• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Earth 2160 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EARTH 2160 is the official sequel of the award winning, very popular and top selling EARTH series and continues the brand of "Earth 2140" and "Earth 2150." Only a few thousand humans managed to escape from the Earth before its collapse in 2150 A.D. They spent the next few years on the terraEARTH 2160 is the official sequel of the award winning, very popular and top selling EARTH series and continues the brand of "Earth 2140" and "Earth 2150." Only a few thousand humans managed to escape from the Earth before its collapse in 2150 A.D. They spent the next few years on the terra forming of the red planet, developing new technologies and building up new civilisations. Somehow each of the three fractions "Eurasian Dynasty", "United Civilised States" and "Lunar Corporation" did this independently and separately from each other - but in the year 2160 something strange happens in this new world. If ED, UCS and LC join forces or continue their old war against each other - is possibly now, up to the player. Beside the usual venues in the solar system, there are some strange looking locations: planets with moving and reflecting liquid surfaces. And beside the standard RTS - resource acquisition, base building and destruction of enemy bases, the year 2160 will have some adventure inspired tasks for the players. [Zuxxez] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. It may not replace "Star Craft" in terms of stature—but it’s damn close. The multiplayer matches are suitably intense, and the single-player campaign delivers everything in terms of both expectation and intention.
  2. The singleplayer story may not win any awards any time soon and the voice acting will most likely make you go nuts on more than one occasion, but the solid set of features, good AI as well as a dedicated and active online community will keep you in the front of your PC for hours on end.
  3. A really good RTS game that will capture your imagination as you try to become victorious over your foes.
  4. It's the sci-fi game for RTS fans who found "Dawn of War" a little too streamlined. A game by fans for fans, but few others. [Sept 2005, p.90]
  5. An extremely robust and well-featured RTS with hours of play stretched out waiting to be dived into. The fact that the usual selling point of such titles – the campaign mode – is rather disappointing interferes with how the game will ultimately be received.
  6. Most of the attraction was the aliens, though it was difficult to restrain the urge to lift them out of the genre-bound confines of Earth 2160 and into the groundbreaking RTS they deserve.
  7. "Starcraft," sans that pesky "fun" thing. [Jan 2005, p.90]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. TimL.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! Fantastic graphics, great gameplay and a community that works with the developers. Buy it!
  2. Chadly
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Great Great Game! You have to spend some time with it though. I have personally experienced the intelligence of the A.I. They sent in a few Great Great Game! You have to spend some time with it though. I have personally experienced the intelligence of the A.I. They sent in a few planes to test out my defenses, when I saw them get shot down I didn't think twice, but about 4 minuets later they brought in a whole fleet, took down my air defense and also a big cannon. And then 10 seconds later they sent in there ground troops. The voices are horrible, but you do get used to them. And at first there were some technical issues (my units still get killed when put in a structure) but with the patches and a few tweaking it works. There are also some mods out there. To be honest, it is a bit rusty, but it is the best rusty strategy game I have played ever. In fact, I wish I could play it now, but I am at work and will have to wait. Expand
  3. MichaelC.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    it has the beautiful ghrapis and it has non-stop action.You can even customize your own vehicles! What can't you do?
  4. MartinGreca
    Apr 11, 2006
    9
    Not as complex as the prequel.
    But still one of the most innovative rts games lately. Plus the great engine, both showing good effects on low
    Not as complex as the prequel.
    But still one of the most innovative rts games lately. Plus the great engine, both showing good effects on low performance systems, and the currently most amazing graphic in rts games for high performance systems.

    Rts Fans will feel very comfortable with the 4 extreme different races (including Aliens, LC, ED and UCS), and the great Single Player part.

    The Bugs wich were really disturbing in the beginning have been fixed after several patches.

    Annoying things about this game are the less of care with wich reality pump and zuxxez are handling there costumers now and the missing of "Earth Net 2", wich has been promised a long time ago for this game.

    The only way to play balanced in the mp mode is to use the "Reba Mod" wich you can get at http://www.insideearth.de/ . But Reality Pump has promised to distribute a new Patch including this Reba Beta and the Earth Net 2.

    Another problem are the aliens wich aren't balanced in the mp mode.

    You should first try the demo (wich can be downloaded at http://www.earth2160.com/) and then think about downloading this game.

    All in all a great RTS game, especially for Single Player fans, the only really disturbing thing is the MP Part, wich will hopefully be fixed by Reality Pump in time.
    Expand
  5. RandoW.
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    Pretty decent game. If you liked the old Earth titles you'll like this one too. What I didn't like: The animated pictures of the Pretty decent game. If you liked the old Earth titles you'll like this one too. What I didn't like: The animated pictures of the hero units plainly look bad. A still, pre-drawn / rendered image would have worked better than these (the mouth animation is really poor and not sync at all). The voices aren't great either. For me this heavily impacts ambience. The controls are pretty awquard. Even though you can switch to the common Starcraft / C&C Generals controls, they don't seem to be tested well and overlap other mappings (rotate view, for example). Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    5
    What I have to say about this game is that it is mediocre, and this -- after its fantastic predecessor, Earth 2150, is a serious let down forWhat I have to say about this game is that it is mediocre, and this -- after its fantastic predecessor, Earth 2150, is a serious let down for previous fans. What I laugh about is apparently the only people who bought this game did so through steam; I did not. I'm one of the true originals who was excited about a sequel for one of my favorite strategies of all time. Therefore: my rating has nothing to do with technicals. My reviews never do. It is about a much more crucial facet: the content of the game itself. _____ Allow me to just summarize and say that there is nothing here that really separates 2160 from any other strategy. If you are looking at a new strategy to seek variety, then look elsewhere. Unlike 2150, you cannot really customize your units to be your own, unique design. Furthermore, the pacing is that of Starcraft II: that is to say clicking speed and reaction time is more important than strategy and tactics. And advancing technologically seems irritatingly unrewarding. You'll do it to keep the status quo, but don't expect to come out with some powerful tech that your enemy cannot counter with pure massive numbers. Most will say "so what," but the original did not play with this feature and the fact that they changed it to its current state of merely being a copy of other strategy games from the time. Though SCII was not around when 2160 came out, the experiences are very similar so expect 2160 to be a worse looking, less-balanced game with a practically dead community (what community?). As for the story -- which no one I've seen has mentioned -- is just terrible. Perhaps if you think the Sci-Fi channel movies have good storylines, then you'll like this... but really the story of this game is about like the sequel to Starship Troopers movie (not the book). That is to say a mediocre story with interesting points that suddenly was **** on and left harden in the sun. The story is more a soap now, with focus on personal relationships, than on politics and the cultures of the different factions. Once again, average in itself but terrible in respect to its predecessor. ______ Take this in stride. The game at least functions. There are at least groupings and defense, and so forth. The AI will kick your ass until you figure out its quircks. There is resource acquisition and technological advancement. But advancement will not get you victory unless one side has completely neglected advancing... But is any of this new? It makes me sad that its predecessor from many years before was vastly superior. It was unique and challenging; this one just seems to want to be a Blizzard game. But I say not all games need to be Blizzard games: there needs to be variety, and this game simply is not it. Some people care nothing about variety. Then, please, play this game: you will enjoy the monotony, I'm sure. _____ Perhaps this will sate those who have not played the game yet see fit to give a game a good rating due to not seeing a "reason" for a negative review. _____ Main negatives: -> Gameplay focused on reflex rather than strategy. -> Repetitive, lack of variety and customization of the predecessor. -> Poor, melodramatic storyline. -> Drops cultural and political complexity of predecessor. -> Lack of community. _____ Positive: +> It works. +> It's cheap (now). +> You can laugh at the bad writing. +> There is advancement and neat technologies (though they do not mean much, honestly, during gameplay). Expand
  7. Bigguy
    Sep 5, 2005
    0
    Rubbish, too complex.

See all 43 User Reviews