Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eador. Masters of the Broken World - is a turn-based strategy in the original fantasy setting, where the decisions you make affect the world even deeper than the battles you win. The game combines the unmatched strategic depth with boundless role-playing opportunities, granting the playerEador. Masters of the Broken World - is a turn-based strategy in the original fantasy setting, where the decisions you make affect the world even deeper than the battles you win. The game combines the unmatched strategic depth with boundless role-playing opportunities, granting the player the power of the immortal ruler of the magic world of Eador. The game is set for release in 2012. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    88
    I will go out on a limb and say that given some more love and (lots) more patches, “Eador: Masters of a Broken World” could become a classic in its genre. If you're a fantasy TBS fan you should definitely pick this up (it's only 20 bucks) and watch the patches roll in.
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    83
    Despite its often-disastrous implementation, Eador’s design is worth your time – a testament to its strength.
  3. May 8, 2013
    82
    Eador. Masters of the Broken World is Eador: Genesis with 3d graphics and a buggy multiplayer.
  4. May 3, 2013
    80
    It is complicated in one instance, and simple in the next. It seems generic at first, but then shows its uniqueness in setting and granular game mechanics. It’s a game by strategy enthusiasts, for strategy enthusiasts. Once you look past the awkward, pimply exterior, a game of surprising interest looks back.
  5. May 6, 2013
    77
    Masters of the World is a must for anyone who likes fantasy turn-based strategy games. Get it, but don’t play it just yet – wait a few weeks before the developers iron out the kinks. Judging by the speed at which they churn out new patches, you won’t have to wait too long.
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    In all honesty, forgoing the campaign mode and jumping straight in a skirmish might be a better proposition.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    40
    Until the bugs are ironed out, it’s just not worth the headache.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 59
  2. Negative: 19 out of 59
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    The game is very complex and gift hours of intense gameplay. I have experimented no bugs and major problem and the developers released 2 patchThe game is very complex and gift hours of intense gameplay. I have experimented no bugs and major problem and the developers released 2 patch in a single week for correctimprove the game. For every bug reporter probably there will be hundred of people which play without problems. In the gameplay you have a full mix of strategy,RPG,management game style Collapse
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    *The metacritic score is out-of-date*, because, in three months the studio has eliminated 175 bugs/game issues from the game.

    Almost no
    *The metacritic score is out-of-date*, because, in three months the studio has eliminated 175 bugs/game issues from the game.

    Almost no reviewers update their reviews, post-release. And few games are updated (much), post-release. This game is an exception.

    The profoundly long list of issues addressed by the developer in the three months since the game has been released can be found here: http://store.steampowered.com/news/?feed=steam_updates&appids=232050 (or search the Steam site for "Eador", and click "view update history" on the right-hand side of the game's page).

    How do I know that 175 bugs were fixed? I pasted the list of bug fixes into Word. It was over 200 lines in length. I eliminated those lines that weren't bug fixes. Each remaining line of text was a bug fix, and there were about 175 remaining lines.

    Should the game have been released without said bugs? Perhaps. (Although, in the Studio's defense,
    it can be extremely difficult to eliminate bugs without widespread bug testing and user testing, for technical reasons.) *But,* the developer has shown extreme dedication in eliminating said bugs. They deserve kudos for that fact. I don't believe the decision to eliminate the bugs was made by some bean counter--sadly, I'm not sure you could easily make the case to such a person that it's in the studio's self-interest to patch a released product. But the studio decided to, anyway.

    Both this game and Snowbird Game Studios deserve your support.
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    This is a great little gem for anyone who likes HoMM, King's Bounty, Crusader Kings etc. kind of games. There's a lot of depth to the gameplayThis is a great little gem for anyone who likes HoMM, King's Bounty, Crusader Kings etc. kind of games. There's a lot of depth to the gameplay mechanics and the graphics, music and atmosphere in the game is nice.

    I've played 7 hours into the game so far and have not experienced a single crash or freeze. The devs are comitted to making this game the best that it can be with regular patches so there's no reason not to dive into Eador. I'm happy that I bought the game.
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2014
    7
    Eador is a very nice game overall, especially for the low price. As some guys before already mentioned, Eador has this "one more turn"-needEador is a very nice game overall, especially for the low price. As some guys before already mentioned, Eador has this "one more turn"-need and can provide tons of fun, but only if you are willing to invest a ton of time. It`s not a game for people who are new to this genre and it is not the right game for people having trouble to handle frustration. You will experience games in which you chose the wrong strategy, the wrong hero to summon first and you might have to load an old save. 4+ hours going down the drain is not unusual.
    I would give the game a 9/10 for pure playing fun, but lately a lot of bugs and save game problems were patched into the game along with the first dlc. Also the dlc is a huge improvement in terms of end game content but makes it even harder to rise and make your baby steps. Why? Because every little army of minor goblins now has a hard mage, a supporter and a ranged unit. Even for me with 180h knowledge of the game this appeared as a problem and I needed a lot of time to solve this problem going along with draining my old strategy.
    Because of the "so so"-dlc and the bugs I decrease the grade from 9 to 7.
    Expand
  5. May 8, 2013
    5
    This has the makings of a great strategy game, in the classic 4x turn-based tradition, with strong RPG elements. Unfortunately, the gameThis has the makings of a great strategy game, in the classic 4x turn-based tradition, with strong RPG elements. Unfortunately, the game studio, an indie group from Russia, is having problems getting its final product to work, even after launch. The studio is patching 1-2x a week, which is great, but still significant numbers of users are unable to play through the campaign, which is incredibly long. The frustration of having a 20+ hour game get corrupted is just not measurable, strongly advise a pass on this one until bug issues are fixed, at the current rate, I'd check back around mid-june. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    Didn't like it. The graphics is quite nice (but not fantastic), but pooooorly optimized and the game works very very slow. Slower thanDidn't like it. The graphics is quite nice (but not fantastic), but pooooorly optimized and the game works very very slow. Slower than Starcraft 2 and Bioshock Infinite.

    The user interface is very complex,

    The gameplay is very boring. Just click "explore" and fight with random monsters. The battle animations are very slow too (even on max speed).

    In general, the game seems to be buggy and unfinished.
    Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    This is a great game ... if only it worked. The turn-based strategy is deep and engaging, and I found myself with a strong "one more turn"This is a great game ... if only it worked. The turn-based strategy is deep and engaging, and I found myself with a strong "one more turn" reflex. The campaign is long and immersive, and despite some interface clunkiness, it's visually appealing. The resource scarcity makes you think very carefully about every move, every build, and every combat. You really feel the loss of any unit.

    Now for the bad news: the fatal glitches in the game have made it unplayable for me, with a variety of crashes occurring on average every three turns. And the more I play into the campaign, the more frequent the crashes seem to be. I've given up playing for now, and am frustrated by the total lack of response to bug postings on the Snowbird Forum. I don't expect perfection from a small indie developer, but I do expect some stability, especially so long after initial release. If this was a working game, I'd give it an 8 or 9. As it is, don't buy it...
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews