Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. A gorgeous, challenging and thoroughly enjoyable civilization game.
  2. Another great city-builder from a developer that has come to define a niche genre all its own. [Sept 2002, p.93]
  3. 88
    Sure they added some new things like Ancestors (pretty much like gods), the Chinese zodiac signs, new ways of dealing with farming, and multiplayer options for the first time as well as the obligatory improvements to interface. But there isn't really anything here that we haven't already gone through in ancient Rome, Egypt, or Greece.
  4. Well made, but perhaps not remarkably exceptional. In its craftsmanship, it continues to be one of the best urban planning games, par excellence.
  5. 85
    It's not all that new and not all that different from the other games in Sierra's classic "City Building" franchise -- but it's loads of fun all the same.
  6. An impressive game that reeks of addictive potential. If the despot in you wants some exercising, then this is definitely the way to go.
  7. A fun and satisfying management game, ... [but] if "Zeus" was two steps forward for the series, Emperor is its one step back.
  8. Impressions did a good job of refining the gameplay with this installment.
  9. Offers more of the same good stuff, but no real creative innovation. [Nov 2002, p.128]
  10. Offers up the delight of "RollerCoaster Tycoon" with a historical bent and a sharp, colorful Asian edge. [Nov 2002, p.126]
  11. A solid bit of urban planning in an interesting new setting. Period. [Nov 2002, p.88]
  12. Those of you who spent months playing "Caesar III" or "Zeus" can give this game a miss, as it won't bring them anything new at all.
  13. 61
    The game was enjoyable for a few levels. Definitely not $40 worth of levels, though.
  14. A good single player building game that, although has improvements, lacks long-term gameplay abilities.
  15. Even the addition of online multiplayer gaming doesn't do enough to overcome a sense of sameness, continuing problems with the combat system, and the absence of involving mission goals.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 5, 2012
    9
    I think it's the best city builder published by Sierra Entertainment Inc. It's very similar to Pharaoh and Caesar games (produced byI think it's the best city builder published by Sierra Entertainment Inc. It's very similar to Pharaoh and Caesar games (produced by Impressions Games). Unfortunately there is no tutorial, but unlike Pharaoh and Caesar citizens are able to work at every place (their houses don't need to be built so close to it) and you can also build a special wall around houses which allows them to grow (it prevents the bad influence of work places). Full Review »
  2. T.homasB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    One of the, if not the, best city builder games i have ever tried. beautiful, has a good feel and can make you addicted. this must a must to One of the, if not the, best city builder games i have ever tried. beautiful, has a good feel and can make you addicted. this must a must to every city builder. Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. this game make me feel as a king from a kingdom and make me have a power to rule a kingdom a huge kingdom in the world. i start play this game since 12 year ago but view time i lose the source program so i download it again and again until this day i download it again cuz my cd program get bad Full Review »