Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 351 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 90
  2. Negative: 5 out of 90
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ending where he dies and comes back brings great feels, this is a game with underline great graphics and great story line. Everything works out perfectly where you help people while unraveling the mystery of who the main character is and why he exists. Great mechanics and well everything at LEAST great and a squeal would be amazing and very possible. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent, sweet, kind, beautiful, game with humor. Makes you wonder about the most important things in life. Visually excellent and made ​​at least sounded great. With its simplicity, can bind to itself on a long time. Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    Beautiful side-scrolling action game. Has fantastic animated dialog, interesting characters and AMAZING gameplay. My only complaint is that the ending is a bit weak and there's no New Game+ to help you get 100%. At $13, this is definitely worth it. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    I've just revisited this game and what a gem it is: good storyline.great music, lots of options. The world is vivid and engrossing. My only very small complaint is that the battles turn a bit repetitive in the long run but still at grand game. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    A truly outstanding game. While playing, you are constantly in awe of the fact that it was all hand-drawn by one person. It's definitely easy to tell that it was a labor of love. Everything about the game is fantastic the gameplay is fun, fast-paced, and addicting, the story is interesting, the characters are endearing, the music is great, the environments are dazzling, the animation of the main character is exquisite, and I enjoyed the voice acting. I really, really hope that there is a sequel to this down the road, even if it takes years. My only complaint about the game, an all-too-frequently complaint about many games that we love, is that it's too short Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    The first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worth the 14 euros. However, it then suddenly hits you over the head with a seemingly endless underground level that features large amounts of platforming and enemies that can only be beaten by parrying, whereas the first 40% was a fast-paced and flashy brawler. It suddenly expects you to have mastered techniques you never before needed, which indicates that the designers didn't really know what made their game fun and put their money on the wrong horse. Even the anthropomorphic stuff gradually disappear to make room for more platforming puzzles and combat all but disappeared from the game, aside from a few tedious encounters with shielded foes. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews