Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Fallen Enchantress players will be able to explore the world of Elemental and discover a wide range of unique locations, including dangerous wild lands that can't be settled until they are conquered.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    89
    A collection of average mechanics combine to make a big, complicated, pretty good game. It's no "Master of Magic", but there is real potential here.
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    85
    Fixes most of Elemental’s technical and design problems, making it an addictively complex and rewarding strategy game.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    83
    I like Fallen Enchantress. It's the closest anyone has come to producing the game I've been dreaming about since I was an adolescent with visions of wizards carving fantastical empires out of a hostile world. But as much as I feel like I should be head-over-heels in love with it, my 50-plus hours with the game leave me satisfied rather than ecstatic. Maybe some enterprising modder will use the included tools to expand on the base game's good parts while mitigating its issues and add a little soul to the mix. I'll gladly dump another 50 hours into Fallen Enchantress on that blessed day.
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    78
    Fallen Enchantress improves on the first Elemental game by leaps and bounds, but still fails to enchant. Heroes and armies are fun to play with, but the mediocre empire building lacks that something which really would hook you in. [Dec 2012]
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    A smart, challenging strategy game with tons of depth.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. 65
    I like a game that tries to combine several different gameplay styles, but the overall experience seems rushed and unpolished. It offers plenty of content and skills, yet doesn't seem to excel at any particular one. Elemental: Fallen Enchantress does a lot of things right but never truly delivers on any of them.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 77
  2. Negative: 15 out of 77
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    Fantastic strategy game from Stardock!

    This is the best game from them since Galactic Civilization2.

    The game has great gameplay, good
    performance and optimization and it has great replay value. Any PC gamer who likes Civilization, Galactic Civilization or MOM will love this one! Do yourself a favor and go pick this wonderful game up ASAP!

    The last game had alot of issues (Bugs, gameplay issues, crashes,etc..) but this one improves in every single way possible. The UI is also nicely improved and a good tutorial has been added. Stardock adding all these new people to help out on the game really helped in the long run.

    Up there with Borderlands2 as my favorite game so far of 2012!
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    What A fun game, I cant stop playing. The start of the game is the most fun, i find my self starting over and over. Lots of quest and great build for Hero's. A lot of people keep trashing the graphics but i think the game looks great and plays great. The MOD making is fun also. A must have if you are not some D-bag who wants the game to be some BS super game. Oh and Civ games are good but there not that good. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Good:
    - 4X strategy and RPG combined
    - Customization of units (Would I like to build a unit with spear or hammer, Shield or not, Armor
    pieces of leather, iron mail, chain mail, Some perks to improve HP's, horse or some magic items etc)
    - AI (good and challenging AI from release, this is really seldom in these days)
    - Living world with dragons, ogres, spiders et to kill, Quests to be done and treasures to be found
    - Bugfree, which you cannot take for granted either

    The Bad:
    - Playable races are all humanlike (no orcs here)
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Overall this is an entertaining game. I have played this game for many many hours. Could it be better - yes it could. Given the amount of time the team worked on this title should it have been better - once again yes it should - and probably will be. At this time I would say it is an 8 - it could have been a 9 if a few aspects were more polished. My biggest gripe is that each game feels too samey - i.e., you tend to play same game and strategy every time. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    A great game that is basically a mix between heroes of might and magic and galactic civ. It takes the gameplay style of homm and the customization of galciv and marries them in a really rewarding game. The technology tree is the weakest link of the game, but it is still quite nice. If you are a fan of turn based strategy you should definitely pick it up. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    Didn't really get into this game, and kind of regret buying it now. It has potential, but it really fails in graphics and the combat system feels too much like a mediocre indie game. I'll give it another shot next week but so far I'm a bit disappointed. Expand
  7. May 16, 2013
    0
    Might have been a good game if it weren't crippled by serious framerate issues. Go buy Heroes of Might and Magic 6 instead as that game is graced with a working engine at least. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews