Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    The fact that it costs half of my proposed cost-against-value, it's impossible for me not to recommend any fan of platformers or 2D games to wait any longer to play it.
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    90
    For only $10, Dustforce is an incredible value, and it's practically unique on the market.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Style and intelligently scaled difficulty make Dustforce an instant classic, and a lesson in the rewards of hard work.
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    A real challenge: Dustforce is the hardcore Flower, pure zen meditation for hardcore gamers.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    90
    You could do much worse than Dustforce. In the cold of winter, it's a good time to wrap yourself around a tightly balanced, stylishly presented, hardcore platformer with a ton of replay value. Dustforce fits the bill. It's the best game I've played this year (so far).
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    It's -- in all likelihood -- the most stylish thing ever to prominently feature janitors, but it definitely doesn't lack in substance. So move over, rotund Italian plumbers of the world. There's a new blue-collar hop 'n' bop hero on the block.
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    88
    A thoroughly enjoyable, hardcore platforming challenge to tackle. [Apr 2012, p.120]
  8. Jan 19, 2012
    88
    Dustforce is a nice game, with a lovely design. Both Super Meat Boy fans and newcomers will not be disappointed by the Hitbox Team, which made a really god job. Sweeping has never been so much fun!
  9. Apr 17, 2012
    85
    Dustforce is tough as nails, but also very rewarding. [Apr 2012]
  10. Jan 23, 2012
    85
    I have played a lot of challenging games in my time, but Dustforce is one that has asked more of me as a gamer than any other in recent memory. It asked me to refine my skills like no other, to sharpen my reflexes and timing until they were absolutely perfect.
  11. Jan 20, 2012
    85
    Amid the fierce competition of the infinite Steam catalog Dustforce manages very well to get noticed with original and bizarre ideas accompanied by a sophisticated gameplay and almost impeccable controls, given some rare errors in reading the input. The only ones to which the game is not recommended are casual players, due to the high level of challenge offered by the title. Everyone else should consider themselves lucky to be able to get so many hours of fun at a ridicolous price.
  12. Jan 19, 2012
    85
    A perfect platform game in 2D that can get to the limit in each of their level, but wich knows how to reward success with a feel of personal growth that we hadn't in a long time. A must have for any fan of the genre.
  13. Mar 14, 2012
    81
    Addictive and challenging. [Apr 2012, p.93]
  14. Feb 1, 2012
    81
    Demanding challenges, a thrilling highscore chase and an editor – all rolled into one atmospheric jump&run. The inaccurate controls spoil the fun, though.
  15. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    The sometimes itchy control system and the cheap background graphics are not a match for a well conceived gameplay made to last for 50 levels of action packed platform gimmicks. Dustforce is a hard nut that only mystics of platform gaming will be able to crack, but also one of the few games in the last years to provide a real challenge in the platform genre. A must buy.
  16. 80
    Dirt-cleaning platformer is not for cowards. But if you are the one who likes tough challenges Dustforce is the piece right for you. Local coop multiplay adds extra fun. [Feb 2012]
  17. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Dustforce is a bittersweet experience for PC-gamers. It's a robust platform game with colourful graphics and an original concept, but you can get frustrated pretty easily thanks to unexpected difficulty spikes. It's a price we are willing to pay though!
  18. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Dustforce is a unusual and brilliant scrolling videogame, starring a task force of powerful janitors. With broom and vacuum cleaner, we will sweep the game levels by all sorts of garbage. Cleaning has never been so fun.
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    Dustforce is a game that you will stop playing and then want to play again to get that perfect score. It's not for everyone, as some gamers will find the difficulty a bit too strict for their liking. Still, if you're looking for a game that isn't afraid of challenging your skills, then Dustforce is the one for you.
  20. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Its premise of acrobatic janitors versus the forces of dust and debris is ridiculous, barely managing to tie together a series of levels that demand complete mastery to overcome. Only the strongest of will can hope to see their way to the end of this game.
  21. Jan 25, 2012
    80
    Those with an addiction to high scores will love the many hours they spend smashing themselves repeatedly against the levels' pitiless design. And those who aren't up for the challenge? Dustforce will just take them to the cleaners.
  22. Jan 20, 2012
    80
    If you're lacking the time-attack obsession gene, or get easily discouraged by tricker games, Dustforce probably isn't for you. Everyone else, get your brooms at the ready.
  23. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    Dustforce comes into its own after you've invested some time, transforming into a frantic and occasionally frustrating experience that manages to eke out repeat play.
  24. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    The artful way the characters' abilities allow you to move through the environment are entrancing, and the meticulously crafted levels create moments that made me look and feel awesome.
  25. Jan 27, 2012
    78
    For ten dollars on Steam, if you're looking for a more chilled version of Super Meat Boy, and don't mind playing some of the same levels again to get it down perfectly, you really can't go wrong with Dustforce.
  26. Jan 18, 2012
    75
    A tricky and technical 2D platformer, Dustforce delights the senses with its harmonious score and sweeping sense of momentum.
  27. Jan 18, 2012
    75
    Dustforce is a humble game to be considered for its original content, fast-paced action and its highly re-playable levels. Its early release lets us dream with another year full of great indies at low cost. Not that it can compete with the biggest of this or past years, nor intended. This game is perfect for those with little time wanting to enjoy an exciting game without being extremely simple or casual.
  28. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    Elegant and gorgeous but surprisingly difficult. [March 2012, p.64]
  29. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    While it doesn't approach the level of awesomeness that the concept of ninja janitors killing dust monsters might suggest, Dustforce is nevertheless an enjoyable, challenging romp. It's just a shame that the glaring omission of online multiplayer keeps it from reaching its full potential, while the steep difficulty of earning S-ranks might put off those looking for something that requires a little less effort.
  30. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    If you're the kind that relishes a challenge and has understanding neighbours (for when you swear loudly), Dustforce is a low cost yet deep title that can keep you mercilessly addicted for hours.
  31. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  32. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    Spring cleaning has never been so entertaining in this well presented and cunningly addictive physics-based platformer.
  33. Feb 13, 2012
    65
    Dustforce requires absolute precision but unfortunately has some issues with controls. The level design is unforgiving enough on its own – randomly dying once in a while because that little %&#$ didn't jump off the wall when you wanted him to is maddening. [March 2012, p.47]
  34. Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Dustforce is an elegant and demanding platformer experience for time-attack fans. You'll have to spend a while mastering the controls, especially when playing with a keyboard rather than a gamepad.
  35. Mar 6, 2012
    42
    Dustforce is a challenging and sometimes frustrating platforming experience that constantly expects perfection.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    My Girlfriend bought me this game as a present after a fight...and boy did this make me feel bad, because this is one of the most awesome games I played in a while. I'll try to shoot down any doubts right now and say "BUY THIS" for the price tag of 6 euros, this is the platformer you will play for a long while, especially if you liked meat boy.

