Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeons & Dragons Online provides players with the definitive online Dungeons & Dragons experience, complete with dramatic dungeon crawling, terrifying monster combat, challenging puzzles and character advancement. Dungeons & Dragons Online is centered on robust character advancement andDungeons & Dragons Online provides players with the definitive online Dungeons & Dragons experience, complete with dramatic dungeon crawling, terrifying monster combat, challenging puzzles and character advancement. Dungeons & Dragons Online is centered on robust character advancement and challenging dungeon combat. Players choose and develop a character based on some of the iconic races associated with D&D, including Humans, Elves and Halflings, as well as classes such as Fighters, Clerics, Rogues and Wizards - after which they can socialize, find quests, group together and equip themselves for future battles. Dungeons & Dragons Online lets players travel alone or in parties as they explore the seemingly endless dungeon complexes found beneath the world. Through the dungeons, players engage in physical and magical combat with hideous foes straight from the pages of the Monster Manual rulebook. Battle is challenging, fast-paced, and easy to control with a wealth of unique weapon effects and character movements, as well as specific monster behaviors designed to keep combat both tactical and action packed. [Turbine] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. It is a great game, matching in spirit the pen and paper version.
  2. PC Zone UK
    84
    A curious but elegant levelling system. [May 2006, p.88]
  3. PC Format
    80
    An atmospheric online version of D&D. Best with friends - but what isn't? [Apr 2006, p.86]
  4. This online role-playing game lives up to its namesake as far as the quality of its action-packed quests is concerned, but it doesn't have all the features you'd probably want.
  5. If you're not too old to play pretend and mean it, Stormreach proves fun for the whole family. Just be aware that if you don't bring your whole family, you won't have much fun.
  6. AceGamez
    70
    Despite realistic graphics and sound, DDO simply falls short of expectations when it comes to providing accessible gameplay for solo or group play, meaning that you have to sink a large portion of your time into the game to get the most out of it.
  7. For a title that costs more than "World of Warcraft," Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach is unbelievably light on stuff to do. It does feature some decent dungeons that can be fun to run through with a group, but with no pvp, no economy, no trade skills and nothing useful you can do by yourself, this is a dungeon to crawl away from.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Since it's gone f2p this is the best f2p out there without a doubt- whenever I'm not playing a p2p or a console game, this is my fallback. TheSince it's gone f2p this is the best f2p out there without a doubt- whenever I'm not playing a p2p or a console game, this is my fallback. The sheer variety of quests and goals in this game will blow you away- this isn't a 'grind 50 goretusks' game, every quest has its own story, enemies, bosses, traps and unique feel. This is one mmo that truly doesn't feel like any other. Expand
  2. ScottShubin
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    DDO will not appeal to everyone, and that in itself appeals to me. If you played a lot of DnD, you will love this. If not, you are probablyDDO will not appeal to everyone, and that in itself appeals to me. If you played a lot of DnD, you will love this. If not, you are probably better off sticking to WoW or EQ2. DDO has no PvP and no grinding for exp, however it is the closest adaptation to DnD 3.5 rules that I have seen. Combat is more interactive than just selecting your enemy and pushing the kill button. Here you have to dodge, tumble, block, swing, etc. and none of it is automated. I would not go so far as to call it a twitch game, but you definitely have to be awake to play it. I give it a 10 becase they are just about as close to pen-and-paper DnD as you can be. However, if I had never played DnD before i would give it an 8 or so. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    very good gameplay, problem lies in the low amount of players and because of this difficulties in fast groupfinding - best you have friends very good gameplay, problem lies in the low amount of players and because of this difficulties in fast groupfinding - best you have friends to join and itll be great - try out the trial to see! Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    I've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content andI've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content and game play is the best. The developers do a good job at making each dungeon unique or adding little secrets and puzzles that adds challege to the dungeons. This isn't a game you race to reach the max level and stand around so people can gawk at your gear. This is a game where you want to take your time leveling, were you like building up your charcter and learnign more about stories.

    DDO is not the MMO for everyone. No one will compare DDO to WoW or EQ2. DDO has it's own MMO style.
    Expand
  5. RichD.
    Apr 20, 2006
    6
    Simply put, this game is just not deep enough. This is especially true for people who came from a game like FFXI where a good party was a Simply put, this game is just not deep enough. This is especially true for people who came from a game like FFXI where a good party was a choreographed dance: pull, buff, aggro-control, debuff, healing, skill chains, magic bursts - in every single battle. In Stormreach, combat is way to simple (hack-hack-hack) and way too fast (average 10 seconds per fight). With no crafting element either, this game just doesn't stand up to the competition. The world is far too small for a MMORPG. It's ridiculous to see nearly the entire world in the 1st week of play. This game is not for the hard-core gamer - we'll hit the exp cap in no time at all. Nice storyline, fun nostalgia for ex-PnP players, but just not enough there to keep paying the monthly fee. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    Years after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rulesYears after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rules ever seen in a video game. Tons of content, classes, items, dungeons, races, and stuff to do. The problem is the price. This "free to play" game may be the most expensive game ever made. To access the whole game-or at least experience all of the classes, races, and dungeons--you would have to spend well over $1500. And there would still be many things left to purchase. The option to grind for in-game money is a sick joke, and would take tens of thousands of hours to unlock even a fraction of the game. It is hard to recommend this game, even though I really want to. Expand
  7. WalBanger
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    Game is poorly made, it is as if game developers havent played any online games since 1950's.... Interface is unuserer friendly and thereGame is poorly made, it is as if game developers havent played any online games since 1950's.... Interface is unuserer friendly and there is nothing fun about this game......

    And when i went to cancel my account they *****STOLE***** from me, I got confirmation it was cancelled 2 WEEKS before deadline, but they still charged me. When i sent them an email 6hrs after i got there email saying i had been charged again, they said it was 6hrs after the dead line and it was tough...........

    PLEASE note this wasnt the creators of D&D but codemasters who charge you.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews