Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    It's -- in all likelihood -- the most stylish thing ever to prominently feature janitors, but it definitely doesn't lack in substance. So move over, rotund Italian plumbers of the world. There's a new blue-collar hop 'n' bop hero on the block.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    The fact that it costs half of my proposed cost-against-value, it's impossible for me not to recommend any fan of platformers or 2D games to wait any longer to play it.
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    90
    You could do much worse than Dustforce. In the cold of winter, it's a good time to wrap yourself around a tightly balanced, stylishly presented, hardcore platformer with a ton of replay value. Dustforce fits the bill. It's the best game I've played this year (so far).
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    90
    For only $10, Dustforce is an incredible value, and it's practically unique on the market.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    88
    Dustforce is a nice game, with a lovely design. Both Super Meat Boy fans and newcomers will not be disappointed by the Hitbox Team, which made a really god job. Sweeping has never been so much fun!
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Style and intelligently scaled difficulty make Dustforce an instant classic, and a lesson in the rewards of hard work.
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    88
    A thoroughly enjoyable, hardcore platforming challenge to tackle. [Apr 2012, p.120]
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    A real challenge: Dustforce is the hardcore Flower, pure zen meditation for hardcore gamers.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    My Girlfriend bought me this game as a present after a fight...and boy did this make me feel bad, because this is one of the most awesome games I played in a while. I'll try to shoot down any doubts right now and say "BUY THIS" for the price tag of 6 euros, this is the platformer you will play for a long while, especially if you liked meat boy.

    So I've been tracking this game for a while and I was unsure of buying it...well...because I suck at jumping around. But I immediately felt like a broom wielding ninja. I can't abstain from this but I'll have to go head to head with Andromeda's review on this one, so here goes (be gentle my first review, that's how much I felt the need to defend this game):

    - The controls are anything else, but "not responsive". Everything you do seems in your hands to control.
    - The game also includes time trials and style challenge which both rank for score on the leader boards.
    - Replays can be saved and also if your confused, you can watch the highest rated player on the leader board's replay to see how he solves the level and try to mimic it, if the game is to hard on you.
    - A map editor on the way, which will guarantee lots o content.
    - King of the hill and Survival modes for local multiplayer. How awesome is that ?!

    I came from work after a long stressful day at work, a fight with the girl friend and I can't remove myself from this game. I will immediately buy flowers tomorrow and I recommend this to any fan of this genre.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This game is a precision platformer, to have an initial idea you can compare it to SuperMeatBoy (SMB) and during the review I'm going to do so. The game looks gorgeous and it plays so, the keyboard controls are better than the ones of SMB but as with it you are going to need a pad to get all the potential. The gameplay (and this is my opinion) is richer than SMB, here not only you have to reach the goal in the shortest time possible but also you have to clean all the "dust" from the level. Time is not important but the score is, you'll get double S if you clean all the level and you do not loose the combo. You'll loose the combo if you spend too much time between "dust patches" or if you are hit by the an enemy. At the end of the level you'll get the score and you're time and you'll be placed in the raking for that level. Note here one thing I loved and SMB did not have was the possibility of watching any replay from the ranking, so you can see what the best are doing and improve your score or time by doing so. When I said the gameplay is richer is because you do not only double jump, but dash and fight also you can walk over walls and roofs as long as there's dust to clean, this may require not only precision but different sets of movement for every challenge you encounter in a level. Talking about levels their design are really good and the difficulty is increasing. There are four different characters who perform slightly different one from the other (for example one is faster than the rest and can triple jump but it jumps less and it's reach with the weapon is shorter than the others) but you can complete all the levels I've encountered so far (I may be near to half-completing the game) with all of them. The game runs really smooth with no drops at all and the style is colourful and clear. There's also a multiplayer but is local only, haven't tried it yet so I'm not reviewing it. Also there as happened to SMB there will be a level editor soon. The controls are completely configurable and the only backside of the game is the complete lack of video options, there's no vsync, screensize or resolution options, so there's only 16:9 ratio and I think the vsync is active by default, about the resolution can't say much because my screen only gives 1280x720 (the game offers me this resolution) so I don't know if it gets better with a full hd monitor. But can't complain much for a game worth 15â Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    To be honest, I just spent a couple of hours playing dustforce, but I think there is a reason that I stopped playing it.


    First of all: I
    like the basic concept. I think the game mechanics are very well thought out. You have full control over the many ways to elegantly move around the character in the world. Sweeping, running up walls and ceilings, dashing, double jumping and hitting enemies that's all great.


    Probably the most important thing that kept me from continuing to play the game was the level design. The first levels are ok, but then it gets very difficult very quickly. And the levels are not difficult in a Super Meat Boy manner they are just too long, not rewarding enough, and they just need too much skill that I was not able to acquire in the first levels.


    Apart from that, music is really bad, and sound design is boring as well. In the intro video, there is no sound effects at all seriously, guys! And the story cleaning the world from dust and the overall look are not appealing to me as well. And why is there no overview map for the levels?


    I can imagine that people who get past the steep learning curve (or better call it learning step) really enjoy the great gameplay mechanics. I however did not, and so there is not much fun left for me..
    Full Review »