Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning itsImmerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 103
  2. Negative: 8 out of 103
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic andThis game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    WARNING: FAN BOY AHEAD

    The heck with the furry haters and internet trolls, this game is amazing. Let alone my favorite game of all time!
    WARNING: FAN BOY AHEAD

    The heck with the furry haters and internet trolls, this game is amazing. Let alone my favorite game of all time! The art style is amazing, the characters are well-developed, and the music is astounding. Yes, I may be a furry, but that doesn't prove the point that you'll be attached to certain characters. ESPECIALLY Dust himself. Even the development was interesting, because it took 4 years to make by one guy (aside from the music, voice acting, writing, etc.) The game also has addictive gameplay and makes a unique use of the controls. Even though it is a RPG, you won't have to grind in it, which is less painful. The bosses are great and challenging fights that make you feel depressed at the end. Speaking of which, the game can get dark at times, even if it's rated E 10. All in all, this game is PLUPERFECT. PERFECT ART. PERFECT CHARACTERS. PERFECT STORY. PERFECT MUSIC. PERFECT GAMEPLAY. PERFECT QUESTS. PERFECT EVERYTHING!!!

    And to think, 29 people posted negative reviews of this game. All I can say is this: I know I'm supposed to be open to other opinions, but whoever hated this game is bound to face their demise.
    Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is a great game. Its one of the very few that kept giving me goose bumps. Every quest as well as the side quest is a pleasure to completethis is a great game. Its one of the very few that kept giving me goose bumps. Every quest as well as the side quest is a pleasure to complete because of the characters and the interesting things they would say. And well Fidget, she is hard to explain but is a really loveable companion. I've never really gotton any connection to any enemy before but the first boss is one of my top fav character in the game. It does has some majior glitch at times, i havent noticed on pc except half the screen get cut off in the title for a bit, and for the xbox it does crashes to home screen. just save multiple times for different slots like an elder scrolls game and if you see a power up that your supposed to get that is not there. i'm sorry but new game or reload a save file that doesn't have that problem. so far ive had to new game once. This is really a good game. Better then muramasa in my opinion. Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented inHonestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented in the level design. The Sidekicks are pretty funny, the Nimbat is hilarious and her often silly behavior is a wonderful choice in contrast to Dust's cool demeanor.

    This game's story is really surprising, you can run through it, jaded, and ignore it if you want, the gameplay is fun enough and the personal evolution of your character and his choices by themselves are worth the price of admission, but if you start paying attention you'll uncover a rich plot covering issues like Racism, the Moral Struggle of Absolute Justice vs Acceptance, and little a brother not accepting the guy his older sister likes.

    The story, 30% in, is enough to start some conversations with a friend or gaming significant other :)

    The game will get a full 10 from me because for what it's worth, I can't find a problem with it worth nitpicking, but broken down this would be my score.

    Gameplay 9
    Menus 9
    Replayability 9
    Graphics 10
    Story 10
    Collapse
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty graduallyOne of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty gradually changes, and you get better items to fight the harder monsters, so you dont need to waste hours grinding
    The game is not expensive, and really worth buying
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    This is a spoiler-free review. Very good game. Only one chapter was actually boring, the third one but other than that the gameplay was good.This is a spoiler-free review. Very good game. Only one chapter was actually boring, the third one but other than that the gameplay was good. Every boss is very easy except for the final boss. It wasn't hard but at least gave me some challenge. As for the story it was fantastic and the voice acting was topnotch. Ending was just weird I mean the characters' reactions seemed kinda whatever-like somewhat. There could have been more emotion in the ending. Music is also amazing and there is a lot to do in this game if you want to 100% it. It took me like 10 hours just do beat the game. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2016
    0
    GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok.....GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok..... just KIDDING llolol Expand

See all 103 User Reviews