Eldritch PC

Eldritch Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eldritch is a 1st-person action game inspired by roguelikes, immersive sims, and H. P. Lovecraft. Unearth ancient secrets and find your path to freedom. Sneak, fight, and explore strange worlds. Invoke mystical powers to augment your play style. Randomly generated levels provide freshEldritch is a 1st-person action game inspired by roguelikes, immersive sims, and H. P. Lovecraft. Unearth ancient secrets and find your path to freedom. Sneak, fight, and explore strange worlds. Invoke mystical powers to augment your play style. Randomly generated levels provide fresh challenges and opportunities. Unlock shortcuts to jump directly to deeper dungeons. [Minor Key Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    Even in this initial release, even after a dozen hours of review play, I don't feel bored with Eldritch.
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    Part Minecraft, part Lovecraft, all cry in the corner-craft. Bring clean underwear. [Feb 2014, p.78]
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Eldritch is brutally tough until you learn it, and then settles down to be pleasantly challenging, It’s a big random first-person dungeon crawl dripping with atmosphere, evil and fun in equal measure, and as a bonus you get to be a librarian reigning in the power of dark tomes of terrible knowledge.
  4. Eldritch is a punishing difficult game that tests a player’s ability to survive in a Lovecraft-inspired world.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    This game has surely glimpsed the Necronomicon, and while the blood-curdling rituals may not bewitch you for years to come, it's a delightful cantrip to enchant you for a fortnight or so.
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    77
    Eldritch's various components tend to work quite well on their own, and create most of a great Roguelike. But the speed and arbitrary nature of death means that the crazy desperate stories of near-death (or death) that make other games in the genre so memorable are unlikely to occur.
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    Such well-executed atmosphere and level design could greatly improve with just a few tweaks to the items and systems. [Nov 2013, p.86]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! Even for the cute graphics, the sound design and randomness of the game makes it terrifying! Hell, i made an accountThis game is amazing! Even for the cute graphics, the sound design and randomness of the game makes it terrifying! Hell, i made an account just to review this! The only problem is: There is so little weapons, on;y about 5 or 6, but other than that, the game has a lot of potential and since it just came out, the there is a big chance the devs will add more to It! Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Please keep in mind thus is my very first review. Thanks.

    Eldritch is an indie rougelikelike developed by minir key games. You wake up as a
    Please keep in mind thus is my very first review. Thanks.

    Eldritch is an indie rougelikelike developed by minir key games. You wake up as a librairian stuck in a library, and before you are 3 books, every.book takes you to a new world which you can explore, and fight monsters in. Athe end of every level is a soul. The soul for the first world opens another book/world. Thr game is mistly easy but there is a HUGE difficulty spike in the second level. The game is very low on content, and i wish to see more, but until now, Eldritch is enough yo satisfy my indie rougelike needs.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    Pretty fun rouge-like game. I'm a fan of the lovecraftian universe and the first time playing the Dagon dungeon was a lot of fun. When I gotPretty fun rouge-like game. I'm a fan of the lovecraftian universe and the first time playing the Dagon dungeon was a lot of fun. When I got to Nyarlathotep dungeon, thinks got creepy as hell. Statues that are similar to the weeping angels and these things that keep coming back to life when you kill them.

    Overall the game is enjoyable and it's not very expensive. it's good entertainment at that price.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    This basically Minecraft on acid, with a warped feel that gets under your skin and makes it completely unique. I haven't really delved into itThis basically Minecraft on acid, with a warped feel that gets under your skin and makes it completely unique. I haven't really delved into it too much seeing as other games have grabbed me more but it's certainly hard to fault Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    This game is fun, it's addictive, I want more! Whilst the graphics are deliberately basic in a Mine-craft type way, the lighting is very niceThis game is fun, it's addictive, I want more! Whilst the graphics are deliberately basic in a Mine-craft type way, the lighting is very nice and the game is polished. The game starts off in a library which is fixed, most of the levels are randomly generated and regenerate if you die, but you still have banked money and unlocks when you re-spawn back at the library, I managed to only die a couple of times, you can cheat by backing up the files. There are tactics for dealing with the harder enemies.

    Having said that, I would have liked to see a bit more rpg to it and a bit more story, it is a short game. Only buy it on sale, the full price is not reasonable. Available at steam and humble bundle stores.
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    You'll hear people call this a sort of minecraft clone, and yes, obviously it's the easiest comparison there is. What you need to decide forYou'll hear people call this a sort of minecraft clone, and yes, obviously it's the easiest comparison there is. What you need to decide for yourself is whether or not that's a bad thing. In my opinion, this is an enjoyable rogue-like sim that blends some Lovecrafian intrigue with a nice sense of exploration.

    I love Lovecraft, and while I think Minecraft is somewhat overrated, I have enjoyed that as well...so for me, this game was right up my alley. It was also relatively cheap compared to Minecraft, and while some MC mods might offer a similar narrative, Eldritch focuses on it entirely.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Well... where to begin? First off, the graphics is... well it could just as well been released as a free Minecraft mod. It looks likeWell... where to begin? First off, the graphics is... well it could just as well been released as a free Minecraft mod. It looks like Minecraft, it smells like Minecraft. If you don't like Minecraft just like me, you will not like this one either. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews