Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 87
  2. Negative: 4 out of 87
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ending where he dies and comes back brings great feels, this is a game with underline great graphics and great story line. Everything works out perfectly where you help people while unraveling the mystery of who the main character is and why he exists. Great mechanics and well everything at LEAST great and a squeal would be amazing and very possible. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This was an Xbox Live Arcade Game? Really? This game is truly amazing. A wonderful piece. You can see the developer took his time and put effort into every detail. Sure it's only 2D Side Strolling but never once did I think "Oh this looks cheesy." Every time I went somewhere new it always started with a "Wow." or "Amazing..." This game is defiantly worth it's money. Another note is... this game instantly gets 2 bonus points for a PERFECT PORT to PC. This puts a lot of AAA game industries to shame.

    Story is fantastic. It's well told. It's not going to be something phenomenal but just how the pacing is done and how each part is teaching Dust a lesson as he gets his memories back and how it tells us a little bit of his past at the same time just keeps you going and wanting more. Although I don't know what to say about the ending but maybe a sequel for this amazing game?

    Characters here are memorable and I will never forget them. Some people will have problems with the characters being Furry but no one had a problem with StarFox now did they? So get over it. Dust and Fidget are an amazing duo and I couldn't help but laugh almost every time Fidget spoke. Her disregard for the fourth wall and the jokes with it just cracked me up. Dust's core character is really generic but his voice actor brings him to life and makes you feel the emotions he's going through It never once came to my mind that "Ew, Dust, is really generic." and I hope no one else feels the same. The sword Ahrah doesn't have a huge impact but you can defiantly see him as support role as well as main. He's trying to bring back Dust into someone better and reteach him his skills. That's enough to make me remember him.

    So this game is a 2D side stroller so it's visuals and graphics must be sub-par right? Wrong! It never once made me think they were poor or under developed. I thought they were amazing and really high end for a game like this. The enemies were detailed the backgrounds were amazing the character cut scenes were superb! Did I really pay 15 dollars for this game?

    Gameplay and controls are stellar! I mean it just feels, perfect. Everything responds quickly it moves smoothly it's just, fantastic. I can't really go into detail because, I can not really describe it. It's just amazing.

    Difficulty falls short or maybe I'm just skilled? I stuck it on Tough my first run through and found it anything but tough. Most of my deaths come from hazardous terrain. Never did I see any boss or monster challenging. Again though I think I am a great gamer as when my friend and my girlfriend played this on Tough they had difficulty with a lot of enemies. So I can't really say for sure if the game is too easy or too hard. I guess it just depends on how good of a player you are.

    Would I recommend this game? Hell yeah! GO BUY IT NOW DAMMIT! This is an absolute required game for everyone! I still can't believe I payed so little for this game. I would have easily paid 40 dollars for this!
    Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    Beautiful side-scrolling action game. Has fantastic animated dialog, interesting characters and AMAZING gameplay. My only complaint is that the ending is a bit weak and there's no New Game+ to help you get 100%. At $13, this is definitely worth it. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    One of the best RPG games that I played. A few hours into the game and I was hooked. Beautiful art style, Great story, amazing music and voice acting. The game is very polished and you can feel the love that went into developing this gem. Really this game was a breath of fresh air and I highly recommend a purchase.

    Pros: Great story, Great dialog, spectacular art style, cameos from other indie game characters (fez, braid, super meat boy etc..), very cheap, many hours of pure fun, the ending is very touching, main character is energetic, humorous conversations :)

    Cons: Bosses are very easy, some repetition from backtracking and revisiting environments in order to complete some side quests or unlock achievements, Dust needs more combat moves

