User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Its pretty good killing huge bosses the list goes on :)
    Its really an avarage game, but it has major drawback like the Graphics looks bad, the gun sounds sounds cheap.

    And it feels cheap so i would say like a 5.9
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I can't give it any higher than 7, It is fun but lacks the level difference from the original. The story is crap. The fact that there are 4 classes and many weapons is a HUGE improvement. The frantic fighting is awesome. This is a friend game though, so don't play without friends
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    I want to be charitable as this is an indie game and it isnt terrible and it didnt have any of the huge bugs many releases do these days. But personally, I found it extremely boring.
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    Loads of simple, replayable fun. The campaign is short, but the four classes and large variety of weapons and equipment to choose from makes missions a joy to revisit. The graphics are dated but perform well. Animations are smooth and the game hardly slows down with tons of crap on the screen. I recently purchased this game through Steam, and boy, online is dead. I haven't tried toLoads of simple, replayable fun. The campaign is short, but the four classes and large variety of weapons and equipment to choose from makes missions a joy to revisit. The graphics are dated but perform well. Animations are smooth and the game hardly slows down with tons of crap on the screen. I recently purchased this game through Steam, and boy, online is dead. I haven't tried to play the campaign co-op, but I could not find a single person to play survival. This is a shame because this is clearly a game designed around co-op play. Your AI squad mates in the campaign are competent, but things would go so much more smoothly if I had a human player or two. The survival mode is a wave defense game type that is also highly replayable. The downside here is, unlike the campaign where you have multiple classes, you can only choose one class for survival - the trooper. You can still equip him with the trooper specific unlocks you acquire for him during the campaign, but why the developers chose to limit class selection for this game type is beyond me. It severely detracts from the game's lifespan. Since this game has been out for a while, I'm beyond hoping they will patch it in. If you have some friends to play with or are simply dying for some chaotic old school shooter mayhem, pick this one up. Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    The guiltiest of pleasures. Indulge yourself and a few friends, but go read a book afterwards or something. [March 2012, p.62]
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    A frenetic, old fashioned monster blaster best played with friends. Creepy-crawlyphobes, look elsewhere.
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    70
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is an archaic, explosive and entertaining experience that deserves to be played. It's a great way to unwind after a long and tiresome day, and the co-op and character classes should appeal to whatever niche audience it may attract – while it's short and lacks variety in just about every department, it still deserves a few hours of your free time, provided you find yourself in the right mindset while playing it.