Earth 2160 PC

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 95
  2. Negative: 16 out of 95
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2014
    0
    WTF? You have to activate this game? It only cost like £0.29 but was worth it just to laugh at how desperate the publishers are to prevent piracy - as if anyone would go out of their way to illegally download some crappy top down mobile game! It asks for your personal details and requires you to send an email or call a number and manually input a key. It's so amateur, and when increasingWTF? You have to activate this game? It only cost like £0.29 but was worth it just to laugh at how desperate the publishers are to prevent piracy - as if anyone would go out of their way to illegally download some crappy top down mobile game! It asks for your personal details and requires you to send an email or call a number and manually input a key. It's so amateur, and when increasing the resolution the HUD doesn't scale so the text is unreadable. Absolute trash, worth the price for laughing at how bad a game can get. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    All around terrible experience. Terrabad Campaign, silly, overly complex game design make this a bore to play in MP. Kind of funny that the publisher/devs keep trying to bouey the score up with cheap, one line reviews. Do Not Buy.
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    Really enjoyable RTS. Not the best, not by far but still quite enjoyable. The characterization of the moon women is a bit..... pink and comes off a bit misogynist. But seeing past that you have a fun RTS albeit with fairly bad graphics these days.
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This is a thinking players RTS, not for the casual StarCraft or C&C fan. Hardcore players will like the challenge that it provides. Not quite as amazing as Earth 2150, but still a ten.
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Its always disappointing to see a game with such potential fall so flat. The controls are confusing and the game's learning curve is far too steep. The first few missions, which the game treats as a tutorial, are more of a constant struggle to figure out how to do what the game asks of you. Even the little things like deploying time bombs from you hero's inventory is a lengthy struggle.Its always disappointing to see a game with such potential fall so flat. The controls are confusing and the game's learning curve is far too steep. The first few missions, which the game treats as a tutorial, are more of a constant struggle to figure out how to do what the game asks of you. Even the little things like deploying time bombs from you hero's inventory is a lengthy struggle. That being said, putting the campaign down gives for a bit of fun. The skirmishes show the game's real strength, its diversity. The factions initially feel very different and for a few hours, you'll enjoy just figuring out how they work. Then you realize that the set-up is all that is different. The way the units fight, the strategies you use are all pretty much the same. The martian race does provide a fun and unique challenge but even that gets old fast. Overall, the confusing controls, insufferable campaign and shallow levels of diversity make for a fun couple hours but that is it. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2012
    1
    1 point for the nice graphics. Apart from that it's rubbish and frustrating.
    Earth 2150 was way better. Some text to reach the 150 character minimum.
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    5
    What I have to say about this game is that it is mediocre, and this -- after its fantastic predecessor, Earth 2150, is a serious let down for previous fans. What I laugh about is apparently the only people who bought this game did so through steam; I did not. I'm one of the true originals who was excited about a sequel for one of my favorite strategies of all time. Therefore: my ratingWhat I have to say about this game is that it is mediocre, and this -- after its fantastic predecessor, Earth 2150, is a serious let down for previous fans. What I laugh about is apparently the only people who bought this game did so through steam; I did not. I'm one of the true originals who was excited about a sequel for one of my favorite strategies of all time. Therefore: my rating has nothing to do with technicals. My reviews never do. It is about a much more crucial facet: the content of the game itself. _____ Allow me to just summarize and say that there is nothing here that really separates 2160 from any other strategy. If you are looking at a new strategy to seek variety, then look elsewhere. Unlike 2150, you cannot really customize your units to be your own, unique design. Furthermore, the pacing is that of Starcraft II: that is to say clicking speed and reaction time is more important than strategy and tactics. And advancing technologically seems irritatingly unrewarding. You'll do it to keep the status quo, but don't expect to come out with some powerful tech that your enemy cannot counter with pure massive numbers. Most will say "so what," but the original did not play with this feature and the fact that they changed it to its current state of merely being a copy of other strategy games from the time. Though SCII was not around when 2160 came out, the experiences are very similar so expect 2160 to be a worse looking, less-balanced game with a practically dead community (what community?). As for the story -- which no one I've seen has mentioned -- is just terrible. Perhaps if you think the Sci-Fi channel movies have good storylines, then you'll like this... but really the story of this game is about like the sequel to Starship Troopers movie (not the book). That is to say a mediocre story with interesting points that suddenly was **** on and left harden in the sun. The story is more a soap now, with focus on personal relationships, than on politics and the cultures of the different factions. Once again, average in itself but terrible in respect to its predecessor. ______ Take this in stride. The game at least functions. There are at least groupings and defense, and so forth. The AI will kick your ass until you figure out its quircks. There is resource acquisition and technological advancement. But advancement will not get you victory unless one side has completely neglected advancing... But is any of this new? It makes me sad that its predecessor from many years before was vastly superior. It was unique and challenging; this one just seems to want to be a Blizzard game. But I say not all games need to be Blizzard games: there needs to be variety, and this game simply is not it. Some people care nothing about variety. Then, please, play this game: you will enjoy the monotony, I'm sure. _____ Perhaps this will sate those who have not played the game yet see fit to give a game a good rating due to not seeing a "reason" for a negative review. _____ Main negatives: -> Gameplay focused on reflex rather than strategy. -> Repetitive, lack of variety and customization of the predecessor. -> Poor, melodramatic storyline. -> Drops cultural and political complexity of predecessor. -> Lack of community. _____ Positive: +> It works. +> It's cheap (now). +> You can laugh at the bad writing. +> There is advancement and neat technologies (though they do not mean much, honestly, during gameplay). Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Easily worthy of your attention, and a worthy game to carry on a great franchise. Earth 2160 has most of what it's renowned predecessors brought to RTS gaming.....deep, involved gameplay, excellent 3D camera control, long involved missions, unique factions and excellent multiplayer. It adds a sleek new look with graphics that will stand the test of time, some colorful characters and a newEasily worthy of your attention, and a worthy game to carry on a great franchise. Earth 2160 has most of what it's renowned predecessors brought to RTS gaming.....deep, involved gameplay, excellent 3D camera control, long involved missions, unique factions and excellent multiplayer. It adds a sleek new look with graphics that will stand the test of time, some colorful characters and a new race. I've played a lot of RTS games, and few have matched the depth of gameplay that Earth 2160 has to offer. It is one of the few games that allow you to orchestrate elaborate tactical maneuvers with your units using the record commands function. It works much like setting waypoints but gives you precise control over what your units will do and when. So you can give orders to groups of units and they will wait your command to execute their orders and then make adjustments on the fly. The four "factions" are all truly unique, sporting their own weapon systems to mount on their vehicles, which can be tailor made to perform various functions like main battle vehicle, artillery or anti-aircraft. They are all similar in function, but the actual weapons are different. Their buildings and resource gathering methods are unique as well. Each faction also has it's own "hero", and these characters figure prominently in the campaign, and not just in cut scenes, they are powerful tools at your disposal. Using these characters has a slight RPG feel to it, they don't level up or anything like that but the do have an inventory of weapons, armor and gadgets. The only real downside to the game I can see is clunky lip syncing when the characters speak, and some of the voice acting can grate on you, one voice, that of Sebastian comes to mind. But you get a nice package, four robust single player campaigns, skirmish and multiplayer. I've only played multiplayer on a LAN so I can't account for online play. For what it's going for these days, usually less than 10 dollars, every Sci-Fi RTS fan should have this game. One thing this game is not is a cheap Command & Conquer rip off. I Like the Command & Conquer series as well, but for a deeper, more cerebral gaming experience the Earth 2150/60 series is light years ahead. Expand
  9. TrevorD
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    I played this game for 15 hours straight before I had to pu tit down to go to bed. It is a great installment in the series. Super hard for those casual RTS'ers. It can take a lot of trial and error to get a good army going. The graphics are truely awesome, and the game is one of the most stable I have ever seen. no freezing (Other than auto saves), no crashes. I had 1 glitch ONCE and I played this game for 15 hours straight before I had to pu tit down to go to bed. It is a great installment in the series. Super hard for those casual RTS'ers. It can take a lot of trial and error to get a good army going. The graphics are truely awesome, and the game is one of the most stable I have ever seen. no freezing (Other than auto saves), no crashes. I had 1 glitch ONCE and it was fixed with a quick reload of the game. The game engine movies are sub par sadly, and the voice overs, though alright, the lip sync just doesn't exist. It's like your characters are pretending to be packman while they talk. But it is fine because it still gets the point across. I highly recommend this game to everyone. And if you played 2140 or 2150, you MUST get this game. And to any fools that say this game is to complicated, go back to school, learn to read, then try the game again. The game explanations make perfect sense. Some weapon descriptions are lacking, but just try them out. Also, someone below said you have unlimited resources... I don't think he even played the game. Resource limitation is probably the only thing that hurts this game. You have a very short window in the missions to learn which weapons do what before you just barely have enough resources for 1 or 2 attacks. GET THIS GAME! Expand
  10. DanF
    Dec 30, 2008
    4
    Purchased Dec 2008. Basically thought I couldn't go wrong for a game <$5. I was wrong. Its pretty rubbish. Dialog was probably written by an adolescent (i.e. pretty lame). There are a few bugs/annoying "features". Honestly you are not scraping the barrel here, but its pretty bad. I can think of no good reason to buy this game now....i.e. in 2009.
