Dying Light Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dying Light allows you traverse an open world mired into chaos and destruction. In this environment, you scrap for survival against an array of enemies as the infected are not the only threat: accosting other desperate human beings is typically the only way to get precious supplies.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dying Light - Intro Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Feb 3, 2015
    90
    Dying Light just stepped up the game in a genre that has gone stale. Color me impressed.
  2. Jan 30, 2015
    86
    Dying Light is a great survival horror, with a very well executed parkour system, a visceral and engaging combat system and some nighttime sequences of pure, crushing terror.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    85
    Dying Light falls short of Dead Island in terms of novelty and setting, but gains on other fronts thanks to parkour and a crafting system more streamlined and instant. If you love the genre, this is a great game.
  4. Jan 29, 2015
    80
    Dying Light mixes elements from Dead island, Mirror's Edge and Far Cry efficiently. Crafting, action, exploration and free running are all well-implemented in this open-world survival game. And you can expect to be genuinely frightened when the night comes. With a lot of content and satisfying ways to play in multiplayer, this game can, indeed, please a wide audience, even if everything is not perfect.
  5. Feb 9, 2015
    75
    Dying Light is an interesting mix of standard, now over used gameplay features but with a (mostly) well-implemented parkour slant.
  6. Feb 6, 2015
    72
    Dying Light has some issues when compared to its forbears, but it also sets itself apart in some remarkable ways. The parkour really is as good as you’ve heard and is the first bit of innovation we’ve seen in the zombie genre in far too long. The RPG systems definitely allow you to hone your character in a natural fashion, but it would have been nice to see some extra classes for variety. Night play isn’t for me, but I won’t knock it for that. Techland never hid its brutal nature. As a piece of zombie fiction, Dying Light isn’t the most original tale. As a way to experience the undead apocalypse first-hand? It’s hard to beat.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 6, 2015
    40
    Dying Light should showcase everything Techland learned from Dead Island. Instead, it showcases everything they haven't. [March 2015, p.57]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 278
  1. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    *It is absolutely amazing. there can't be a negative review for this one. 10/10 The story is phenomenally good and VERY strong. the graphics*It is absolutely amazing. there can't be a negative review for this one. 10/10 The story is phenomenally good and VERY strong. the graphics are insanely good. the gameplay is absolutely fantastic. everything fits perfectly well together, amazing game, thank you Techland. one againnnn 101/10 10/10 Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    I am surprised by how poorly received this game has been. It isn't perfect, but damn is it fun! With a full-fledged parkour system, fun andI am surprised by how poorly received this game has been. It isn't perfect, but damn is it fun! With a full-fledged parkour system, fun and engaging melee combat, and plenty of weapons/looting/crafting, this one is a must have for those who enjoyed games like Borderlands, Dishonored, and Dead Island. Here's my summary.

    Gameplay: Excellent. Aside from some slightly awkward parkour animations, everything is highly responsive and generally feels good, with a fine sense of "weight." Parkour is precise and exhilarating - you really can go anywhere, and eventually you get the best grappling hook I've ever seen in an FPS. Combat is also smooth and responsive, with plenty of options - dodging, jumping over people, tackling, slide kicks, jump kicks, heavy/light attacks, throwing weapons, guns, air attacks, stealth takedowns, shields - it's all here. Zombies react realistically to getting hit, with a pretty extensive damage system. You can see the physics react to every hit, and it honestly feels better than most melee FPS games. Also, did I mention how many weapons there are? Well, there are tons, and you can augment them. Seriously, I haven't had this much fun looting since the original Borderlands. As for stealth, there are some options, but no silenced guns. You are limited to melee takedowns. AI is pretty damn finicky. All in all, it is passable - stealth can be employed with some enjoyment, but it's often more fun to cause mayhem in this one.

    Story: Meh. Did you actually buy this for the story? Go watch The Walking Dead

    Graphics/sound: Fantastic, aside from the occasional low-res texture. It can look almost photorealistic at times. Sounds are right on. Music ranges from excellent to cliche. Voice acting is good - not great, just good.

    Ultimately, 8/10. I rated higher to boost this games reputation. Take note, there are minor performance issues on the PC, which are slowly getting worked out. Oh, and mod tools are coming.

    Buy this for the gameplay if you like parkour, melee combat, and looting. You will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Dying Light is a thrilling next-gen post-apocalyptic zombie hybrid shooter/survival game with a heavy focus on parkour game play. This is aDying Light is a thrilling next-gen post-apocalyptic zombie hybrid shooter/survival game with a heavy focus on parkour game play. This is a landmark game that sets the bar higher for all games that will follow in its footsteps.

    The overall story line follows a formula that is similar to Fallout or Skyrim where you have a main story line, but there are multiple side quests and surprises for you to find in the open world where you are free to wander around.

    I'll talk more about the performance of this game rather than the graphics, game play as you can easily load up a youtube gameplay video to see the game in action.

    This game requires a great GPU, but also requires heavy CPU processing power as well. I have an I5 4670k running @ 3.4GHz. During game play with the view distance at 50%, all virtual/physical CPU cores were operating at 100% and was causing the game to operate at 30-35 fps. My 2x R9 290s were not being utilized fully. I had to overclock the CPU cores to 4.0GHz each then I was able to maintain 60 fps throughout most of the game.

    If you have a great video card, but do not have a great CPU, then try taking the draw distance down until the game is smooth enough for you. You can also try overclocking your CPU to get better results if you find your CPU is the bottleneck.

    Overall, and excellent game and will be talked about for years to come and newer games will be judged on the new standards and the bar that has been set by Dying Light.
    Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2016
    8
    Dying Light might not be the best game ever, but the enjoyable and thrilling experience it brings is rather welcoming, if one overlooks someDying Light might not be the best game ever, but the enjoyable and thrilling experience it brings is rather welcoming, if one overlooks some of its flawed aspects. Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    8
    Updated Review after completing the game (took me 30 hours, I did all side quests).

    I'm still at a loss for how people can justify giving
    Updated Review after completing the game (took me 30 hours, I did all side quests).

    I'm still at a loss for how people can justify giving this game an overly negative review, the only reasons I can think of is that they were having the PC performance issues (which seems to be primarily with AMD CPU systems), or they are just terrible at FPS games.

    Now keep in mind this is my opinion based on playing the PC version using Mouse and Keyboard with a good system. It may be that using a controller makes this game less fluent. Also note I am playing with a buddy from start to finish, co-op always improves any gaming experience for me.

    Parkour - Fantastic, throughput the game as you level up it gets more and more fluent, and you get the hook which basically makes you a lesser spider-man. I really need to stress this point as I've seen some reviews saying this game brings nothing original to the genre, are you #$%^ing serious? This parkour is not only the best parkour I've played in a game (including Assassin's Creed), it brings the most to this genre since Left 4 Dead.

    Day Time Combat - Solid, it definitely starts out somewhat challenging if you try to take on more than a few zombies at a time (which I love), although as you progress it gets easier to slash/jump your way through crowds, to the point where you don't even get scared running in to hordes(and I mean hordes) of zombies. Human combat is slightly more challenging as they can dodge and take more damage, although once you get guns they aren’t a problem. Special Zombies are fine too, nothing really new (l4d ripoffs).

    Night Time Combat - I separated this for a reason, this is another key part of the game that bring a lot to the genre, now I can't say this is the first time that this mechanic has been used (zombies harder at night etc, 7 days to die comes to mind in that respect), although when you add parkour in to the mix it really changes the mood of the game and adds a nice thrill factor. Although as you progress further in to the game that thrill factor goes away and you really have no issues at any time (especially when you have an abundance of flares).

    Storyline- This is the part that caused me to lower my original score (had it at 9/10 originally). The story was bad, the character interactions were comical and the drama was forced. I didn’t give a **** about any of the characters that died, although I did find some quality entertainment by making fun of the characters with my friend whom I played through the entire game with. There are very few positive things to say about the story (none come to mind right now), although this didn’t seriously impact my overall impression of the game.

    Conclusion:

    I still say that this is a solid game, most fun I've had with a co-op shooter game since the first Left 4 Dead and Borderlands. That said, once you leave the first map the overall experience did diminish for me, the second map felt like it was put together in a hurry and just didn’t flow like the first one, also finding entrances to places was unnecessarily annoying in the second area.

    If you aren't very good at shooter type games, you likely won’t enjoy this (especially if you are playing alone). I can see people getting easily frustrated with aspects of this game, such as the mandatory tower climbs where many players likely have fallen to their deaths numerous times.

    As I said it took me 30 hours to beat the game (including all side quests), and I’d say roughly 20 of those hours I found extremely enjoyable, the last 10 was more going through the motions. I will note however that this is the first Co-op shooter game where I plan to get any additional DLC maps, usually when I beat a co-op shooter I can’t bring myself to go back to it, but for this game… the parkour is just too good.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2016
    7
    Dying Light.
    A perfect sequel to Dead Island without the awkward name and numeral deal.
    But really, Techland outdid themselves in gameplay
    Dying Light.
    A perfect sequel to Dead Island without the awkward name and numeral deal.
    But really, Techland outdid themselves in gameplay improvements between these otherwise unrelated zombie combat simulators.
    The only thing is, how much exactly did they change? I could just say everything is extremely similar, besides what isn’t. But that wouldn’t be much of a review.

    What we have here is Dead Island, with some added features. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed playing this game. Let me put it this way; I tried on three separate occasions to play Dead Island, but every time I tried I would get really bored halfway through. Three goddamn tries.
    But I beat Dying Light.

    I’m one of those strange people who thought Mirror’s Edge was a fantastic game, so naturally upon hearing parkour was a large part of the new Techland zombie killer game, I was friggin excited. But I had my reserves, and as it turns out I had good reason. Besides the midnight flights from Mr. Volatile and his friends, the parkour, and the graphics, this is a Dead Island game. It has the same weapon crafting system, which ranges from “Okay, cool” to “Holy crap thats badass” to “Why?”. It doesn't have the imagination of the Dead Rising series, where some weapons are way over the top, but it only added to the fun. In Dying Light, crafting a weapon doesn’t really come down to what is best for your situation, instead it quickly boiled down to what didn't injure me when I stepped over the burning or electrocuted bodies. Even so, I stuck with bleeding and electricity (the mod I used most was called Exorcist and it was super fun) because if it rained the electricity arced out and made a thunderous bang whenever I got a critical hit, which was very satisfying. But having to wait ages for a body to stop having electricity-based seizures, or burning before I could loot it or moved past got old extremely fast. And bleeding did not seem to do anything, but I used it just in case. Also because it didn't hurt me.
    The game also has the same constant fetch quest **** as its predecessor. ALMOST. EVERY. QUEST. I understand your options are limited, but Jesus.
    Zombie combat remained pretty dang good, but again, it got very old. Personally I hated guns in Dead Island, and while they had their uses against Rais’s thugs I hated them in this game too. It sucks when you only use a game feature not because you want to, but because you have little choice.

    The music was good. Nothing to write home about.
    The story was good. I felt for the characters, I felt they were relatable, and every encounter with Rais was pulse pounding and memorable. Again, wasn’t groundbreaking, but it was interesting.

    I played one night of multiplayer, and found it stacked against the human player. The hives are really tough to kill, and the night hunter’s Left-4-Dead-esque pounce is a little overpowered. Then again, multiplayer isn’t my forte, so maybe I was just awful.

    All in all. More of the same AAA zombie game from Techland. The new features felt like gimmicks at times. Fun gimmicks, don't get me wrong, but I really hope this developer leaves its comfort zone in the future. Play it. It’s fun, it’s action packed, and it’s a good game.

    But don't expect a complete original.

    P.s. I'll update when I play some dlc.
    Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2015
    0
    Extremely bad game. Stay away. It has it's good sides. It could be really really good. But it is not. It is awful. I hate it. I hate wastingExtremely bad game. Stay away. It has it's good sides. It could be really really good. But it is not. It is awful. I hate it. I hate wasting my time with it. I rly do. Expand

See all 278 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015 Image
    Published: January 14, 2015
    We look at the coming year's most noteworthy planned releases, from new properties like No Man's Sky and Evolve to highly anticipated sequels such as Batman: Arkham Knight, Halo 5, Uncharted 4, The Witcher 3, and a new Legend of Zelda release.