User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 105
  2. Negative: 2 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2011
    10
    I grew up with RTS games such as this as well as Age of Empires II. Empire Earth and Age of Empires have their similarites, but I believe they are quite different games. The campaigns of Empire Earth are historically accurate and a bunch of fun to play. Skirmish mode is great too. If you enjoy slower paced RTS games than Empire Earth is a game that is certainly worth buying, if not, thenI grew up with RTS games such as this as well as Age of Empires II. Empire Earth and Age of Empires have their similarites, but I believe they are quite different games. The campaigns of Empire Earth are historically accurate and a bunch of fun to play. Skirmish mode is great too. If you enjoy slower paced RTS games than Empire Earth is a game that is certainly worth buying, if not, then try Age of Empires. Either way this is up there on the best RTS games ever list. Expand
  2. MattK.
    Dec 22, 2003
    6
    Empire Earth contains a lot of content. a little bit too much content for me, with like 24 very similar civs and about 120 optioins to make your own, over 300 units i think, and way too many things to build....not much strategy here, but it looks decent and the campaigns are more fun....the german one was excellent in particular...but i think i would rather play the 4 very different civ Empire Earth contains a lot of content. a little bit too much content for me, with like 24 very similar civs and about 120 optioins to make your own, over 300 units i think, and way too many things to build....not much strategy here, but it looks decent and the campaigns are more fun....the german one was excellent in particular...but i think i would rather play the 4 very different civ world of warcraft 3 or starcraft..which both offered much more strategy. it almost reaches the crown of the next great age of empires type game, but i cant say its that great. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    This game was pretty good.The evolution from Stone Age to the Nano Age seemed an innovative idea.
    Unfortunately, the gameplay is copied from Age of Empires.No civilization, there is only one that collect bonuses.Campaigns are boring, the stories do not attract.The downside is the graphics, though it is 3D, you can not rotate camera.And the units are unfinished and square.
    I'm also
    This game was pretty good.The evolution from Stone Age to the Nano Age seemed an innovative idea.
    Unfortunately, the gameplay is copied from Age of Empires.No civilization, there is only one that collect bonuses.Campaigns are boring, the stories do not attract.The downside is the graphics, though it is 3D, you can not rotate camera.And the units are unfinished and square.
    I'm also bothered by mixing cultures, ex: in the Dark Ages find legionaries,barbarians and Persians together in the barracks.I am bothered by the fact that in the Nano Age, people still cut trees with axes and still use Pickaxe.

    Instead, the matches are spectacular in skirmish and multiplayer.
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2013
    10
    Best RTS I have ever played, hands down. Empire Earth has a steep learning curve, but once you got the basics down, it really is a fun experience with tons of replay value. The map and scenario editor really are icing on the cake.
  5. Sep 6, 2010
    4
    Painful and slow gameplay make it incomprehensible that this game actually came after Age of Empires I. To me it feels like a primitive predecessor of that classic game in every way.
  6. Jim
    Sep 27, 2003
    5
    First there was age of empires then other spin offs such as star wars battlegrounds, this is nothing more than a been there done that revamp on an old game. The unit hit points and damage are far off with little balance. build a cheap as hell wall and it takes a mass amount of firepower to bring it down. 5
  7. Antoine+
    May 20, 2003
    10
    Really a ghreat game! Imagine a game from the Prehistoric ages to the Nano Age!?!? Colossal scope! And each epoch is so different ! Truly like 14 games in 1!
  8. AureliaC.
    Oct 8, 2002
    10
    As a fellow gamer I think this game is really neat!
  9. Kostas
    Feb 10, 2002
    10
    One of the greatest games I've ever played! If you liked "Starcraft" you will love this game.
  10. SalahA.
    May 11, 2002
    10
    Very very very great game.
  11. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2002
    9
    Empire Earth (EE) is a very impressive game--the downloadable demo reveals just the tip of the iceberg. EE is similar to Age of Empires in terms of basic gameplay but to say that "this game is so much more" would be an understatement. Everything is modeled in 3D which enables air combat (from old biplanes to attack helicopters to nano-age fighter-bombers). Clever features include snipers Empire Earth (EE) is a very impressive game--the downloadable demo reveals just the tip of the iceberg. EE is similar to Age of Empires in terms of basic gameplay but to say that "this game is so much more" would be an understatement. Everything is modeled in 3D which enables air combat (from old biplanes to attack helicopters to nano-age fighter-bombers). Clever features include snipers being invisible from a distance (except for a brief gunflash & smoke when they shoot) and partisans walking through normally inaccessible forests. Epochs like the stone age, and nano age are so dramatically different that they could have been entirely different games. Watching nanobots battle with lasers looks more like a Star Wars game than Age of Empires. I really like the fact that it includes the game save & autosave features. Also, the autosave default interval of 10 minutes can be changed. However, I didn't rate this game a perfect 10 primarily because it should've included more built-in victory types (like "Regicide" in Age of Empires II). This game is very highly recommended if you like real-time strategy games. I also own & enjoy Age of Empires II: Conquerors so I'm very surprised AOE2 rated higher than Empire Earth here. Expand
  12. MabaU.
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    The best RTS game ever in spite of not being enough publicized.