  11. DanF
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Wonderful game, definitely before its time, and we need to see more games with the customization and fun of this game.
  12. GatlusS.
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    Really amazing graphics for its time, but the game play mechanics can be a bit rough. And the voices suck really bad. But it's the overall violence and tactic developing zazz that makes it sweet
  13. WilliamL.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing RTS. It has many of the best features of CC, SC, and others in the field, along with some nice fetures usally assoicated with TBS games. Only downside I've found with it is the poor translation of the text and dialogue at some points.
  14. Chadly
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Great Great Game! You have to spend some time with it though. I have personally experienced the intelligence of the A.I. They sent in a few planes to test out my defenses, when I saw them get shot down I didn't think twice, but about 4 minuets later they brought in a whole fleet, took down my air defense and also a big cannon. And then 10 seconds later they sent in there ground Great Great Game! You have to spend some time with it though. I have personally experienced the intelligence of the A.I. They sent in a few planes to test out my defenses, when I saw them get shot down I didn't think twice, but about 4 minuets later they brought in a whole fleet, took down my air defense and also a big cannon. And then 10 seconds later they sent in there ground troops. The voices are horrible, but you do get used to them. And at first there were some technical issues (my units still get killed when put in a structure) but with the patches and a few tweaking it works. There are also some mods out there. To be honest, it is a bit rusty, but it is the best rusty strategy game I have played ever. In fact, I wish I could play it now, but I am at work and will have to wait. Expand
  15. KulkunS.
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    Simple idea and still very fun. Just grab all the resources you can, build up a force, and launch at the enemy before they take you out. Had not trouble with anything except the dialogue messing up a bit too often (hence not a 10). Still, it's a great time killer and the strategies of each side make it a bit more interesting. Very nice graphics.
  16. Sp1ffZ.
    Dec 12, 2006
    7
    This game is pretty good, kinda star craftish. Background story sounds alot like battlestar galactica, homeworld destroyed, only a few thousand humans left. Also kinda like planet side with 3 factions to choose from. w/e shoot me for saying this.
  17. DeJhonM.
    Nov 7, 2006
    8
    I would like to start off by explaining why Earth 2160 has a low score, or rather why I believe it does. Earth 2160 is a no explanation given type game, you have to learn what does what in order to actually beat the game. Now I have only played a little, but on the "defend the space gun" ED mission I finally realized what I was doing wrong. First off, NEVER use the default vehicles, you I would like to start off by explaining why Earth 2160 has a low score, or rather why I believe it does. Earth 2160 is a no explanation given type game, you have to learn what does what in order to actually beat the game. Now I have only played a little, but on the "defend the space gun" ED mission I finally realized what I was doing wrong. First off, NEVER use the default vehicles, you will want to specialize your vehicles for the situation you need them for. The LC, for example, use energy based weapons... so having energy repulsive armor is a good idea. Rockets are great anti building, but don't hit fast moving vehicles as well, let alone infantry. Air Craft can destroy an LC base in a matter of minutes, if all anti-air craft vehicles / sentry guns are destroyed. The LC has few, if any, anti-aircraft capabilities... however their ground capabilities are quite impressive. Second, unlike games like Warcraft, sending in everyone at once WILL get everyone killed. You actually need to analyze the targets and choose which ones to take down... Destroying power generators/distributors is a great way to severely cripple enemy defenses. And although you can 'destroy' enemy structures, the ED can 'invade' enemy structures and destroy them from within. The LC has a unit called the 'hacker' which can take over enemy vehicles, what you have here is a new level of complexity. Actual battlefield tactics rather then assault... but the information you are given in game is inadequate and will NOT help you at all. You have to be able to recognize each structure the enemy has and be able to know what technology they are using. For instance, the ED and LC both have an anti rocket vehicle which WILL make your rocket attacks ineffective. The differences in combat is so much different then other RTS Expand
  18. PeterV.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    This is possibly the best RTS i've ever played, and I've played a lot of RTSs. I got my copy before E2160 joined steam so I didnt have to worry about the authentication issues. E2160 has great graphics, gameplay that stands out among other RTSs, and a long campaign and good multiplayer. The complicated style of the game might be it's only bad point, but once you're This is possibly the best RTS i've ever played, and I've played a lot of RTSs. I got my copy before E2160 joined steam so I didnt have to worry about the authentication issues. E2160 has great graphics, gameplay that stands out among other RTSs, and a long campaign and good multiplayer. The complicated style of the game might be it's only bad point, but once you're used to it, this just adds more strategy and makes it even more fun. If you're new to E2160 don't just try it for 5 minutes and say "This is too complex, I give up." Take some time to learn it and you will love it. In my opinion it's a newer more complex Starcraft. Get a retail version and not steam version. Expand
  19. Martin
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Great game! Cool units and good gameplay.
  20. Briani
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    i havnt played this game before, but going on what ive seen, i gonna give it a nine. i read some of the highest reviews and some of the lowest reviews, and what ive seen is that were the high reviews are well written and support there claims with fact, the low revies are stupid and dont make much sense. take Danton Q. for instense. he doesnt really say why he thinks those things. he justi havnt played this game before, but going on what ive seen, i gonna give it a nine. i read some of the highest reviews and some of the lowest reviews, and what ive seen is that were the high reviews are well written and support there claims with fact, the low revies are stupid and dont make much sense. take Danton Q. for instense. he doesnt really say why he thinks those things. he just says it sucks. and besides, its only 20 bucks. and how could one say it offers nothing new? you can design your own f***ing units! how is that not not new?! Expand
  21. DantonQ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    3
    Very poor rts, nothing new in this game except the possibility to costum vehicules. It looks like an old game (but it needs a big graphic card).
  22. CP
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I first bought this game over Valve's Steam client, and was disaappointed with what i saw in terms of authentication- the game would not even run! This was made especially frustrating by the fact that the one time i had played it, it looked and played amazingly well. so I went and bought the retail for 9 bucks, and found an amazing game. the graphics are top notch- easily the best in I first bought this game over Valve's Steam client, and was disaappointed with what i saw in terms of authentication- the game would not even run! This was made especially frustrating by the fact that the one time i had played it, it looked and played amazingly well. so I went and bought the retail for 9 bucks, and found an amazing game. the graphics are top notch- easily the best in any RTS game out at the moment. The customization features harken to "Dawn of War", and make for an experience that makes multiplayer games over LAN, internet, or Skirmish reason enough to get the game in and of itself. the campaign, while a little iffy, gets the story through with good enough story telling to give you incentive to reach the next mission, along with main characters that are halfway decent. in short- go out, get the retail (not the bug-riddled steam) version of this game, and enjoy! Expand
  23. AshC.
    Jun 5, 2006
    6
    Steam version. Great game - really good RTS with loads of great touches. If you like "Warcraft" type games, you will love this (and I mean LOVE it)... ...if you can play it. The problem (at least on Steam) lies with the authentication process. Half the time you won't be able to play - not even in single player - because it says it can't authenticate you, or that there has been a Steam version. Great game - really good RTS with loads of great touches. If you like "Warcraft" type games, you will love this (and I mean LOVE it)... ...if you can play it. The problem (at least on Steam) lies with the authentication process. Half the time you won't be able to play - not even in single player - because it says it can't authenticate you, or that there has been a hardware change on your machine since you last played and you need to re-register. If they could get this sorted out, I would give the game 8 or maybe even 9. Collapse
  24. MattK.
    Jun 2, 2006
    2
    I have to give this a 2 as I cant actually play it 98% of the time because of the excessive copy prevention. Installed on steam it requires a constant internet connection, and if (for whatever reason) the game cannot connect to it's precious little server, the game will not even come close to loading. It's a shame as the first time I ran the game it played without a hitch, since I have to give this a 2 as I cant actually play it 98% of the time because of the excessive copy prevention. Installed on steam it requires a constant internet connection, and if (for whatever reason) the game cannot connect to it's precious little server, the game will not even come close to loading. It's a shame as the first time I ran the game it played without a hitch, since then it's just been a frustrating problem for me. I haven't been able to play it for one minute in the past week and a half! Expand
  25. mRhaHN
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best RTS games around. The campaign has a great story, really interesting. The graphics is in my opinion better than the graphics of Age of Empires 3. It´s very complex and allows multiple ways of playing. The units are really cool, the special-weapons are also very innovative. The 4 partys differ extremely, so it´s kind of 4 games in one if you play skirmish.The One of the best RTS games around. The campaign has a great story, really interesting. The graphics is in my opinion better than the graphics of Age of Empires 3. It´s very complex and allows multiple ways of playing. The units are really cool, the special-weapons are also very innovative. The 4 partys differ extremely, so it´s kind of 4 games in one if you play skirmish.The multiplayer-mode is really great, I play it on LANs with my friends all the time. I would reccomend everyone, who likes RTS games, and is not an absolute beginner, to buy this game! Expand
  26. TimL.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! Fantastic graphics, great gameplay and a community that works with the developers. Buy it!
