Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning itsImmerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 101
  2. Negative: 6 out of 101
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic andThis game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    WARNING: FAN BOY AHEAD

    The heck with the furry haters and internet trolls, this game is amazing. Let alone my favorite game of all time!
    WARNING: FAN BOY AHEAD

    The heck with the furry haters and internet trolls, this game is amazing. Let alone my favorite game of all time! The art style is amazing, the characters are well-developed, and the music is astounding. Yes, I may be a furry, but that doesn't prove the point that you'll be attached to certain characters. ESPECIALLY Dust himself. Even the development was interesting, because it took 4 years to make by one guy (aside from the music, voice acting, writing, etc.) The game also has addictive gameplay and makes a unique use of the controls. Even though it is a RPG, you won't have to grind in it, which is less painful. The bosses are great and challenging fights that make you feel depressed at the end. Speaking of which, the game can get dark at times, even if it's rated E 10. All in all, this game is PLUPERFECT. PERFECT ART. PERFECT CHARACTERS. PERFECT STORY. PERFECT MUSIC. PERFECT GAMEPLAY. PERFECT QUESTS. PERFECT EVERYTHING!!!

    And to think, 29 people posted negative reviews of this game. All I can say is this: I know I'm supposed to be open to other opinions, but whoever hated this game is bound to face their demise.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Even though the antagonist's voice sounds a bit premature occasionally it's still a stellar title that is certainly worth your money andEven though the antagonist's voice sounds a bit premature occasionally it's still a stellar title that is certainly worth your money and requires more fans! Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented inHonestly, this game is beautiful, the gameplay is extremely fluid combat is very fun and the metroidvania style is really well represented in the level design. The Sidekicks are pretty funny, the Nimbat is hilarious and her often silly behavior is a wonderful choice in contrast to Dust's cool demeanor.

    This game's story is really surprising, you can run through it, jaded, and ignore it if you want, the gameplay is fun enough and the personal evolution of your character and his choices by themselves are worth the price of admission, but if you start paying attention you'll uncover a rich plot covering issues like Racism, the Moral Struggle of Absolute Justice vs Acceptance, and little a brother not accepting the guy his older sister likes.

    The story, 30% in, is enough to start some conversations with a friend or gaming significant other :)

    The game will get a full 10 from me because for what it's worth, I can't find a problem with it worth nitpicking, but broken down this would be my score.

    Gameplay 9
    Menus 9
    Replayability 9
    Graphics 10
    Story 10
    Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I personally liked this game so, so much that I would give it a 10 if I didn't take some time to examine the game. The combat is great (reallyI personally liked this game so, so much that I would give it a 10 if I didn't take some time to examine the game. The combat is great (really spectacle fighter-y), platforming is good, and the storytelling is near-perfect. The only things that bring this down is that at some points, the voice acting is less than desirable and the 4 boss fights throughout the game (excluding the final boss) are nothing very special. Another thing is that a Windows update currently brought a bug that causes some backgrounds and cutscenes to be cut off on the top and some backgrounds to not display at all (like on the map screen where you should see the Navi-esque companion Fidget sleeping or eating marshmallows over a campfire), but since this could easily be fixed in a future Windows update, I will not allow it to affect my score. If you ask me, this is a must-have. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    A thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money andA thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money and another notch on the belt of fantastic indie games. A bit of a button masher but if you loved Odin Sphere for PS2 you will absolutely love this game. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    The first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worthThe first 40% of the game is fantastic and original; a very interesting story with an anthropomorphous art-style that seems to be well-worth the 14 euros. However, it then suddenly hits you over the head with a seemingly endless underground level that features large amounts of platforming and enemies that can only be beaten by parrying, whereas the first 40% was a fast-paced and flashy brawler. It suddenly expects you to have mastered techniques you never before needed, which indicates that the designers didn't really know what made their game fun and put their money on the wrong horse. Even the anthropomorphic stuff gradually disappear to make room for more platforming puzzles and combat all but disappeared from the game, aside from a few tedious encounters with shielded foes. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews