User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 59
  2. Negative: 45 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2012
    0
    For the first 5 minutes, I was like "How the hell could I waste for this kind of crap". Retarded, abysmal piece of garbage that defiles its predecessors.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    Worst RTS i've ever played in my entire life. Empire earth 1 was good. Empire earth 2 was fantastic. Empire earth 3 lacked everything the 2 previous games had.

    Empire Earth 2 had 15 epochs. Empire Earth 3 has 5. Empire Earth 2 has dozens of factions to choose from in skirmish mode. Empire Earth 3 has 3. There's no variety in EE3 at all. They've dumbed it down completely. How can
    Worst RTS i've ever played in my entire life. Empire earth 1 was good. Empire earth 2 was fantastic. Empire earth 3 lacked everything the 2 previous games had.

    Empire Earth 2 had 15 epochs. Empire Earth 3 has 5.
    Empire Earth 2 has dozens of factions to choose from in skirmish mode. Empire Earth 3 has 3.

    There's no variety in EE3 at all. They've dumbed it down completely.

    How can a company go from making one of the best RTS's of all time, to making yet an even better version, to making the worst game in history?

    Good features like the cycle unit production was removed, now you have to spam click a queue of units to make an army. Diplomacy sucks now. Cant make roads anymore, that was a great addition that was unique to the empire earth series.

    There's no longer a map generator in skirmish mode, now you have to select from a preset list.

    The wosst thing of all, the new resource system. Before there was 8 resources, now there's 2. And the way you gather them is a complete joke.

    And now millitary units can build. Makes no sense at all. Everyone drops their swords and bows, gets out a hammer and nails and starts building.

    Can't stress enough how disappointing this game is. Empire Earth 2 is leagues ahead of this game and will remain to be the best RTS of all time until Mad Doc get their act together.

    Some really good things from EE2 that I don't see in EE3:

    Nuclear missle silos
    Submarines
    Weather
    being able to make individual aircraft
    the variety of resources
    roads
    bridges
    wall towers
    satalites
    helicopters