  13. LiamS.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    This is a really good game i8 advise everyone to buy it!!!
  14. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2006
    7
    The game is nice. Has excellent graphics, nice audio and it's pretty easy to play. But it's too much. It's like having 5games in one: The "chongo" age- rome - medieval - actual - futurist, and I really only like the 3rd and 5th. It's an unbelievable quantity... to much for me. It doesn't let you make a good strategic plan, specially if you are an "age block" overThe game is nice. Has excellent graphics, nice audio and it's pretty easy to play. But it's too much. It's like having 5games in one: The "chongo" age- rome - medieval - actual - futurist, and I really only like the 3rd and 5th. It's an unbelievable quantity... to much for me. It doesn't let you make a good strategic plan, specially if you are an "age block" over your enemy. Once you learn to use fire weapons before your enemy, it's over, you win. And when you get the robots! Just make a big group of them and you'll win. I liked a lot more the Age of Empires-Age of mythology games. This is just plain fight. Anyways, it's a cool game. It's like an amusement park. You wait a lot, but finally get exitement. That's his game. The campaigns are amazing, specially the german, even if it's in the age I most hate. Oh, almost forget, civilization work is horrible. You have only some different names and some SMALL differences. About civilization work, this is AWFULL. Expand
  15. RichardM.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    This is by far the best RTS game I have ever played. It is so realistic that I can play for weeks at a time with my friends, online. If you don't have this game get it, you will be glued to your PC for hours the 1st time you play.
  16. EEhead
    Jul 31, 2004
    10
    Excellent. Best RTS Game of all time.
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Good Game, I liked Like Civilization. I tried once in normal and then I used some cheats I found on the net, Awesome Experience... Definitely one that you NEED to have on your gaming collection
  18. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    This game is not Age of Empires. At all. Other than the fact that they are both RTS. So everyone stop suggesting that.

    Otherwise, this game came out in 2001 and when it did it was great for its time and it still has replay value. One of my favorite RTS and games of all time, even though I gave it an 8, it is a fair score based on some small problems in the game.
  19. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Best RTS I've played. Empire Earth 2 wasn't as good and I hear Empire Earth 3 was even worse. What's up with sequels these days? Meesa don't like them very much.
  20. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    This is the one hell of a RTS game. Playing this game was a real eye-opener to me. Even though the gameplay was really similar to the one of the Age of Empires series. I was only a little boy, but had an huge imagination. The basics of the Prehistoric Age fitted right, and all my expectations of the evolution tot the Nano Age were displayed on a screen in front of my eyes. For its time,This is the one hell of a RTS game. Playing this game was a real eye-opener to me. Even though the gameplay was really similar to the one of the Age of Empires series. I was only a little boy, but had an huge imagination. The basics of the Prehistoric Age fitted right, and all my expectations of the evolution tot the Nano Age were displayed on a screen in front of my eyes. For its time, the graphics weren't that horrible. The sound effects I kept imitating after hours of playing in one time are still burned in my memory. If you're wondering what the campaign was like, I can't remember unfortunately... But I can tell you, this game i definitely worth the money. Collapse
  21. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    A good game. Actually, it's just like Age of Empires, but with a much much bigger tech tree, multiple tech epochs and 3D graphics. It's all classics of the RTS genre
  22. May 16, 2013
    10
    It is my opinion that this game was the apex of the RTS genre. Even amazing games like Supreme Commander fail to match up to the brilliance of Empire Earth. Empire Earth features in depth gameplay, stunning visuals, and an inspiring soundtrack. The pinnacle of the game is it's map and scenario editor.
  23. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This is the one hell of a RTS game. Playing this game was a real eye-opener to me. Even though the gameplay was really similar to the one of the Age of Empires series. I was only a little boy, but had an huge imagination. The basics of the Prehistoric Age fitted right, and all my expectations of the evolution tot the Nano Age were displayed on a screen in front of my eyes. For its time,This is the one hell of a RTS game. Playing this game was a real eye-opener to me. Even though the gameplay was really similar to the one of the Age of Empires series. I was only a little boy, but had an huge imagination. The basics of the Prehistoric Age fitted right, and all my expectations of the evolution tot the Nano Age were displayed on a screen in front of my eyes. For its time, the graphics weren't that horrible. The sound effects I kept imitating after hours of playing in one time are still burned in my memory. If you're wondering what the campaign was like, I can't remember unfortunately... But I can tell you, this game i definitely worth the money. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. While it isn’t perfect, it does offer up one hell of a good time. [Holiday 2001, p.96]
  2. Empire Earth’s kitchen sink design is too massive (if at time unwieldy) to be darkened by the shadow cast by a dozen games. [Feb 2002, p.94]
  3. It’s enjoyable, but because of the top-heavy resource management it’s easy to feel overwhelmed.