Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning itsImmerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 92
  2. Negative: 6 out of 92
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic andThis game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    This is an absolutely beautiful game crafted from love. It features incredible gameplay, outstanding animation, top notch characterThis is an absolutely beautiful game crafted from love. It features incredible gameplay, outstanding animation, top notch character introductions and development, brilliant, brilliant music and excellent, convincing voice acting. The RPG elements in the game, while simple compared to many other ARPGs, are very well executed and complemented the game perfectly. About the only minor gripe I really had was that traveling could have been made easier by being able to choose a specific save location in an area from the world map when revisiting it to find secrets/treasures after learning new skills. Then again, the process of having to go from either the beginning of and area or the end of an area to get to these points enabled me to gather a lot of resources and do a lot of leveling that made me prepared for the difficulty at the end of the game. I would seriously suggest picking it up as this is worth every $$$ spent. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent, sweet, kind, beautiful, game with humor. Makes you wonder about the most important things in life. Visually excellent and made ​​at least sounded great. With its simplicity, can bind to itself on a long time. Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    10
    Take a slice of Metroidvania, take a side of Secret of Mana, throw them in a pot with a dash of Devil May Cry style combat (or perhaps anTake a slice of Metroidvania, take a side of Secret of Mana, throw them in a pot with a dash of Devil May Cry style combat (or perhaps an Arcsys fighter, after all dust DOES seem to wield his sword like Sol), and you've got the inspiration behind Dust. This game takes what made the greatest classics of the 16 and 32 bit era what they were and upgrades that formula with modern design sensibilities and high definition art. As if the strong features of the actual game itself aren't enough, at a paltry 15 dollars it's an ambitious success that you'd have to be foolish to overlook, even as a budget minded gamer, and make no mistake: This is one very well executed port that feels like it belonged on PC in the first place.

    The story itself reminds us of a time when the fantasy genre in video games wasn't desperately clinging to the coattails of Tolkien or drenched in angst and J Pop style, and the gameplay teaches us the valuable lesson that designs of the past are still relevant and can be improved upon. Bright, whimsical storybook fantasy story and characters that yet manage to be woven seamlessly into a serious and perhaps tragic story are found alongside straightforward and gripping gameplay that does nothing to divert the player from the goals laid out in front of them. In short, Dust makes up a sleek and well assembled package that shows far more polish and planning than you'd expect of a big name let alone indie.

    Like Bastion or perhaps Cave Story, it's a throwback to days long gone, improving upon the strong foundation left behind in such a way that it begs the player to question why such things were ever abandoned to begin with. If this was a game you found yourself watching and waiting for on PC, make no delay in picking it up, it really is a no brainer purchase. It is a game that will suck you in, though, so be warned: You may want to put aside some time for it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    I love Fidget! Er, this game can be better but it's already excellent enough. New things (skills, enemies, items, gameplay) keep coming fromI love Fidget! Er, this game can be better but it's already excellent enough. New things (skills, enemies, items, gameplay) keep coming from the first minute to the last so you won't easily get tired of it. The exploration is terrifically good fun. There are 12 friends (characters from other 8 awesome games) to be rescued in this game and the Bastion-style way to rescue the kid from Bastion most impressed me. And again, I love Fidget! Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Wonderful indie fantasy game.

    I can't leave on my chair when I play this game. Lovely story, mood and easy but fantastic combo action.
    Wonderful indie fantasy game.

    I can't leave on my chair when I play this game.

    Lovely story, mood and easy but fantastic combo action.

    I am sure this can be one of best platform action up to recently. Recommend!
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    The first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worthThe first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worth the 14 euros. However, it then suddenly hits you over the head with a seemingly endless underground level that features large amounts of platforming and enemies that can only be beaten by parrying, whereas the first 40% was a fast-paced and flashy brawler. It suddenly expects you to have mastered techniques you never before needed, which indicates that the designers didn't really know what made their game fun and put their money on the wrong horse. Even the anthropomorphic stuff gradually disappear to make room for more platforming puzzles and combat all but disappeared from the game, aside from a few tedious encounters with shielded foes. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews