Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Dustforce, players stylishly flow through precarious environments, sweeping up dust, leaves, trash and slime. The cleaners face off against the fourSprites who are determined to make a mess of the whole world
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    The fact that it costs half of my proposed cost-against-value, it's impossible for me not to recommend any fan of platformers or 2D games to wait any longer to play it.
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    90
    You could do much worse than Dustforce. In the cold of winter, it's a good time to wrap yourself around a tightly balanced, stylishly presented, hardcore platformer with a ton of replay value. Dustforce fits the bill. It's the best game I've played this year (so far).
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    85
    Dustforce is tough as nails, but also very rewarding. [Apr 2012]
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    80
    If you're lacking the time-attack obsession gene, or get easily discouraged by tricker games, Dustforce probably isn't for you. Everyone else, get your brooms at the ready.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Dustforce is a unusual and brilliant scrolling videogame, starring a task force of powerful janitors. With broom and vacuum cleaner, we will sweep the game levels by all sorts of garbage. Cleaning has never been so fun.
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    75
    A tricky and technical 2D platformer, Dustforce delights the senses with its harmonious score and sweeping sense of momentum.
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    42
    Dustforce is a challenging and sometimes frustrating platforming experience that constantly expects perfection.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Simply the best hardcore platformer available. I have played it for more than 100 hours and I'm not tired of it. The gameplay is deep, technical and very rewarding. It feels a bit awkward at first but once you get use to it you flow through the levels. It's like dancing. The learning curve it quite steep but it is progressive. The very last levels of the games (added in a later patch) are not made for human though. It can get frustrating but the reward is there. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    I initially fell in love with this game due to its graphics. Started playing with an Xbox controller, perfect gameplay... And then when the difficulty went insane (like a mix of old NES Yo! Noid and modern times Super Meat Boy), man was I in ecstasy! This is probably the best indie I've got in my Steam account (and I got about a hundred of them). Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    My Girlfriend bought me this game as a present after a fight...and boy did this make me feel bad, because this is one of the most awesome games I played in a while. I'll try to shoot down any doubts right now and say "BUY THIS" for the price tag of 6 euros, this is the platformer you will play for a long while, especially if you liked meat boy.

    So I've been tracking this game for a while and I was unsure of buying it...well...because I suck at jumping around. But I immediately felt like a broom wielding ninja. I can't abstain from this but I'll have to go head to head with Andromeda's review on this one, so here goes (be gentle my first review, that's how much I felt the need to defend this game):

    - The controls are anything else, but "not responsive". Everything you do seems in your hands to control.
    - The game also includes time trials and style challenge which both rank for score on the leader boards.
    - Replays can be saved and also if your confused, you can watch the highest rated player on the leader board's replay to see how he solves the level and try to mimic it, if the game is to hard on you.
    - A map editor on the way, which will guarantee lots o content.
    - King of the hill and Survival modes for local multiplayer. How awesome is that ?!

    I came from work after a long stressful day at work, a fight with the girl friend and I can't remove myself from this game. I will immediately buy flowers tomorrow and I recommend this to any fan of this genre.
    Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome. The music is great and the stylish design too. There is a lot of frustration involved, so this is not a game for casual gamers like other games in the genre of precision platforming (like Meatboy). The controls are hard at first but the game invites you to dominate them, and is so satisfying once you do so. The game have customizable controls so you can be comfortable with them. Is a very well done game. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    A complex athletic challenge complemented by lush, wondrous creative direction, Dustforce challenges you in terms of both thoroughness and finesse. My full video review at: youtu.be/2xoI3kogzYY Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    In short summary, Dustforce a good game, it can be called a spiritual successor to Super Meat Boy, because this is the same model of the game, but the revised terms. Congratulations to Team Hitbox is the first production of this studio, and has already achieved success. So if you like arcade games, Meat Boy are fans or just feel like you have an interesting game in India, I can recommend it to you, but it hurts a little price, which is 7 euros, but I think that if you have enough in your wallet, it is worth spending money. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    2
    Despite looking nice, awful and unresponsive controls and nothing but a simple time trial mode ensure this is not worth the relatively high price charged for it. Collapse

See all 27 User Reviews