• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 65
  2. Negative: 14 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2014
    1
    Pros: Unique different quests, a lot of character customization and (some) d&d concepts.

    Cons: Extremely bad coded, money-hungry company behind it limits F2P access drastically - don't be fooled to think this game is F2P, very newbie unfriendly, 100% pay to win (even with paid access), constant nerfs and changes to existing classes, and last but not least: there's a HUGE bug list that's
    Pros: Unique different quests, a lot of character customization and (some) d&d concepts.

    Cons: Extremely bad coded, money-hungry company behind it limits F2P access drastically - don't be fooled to think this game is F2P, very newbie unfriendly, 100% pay to win (even with paid access), constant nerfs and changes to existing classes, and last but not least: there's a HUGE bug list that's been going on for years but devs mostly care about adding new (paid) features rather than fixing old stuff.

    Feels like paying to play normal D&D with a **** DM and a lot of made-up rules that mostly benefits only the DM himself.
    Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    6
    The last holdout of D&D 3.5 which offers the best character building options for a fantasy grade toon. I judge MMOs by their dungeon availability. Lack of dungeons = Lack of quality IMO. I don't want to fetch and carry, kill for other people, or compete with other people in an open wilderness. All of that feels like running in a hamster wheel. Dungeons = meat of an MMO. Choice inThe last holdout of D&D 3.5 which offers the best character building options for a fantasy grade toon. I judge MMOs by their dungeon availability. Lack of dungeons = Lack of quality IMO. I don't want to fetch and carry, kill for other people, or compete with other people in an open wilderness. All of that feels like running in a hamster wheel. Dungeons = meat of an MMO. Choice in character creation is the other piece. You will never have more choice or variation in character creation than in this game. 3.5 wins on that mark.

    In game voice on auto that works. Not the crappy stuff of WoW or other games, a bonefide quality ingame voice system. Makes group work easy and available. Social, same. Creates an oddly supportive community. Hop in a group and you can all communicate immediately. This does create a "must have ears" culture in game.

    This game is nothing but dungeons...with a couple slayer areas that you traverse to get to dungeons...which makes it far outshine most MMOs.

    The game, sadly, is dying for two reasons: raid bypass timers and out of control duping. Raid bypass timers are sold by Turbine in their cash shop. They allow you to bypass the timeout period between raids and thus run, say, 12 of the new raid in a row to get that item you want. They also remove all motive to continue playing because you can get what you want in a day...if you spend the cash. That cash became moot with duping. Buy 1 raid bypass timer and copy it into the thousands. Rinse/repeat with the rare raid crafting items for the best gear. Again, removes all motive to keep playing because the reward system for playing no longer exists. Turbine's punishment (a buddy duped and this was his): a 5-day ban, and you keep all your duped stuff. The dupe is now fixed but most people now have as much platinum as their accounts will allow them to hold. And bypass timers. And stat tomes. And dragon scales. And tokens. And...
    Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    This game has the closest interpretation of the Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 tabletop rules of any game. This leads to one of the greatest things about the game: it isn't balanced. You could build your character to be a badass, or you could build your character to suck. Its not going to stop you from doing either one. Using the system you can design your character to be quite unique andThis game has the closest interpretation of the Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 tabletop rules of any game. This leads to one of the greatest things about the game: it isn't balanced. You could build your character to be a badass, or you could build your character to suck. Its not going to stop you from doing either one. Using the system you can design your character to be quite unique and specialized. You could make a rogue is really strong, or really dexterous, or one that is really smart and has a mountain of high level skills to be able to handle any task. Its really up to you. The downside of this is for some people is that to really be good at this game you need to learn the rules of Dungeons and Dragons. Also, you really should have a good idea what you're going to do with your character before you create it, and that could be frustrating for some people who are new to the game.

    Like most of the Free-to-play MMOs out there, you can play this game completely for free, but it is a million times better if you're a subscriber. The free-to-play setup they use disables selling items on the auction house, the shared bank, and the majority of playable content over level 4 (there are 28 levels) and limited character slots. It also disallows free-to-play players from playing through content on a higher difficulty the first time through and there is a cap on the amount of money you can hold.

    With an active subscription you can sell items on the auction house and use your shared bank, collect mountains of gold and access all of the content. While this may sound like a lot of restrictions on free-to-play players, one should keep in mind that there are ways that it isn't as restrictive as certain other games where they don't let free-to-play players even whisper or hand an item to another player. This means that if you log in for free then you can give the game a good try before you decide to spend any money.