  27. MichaelC.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    it has the beautiful ghrapis and it has non-stop action.You can even customize your own vehicles! What can't you do?
  28. Silinder101
    May 12, 2006
    8
    A very good very hard RTS. A very steep learning curve will put off some people, but after a while you start to learn how to play each faction. In some places superbly polished (being able to add new units directly to a group), but missing silly things, like changing your colour in the MP game. Overall a great game.
  29. MatthewV.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    So far- I am in dear love of this game.
  30. JulesA.
    Apr 23, 2006
    3
    I purchased the Game and discovered a great gap in expectations. I thought it to be significantly sub standard. Its an interesting concept from those Mars books but the interface is poor and the gameplay difficult to control. Its cheap knoff off of command and conquer and would recommend anyone else not to waste their money! CONS: - interface poor - instrcutions limited - can crash - I purchased the Game and discovered a great gap in expectations. I thought it to be significantly sub standard. Its an interesting concept from those Mars books but the interface is poor and the gameplay difficult to control. Its cheap knoff off of command and conquer and would recommend anyone else not to waste their money! CONS: - interface poor - instrcutions limited - can crash - graphics okay but nothing special - basically mine and build to conquer concept - loose plot and missions - freezes when saving or in certain combat situations temporarily but only your mouse freezes noit yur enemies. I have great machine with top of the line graphics card, so its not the computer. Pro: - they had build in cheats so i could end the agony faster. Expand
  31. justin
    Apr 22, 2006
    2
    Dude rubbish... i get these boxes like collored and i can't play campaign so 100% lame with no help i can't fix... and not viedo because i have played skirmish fine... graphics good and sound good gameplay fun but not being able to play capaign or hell even multiplayer [because i dont get folders] whitch is lame and gay btw
  32. MichaëlC.
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Very nice game ;) Wow, i like this RTS !
  33. Timgélinas-h.
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Ses comme un vagin mou. une sorte de pénétration dans le cul. un viole.
  34. RayD.
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    This game was surprisingly good.. i was expecting just another RTS but.. i got what i wanted and im happy.. From some other players i hear GFX problems.. but my comp is pretty hype so i just throw it in full gear n rock those ED's lol Also, i gave it a 9 because the music!!! its the other problem i found lol need a wider variety.. USC fo life
  35. Gerard
    Apr 13, 2006
    6
    I played the demo version so hopefully some of the quirks are worked out of it. Positives: The game has beautiful graphics. Negatives: It's not a very refined game. It feels like Warcraft or Starcraft minus some of the small intangibles that can make a game either very smooth, interactive and fun or annoying. You have guys that you might consider your 'hero'. Your supposed I played the demo version so hopefully some of the quirks are worked out of it. Positives: The game has beautiful graphics. Negatives: It's not a very refined game. It feels like Warcraft or Starcraft minus some of the small intangibles that can make a game either very smooth, interactive and fun or annoying. You have guys that you might consider your 'hero'. Your supposed to keep them alive but their life box is so small that you either have to zoom in or guestimate how much life they have left. This game could benefit from a 'help' button or a 'quick tips' section. Expand
  36. TimmyS.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    a very irresistable game, at first i thought i was gonna sell it on ebay but then i got into it. - mainly because of the graphics, the the non-stop action, all the gameplay stuff, but most of all because of the storyline! its really fun to play once you've got into it, which only takes about 5 minutes. i played it for 4 hours non-stop! i think thats my record. Though i dont find it a very irresistable game, at first i thought i was gonna sell it on ebay but then i got into it. - mainly because of the graphics, the the non-stop action, all the gameplay stuff, but most of all because of the storyline! its really fun to play once you've got into it, which only takes about 5 minutes. i played it for 4 hours non-stop! i think thats my record. Though i dont find it as complex as "halfliife2", it is still a great game. give it a go guys - its worth it! - itonly cost u £20, thats a good price for a game like that! Expand
  37. MartinGreca
    Apr 11, 2006
    9
    Not as complex as the prequel.