    The list goes on and on and on. the list of things Empire 3 has lost dwarfs the list of additions. We've bought a new game which is 1% of Empire earth 2. Waste of money. Not even worth doing a single level of campaign being as Empire earth 2 has so much more content.
    Expand
  3. JS
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The tech tree is so deep. Excellent graphics if your PC can handle it.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    4
    It was fun in the beginning, but it did not last very long. Sounds turned out to be quite annoying, some of the most annoying ones still stay in my head and haunt me. Boredom crept in quite fast and the replayability wasn't really there for me. It did look nice overall, technically it seemed to be made ok, but the gameplay lacked a great deal. It did not leave any significant impression inIt was fun in the beginning, but it did not last very long. Sounds turned out to be quite annoying, some of the most annoying ones still stay in my head and haunt me. Boredom crept in quite fast and the replayability wasn't really there for me. It did look nice overall, technically it seemed to be made ok, but the gameplay lacked a great deal. It did not leave any significant impression in me, so I guess it's pretty average game. Expand
  5. Mobius
    Nov 20, 2007
    4
    My Rig is a Quad core 2 gig ram and a 8800 ultra card and for some reason the game still looks choppy, for starters the First Empire Earth Was great because of its size and its simple idea that you have a huge map you have armies and they fight until the last man is standing. games could go on for days, well mine did anyway. then empire earth 2 came out. ok they screwed it up by changing My Rig is a Quad core 2 gig ram and a 8800 ultra card and for some reason the game still looks choppy, for starters the First Empire Earth Was great because of its size and its simple idea that you have a huge map you have armies and they fight until the last man is standing. games could go on for days, well mine did anyway. then empire earth 2 came out. ok they screwed it up by changing what made the first game great. but it looked ok but to be honest I still prefered the first game. then EE3 comes along. the only positive things i can say about Empire Earth 3 is that the box Art is nice and that the Disk inside the box is round and thats me being kind. my advice is to pick up the original on budget. Expand
  6. Spot
    Nov 12, 2007
    4
    To our great disappointment EE3 is far from the original in-depth strategic game that we all love. It has been 'dumbed' down (I assume for better market appeal) and striped of much of it's grand complexities. It is also full of bugs and inefficient code concerning pathfinding, unit AI, and network communications. If you are to try this title, it is my suggestion that you To our great disappointment EE3 is far from the original in-depth strategic game that we all love. It has been 'dumbed' down (I assume for better market appeal) and striped of much of it's grand complexities. It is also full of bugs and inefficient code concerning pathfinding, unit AI, and network communications. If you are to try this title, it is my suggestion that you wait until a major patch is released which addresses many of the technical issues. Overall, Age of Empires and Rise of Legends are much more solid titles. Expand
  7. Nathan
    Apr 5, 2009
    2
    My computer blows away the RECOMMENDED requirements, every thing on land is smooth, but when controlling boats, they are choppy and off course. Also the corny dialogue sort of put over the edge for rating this game lower than 4, gay phrases like "Oh gawd! I think that's a leviathan on the horizon", Its not just once, also, its every second time you move the f*%*%** characters. I lovedMy computer blows away the RECOMMENDED requirements, every thing on land is smooth, but when controlling boats, they are choppy and off course. Also the corny dialogue sort of put over the edge for rating this game lower than 4, gay phrases like "Oh gawd! I think that's a leviathan on the horizon", Its not just once, also, its every second time you move the f*%*%** characters. I loved EE2, It was my favorite because of the vast majority of epochs, classes, units, and realism, but now, I'm not sure if EE3 is a kids game because of the cartoonish looks, or a teen game because of the violence and slight complexity of the game play. What a horrible piece of crap, use your money to get something good, Like Empire earth 2 or Empire Total War. Expand
  8. BobJ.
    Nov 11, 2007
    1
    Just plain horrible, even worse than EE2, and thats saying something.
  9. Steve
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    I played the demo: this is one of the worst RTS ever made. Besides terrible gameplay and unexciting graphics, Mad Doc and Sierra seem to believe that gamers enjoy the racist stereotypes that their characters embody (see the italian american mafia-engineer stereotype). Mad Doc has absolutely no skill when it comes to game design. The AI is terrible and its a joke that Mad Doc claims to I played the demo: this is one of the worst RTS ever made. Besides terrible gameplay and unexciting graphics, Mad Doc and Sierra seem to believe that gamers enjoy the racist stereotypes that their characters embody (see the italian american mafia-engineer stereotype). Mad Doc has absolutely no skill when it comes to game design. The AI is terrible and its a joke that Mad Doc claims to have superior ability to program AI. EE2 Was terrible and I player that 50 times or so before realizing what a bad game it was. This is even worse. Expand
  10. SeanL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    Mediocre at best; graphically non-impressive and gameplay, although decent, wasn't anything new or amazing.
  11. CJ
    Nov 25, 2007
    0
    JS must work for Sierra, to say the "Tech tree is so deep" There's NOTHING to the tech tree, there's hardly any units to build once you reach the Future Age. There's virtually nothing to do in the game. Here's how to win. 1. You can reach the future Epoch in 30 minutes 2. build about 40 Bio Soldiers 3. put them all on "Search and Destroy" mode. 4. go have a sandwich or JS must work for Sierra, to say the "Tech tree is so deep" There's NOTHING to the tech tree, there's hardly any units to build once you reach the Future Age. There's virtually nothing to do in the game. Here's how to win. 1. You can reach the future Epoch in 30 minutes 2. build about 40 Bio Soldiers 3. put them all on "Search and Destroy" mode. 4. go have a sandwich or watch a movie, while your soldiers win the game for you. Expand
  12. KyleH.
    Nov 27, 2007
    1
    The Empire Earth series declined a bunch. This piece of trash is a never buy. Crashes after every 15 minutes, awfully optimized, barely any units, lame animations, unfunny dialogue and nothing new to an rts ever.
  13. Meestyk
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    Tried the demo and I got to say it stinks. Graphics could have been a whole lot better done here. Gameplay is solid, but, the AI is quite challenging in that it can overwhelm you if you play "the waiting game" like the english did. At easy level, it plays more like a hard level. This is a game where you must decide quickly what must be built and where to strategically have any advantages Tried the demo and I got to say it stinks. Graphics could have been a whole lot better done here. Gameplay is solid, but, the AI is quite challenging in that it can overwhelm you if you play "the waiting game" like the english did. At easy level, it plays more like a hard level. This is a game where you must decide quickly what must be built and where to strategically have any advantages if none at all. I'm sure fans in this franchise will find it fun, but seriously, the AI needs a tune up for the difficulty ratings selections. So to be sure, this will turn off new gamers to EE3. I'm not looking forward to buying the full game until I get a better feedback from the fan base NOT the "paid" and "corrupt" reviewers like pcgamer or any other so called "reviewers". Expand
  14. AllanS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Awful game, crashes every 10 minutes, voice overs that drive you up the wall, glitches. AI which doesn't battle properly and is no challenge whatsoever. Avoid at all costs!!
  15. PhilR.
    Nov 17, 2007
    0
    Terrible. They stripped the game of everything that made the series excellent. Sadly, the only thing I did like was their resource gathering model. Only 3 factions, 5 eras (you move from Medieval, to WW1, to Mechs?!), and a host of other issues... Stay away at all costs.
  16. PhilH.
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    This game is just awful. Corny lines help nothing everything has been generalized, let stainless steel productions make it. Mad doc has really ruined the series. If you are a fan of this game don't buy it.
  17. Novahawk
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    1 for trying to stay alive -9 for trying to take us down with this POS (forgive my french). First, I'd like to point out that whoever stuck us with that "italian" voiceover should rather stick with scrubbing toilets. It would match JajaGabor repeating over and over the same POS comments just to drive you beyond insane. Second, pathfinding and the graphic bugs keep coming left and 1 for trying to stay alive -9 for trying to take us down with this POS (forgive my french). First, I'd like to point out that whoever stuck us with that "italian" voiceover should rather stick with scrubbing toilets. It would match JajaGabor repeating over and over the same POS comments just to drive you beyond insane. Second, pathfinding and the graphic bugs keep coming left and right. Third, the graphics even at the highest lvls bring you at closer look the kind you get playing an old game back in 1999 quality. It's like painting your running shoes white so no one notice how dirty they are (seen that one kid did that back when I was in high school!!). Definitely, a dying game. Stay away from this black hole until they come to their senses and give you a huge patch to fix all the damages this beast unleashed can do to your well being. Expand
  18. RobertS.
    Dec 28, 2007
    0
    Got this for christmas, it was the worst gift I have ever recieved and will be selling it to who ever is stupid enough to buy it. Laggy, glitchy, crashy, stupid speaking phrases, everything about this game that can be bad, IS bad. Not worth your money, let alone time and hard drive space.
  19. Jul 9, 2012
    1
    If you look at the 1st EE, this game doesn't deserve the grade of **** Nope, this is just one of those games, which works. That's it. For a RTS game in 2007 the graphics are way below average. Even though the game 'functions', the gameplay is horrible. Too bad I have to write this kind of horrors about an EE sequel...
  20. Nov 1, 2013
    4
    Empire Earth 3 falls short in many areas but the main problem is that this game has been simplified too much. Empire Earth 2 had 15 epochs and this game has 5. Rather than gradual changes through time that Empire Earth 2 had, Empire Earth 3 brings drastic changes as you progress and this leads to players trying to advance as quickly as possible rather than play strategically. The game’s AIEmpire Earth 3 falls short in many areas but the main problem is that this game has been simplified too much. Empire Earth 2 had 15 epochs and this game has 5. Rather than gradual changes through time that Empire Earth 2 had, Empire Earth 3 brings drastic changes as you progress and this leads to players trying to advance as quickly as possible rather than play strategically. The game’s AI is also pretty weak with poorly scripted unit path-finding. Some may say that Empire Earth 2 was a bit too deep and inaccessible to non RTS fans, but Empire Earth 3 is WAY too dumbed down. Pick up an earlier EE game instead. Expand
  21. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    All I am going to say is... Why? Just why? You just ruined my first and best RTS game ever.