    As another reviewer mentioned, you could spend $1500+ on this game and still have things left over to buy. On the other hand, for $15/month you get the majority of that unlocked for you, which is a much better deal.

    I got to level 9 with a few characters, so I can't say much about the end game. I can say that this game is a lot better when you have a friend or guild to play with.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    I've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content and game play is the best. The developers do a good job at making each dungeon unique or adding little secrets and puzzles that adds challege to the dungeons. This isn't a game you race to reach the max level and stand around so people can gawk atI've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content and game play is the best. The developers do a good job at making each dungeon unique or adding little secrets and puzzles that adds challege to the dungeons. This isn't a game you race to reach the max level and stand around so people can gawk at your gear. This is a game where you want to take your time leveling, were you like building up your charcter and learnign more about stories.

    DDO is not the MMO for everyone. No one will compare DDO to WoW or EQ2. DDO has it's own MMO style.
    Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    Years after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rules ever seen in a video game. Tons of content, classes, items, dungeons, races, and stuff to do. The problem is the price. This "free to play" game may be the most expensive game ever made. To access the whole game-or at least experience all of theYears after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rules ever seen in a video game. Tons of content, classes, items, dungeons, races, and stuff to do. The problem is the price. This "free to play" game may be the most expensive game ever made. To access the whole game-or at least experience all of the classes, races, and dungeons--you would have to spend well over $1500. And there would still be many things left to purchase. The option to grind for in-game money is a sick joke, and would take tens of thousands of hours to unlock even a fraction of the game. It is hard to recommend this game, even though I really want to. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    I'm relatively new to the MMO world, but I've been playing RPGs since I was a young kid. So this is coming purely from an RPG fan perspective. That being said, I am really enjoying it so far. I got lucky and have a few friends who joined up around the same time, and got invited into a guild fairly quickly, so I've had no problem finding people to do quests with.

    The combat is very fun
    I'm relatively new to the MMO world, but I've been playing RPGs since I was a young kid. So this is coming purely from an RPG fan perspective. That being said, I am really enjoying it so far. I got lucky and have a few friends who joined up around the same time, and got invited into a guild fairly quickly, so I've had no problem finding people to do quests with.

    The combat is very fun and the leveling system is very faithful to D&D while making the necessary tweaks to make it more fun on a PC. The community has been very helpful so far. Most of the negative reviews seem to be early in the game's F2P days, and from what I've read and discerned from talking to other players, the game has evolved a great deal since the early days.

    I'm not a graphics fiend, but I found the graphics to be acceptable, and the game runs great (30ish FPS outdoors, 50+ indoors) on my relatively low-end rig with a bit of tweaking, without looking like crap.

    I'm really enjoying this so far, about a week after signing up. I recommend doing some research into classes before signing up, or if you don't want to got that route, don't dual class with your first character.

    Overall a fun experience so far.
    Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Anyone interested in MMOs or D&D should try this. It is free and, while it is not perfect, it is very good. Of all the MMOs I've played (WoW, TSM, RoM, etc), including ones released years after this, DDO is the only one that managed to hold my attention. It has the best gameplay of any MMO I've seen. It lacks PvP, but it does have a mature and helpful playerbase. There's plenty of craftingAnyone interested in MMOs or D&D should try this. It is free and, while it is not perfect, it is very good. Of all the MMOs I've played (WoW, TSM, RoM, etc), including ones released years after this, DDO is the only one that managed to hold my attention. It has the best gameplay of any MMO I've seen. It lacks PvP, but it does have a mature and helpful playerbase. There's plenty of crafting and levels are very meaningful. Character builds vary widely and you can do things that I've not seen to be possible in any other MMO, such as making a melee character that takes literally no damage from attacks, or a spell caster who can instakill whole rooms full of enemies with one spell.
    Quests are varied. No "Kill 10 rats" type quests. There are only two things that stop me rating DDO a 9/10. One is that it can be a money sink, if you're not smart about what you pay for in the game. The other is that like any MMO, it can become repetitive once you've done every quest 3 times, and you're just re-running things to farm them for loot. Still, you can get at least a year of fun play out of it before it gets to that point. I'd encourage any D&D or MMO fan to try it.
    Expand
  8. Jul 16, 2012
    2
    What you only need to do to accept quests, go to dungeons and complete it in the begin of the game. This is absolutely booring. Graphics not good, sounds okay and have booring storyline. Not really have PvP, can't crafting, no have auction house and no have mounts. Some places have invisible walls. Who love dungeons try it, who not like, search for another MMORPG game. DDO is a Free toWhat you only need to do to accept quests, go to dungeons and complete it in the begin of the game. This is absolutely booring. Graphics not good, sounds okay and have booring storyline. Not really have PvP, can't crafting, no have auction house and no have mounts. Some places have invisible walls. Who love dungeons try it, who not like, search for another MMORPG game. DDO is a Free to Play MMORPG, so you can try it for free. Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Since it's gone f2p this is the best f2p out there without a doubt- whenever I'm not playing a p2p or a console game, this is my fallback. The sheer variety of quests and goals in this game will blow you away- this isn't a 'grind 50 goretusks' game, every quest has its own story, enemies, bosses, traps and unique feel. This is one mmo that truly doesn't feel like any other.
  10. Aug 25, 2011
    7
    DDO is game with a lot of great aspects, and a few very bad ones. Unfortunately the bad points, are so bad it weighs the game down to an almost unplayable level.

    Good: The combat is very fun once you get used to it. It is almost a prototype for this new era of "action mmo's" we are seeing today. The jumping and swimming mechanics are some of the best in any game, especially for its time.
    DDO is game with a lot of great aspects, and a few very bad ones. Unfortunately the bad points, are so bad it weighs the game down to an almost unplayable level.

    Good: The combat is very fun once you get used to it. It is almost a prototype for this new era of "action mmo's" we are seeing today. The jumping and swimming mechanics are some of the best in any game, especially for its time. It's D&D, plain and simple, if you are a fan of Dungeons and Dragons, you should like this game. Building your character, is a large part of the game, rather than just something you do for 5 minutes before you begin. Also DDO's f2p/p2p system is a real gem, and should be an example to the rest of the mmo world.

    As for endgame, the true reincarnation feature is wonderful. the ability to start your character back at level 1, with an xp penalty, but higher stats is pretty unique.

    Bad:
    The entire game is instanced. This is my biggest complaint. It really makes the game feel less like an MMO and more like a large scale co-op plat-former. You are never doing anything game play wise with more than 10-12 people. There are no large outside wilderness areas, where you just see a random player running by you. The only area in the game where you will ever see other players on a large scale is Stormreach. And even that is instanced.

    The endgame is extremely weak, rudimentary raid designs and poor tanking and healing mechanics make for just a pretty basic raiding experience. When an entire game is instanced, you would want the instances to be well designed.

    Finally the "crafting" is likely the worst I have seen in any mmo. Even worse that WoW's crafting, and that is pretty bad.
    Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This mmo is... different. You start out with a custom character, there's a ton of unique things and a ton of unique players. It's very refreshing, and with a good role play guild it's simply amazing. Also, there are many ways to customize the graphics, allowing it to look nice on even low-end systems, and look great on high-end ones. (for an mmo, of course it can't compare to Black Ops inThis mmo is... different. You start out with a custom character, there's a ton of unique things and a ton of unique players. It's very refreshing, and with a good role play guild it's simply amazing. Also, there are many ways to customize the graphics, allowing it to look nice on even low-end systems, and look great on high-end ones. (for an mmo, of course it can't compare to Black Ops in graphics) Expand
  12. OlivierD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    It's really sad this game got so bad reviews when it launched, because it's so awesome. Definitely very different from typical MMOs though, since PvP is extremely limited and crafting is only at its early stages (it should be implemented at a larger scale by the end of 2008). But the quests in DDO are the best you can find, the combat & magic is incredibly fun, and the D&DIt's really sad this game got so bad reviews when it launched, because it's so awesome. Definitely very different from typical MMOs though, since PvP is extremely limited and crafting is only at its early stages (it should be implemented at a larger scale by the end of 2008). But the quests in DDO are the best you can find, the combat & magic is incredibly fun, and the D&D character building rules allow you to create characters with great depth and originality. New contents is also constantly being added, with new races, classes, levels and fun quests. Highly recommended! Collapse
  13. WalterMoore
    May 18, 2008
    10
    This game has more than doubled in content since launch, and just keeps gettign better and better. Best combat system around (well, haven't tried AoC yet), instanced quests and explorer zones, and still more or less real D&D.

    New content needs to come faster, but it's coming.. Mod 7 in June? and level 20 by the end of the year... D&D levels being more or less the equivalent of
    This game has more than doubled in content since launch, and just keeps gettign better and better. Best combat system around (well, haven't tried AoC yet), instanced quests and explorer zones, and still more or less real D&D.

    New content needs to come faster, but it's coming.. Mod 7 in June? and level 20 by the end of the year... D&D levels being more or less the equivalent of five WoW-style levels..
    Expand
  14. Greg
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    excellent game, if your looking for an action roleplaying game, many varied adventures in dungeons, forests, caverns, temples, pirate ships, crypts, etc. Like regular D&D, when you start out you have to be resourceful to survive, and you will no doubt need to find fellow adventureres to survive, however after you develop a bit, you'll be able to go off on your own if you like. I have excellent game, if your looking for an action roleplaying game, many varied adventures in dungeons, forests, caverns, temples, pirate ships, crypts, etc. Like regular D&D, when you start out you have to be resourceful to survive, and you will no doubt need to find fellow adventureres to survive, however after you develop a bit, you'll be able to go off on your own if you like. I have never had a problem finding a group, whether it was going off with one other adventurer, or a whole party of 6. This is an action roleplaying game with very well designed quests, terrifying monsters, and deadly traps. The action is fast, and you will have to be resourceful if you want to survive. From the originators of the genre, they know how to make a game, and it hits the mark. This is not to be confused with other games claiming to be roleplaying games, i.e. you won't be "going out the front gate to kill small animals to lvl up". From the onset you will swept up in amazing storylines from the originators of the genre. highly recommended. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    very good gameplay, problem lies in the low amount of players and because of this difficulties in fast groupfinding - best you have friends to join and itll be great - try out the trial to see!
  16. WalBanger
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    Game is poorly made, it is as if game developers havent played any online games since 1950's.... Interface is unuserer friendly and there is nothing fun about this game......

    And when i went to cancel my account they *****STOLE***** from me, I got confirmation it was cancelled 2 WEEKS before deadline, but they still charged me. When i sent them an email 6hrs after i got there email
    Game is poorly made, it is as if game developers havent played any online games since 1950's.... Interface is unuserer friendly and there is nothing fun about this game......

    And when i went to cancel my account they *****STOLE***** from me, I got confirmation it was cancelled 2 WEEKS before deadline, but they still charged me. When i sent them an email 6hrs after i got there email saying i had been charged again, they said it was 6hrs after the dead line and it was tough...........

    PLEASE note this wasnt the creators of D&D but codemasters who charge you.
    Expand
  17. JasonF.
    Jun 5, 2006
    5
    Too far from pnp, too far from balanced, not ready for release.
  18. RalphW.
    May 29, 2006
    5
    The mmo everyone was waiting for with baited breath. Then they managed to butcher it. The choice of world wasn't bad, but is vaguely uncomfortable for alot of long time d&d players, the spell system mechanics are absolutely hideous, and the game has no real end-game. Everything is instanced and more or a less it feels like you're playing slightly less fun guildwars with a The mmo everyone was waiting for with baited breath. Then they managed to butcher it. The choice of world wasn't bad, but is vaguely uncomfortable for alot of long time d&d players, the spell system mechanics are absolutely hideous, and the game has no real end-game. Everything is instanced and more or a less it feels like you're playing slightly less fun guildwars with a monthly fee. Don't bother with this one until at least the first or second expansion. Expand
  19. AlexJ.
    May 11, 2006
    8
    If your not tight on a budget its worth getting.
  20. Toadmoss
    May 6, 2006
    9
    Great game with room to grow.
  21. ErikM.
    May 2, 2006
    6
    Huge disappointment. Could have been much better. :( Not easy to screw up such a goldmine, but Turbine managed it.
  22. Rose
    Apr 22, 2006
    1
    Boring, i spent so much money on this game and i regreat i did. I couldn't play this game more than a week. Don't waste your money.
  23. RichD.
    Apr 20, 2006
    6
    Simply put, this game is just not deep enough. This is especially true for people who came from a game like FFXI where a good party was a choreographed dance: pull, buff, aggro-control, debuff, healing, skill chains, magic bursts - in every single battle. In Stormreach, combat is way to simple (hack-hack-hack) and way too fast (average 10 seconds per fight). With no crafting element Simply put, this game is just not deep enough. This is especially true for people who came from a game like FFXI where a good party was a choreographed dance: pull, buff, aggro-control, debuff, healing, skill chains, magic bursts - in every single battle. In Stormreach, combat is way to simple (hack-hack-hack) and way too fast (average 10 seconds per fight). With no crafting element either, this game just doesn't stand up to the competition. The world is far too small for a MMORPG. It's ridiculous to see nearly the entire world in the 1st week of play. This game is not for the hard-core gamer - we'll hit the exp cap in no time at all. Nice storyline, fun nostalgia for ex-PnP players, but just not enough there to keep paying the monthly fee. Expand
  24. JustinF.
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    Many of the features you find in other MMOs are not present in this game. That is a selling point, however. Lack of PVP, player driven economy, player housing, and so on keep the number of kiddies to a minimum. Other features minimize children playing - integrated voice chat shys parents away from kids playing and the lack of "uber loot" helps too. Kids playing this game simply do not Many of the features you find in other MMOs are not present in this game. That is a selling point, however. Lack of PVP, player driven economy, player housing, and so on keep the number of kiddies to a minimum. Other features minimize children playing - integrated voice chat shys parents away from kids playing and the lack of "uber loot" helps too. Kids playing this game simply do not "get it" and quit. Rarely do you see a kid above lvl 6 or so. It is not like other PNP though. There are some silly builds that produce great results, most of the skills have pathetic effects, but it is great fun. Expand
  25. Chris
    Apr 13, 2006
    3
    Boring, boring. From a long-time PnP and video gamer, this was one of the worst RPG interpretations I've seen in a long time. The final flops that were Might and Magic IX come to mind, and those didn't charge a monthly fee! Very linear, only good for kids to cut their teeth on. Shallow, repetitive gameplay.
  26. BetaWatcher
    Mar 24, 2006
    2
    It should have been named: Dungeon (no s as all the dungeons are the same) & No Dragon Online.
  27. Blaine
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    Highly recommended for D & D fans. It's nice to actually build a character at first level, with strengths and weaknesses rather than having a near clone to other first level characters and then having the strength of your character entirely dependent on hours of mindless grinding and item finding. A thinking-person's MMO despite what the critics say about twitch gaming (imagine Highly recommended for D & D fans. It's nice to actually build a character at first level, with strengths and weaknesses rather than having a near clone to other first level characters and then having the strength of your character entirely dependent on hours of mindless grinding and item finding. A thinking-person's MMO despite what the critics say about twitch gaming (imagine spacial and tactical rather than FPS-style twitch). Playing and leveling are fun and does not seem tedious. My only complaint is the community does not seem as friendly or helpful as some other MMOs I've played (alternatively it is not littered with juveniles mucking up general chat with spam though). Also, as with any MMO, I truly believe they should be free of charge after initial purchase. Expand
  28. JoeU.
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    I think it's a lot of fun, kind of like BF2 meets the dungeon crawl. If you want an exact copy of tabletop gaming, this isn't it. If you want another EQ MMO copy, this isn't it. Like any multiplayer game, the quality of your experience is in large part determined by the quality of the people you play with.
  29. ScottS.
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    About as good a translation of the DnD experience as I've seen online yet. BEST for a regular gaming group who meets at certain times during the week, and definately a better way to DnD with your friends online than Neverwinter Nights was. (Don't get me wrong, that was a great game...just not as DnD as it was hyped to be).
  30. DoubleDown