    But still one of the most innovative rts games lately. Plus the great engine, both showing good effects on low performance systems, and the currently most amazing graphic in rts games for high performance systems.
    Rts Fans will feel very comfortable with the 4 extreme different races (including Aliens, LC, ED and UCS), and the great Single Player part.
    Not as complex as the prequel.
    But still one of the most innovative rts games lately. Plus the great engine, both showing good effects on low performance systems, and the currently most amazing graphic in rts games for high performance systems.

    Rts Fans will feel very comfortable with the 4 extreme different races (including Aliens, LC, ED and UCS), and the great Single Player part.

    The Bugs wich were really disturbing in the beginning have been fixed after several patches.

    Annoying things about this game are the less of care with wich reality pump and zuxxez are handling there costumers now and the missing of "Earth Net 2", wich has been promised a long time ago for this game.

    The only way to play balanced in the mp mode is to use the "Reba Mod" wich you can get at http://www.insideearth.de/ . But Reality Pump has promised to distribute a new Patch including this Reba Beta and the Earth Net 2.

    Another problem are the aliens wich aren't balanced in the mp mode.

    You should first try the demo (wich can be downloaded at http://www.earth2160.com/) and then think about downloading this game.

    All in all a great RTS game, especially for Single Player fans, the only really disturbing thing is the MP Part, wich will hopefully be fixed by Reality Pump in time.
    Expand
  38. KDep
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Initially, I thought this game was crap. Then I got into it a bit more and recognized the deep level of detail this game goes into. You can create your own untis by combining things like engines, shields, weapons, armor etc. to create thousands of combinations, each of which is useful in different situations. My only major gripe is with weapons. There are two main types - lasers and Initially, I thought this game was crap. Then I got into it a bit more and recognized the deep level of detail this game goes into. You can create your own untis by combining things like engines, shields, weapons, armor etc. to create thousands of combinations, each of which is useful in different situations. My only major gripe is with weapons. There are two main types - lasers and missles. Lasers are useless against buildings, missles are useless against units. There's no middle ground. So basically, you have to build an advanced army, one section to take out defenders, and one to deal with the base itself. That's arguably a good thing. I haven't played long enough to decide. Also, it's one of those "infinite resource" type games where you never need to move your resource gathering and you're only limited by how fast you can suck them up. So the majority of your time is spent waiting for units to train, not building the infrastructure or resource gathering to afford them. Starcraft is still FAR better, but this game is a lot more involved. It appeals to hardcore RTS fans, but this game with frustrate kids very quickly (ie. anyone under 14) Expand
  39. WendyG.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    I like this game as it has very cool graphics, storyline, and one of the few games out there in the RTS world that has an entire race of women heroes
  40. SamoryS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    Good graphics, good perfomace, some what so so interface, complex, Very complex. Agents animation: Bad. Voices... ranges from 4 to 8. Give it a try.
  41. Bigguy
    Sep 5, 2005
    0
    Rubbish, too complex.
  42. RandoW.
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    Pretty decent game. If you liked the old Earth titles you'll like this one too. What I didn't like: The animated pictures of the hero units plainly look bad. A still, pre-drawn / rendered image would have worked better than these (the mouth animation is really poor and not sync at all). The voices aren't great either. For me this heavily impacts ambience. The controls are Pretty decent game. If you liked the old Earth titles you'll like this one too. What I didn't like: The animated pictures of the hero units plainly look bad. A still, pre-drawn / rendered image would have worked better than these (the mouth animation is really poor and not sync at all). The voices aren't great either. For me this heavily impacts ambience. The controls are pretty awquard. Even though you can switch to the common Starcraft / C&C Generals controls, they don't seem to be tested well and overlap other mappings (rotate view, for example). Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. No matter how good it is - and in Skirmish mode, it really is pretty good - it's a bit saddening. The future never seemed so far away.
  2. If you are sick of the countless WW2 RTS games on the market today you’ll be a fool if you let Earth 2160 pass you by. With four campaigns and an extensive multiplayer mode we can see this one lasting well into the development of "Earth 2170."
  3. PC Format
    72
    It's the sci-fi game for RTS fans who found "Dawn of War" a little too streamlined. A game by fans for fans, but few others. [Sept 2005, p.90]