Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Feb 3, 2015
    90
    Dying Light just stepped up the game in a genre that has gone stale. Color me impressed.
  2. Feb 2, 2015
    90
    Dying Light is a game that looks good, plays well and feels great. A survival horror game should be able to reliably freak you out, and Dying Light achieves that and so much more.
  3. Jan 28, 2015
    90
    It managed to exceed my expectations. It looks gorgeous and feels polished. Unfortunately, it’s also technically inconsistent. I died many times due to performance issues at the most inopportune moment and the cutscenes were marred by lag and freezes. But there’s a great game underneath all the unoptimized fluff.
  4. Jan 28, 2015
    88
    Although there's nothing really new here, we've had a lot of fun playing this game, and that's what matters. If you still want more zombies, this is a great choice and a next-gen experience.
  5. Feb 27, 2015
    87
    Dying Light is an excellent effort from Techland and perhaps the ultimate sleeper hit of 2015. Definitely it could be better in areas such as storytelling and the variety of the secondary activities, but the robust gameplay mechanisms and the long duration of the main campaign will satisfy your survival-horror needs and will make you look forward for the inevitable sequel.
  6. Jan 30, 2015
    86
    Dying Light is a great survival horror, with a very well executed parkour system, a visceral and engaging combat system and some nighttime sequences of pure, crushing terror.
  7. Feb 4, 2015
    85
    Dying Light is a very impressive game that’s clearly had a lot of care and attention put into it.
  8. Feb 3, 2015
    85
    Beginning as a furtive, desperate survival-horror experience, Dying Light gradually and gratifyingly evolves into a fast, hyper-violent celebration of vertical freedom and zombie destruction.
  9. Feb 2, 2015
    85
    Despite technical and parkour missteps, the rewarding combat mechanics, well-executed narrative, and excellent cooperative multiplayer bring players a delightful time in the shadow of the impending apocalypse.
  10. Jan 30, 2015
    85
    Everything stands on the truly remarkable parkour system, perfectly integrated with a level design that is full and rich, and perfect for enhancing the new system of movement.
  11. Jan 30, 2015
    85
    Dying Light falls short of Dead Island in terms of novelty and setting, but gains on other fronts thanks to parkour and a crafting system more streamlined and instant. If you love the genre, this is a great game.
  12. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 19, 2015
    84
    Dying Light has a great start and for a while it feels like the best zombie game ever. However, as the campaign turns out to be excessively lengthy, the game starts to feel a bit repetitive. [March 2015]
  13. Feb 2, 2015
    84
    If you liked Dead Island, you’ll do the same with Dying Light, even more. The Techland formula has remained virtually the same, with the only differences bing parkour and the day-night cycle. Defects and deficiencies are not lacking, but the bold attempt to mix survival, first person “platform” and RPG is simply brilliant.
  14. Another zombie game, another Techland game and the same story... The gameplay and open-world mechanics are pretty good. But you consistently feel as if something is missing because the linear story and bland quest line are waiting for you there. It's a good game, but not a major hit.
  15. Night chases are the best moments of the game: a horde of zombies is stomping behind you, much more agile hunters are breathing in your neck and ahead you see the pack of undead, who has not yet realized what is going on. You have a split second to decide if you will try to break through the crowd, or turn to the alley and pray to all the known gods in hope to escape from pursuit. [Issue #195, p.64]
  16. Nov 1, 2015
    80
    Don't let the Dead Island affiliation sway you one way or the other, Dying Light is its own game and it's rightfully fun, but it's not something that is Game of the Year material to me. If you like zombie games and open world games then this is worth the pickup, but otherwise I'd skip it until it goes on sale, because it's still a really fun game no matter how you dice it.
  17. CD-Action
    Mar 17, 2015
    80
    A very ambitious game that has much more than just ambition going for it. Immersion and visuals are top notch, parkour was more enjoyable for me than in Assassin’s Creed, and it’s also hard to find equally good and satisfying melee combat anywhere. If only the story was less cliché and developers had more time to polish the game. [03/2014, p.83]
  18. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 10, 2015
    80
    A wild mix of all possible games holds together surprisingly well, still mainly the orthodox fans of the genre will enjoy this piece most. [Issue#250]
  19. 80
    On to a familiar set of rules, Techland crafted a dynamic sandbox that's stupid in all the right places. I don't know if I need another one of these, frankly. But for now this sits right next to last years' Shadow of Mordor, as a mechanically sound and motivating experience I hadn't expected at all.
  20. Jan 31, 2015
    80
    Dying Light is a funny action/survival adventure with RPG elements and fast paced parkour elements. Yet, some repetitiveness and technical issues keep it from being a far better game.
  21. Jan 29, 2015
    80
    Dying Light mixes elements from Dead island, Mirror's Edge and Far Cry efficiently. Crafting, action, exploration and free running are all well-implemented in this open-world survival game. And you can expect to be genuinely frightened when the night comes. With a lot of content and satisfying ways to play in multiplayer, this game can, indeed, please a wide audience, even if everything is not perfect.
  22. 80
    A surprisingly well put together open-world survival game with a lot of moving parts, all of which add up to something pretty fun to play. It’s not going to blow your mind in terms of story, and the mission structure of the campaign is certainly familiar, but Dying Light has cohesion between its parts that make it enjoyable.
  23. Feb 26, 2015
    79