    So I've been tracking this game for a while and I was unsure of buying it...well...because I suck at jumping around. But I immediately felt like a broom wielding ninja. I can't abstain from this but I'll have to go head to head with Andromeda's review on this one, so here goes (be gentle my first review, that's how much I felt the need to defend this game):

    - The controls are anything else, but "not responsive". Everything you do seems in your hands to control.
    - The game also includes time trials and style challenge which both rank for score on the leader boards.
    - Replays can be saved and also if your confused, you can watch the highest rated player on the leader board's replay to see how he solves the level and try to mimic it, if the game is to hard on you.
    - A map editor on the way, which will guarantee lots o content.
    - King of the hill and Survival modes for local multiplayer. How awesome is that ?!

    I came from work after a long stressful day at work, a fight with the girl friend and I can't remove myself from this game. I will immediately buy flowers tomorrow and I recommend this to any fan of this genre.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This game is a precision platformer, to have an initial idea you can compare it to SuperMeatBoy (SMB) and during the review I'm going to do so. The game looks gorgeous and it plays so, the keyboard controls are better than the ones of SMB but as with it you are going to need a pad to get all the potential. The gameplay (and this is my opinion) is richer than SMB, here not only you have to reach the goal in the shortest time possible but also you have to clean all the "dust" from the level. Time is not important but the score is, you'll get double S if you clean all the level and you do not loose the combo. You'll loose the combo if you spend too much time between "dust patches" or if you are hit by the an enemy. At the end of the level you'll get the score and you're time and you'll be placed in the raking for that level. Note here one thing I loved and SMB did not have was the possibility of watching any replay from the ranking, so you can see what the best are doing and improve your score or time by doing so. When I said the gameplay is richer is because you do not only double jump, but dash and fight also you can walk over walls and roofs as long as there's dust to clean, this may require not only precision but different sets of movement for every challenge you encounter in a level. Talking about levels their design are really good and the difficulty is increasing. There are four different characters who perform slightly different one from the other (for example one is faster than the rest and can triple jump but it jumps less and it's reach with the weapon is shorter than the others) but you can complete all the levels I've encountered so far (I may be near to half-completing the game) with all of them. The game runs really smooth with no drops at all and the style is colourful and clear. There's also a multiplayer but is local only, haven't tried it yet so I'm not reviewing it. Also there as happened to SMB there will be a level editor soon. The controls are completely configurable and the only backside of the game is the complete lack of video options, there's no vsync, screensize or resolution options, so there's only 16:9 ratio and I think the vsync is active by default, about the resolution can't say much because my screen only gives 1280x720 (the game offers me this resolution) so I don't know if it gets better with a full hd monitor. But can't complain much for a game worth 15â Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    To be honest, I just spent a couple of hours playing dustforce, but I think there is a reason that I stopped playing it.


    First of all: I
    like the basic concept. I think the game mechanics are very well thought out. You have full control over the many ways to elegantly move around the character in the world. Sweeping, running up walls and ceilings, dashing, double jumping and hitting enemies that's all great.


    Probably the most important thing that kept me from continuing to play the game was the level design. The first levels are ok, but then it gets very difficult very quickly. And the levels are not difficult in a Super Meat Boy manner they are just too long, not rewarding enough, and they just need too much skill that I was not able to acquire in the first levels.


    Apart from that, music is really bad, and sound design is boring as well. In the intro video, there is no sound effects at all seriously, guys! And the story cleaning the world from dust and the overall look are not appealing to me as well. And why is there no overview map for the levels?


    I can imagine that people who get past the steep learning curve (or better call it learning step) really enjoy the great gameplay mechanics. I however did not, and so there is not much fun left for me..
    Full Review »