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    Fun. If you like people. If your nickname is Rambo and you like playing solo then you'll have about 5 missions you can try before you're stuck depending on what type of character you have. Graphics are solid but not spectacular (mine are on high, but about as good as Morrowind yet smoother), sound is good at creating a spooky atmosphere and the occasional dungeon master's Fun. If you like people. If your nickname is Rambo and you like playing solo then you'll have about 5 missions you can try before you're stuck depending on what type of character you have. Graphics are solid but not spectacular (mine are on high, but about as good as Morrowind yet smoother), sound is good at creating a spooky atmosphere and the occasional dungeon master's voice helps create an even more moody feel. Character creation is A+ and you can create 5 different types. If you have friends playing, make sure you all create your character in the same world at the start so someone joining later doesn't have to create a level 1 character while everyone else is level 4. The REAL TIME combat is pretty good, but the camera will screw you if you get backed into a wall, making it hard to see who you are fighting. The adventures themselves are outstanding...not perfect, but entertaining. They are all instanced so you will not see any other players except your group on the quest. The real key to this game is who you play this with. Just like the pen and paper version: People too serious and people too silly aren't much fun but I haven't found a whole lot of them. Jerks are far and few probably because the game limits their impact. The game is all about teamwork and if you get some light hearted and fun people to play with who are doing their best to win the mission, then you'll really like this game. A suggestion is those looking for a good group should post on the forum at DD online. The nice thing is this game can be played once in a while and not be a time consuming grind. I'd say this game is for someone a little more mature, since a 12 year old kid playing WOW all the time now playing DDO with 30 year old people will probably not understand the need for teamwork, but who knows everyone is different. A group of 12 year olds are going to love this game if they play together. The game's negatives are that it is not a free roaming world to explore. It's about hanging out with everyone in the separate parts of the city and then going into the dungeons with your group below the city...believe me it's still fun. The way to form groups could of been a little better organized. it would of been nice to have a cheat sheet that when you examined someone it said: your experince playing DD, your level of seriousness, your time commitment, type of players you are looking for, and a rating from other groups on how much fun you were to play with (this would help keep some people in line and avoid wasting time with jerks). If you are a solo player then do not buy this game...go pick up Oblivian. If you like playing games with people then this will be fun. Expand
  31. blechmelech
    Mar 13, 2006
    5
    Omg i cant believe this game is getting decent scores by the above sources.. they must be getting paid off. The game simply sucks! I played the demo and it seriously felt like this was the game that wouldve been cool 5 years ago and then it wouldve spawned the really cool games that we now have.. GW, WoW etc. I expected so much more especially being an authentic D&D game franchise butOmg i cant believe this game is getting decent scores by the above sources.. they must be getting paid off. The game simply sucks! I played the demo and it seriously felt like this was the game that wouldve been cool 5 years ago and then it wouldve spawned the really cool games that we now have.. GW, WoW etc. I expected so much more especially being an authentic D&D game franchise but wow I was let down. Expand
  32. Sean
    Mar 5, 2006
    3
    Perhaps it does match the pen and paper version of the source material well. But a good paper RPG doesn't necessarily make a good computer game - they're VERY different art forms. And so far, especially after the server crashes of the first Saturday, DDO fails to impress on any level.
    If you want to enjoy the paper DnD RPG, by all means buy it and play it. I myself have
    Perhaps it does match the pen and paper version of the source material well. But a good paper RPG doesn't necessarily make a good computer game - they're VERY different art forms. And so far, especially after the server crashes of the first Saturday, DDO fails to impress on any level.
    If you want to enjoy the paper DnD RPG, by all means buy it and play it. I myself have enjoyed DnD since the first hardbound rule sets. If you want to play a good computer RPG, play one - but IMHO DDO just doesn't qualify.
    Expand
  33. ScottShubin
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    DDO will not appeal to everyone, and that in itself appeals to me. If you played a lot of DnD, you will love this. If not, you are probably better off sticking to WoW or EQ2. DDO has no PvP and no grinding for exp, however it is the closest adaptation to DnD 3.5 rules that I have seen. Combat is more interactive than just selecting your enemy and pushing the kill button. Here you haveDDO will not appeal to everyone, and that in itself appeals to me. If you played a lot of DnD, you will love this. If not, you are probably better off sticking to WoW or EQ2. DDO has no PvP and no grinding for exp, however it is the closest adaptation to DnD 3.5 rules that I have seen. Combat is more interactive than just selecting your enemy and pushing the kill button. Here you have to dodge, tumble, block, swing, etc. and none of it is automated. I would not go so far as to call it a twitch game, but you definitely have to be awake to play it. I give it a 10 becase they are just about as close to pen-and-paper DnD as you can be. However, if I had never played DnD before i would give it an 8 or so. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. It is a great game, matching in spirit the pen and paper version.
  2. It hits on almost every front. Present are the adventure elements of high fantasy, the mysterious magical elements of the war-torn world of Eberron, and the deep-rooted numerical elements.
  3. Sure, there are flaws and the lack of any soloing capability, the occasional difficulty in finding groups, as well as the apparent slowness of levelling get irritating, but they're nothing in the face of what it does properly.