    There are only 3 factions, a lot less epochs, ugly and completely out of place units. I regret supporting Mad Doc by paying for this game.

    Until it gets better with an expansion or something, DO. NOT. PLAY. Period.
  22. Dec 27, 2014
    7
    Yeah this game is worse than previous game. But this game still has many improvement. This game is drop with this score. Totally this game is about strategy to domianting the world
  23. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    Of ALL the games i have ever played, this is the sequel i have been dissappointed by the most.

    I swear Mad Dog thought we were idiots, they must've thought "Our best selling Empire Earth franchise is too intelligent for our players, let's dumb it down and put it a **** of sarcastic audios for the characters." I am not even going to bother writing anymore on the subject. Let's just
    Of ALL the games i have ever played, this is the sequel i have been dissappointed by the most.

    I swear Mad Dog thought we were idiots, they must've thought "Our best selling Empire Earth franchise is too intelligent for our players, let's dumb it down and put it a **** of sarcastic audios for the characters."

    I am not even going to bother writing anymore on the subject. Let's just say i spent £5 on it and still thought it was a waste of money.
    Expand
  24. Dec 24, 2014
    1
    EE2 was such a good game for so many reasons. As some one that played EE2 and knew it well I was expecting at the very least a similar game for EE3. Totally different in a bad way. First thing I noticed was that collecting resources IS WAY TOO EASY... So you have the army.... the army moves slow and retarded compared to EE2. Defense is nearly impossibe because of the lack of options forEE2 was such a good game for so many reasons. As some one that played EE2 and knew it well I was expecting at the very least a similar game for EE3. Totally different in a bad way. First thing I noticed was that collecting resources IS WAY TOO EASY... So you have the army.... the army moves slow and retarded compared to EE2. Defense is nearly impossibe because of the lack of options for defensive structures. No wall towers is a big deal for me... The way to upgrade to higher epochs is WAY TOO EASY. You can go from caveman to future guy in about 10 minutes. (FART) The Earth map feature is like playing Risk (TURN BASED IN A RTS IS LAME). The tutorials to explain the game are horrible! Storyline is non-existant.Everything that made me like EE2 is missing from EE3. OMG the boats move so horrible and they are unrealist in size. Also even on fast play mode the units move TOO SLOW. (FART) Conclusion EE2 (AWESOME!!!) and EE3 (FART!!!) Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 40
  2. Negative: 18 out of 40
  1. While it may be a lot smoother and simpler than its predecessors, Empire Earth III has been dumbed down to the point of irrelevance.
  2. 54
    Fans of the series will be sad to see that this version of Empire Earth has been stripped of the depth and detail that made the first two games so attractive. I mean, it's not as if there's a shortage of shallow RTS games already, so seeing one of our favorite series effectively lobotomized is a real shock.
  3. 40
    PC strategy gamers have a lot to choose from on store shelves these days, and bugs, muddled combat, or weak AI aren't things that strategy fans have to live with. It pains us to admit it as fans of the franchise, but this Empire is definitely in decline.