Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 40
  2. Negative: 18 out of 40
  1. Mad Doc needs to do the full makeover in the expansion. [Jan 2008, p.72]
  2. Undertaking such a vast venture as it does, Earth Empire III requires plenty of the very element it is emulating: time.
  3. All in all, the controls are pretty much the same as any real time strategy but with the added benefits of being able to look at the big picture. Instead of working on one battle, everything a player does affects what might happen in the future.
  4. Empire Earth III’s handful of units per tech tier, problematic unit AI and pathfinding, and lackluster factional differences between the West, East, and Middle East types do little to give RTS players anything they haven’t seen before.
  5. It's a mix of disappointment at missed opportunities, and general boredom because of the stagnation of ideas. [Feb 2008, p.112]
  6. EEIII aims high, but falls victime to over-ambition--there's a lot going on here, but not enough of it has been effectively refined into an entertaining gaming experience. [Jan 2008, p.84]
  7. Throw in flaky pathfinding and a frustratingly close-up camera and EE3 took me dangerously close to angry letter-writing. [Jan 2008, p.78]
  8. I like Globe Domination campaign better than the old storyline driven system and I like the streamlined resource management. Unfortunately, with so many excellent RTS games (SC, CoH, WiC) on the market now EE3 can not compete. [Jan 2008]
  9. I loved Empire Earth and still do to this day, but Empire Earth III is literally in a universe of its own. It barely takes anything of worth from its root and instead we are left with an unremarkable real-time strategy.
  10. With nothing to play aside from the unexciting World Domination and Skirmish modes, I honestly cannot say this game is worth your time and money.
  11. If you don't care about details like the Chinese camping out in Africa, the gamebreaking units, the really bad AI, the even worse pathing logic, and the fact that you can't play the game on hardware more than 2 years old then you may enjoy this.
  12. I am really disappointed with the final product as it is really buggy.
  13. The game does offer some old school RTS fun, but then technical glitches get in the way. The Empire Earth devs aimed for the lowest common denominator, somehow not realizing that simple and easy doesn't always equal fun.
  14. It's the previous two iterations simplified, with a world conquest mode added. It's flawed, yes, but also fast-paced and believable. Doesn't quite capture the magic of the original though, nor does it reach its own potential.
  15. 54
    Fans of the series will be sad to see that this version of Empire Earth has been stripped of the depth and detail that made the first two games so attractive. I mean, it's not as if there's a shortage of shallow RTS games already, so seeing one of our favorite series effectively lobotomized is a real shock.
  16. Overall the Empire Earth series has been a solid strategy title, but Mad Doc have tried to simplify things and have taken it far too far and perhaps destroyed what people wanted in their RTS title.
  17. 53
    Unfortunately for Empire Earth III, some very bad AI coupled with terrible path finding, a watered down experience, frustrating battles and terrible use of character speech leads me to suggest that you spend your hard earned cash on one of the finer genre examples of late, such as "Age of Empires 3" or "Supreme Commander."
  18. Units get stuck on the map, breaking armies apart, and unit responses are downright annoying. The trek from the Stone Age to the future is a painful one, and all players can do is wish for it to stop.
  19. Empire Earth is a disappointment; a title that snubs its core audience only to ineptly target a new one. [Jan 2008, p.57]
  20. 50
    This one-note sex queen takes the series down a peg. Rick Goodman (creator of Empire Earth) is probably rolling over in his grave.
  21. For a franchise that started out by redefining the RTS genre, Empire Earth III has sadly taken a serious turn for the worse, and in this incarnation, you'll find very little of what made the original Empire Earth great.
  22. 50
    Overall, Empire Earth III just feels cheap. Poor visuals, poorly thought out design choices, a completely lack of originality.
  23. The Empire Earth series may just end with this whimper of a game.
  24. In a year of excellent RTS titles, Empire Earth 3 has nothing to offer. In an effort to garner mass appeal, the game has been dumbed down to the point of irrelevancy.
  25. In an attempt to be a game for all, it turned into a game for no one. [Jan 2008, p.78]
  26. 45
    Empire Earth III ultimately proves to be a predictable, tired, uninspired lump of a game.
  27. Removing micromanagement is one thing, but when the gameplay goes out of the door with it, it becomes a serious case of throwing the baby out with the bath water.
  28. The game tries to reach out to more gamers but fails completely. AI pathfinding is broken, gameplay aspects are barely implemented and performance is a stinker. Stay away from this game.
  29. Empire Earth III isn’t an abomination to RTS gaming, but it certainly doesn’t begin to approach recommendable.
  30. Empire Earth 3 simply tries too hard to be popular. In doing so, it strips out everything that made it good in the first place and forgets to replace it with something equally worthwhile.
  31. Quite simply Empire Earth III is a game you should never play in your life. It’s boring, it’s structured as well as the leaning tower of Pisa and in one of the best seasons gaming has ever seen, it really shouldn’t be on the shelves.
  32. I can understand a game being derivative, but only so long as it adds something good to the mix. Empire Earth III fails to meet up to the standards of the games that came before it. It has failed to learn from its own history.
  33. 40
    PC strategy gamers have a lot to choose from on store shelves these days, and bugs, muddled combat, or weak AI aren't things that strategy fans have to live with. It pains us to admit it as fans of the franchise, but this Empire is definitely in decline.
  34. While it may be a lot smoother and simpler than its predecessors, Empire Earth III has been dumbed down to the point of irrelevance.
  35. Empire Earth III doesn’t live up to the scope and complexity of its predecessors, and if anything, shames the previously good name of Empire Earth.
  36. Add in gameplay flaws and a shallow experience, and this game is sure to turn off even some of the biggest Empire Earth fans.
  37. It’s just simply not fun to play.
  38. 30
    It's definitely not a sequel for EE fans, as its massive reduction is, quite frankly, insulting to anyone who liked the previous games.
  39. Even if you would get this game for free I advice you not to play it. The game lacks any depth and it has the crappiest voices ever.
  40. Honestly, if the game didn't try to make you hate it, it would be perfectly tolerable, maybe even enjoyable.
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 19 out of 22
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    Worst RTS i've ever played in my entire life. Empire earth 1 was good. Empire earth 2 was fantastic. Empire earth 3 lacked everything the 2 previous games had.

    Empire Earth 2 had 15 epochs. Empire Earth 3 has 5.
    Empire Earth 2 has dozens of factions to choose from in skirmish mode. Empire Earth 3 has 3.

    There's no variety in EE3 at all. They've dumbed it down completely.

    How can a company go from making one of the best RTS's of all time, to making yet an even better version, to making the worst game in history?

    Good features like the cycle unit production was removed, now you have to spam click a queue of units to make an army. Diplomacy sucks now. Cant make roads anymore, that was a great addition that was unique to the empire earth series.

    There's no longer a map generator in skirmish mode, now you have to select from a preset list.

    The wosst thing of all, the new resource system. Before there was 8 resources, now there's 2. And the way you gather them is a complete joke.

    And now millitary units can build. Makes no sense at all. Everyone drops their swords and bows, gets out a hammer and nails and starts building.

    Can't stress enough how disappointing this game is. Empire Earth 2 is leagues ahead of this game and will remain to be the best RTS of all time until Mad Doc get their act together.

    Some really good things from EE2 that I don't see in EE3:

    Nuclear missle silos
    Submarines
    Weather
    being able to make individual aircraft
    the variety of resources
    roads
    bridges
    wall towers
    satalites
    helicopters

    The list goes on and on and on. the list of things Empire 3 has lost dwarfs the list of additions. We've bought a new game which is 1% of Empire earth 2. Waste of money. Not even worth doing a single level of campaign being as Empire earth 2 has so much more content.
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2012
    0
    For the first 5 minutes, I was like "How the hell could I waste for this kind of crap". Retarded, abysmal piece of garbage that defiles its predecessors. Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    Of ALL the games i have ever played, this is the sequel i have been dissappointed by the most.

    I swear Mad Dog thought we were idiots, they
    must've thought "Our best selling Empire Earth franchise is too intelligent for our players, let's dumb it down and put it a **** of sarcastic audios for the characters."

    I am not even going to bother writing anymore on the subject. Let's just say i spent £5 on it and still thought it was a waste of money.
    Full Review »