    Weak storytelling and some technical issues are the only problems detracting from a great experience. This is one of the best games about zombie apocalypse.
  24. Feb 3, 2015
    78
    The damage values in attacks are too arbitrary, the collision detection is not always optimal and wear of the weapons, at least initially more than annoying.
  25. Jan 30, 2015
    78
    Dying Light is a solid and consistently-designed open world experience, regardless of where Techland's ideas came from. The parkour element is the best feature of the game as it allows you to almost fly with little to no effort to either explore or fight the horde. This is, without a doubt, the best zombie game Techland has ever done.
  26. Feb 9, 2015
    75
    Dying Light is an interesting mix of standard, now over used gameplay features but with a (mostly) well-implemented parkour slant.
  27. Feb 4, 2015
    75
    It’s an old story, when it comes to games like this one. Dying Light is great when you’re free-running across the city, avoiding zombies and exploring its detailed world. Whenever it tries to change up the formula, it takes an immediate head-first dive into frustration.
  28. Feb 4, 2015
    75
    In terms of gameplay mechanic, Dying Light is great - we have excellent parkour and a very good day-night cycle. Unfortunately 99% of quests (and there are lots of them) are cut from the same cloth. The game looks fantastic, but on some PCs you won't be able to play comfortably (due to technical issues). But despite all that (and a lack of interesting story), Dying Light is a very decent game for the fans of the zombie apocalypse.
  29. Feb 2, 2015
    75
    Fantastic movement mechanics complement the brutal combat beautifully, and the game on a mechanical level is incredibly engrossing and fun to play. Sadly, there's little else above that to sell.
  30. 74
    The basics work great: Dying Light offers fluid movement with lots of parkour elements and a great upgrade mechanic. There’s also a lot to do on its sprawling open-world city map. Unfortunately, most of it you will do over and over again, starting with bashing zombie heads in time and time again. Anyone who can stomach the repetitiveness and manage not to cringe at the dialogue is set to have a great time in Harran.
  31. Feb 6, 2015
    72
    Dying Light has some issues when compared to its forbears, but it also sets itself apart in some remarkable ways. The parkour really is as good as you’ve heard and is the first bit of innovation we’ve seen in the zombie genre in far too long. The RPG systems definitely allow you to hone your character in a natural fashion, but it would have been nice to see some extra classes for variety. Night play isn’t for me, but I won’t knock it for that. Techland never hid its brutal nature. As a piece of zombie fiction, Dying Light isn’t the most original tale. As a way to experience the undead apocalypse first-hand? It’s hard to beat.
  32. Mar 22, 2015
    70
    If you can get past the clunky storytelling and the repetitive missions, you might a diamond in the rough that really empowers you to revel in the design aspects of its zombie-infested sandbox.
  33. Jan 30, 2015
    70
    Despite a clunky story and technical performance, there's a lot of fun to be found in dashing and dodging through a zombie-filled city.
  34. Jan 30, 2015
    70
    Despite taking cues from other open world games, ones nobody could ever accuse of being fresh, Techland has molded these borrowed parts into something that is occasionally formidable. Dying Light never quite shakes off the spectre of these other games, but it doesn’t play it as safe, presenting a world that is infinitely more deadly and fraught with tension.
  35. Jan 28, 2015
    70
    Dying Light often boils down to "Zombies: The Videogame," but it's fun to flip around like a ninja and cause havoc while you shuffle from one mission to the next. For many of you out there, that's basically all you'll need.
  36. Edge Magazine
    Mar 10, 2015
    60
    Likeable despite its flaws. [March 2015, p.106]
  37. Feb 6, 2015
    60
    Dying Light reminds me of Dead Island most of the time, but it doesn’t surpass Dead Island in any way. Co-op mode remains entertaining, but otherwise the game doesn’t excel in anything. Most importantly, the image of a zombie apocalypse is absolutely disappointing.
  38. Feb 2, 2015
    60
    Dying Light is a zombie game that doesn't really add anything new to the genre. Sure, the parkour mechanics and the night/day cycle feels a bit fresh, but for the most part it's just Dead Island all over again. And just like that game, Dying Light is filled with stupid mission design and comes with an overall unpolished feeling.
  39. Apr 6, 2015
    40
    It’s a game of a thousand house calls, in which everyone needs something they can’t get or do for themselves. Catastrophe has made every doorstep a welcome place, with disease and death the justification for an openness that might seem unthinkable under other circumstances.
  40. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 6, 2015
    40
    Dying Light should showcase everything Techland learned from Dead Island. Instead, it showcases everything they haven't. [March 2015, p.57]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1283 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 273
  1. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    *It is absolutely amazing. there can't be a negative review for this one. 10/10 The story is phenomenally good and VERY strong. the graphics*It is absolutely amazing. there can't be a negative review for this one. 10/10 The story is phenomenally good and VERY strong. the graphics are insanely good. the gameplay is absolutely fantastic. everything fits perfectly well together, amazing game, thank you Techland. one againnnn 101/10 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2015
    9
    I was able to get my hand on a copy of this game about 19 hours ago, and I have been playing it a good deal. Although I am not 100% throughI was able to get my hand on a copy of this game about 19 hours ago, and I have been playing it a good deal. Although I am not 100% through the game I am at the point where I have seen all it has to offer- so here is my review

    Gameplay- It plays much like a cleaner, better looking, more fluid, and more fun dead island. It feels like dead island with a larger budget. Running up walls to escape a horde, finding safety as night approaches, using upgraded abilities to kill more zombies with greater zest- it all works and works well. In terms of game play it was everything that dead island was supposed to be. My only complaints are breaking weapons, old school health bars, and stamina meters. I think these things restrict you, but it still works out. [9/10]

    Graphics/sound- The sound is effective at creating a serious atmosphere- when a zombie is right on top of you, you hear it. When a horde is approaching- you hear it. It is all done well enough to keep you engaged though it is not really stand out to me. The graphics are nice, clean textures- great environments, and good character models really sell the experience. Expect some frame rate issues when game play picks up- and also I experienced a crash time to time. However there were no broken quests. In a game this size you have to expect a few bugs right? [8.5/10]

    Story- This is the underwhelming portion. The story is far more serious than that of dead island. No dark humor, no super cheesy characters (well not as cheesy). You find yourself helping the few survivors in the city with fetch quests and the typical point A to point B. There are a couple surprises- and a passable story to match. None of it is bad, but none of it is great. It is clear the time was put into the gameplay. On the plus side the game is sizable. If you are a completion you could get 70 hours out of this game, though the average gamer can expect 30 to 40. [7.5/10]

    In all this game is a great zombie experience. Fun gameplay, great graphics, and a very well done open world make this an adventure worth having, even if the story falls short... An 8.5 out of 10
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2015
    3
    This Game got performance issues, after the tutorial the frame rate drops.
    I use minimal settings @ 0% draw distance and get 10 - 20 Fps
    This Game got performance issues, after the tutorial the frame rate drops.
    I use minimal settings @ 0% draw distance and get 10 - 20 Fps Outdoor.
    In the tower i had 60 Fps so i think its a optimization issue .

    My Rig:

    AMD Phenom x6 1090 T @ Stock
    8 GB Corsair Dominator DDR 3 Ram
    AMD Radeon R9 280 X XFX @ 1050 MHZ
    It is installed on my WD 1 TB Hard Drive
    Full Review »