even bother to take out the "Press (B) to Cancel" for the PC version. Pressing B on your keyboard does nothing. The storyline is bland. The graphics are blah, and belong more in a late 80's $10 game than a $15 2011 game. The "quests" are just... I don't know... Silly and uninteresting. The plot lacks any depth at all. I guess if you enjoy running around in a bland dungeon bashing barrels for loot as good as the stuff you get from monsters, all the while having almost no customization then go for it. I seriously LOVE just about anything D&D and the only thing that says D&D from this title is the dice rolls that happen in the background. I can't believe that publishers and developers are allowed to release stuff like this. Imagine if car company's were allowed to release unfinished products... Oh sorry mate, we will release a "brake" patch in a few weeks. Until then please try not to drive your car. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    EDITED REVIEW: Originally giving the game a 5 after I finished 3/4 of it, I've now dropped my score to a zero. DO NOT BUY. I was unable to finish Daggerdale after the game glitched and froze all characters during the final boss scene and kept glitching at this point when I tried restarting/reloading the game - the worst payoff ever. The game has semi-tolerable bugs throughout, an awful game camera, and an overall unfinished, rushed-out-the-door feel to it, but not being able to finish the game is inexcusable. Extremely disappointed, and this game was a gift. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    6
    It is limited. OK but limited. Fix your expectations that its not going to blow your mind either with graphics or gameplay and that your choices will be somewhat limited and personally I didn't find it that bad. At the price it is just about OK - but could have been far better. Full Review »