    Total score: 09/10
    Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a little surprise for me: I was initially unsure of trying (either for the furry-like creatures, either for the castlevania style of gaming), but in the end I saw how it was fun and I got it myself: the result is that Dust is one of the funniest, most engaging action-rpg games around. Granted though it has plentiful of flaws that in my opinion don't give this a perfect score, because some are annoying and some are weird. The story, for starters, has a fatal flaw: it almost disappears during the middle of the game because the plot "forcefully" says to wait for the right moment, and that's annoying because it could have handled better by just giving us small hints and keeping the plot more constant; in the end, we focus on other things while we "wait" for the final resolution. Also, although this is highly personal, the choice of using furry-like creatures (AND BEFORE ANYONE EVEN BREATHES, I DID LIKE THE CHOICE OF IT) is a little unoriginal because it's a story of racism: for some reason whenever I read stories about furries (games or not), it's often racism or hatred between two of different species (with some exceptions): in my opinion they could have gone easily with humans instead, but I will lie if I said that the furries actually do give a nice cartoony touch and they are greatly well done and detailed. Infact Dust is not only a great character and very cool, but also very interesting and very likeable and that's a huge accomplishment to make, since cool characters tend to be annoying (Dante...here comes the dislikes) and likeable characters tend to be secondary characters of (bad) main characters (the sub characters of Tales of Xillia it's the first thing that pops in my mind). Speaking of, even Fidget (the secondary character) isn't all that bad either and it's likeable too!. However, her voice can be annoying. Also the secondary characters are good, although we won't know them for too long and they'll basically disappear after their quests. Ok story is out, what's else that doesn't work? The combat: the combos that we will get aren't that many but they are useful. For 5 minutes, after that you'll only know to use one skill: Dust Storm. What it does? With Fidget's spells, you can basically nuke everyone on the area without much trouble (and when you get the flying storm, it's even easier), and you'll get this in the very first level, making the game extremely easy: no point rising the difficulty, for it will only increase the damage from enemies and their hp, making it just more annoying than difficult, with also one big annoying thing: the save points only recover a portion of your HP, depending on which difficulty you play with (if the lowest, it fully recovers, if higher it recovers a quarter), and this is personally a big annoying flaw because, in the first hours of the game, you'll rarely get full hp unless you get food, which is expensive at first and unless you play on the easiest difficulty the HP WILL NOT recover in any other way except food (later on, you get regen items, which is something). Luckily this wasn't an issue, but I didn't like this design choide, since fights will be easy (and short) and levelling will be also very fast considering that the more combo, the extra xp you get and later on we do get very useful skills that will be needed to complete the maps (slide, double jump, climbinb, etc). Luckily we get some trials during the game (6 if I'm right) that will also give you some break from the usual slaughter and will put to test your main skills, but in here I noticed another issue: the controls aren't that perfect, since a lot of times they tend to be not precise (the dodge doesn't make you invulnerable while dodging and has a fixed range; slide has a fixed range too and climbing "won't climb" on it's own, but you'll have to jump): this issue is most notable while doing the trials, since precision is almost required for getting 4 stars, but for the rest of the game is no big brainer and you won't even care. And for last, the game isn't exactly long: I finished at 100% in 15 hours max, but for those who don't want to complete the game will surely take 10 hours more or less, depending on how much you're rushing. But I think the good points overcome the bad points: graphically it's a gem, animation is fantastic on Dust (not as good on the rest of the characters), voice acting is very well done and engaging (a bit too overacting now and then), level design is great and the story even with flaws is very good and has an good and often misused idea behind (SPOILER: the soul merging) that is well done. And it's cheap too. If you love games like Castlevania, this might a great gift for your collection; if you love Action-Rpg, you will like how fast and easy is to play. Only thing that might drawback people is the furry elements but, considering the quality of the game itself, I dare say is a detail that you can easily ignore. Give it a shot: it highly deserves it! Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    The first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worth the 14 euros. However, it then suddenly hits you over the head with a seemingly endless underground level that features large amounts of platforming and enemies that can only be beaten by parrying, whereas the first 40% was a fast-paced and flashy brawler. It suddenly expects you to have mastered techniques you never before needed, which indicates that the designers didn't really know what made their game fun and put their money on the wrong horse. Even the anthropomorphic stuff gradually disappear to make room for more platforming puzzles and combat all but disappeared from the game, aside from a few tedious encounters with shielded foes. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews