Empire: Total War PC

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2997 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Hey, how about a 2012 update, huh? I'm shocked at coming on Metacritic to see such low scores for a game I've owned for a long time now, that I adore. There is NO bugs, some of these reviews are absolutely outdated and unreliable. In my opinion, this is the most playable of all the Total War games. The tech branches are much more expansive and really do progress as time goes on and theHey, how about a 2012 update, huh? I'm shocked at coming on Metacritic to see such low scores for a game I've owned for a long time now, that I adore. There is NO bugs, some of these reviews are absolutely outdated and unreliable. In my opinion, this is the most playable of all the Total War games. The tech branches are much more expansive and really do progress as time goes on and the campaign was fantastic. I felt like I was rewriting my text books. It's also one of the more colorful TW games, because it covers such an active century of domination and war. Napoleon felt sort of like a plus 20 year map pack to this gem. This game is just as good as any other TW game, it really is a shame that people wrote hundreds and hundreds of reviews within the first couple of months of the games release, yet when the game is "Fixed" (Because I never played it when it was supposedly bugged) everyone just lose interest in lifting a finger for a new review. I'll simply put it this way, this game is worth every dollar, pound, or euro it costs. Expand
  2. May 8, 2011
    7
    I was certainly not dissapointed with this Total War title. Although I found the attention to unit detail rather dissapointing that does not hinder the gameplay in any way. The only thing stopping me from giving this game a 10 is the fact that I found the AI a little bit too glitchy and slow.
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    at first the game looked terrible to me, there is no proper welcome, if you don't go throught at least the first 2 chapters of the "road to independece" you wont know how to play, but after you play that campaign, the game opens the amazing and large options it has, because of the use of gun powder you have to use completly diffrent tactics. the economy in this game plays a huge role,at first the game looked terrible to me, there is no proper welcome, if you don't go throught at least the first 2 chapters of the "road to independece" you wont know how to play, but after you play that campaign, the game opens the amazing and large options it has, because of the use of gun powder you have to use completly diffrent tactics. the economy in this game plays a huge role, it's very fragile and alliances have diffrent meaning. its very diffrent from the old total war games but it was gonna have a change at some point, all of the people that say they are fans of the total war franchise and say this game is bad, aren't real fans, just because of the change in the game, they were forced to make a diffrent change, in total this is a great and amazing game, shame how people threated it Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    An original franchise, a fine game, but dumbed down from Medieval 2 Total War. More realism is better, not less. Multiplayer campaign mode would be nice.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Empire total war has received an unjust amount of criticism allot of which was due to bugs and initial issues with steam. Now the game has been patched its a far better gaming experience but doesn't live up to M2:TW and Rome:TW, battles just aren't as fun or engaging and sieges in particular are a mess.No longer do you attack castles/towns with the buildings from the campaign map insteadEmpire total war has received an unjust amount of criticism allot of which was due to bugs and initial issues with steam. Now the game has been patched its a far better gaming experience but doesn't live up to M2:TW and Rome:TW, battles just aren't as fun or engaging and sieges in particular are a mess.No longer do you attack castles/towns with the buildings from the campaign map instead you attack different forts which are pretty much the same every-time and offer little variety of strategy required to capture them. Naval combat which looked brilliant is just a pain and even after 250 hours i have no clue how it works resulting in the imperfect auto resolve option being used the majority of the time.

    That said the campaign map has been extended dramatically with America, India and trade routes added giving the game a much grander feel. The graphics are also fantastic really stepped up from M2:TW, giving battles a realistic and epic feel. Technology trees also allow you to research advance technology which you can see take effect on the battlefield in the form of new moves or new units, you can use technology to improve the economy or the enlightenment of your people. This adds new complexity to the game and allowing different styles of play to be used.
    Expand
  6. JoshL
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    MY SHORT REVIEW: First of all, for all those complaining of glitches and crashes, don't be so ungrateful and impatient. The game has crashed 3 times for me in 1 month of hardcore gameplay. If you can't cope with expected issues, don't buy the game. Nevertheless, Empire: Total War is one of the most enjoyable experiences in gaming you will ever come across. Yes, there are a MY SHORT REVIEW: First of all, for all those complaining of glitches and crashes, don't be so ungrateful and impatient. The game has crashed 3 times for me in 1 month of hardcore gameplay. If you can't cope with expected issues, don't buy the game. Nevertheless, Empire: Total War is one of the most enjoyable experiences in gaming you will ever come across. Yes, there are a few bugs in it (no not many), and for a title with such massive scope, that should be expected. But these problems are minor and simply annoyances, they can only detract a small amount from an overall pleasant presentation. The naval and land battles are fantastic, incorporating a mix of cannons, cavalry, infantry and battleships. The graphics are amazing on high or ultra, and it certainly lives up to it's reputation in turn based mode. Camera options are redefined, mini-maps are more detailed than before, AI has been improved - what else can you ask for? There is excessive demand on developers to produce a perfect game to the modern market. In my opinion, there are limited flaws in the game itself, and perhaps more with installation. I found Steam to be a terrible hassle, and quite unecessary. Suppose someone didn't have access to the internet but liked playing video games. "The creative assembly" is losing a lot of business by using this idiotic method of signing up. However, Steam can have some advantages, giving users regular updates for patches and new features. The historical accuracy of the game is something many people forget, or take for granted. This a key focus of the Total War series, making education fun. It opens our minds to the realms of 18th century mentality and the progress of the industrial revolution. It broadens our intelligence and understanding of contemporary society in relation to our past. This is what sums it up as a classic. In the end, much enhancement has been added since Medieval: II Total War, and this is, at least by me, appreciated. Expand
  7. MJ
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    Al in all a good game, unlike most people i had no problems at release. The land battles are fun as always in the Total War series, but the great campaign is so boring and the ai too easy. For a decent campaing i suggest Rome: Total War or the very unappreciated Imperial Glory, which had many features of Empire years before.
  8. ?
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    I give 7 why? I think, that Medieval: Total War is better. There is more option in quick battle. Graphics is good, but it can be better and threre are to more errors.
  9. ZuherG
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Ive been a player of Total war games since Shogun 10 long years ago, and was sooooo excited by the prospect of guns playing a major role, as well as the naval warfare aspect... neither of these were as grand as I envisaged .... maybe even disappointing.... I dearly hope Napoleon will be better.....
  10. Harle
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game, the depth exceeds the previous Total War titles by leaps abound. The somewhat cartoony approach to history that the older games featured has been done away with for a much more serious feel, and it's pulled off very well; even if it isn't perfectly historically accurate, compared to previous games it is apples and oranges. This is not only by far the best Total Brilliant game, the depth exceeds the previous Total War titles by leaps abound. The somewhat cartoony approach to history that the older games featured has been done away with for a much more serious feel, and it's pulled off very well; even if it isn't perfectly historically accurate, compared to previous games it is apples and oranges. This is not only by far the best Total War game to date, it may very well be the best strategy game in recent years. Yes, the game was released with bugs, but I don't feel that the game itself can be rated based on bug issues. Some people are giving it low scores because they are frustrated with bugs, but I prefer to rate based on content. It might be worth waiting a month or two past release, but the fact is that it runs more than playably for most people, and the bugs will get ironed out. Also, for other people, please stop rating games based on their performance. It's like saying that Disneyland sucks because your plane was delayed. Rate on content. Expand
  11. NathanH
    May 27, 2009
    9
    Great addition to the series, if your computer is reasonably up to date that is. My computer is a good distance below the recommended requirements, yet I can still play relatively well on all Medium settings with a reasonably good resolution. However, just being on medium still presents a rather fantastic experience. Steam is rather annoying but it works well enough with the game. Most of Great addition to the series, if your computer is reasonably up to date that is. My computer is a good distance below the recommended requirements, yet I can still play relatively well on all Medium settings with a reasonably good resolution. However, just being on medium still presents a rather fantastic experience. Steam is rather annoying but it works well enough with the game. Most of the AI and major gameplay issues seem to be shriveling up as Steam does it's consistent small updates that CA seems willing to pump out. An altogether fantastic game if your computer has the sacs to take it on, however, it would make sense if you decided to wait a month or so for more of the updates to stream through. I didn't wait, however I'm still perfectly happy with what I've got. Right now I say a 9, but give it a while and that may go up even further. Expand
  12. MattE
    Sep 19, 2009
    4
    Game was fun for about a week until its several glaring defects caused me to stop playing. I have been one of the lucky few who actually never has the game CTD; however this does not make up for an inept AI and total lack of support from CA who has since moved on to work on Napolean Total War . Patches have been sporadic at best and I am still waiting on the multiplayer campaign which is Game was fun for about a week until its several glaring defects caused me to stop playing. I have been one of the lucky few who actually never has the game CTD; however this does not make up for an inept AI and total lack of support from CA who has since moved on to work on Napolean Total War . Patches have been sporadic at best and I am still waiting on the multiplayer campaign which is why CA delayed the release and over 6 months after te release there has been no feedback. Don't buy from CA again or at least until 3 months after a release and read the reviews then. Expand
  13. randallp
    Jan 18, 2010
    7
    love this game. but ive had nothing but bad luck with steam. nothing works as it says after a purchase at steam store. support never accepts my support login or passwords. i am very disappointed with steam.
  14. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I just finished playing another long campaign in this game after having reinstalled it again some weeks ago and so I thought I should do a review of this game, having played it for over 350 hours in all.
    This is one epic game overall. The move to the age of muskets, rifles and cannons is a very welcome addition to the Total War franchise. The real time battles are stunningly awesome. Both
    I just finished playing another long campaign in this game after having reinstalled it again some weeks ago and so I thought I should do a review of this game, having played it for over 350 hours in all.
    This is one epic game overall. The move to the age of muskets, rifles and cannons is a very welcome addition to the Total War franchise. The real time battles are stunningly awesome. Both land and sea battles are fun to play. They have really great graphics and seeing your units and ships fire off volleys of death never gets old. The campaign map is also nice and works smoothly most of the time. Sound is great throughout the whole game from the soundtrack to the sound of cannon fire to the command acknowledgements of your units. UI looks great and is very friendly.
    I would say Empire is definitely on par with Rome and Medieval2 when it comes to Total War games and epicness and awesomeness. There are a few annoyances with the game though of course. The well documented initial legion of bugs that the game was released with are now mostly gone but you can still get some CTDs occasionally. Diplomacy and AI leave a lot to be desired but what else is new about Total War games? Rakes are almost useless, small ships fire longer than bigger ships, some factions have too few unique units, France is represented by a single region etc etc. There are a lot of minor stuff that you can complain about but with a game this big in scope it is only natural.
    Empire: Total War is one of my favorite games from recent years and I probably won't stop playing it until I have played all the major factions in it.
    Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    [First impressions] Steam and I have a complicated relationship: sometimes I see it as a smooth and intuitive way to manage games, whilst other times I curse it for my slow Internet and strange glitches. Anyway, back in 2009, I was causing Steam after I lost my first account and the ability to play Empire Total War. Recently, I managed to find my account and activate ETW; so here's a first[First impressions] Steam and I have a complicated relationship: sometimes I see it as a smooth and intuitive way to manage games, whilst other times I curse it for my slow Internet and strange glitches. Anyway, back in 2009, I was causing Steam after I lost my first account and the ability to play Empire Total War. Recently, I managed to find my account and activate ETW; so here's a first impression review. Empire is certainly quite spectacular with a heavier emphasis on gunpowder weapons and yet the stragegy has been lost somewhat now that your units use guns rather than physical weapons, making them less significant and somehow more dull than Medieval 2. The interface has been redesigned, and by that I mean it's completely incomprehensible thanks to the confusing styling and randomly rearranged functions. One of the most significant additions to the game is naval combat; so now you can actually fight the battle rather than clicking "auto-resolve" with every battle, followed by "clear defeat". The naval combat is spectacular, more so than land battles, but is virtually impossible to control. If you select a ship and right click on an enemy, they flat out don't attack; they just dither in circles while the enemy picks away at your hull. The world map isn't much better thanks to a confusing HUD and apparent lack of the flag colouring from Medieval 2 which made it much easier to tell which cities were weak and which we're overflowing. So, after first impressions; Empire Total War is spectacular and mind bending, but suffers from an unintuative interface and confusing AI. Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    While I own most of the total war games they tend to not do much for me. This one was the exception really. Superb engine, great tech tree and atmosphere. Good stuff
  17. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    As its own game, Empire is flawed and confusing. Add some Mods to it and you will get the true Total War experience. Empire is a daunting change from previous Total War installments but you will eventually get used to it. It is much more difficult to manage and empire and secure your borders due to settlements being spread out. Siege battles, which used to by my favorite part of a totalAs its own game, Empire is flawed and confusing. Add some Mods to it and you will get the true Total War experience. Empire is a daunting change from previous Total War installments but you will eventually get used to it. It is much more difficult to manage and empire and secure your borders due to settlements being spread out. Siege battles, which used to by my favorite part of a total war game, are boring and repetitive. It's still a fun game, but nowhere near as good as previous installments in the series. Expand
  18. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    This was my first Total War game and one of my very first pc games. Overall this is a fun game that includes much planning and strategy in order to succeed in. There are many different nation to choose and campaigns to play which adds a lot of variety to the overall gameplay. The multiplayer is fun but a bit glitchy like failing to join a game or random freezes and disconnections. YourThis was my first Total War game and one of my very first pc games. Overall this is a fun game that includes much planning and strategy in order to succeed in. There are many different nation to choose and campaigns to play which adds a lot of variety to the overall gameplay. The multiplayer is fun but a bit glitchy like failing to join a game or random freezes and disconnections. Your units in battle will sometimes not respond to commands. Although this is annoying this is still a great game and worth your 20 bucks on steam. Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game, seriously. I have spent approximately 600 hours on and off playing this game since release and I still keep coming back to it. I only had a couple of issues with it, both of which were easily fixed by modding. The amount of turns in any given game is woefully low (only 200 turns, this is true for all Total War games and is really not enough). The other issue for me wasFantastic game, seriously. I have spent approximately 600 hours on and off playing this game since release and I still keep coming back to it. I only had a couple of issues with it, both of which were easily fixed by modding. The amount of turns in any given game is woefully low (only 200 turns, this is true for all Total War games and is really not enough). The other issue for me was the unit sizes, the battles felt more like skirmishes as opposed proper epic battles. I would still recommend it to any fans of the Total War series. It's probably my favorite after Medieval II. Expand
  20. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    At the first months after release the ammount of bugs really ruined the game, but now after 4 years, the game does give justice to the Total War series. The only issue is lack of mod tools, being the reason that i took one point of its score (was going to give it a 8) but even without mod tools DarthMod does a great job at making a total overhaul of the game gameplay, graphics, scale andAt the first months after release the ammount of bugs really ruined the game, but now after 4 years, the game does give justice to the Total War series. The only issue is lack of mod tools, being the reason that i took one point of its score (was going to give it a 8) but even without mod tools DarthMod does a great job at making a total overhaul of the game gameplay, graphics, scale and other elements! Expand
  21. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    By time I played this game, they seemed to have sorted out most of the major bugs, for I didn't have much trouble at all playing Empire. I found it to be a good game overall, with a mix of great improvements and disappointing letdowns. The available world is at least twice as large as that of previous titles, as this game introduces North and Central America and the Indian subcontinent toBy time I played this game, they seemed to have sorted out most of the major bugs, for I didn't have much trouble at all playing Empire. I found it to be a good game overall, with a mix of great improvements and disappointing letdowns. The available world is at least twice as large as that of previous titles, as this game introduces North and Central America and the Indian subcontinent to the playable map (as well as a few more distant trade destinations). This gives much more potential territory to conquer and enemies to face, though it has the downside of requiring you to spread further and quicker than in previous games in order to win the campaign. Diplomacy is further developed from earlier games, and there is now much more incentive to be a faithful ally or honest enemy--although countries tend to have the annoying habit of hating you forever once you go to war with them. The introduction of the research system is nice, since it gives you another way to gain (or lose!) the edge against your rivals, and the ability to buy, sell, trade, or steal research can be handy. The battles are somewhat different in this game, since many units now use guns of various sorts, but Empire follows the same basic style as previous titles. I loved the addition of defensive works for besieging armies (mines, trenches, stakes, etc.), which allow one to prepare for counterattacks, as well as the ability of most infantry to use stone walls as cover. There is a pretty good diversity of unit times in this game (especially if you have the DLC unit packs), and this is keenly seen in the vastly improved array of ship types, which make the naval theater much more exciting. For the first time, players can choose to control their fleets directly during naval battles, allowing for strategy to play into the outcome instead of just numbers. Personally I gave up on figuring out the relatively complex controls for naval battles and just used the auto-decide, but I'm sure next time I play I'll find them easier. There are too many other aspects of this game which I'd like to mention, but I'll leave those to others and just say that this game is definitely worth playing if you are a fan of the Total War franchise, and even if not, I'd recommend giving it a shot. Expand
  22. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    Beta game is what popped to mind when I first installed and played this game when it came out. How the #$@%! did this pass QA? Even to this day, after several patches, I can
  23. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    It's an amazing game that paved the way for later Total War games like Napolean and Shogun. It's glitchy but that can be overlooked most of the time. It could be said that Empire Total War is as revolutionary for the franchise as Rome Total War was. It brought new gameplay elements to the campaign and is overall an epic and enjoyable game.
  24. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I understand how extreme it is to give a game a 0 or 10 but in this case, I honestly feel it deserves it. A game that provided me with over 1200 hours of gameplay (and still counting) for me, ranks right up there with such legendary games as Master of Orion 2, Sid's Civilization and XCom.

    When the game was first released there were plenty of bugs but the patches long ago have squashed
    I understand how extreme it is to give a game a 0 or 10 but in this case, I honestly feel it deserves it. A game that provided me with over 1200 hours of gameplay (and still counting) for me, ranks right up there with such legendary games as Master of Orion 2, Sid's Civilization and XCom.

    When the game was first released there were plenty of bugs but the patches long ago have squashed them all for me. Never before has a game pushed the boundaries so much and seemed so grand in scale, I was in strategy heaven! Introducing interactive naval combat for the first time in the Total War series, 3 different theaters, a technology tree, a completely new era, and the list goes on. To me, Empire Total War is the time when Creative Assembly really dug down in their creative spirits, took risks by breaking away from the safety of their melee heavy games (which are great by the way) and delivered a unique experience that every strategy gamer should experience.

    If you like strategy games, this is a must have for your collection in my honest opinion. If you can appreciate the risk the developers took with the introduction of so many new mechanics and a scale unmatched by any Total War game before or since; I think some of you may find a game taking its place among a short list of all time favorites.
    Expand
  25. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I love Empire total war. For me this is the best total war after Medieval 2. Having 3 continents and a bit of North Africa is awesome. And i love the 18th sentury a lot.
  26. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    I totally shocked at the user reviews! This is as good as rome total war (the 1st of course). Its a great game. the european and american map feel like two different games which is awesome. The units are very cool and many countries have their own unique units.

    Some of the problems that hold it back is that the AI still has problems that were in rome total war and have never been
    I totally shocked at the user reviews! This is as good as rome total war (the 1st of course). Its a great game. the european and american map feel like two different games which is awesome. The units are very cool and many countries have their own unique units.

    Some of the problems that hold it back is that the AI still has problems that were in rome total war and have never been patched, such as the cavalry charge the enemy does on your units. They sometimes throw a quarter of their army doing this. The AI in siege battles are pretty bad too. It is also a bad idea to auto resolve battles (trust me). The game also doesnt have just simple open fields to fight in. There is always trees and hills which is fine but i would have liked a completely open map with nothing but flat land. beside these its the total war and its amazingly fun. Making armies with wacky strategies and tactics is priceless. I recommend going long range light units and musket cavalry only.
    Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is simply the greatest total war of all time. It has the best map, in the best age, with the best darthmod. This game is absolutely excellent. Excuse me, I must stretch my empire around the globe.
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    People give this game a lot of flak over AI, bugs and other things. i for one haven't encountered any bugs and although the AI is poor at times, it isnt as bad as people have said. Although many of these reviews were around release time, they should go back and see what improvements have been made. The factions are plentiful, wide ranging either in Europe, India or America. DiplomacyPeople give this game a lot of flak over AI, bugs and other things. i for one haven't encountered any bugs and although the AI is poor at times, it isnt as bad as people have said. Although many of these reviews were around release time, they should go back and see what improvements have been made. The factions are plentiful, wide ranging either in Europe, India or America. Diplomacy in the game has, for me, improved. Rather than training diplomats, you just have to click a button to interact with factions. Good game. Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    A good game this is. The only problem with the game is the long load time. Otherwise, the factions, the gameplay, the music are all awesome. Creative Assembly deserves all the praise and acclaim they get.
  30. Aug 30, 2016
    9
    An amazing game, one of the best in the Total War series and my personal favorite. The game runs very smoothly and gives interesting gameplay, allowing players to use different playstyles with different nations. Each nation offers unique gameplay. Overall, I am impressed with this and give it 9/10 rating. The game could be a bit more historical, although I understand the game was not meantAn amazing game, one of the best in the Total War series and my personal favorite. The game runs very smoothly and gives interesting gameplay, allowing players to use different playstyles with different nations. Each nation offers unique gameplay. Overall, I am impressed with this and give it 9/10 rating. The game could be a bit more historical, although I understand the game was not meant to be played in all ways historically. Expand
  31. May 7, 2016
    10
    i am sorry about people's that have negatived review to this nice game . unfortunately some of player can't wait and think carefully . these games are not exited to them because not action .and so puzzle work to do . you have to command ,role ,economy terms ,also you have to change the history , this people's don't know how to play then comes and write about rts games . i have beeni am sorry about people's that have negatived review to this nice game . unfortunately some of player can't wait and think carefully . these games are not exited to them because not action .and so puzzle work to do . you have to command ,role ,economy terms ,also you have to change the history , this people's don't know how to play then comes and write about rts games . i have been playing rts games from 1995 until now and the Empire:total war is the best rts game on 2009 . Expand
  32. May 24, 2011
    6
    While the game adds a lot of complexity to the frame that existed from earlier series in a way that makes the game more realistic and engaging (such as making mines, farms, etc. points within territories that must be defended), the added complexity becomes quite repetitive quite quickly. Unfortunately, the added complexity almost appears to be a half-baked after thought. Diplomacy in theWhile the game adds a lot of complexity to the frame that existed from earlier series in a way that makes the game more realistic and engaging (such as making mines, farms, etc. points within territories that must be defended), the added complexity becomes quite repetitive quite quickly. Unfortunately, the added complexity almost appears to be a half-baked after thought. Diplomacy in the game is almost comically horrible. Military alliances have been replaced by a general alliance system which makes it almost impossible to ally with certain nations due to factors outside the control of the player. Furthermore, it is almost impossible to develop a peace treaty with combatant nations regardless of who started the war or if territory changed hands leading to wars that have lasted for over fifty years (hardly realistic of the time period). Battles also appear quite buggy with animations being performed at the wrong time. While purely cosmetic, it does put a dampener on what is supposed to be the game's main feature. Another problem with the battles is their repetitiveness. While I don't mind fighting a battle for 45 minutes, I have used the same two tactics in almost every battle with either very few losses, or losses that are disproportional to those inflicted on the enemy. Finally, we have the steam element. After purchasing this game, be ready to wait for a roughly 1.5 gig patch to download through steam, and be sure to run steam offline if you have a bad connection. Otherwise, you will be unable to play as you have to be online to turn on the offline mode for steam (go figure). One distinguishing plus to add, however, is the naval battles. Although these are incredibly slow (even with the fast forward button), it is a legit step above simply having ships auto battle each other (especially when your nation is Dependant on a navy to hold its empire together. Graphics are also amazingly good save for the bugs mentioned above. Unfortunately, these are only present in the battles themselves where in general, you're too busy fighting to notice them. In general, Empire Total War is a great game if far from perfect. Admittedly, it was somewhat of a let down for me in comparison to Rome Total War. While fun at first, the problems I mentioned take quite a bit of the fun out of the game. Furthermore, the complexity, which does add a challenging layer, is one more thing to have to have to look after while still implementing the same interface present in Rome Total War which presents its limitations quite quickly. Expand
  33. Leonardf
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    This game is most likely the best game that i have ever played, and i have played a lot of games through my life. This game is truly epic, a icon to the games of the 2100 century. the cut scene of this game is breath taking, the story is far beyond exiting and the game play is nothing less then addictive. The only flaw about this game is that it ends.
  34. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Fans don't give this game the due credit it deserves. Not only did it save CA from bankruptcy, but it also revitalized the Total War series by offering a new, original take on 18th Century warfare. It's Naval combat is unprecedented in and almost bar none compared to any and all other naval combat games taking place in the 18th century and it's new diplomacy and tech tree mechanics workFans don't give this game the due credit it deserves. Not only did it save CA from bankruptcy, but it also revitalized the Total War series by offering a new, original take on 18th Century warfare. It's Naval combat is unprecedented in and almost bar none compared to any and all other naval combat games taking place in the 18th century and it's new diplomacy and tech tree mechanics work nearly flawlessly in their functionality.

    The gameplay, oh the gameplay, theres a vast amount of tactics and strategies you can devise against opponents, some nations requiring a different approach because of their methods of warfare and tech. It offers more interactive and varied approach to the campaign, offering a wide amount of variation from not only nation to nation, but region to region as to what you use each one for, be it for military, economic, or even technological advances to your country, or perhaps enhancing its national prestige.
    Expand
  35. OliverDay
    Mar 30, 2009
    6
    A good total war title..
    some how doesnt do it all for me though, in comparrison to say Medival total war the game play is just far better on that, If it wasnt for the sea battles this rating would be a flat 5. I feel that with the release of the patch in may that alot of the lag and jerkyness can be remidied.
  36. LoneMedic
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This is simply the best strategy game out there right now. If you want a long game full of depth and strategy, order this game now! I usually don't buy games until they go down, but this game is worth every penny. I'll be playing this for years like I have with all the other Total War games. A 10 doesn't do this game justice. It deserves a 14. It's epic. Simply epic.
  37. ScottMitchell
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Empire: Total War is the greatest addition to the Total War series. It is truly epic in size, the new ways to play the game, including naval battles and The Road to Independance, are absolutly amazing with little to no flaws. This game leaves nothing to be desired. My only wish is that the next one they make will be "Modern: Total War".
  38. Steinus
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    It's an amazing game, but the reason for why I don't give it a 10 is:

    Poor pathfinding, not only in sieges, but in all battles with high altidude differences. HMS Victory is painted in a colour she had in the 19th century, not the 18th. She was red originally. Well, I can't list all the mistakes... Worth buying nonetheless, but if you're a history freak
    It's an amazing game, but the reason for why I don't give it a 10 is:

    Poor pathfinding, not only in sieges, but in all battles with high altidude differences.

    HMS Victory is painted in a colour she had in the 19th century, not the 18th. She was red originally.

    Well, I can't list all the mistakes... Worth buying nonetheless, but if you're a history freak you're gonna have some akward moments of "huh?"
    Expand
  39. JFYoung
    Mar 15, 2009
    5
    Very poor AI. AI embarks and transports no enemy troops on a ship. Many major bugs in the GC = Crash to Desktop. Then after you cant resume your game.

    I played Rome and Medieval II. These 2 games were almost a 10 score but Empire is almost unplayable might be because its unfinished.
  40. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. empire total war is a great game, but like every game its not perfect and has some problems for example:in the previous total war edition you could be multiple nations but in empire total war you just can be 10 nations i think. but I still recommend it. Expand
  41. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This is a strategy game. You will have to defend and expand your empire to get a victory. But this is not easy, you will have to manage city tax policies, deal with revolts, use religion to convert population to the one of you're empire, deal with happiness of cities, train land and naval units, use research to develop technology (by constructing science buildings in cities) and otherThis is a strategy game. You will have to defend and expand your empire to get a victory. But this is not easy, you will have to manage city tax policies, deal with revolts, use religion to convert population to the one of you're empire, deal with happiness of cities, train land and naval units, use research to develop technology (by constructing science buildings in cities) and other complex things typical of strategy games. This series of Total War games is special because in here you can manually fight your battles. What i mean is that if you choose to fight an army with your army (or whatever) you have 2 choices: 1) Auto resolve: based on your unit strength stats against the enemy unit strength stats (and other factor like terrain) one will automatically emerge victorious. And 2) you will fight the war yourself. You will direct your units in real time in the battlefield.

    You have several Empires to select from. Just to name a few: Spain, England, Russia...etc. But you are not in a modern era setting. The game starts somewhere (i don't exactly remember) in the 1750's. So you have to make use of archers, catapults and swordsmen (althought in time you will be able to use cannons and some rifle units) to fight your way to victory. This game is almost as good as Rome: Total War.

    Enjoy!
    Expand
  42. May 6, 2012
    10
    When this game first came out, I could understand the negative reviews, this was an unfinished game with too many bugs. But here we are 3 years later and the game has reached its full potential. Go download DarthMod or one of the many other great mods for this game and you have a masterpiece that, if reviewed again today, would receive many more 10 out of 10s. I have played all of theWhen this game first came out, I could understand the negative reviews, this was an unfinished game with too many bugs. But here we are 3 years later and the game has reached its full potential. Go download DarthMod or one of the many other great mods for this game and you have a masterpiece that, if reviewed again today, would receive many more 10 out of 10s. I have played all of the TW games and ETW is my favorite by measure of hours played (over 500). If you like the blend of risk, civilization, and great battles, then this game is a must have. Expand
  43. EricB.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    I love this game, and luckily I had none of the problems that everyone else had with it, and I've clocked in around 300 hours on it. Great game.
  44. MichaelStuart
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    I would say this game will be the best game until 2015 The graphics are excellent the collision database is better New naval battles with Super detailed water and cannans actually make holes in the ships. The land battle are awesome, you can make your very own Barriers to avoid musket fire i would say to give this game atleast at metascore of 96!
  45. Sep 16, 2010
    3
    I have been an Empire total war fan since Shogun. I am throughly disappointed with this buggy pile of crap. 7 months out and I still get crashes and the AI is out right retarded. I will never again buy anything out of CA on relase date.
  46. CorneliusSanchez
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    I am mostly writing this review in response to John R...Dont rate this game a 2 because you are upset with the way steam functions, you are supposed to rate the game (which coincidently is available from many venues other than steam). John has not played the game and is here to review steam, so I will vote 10 to offset his score of 2
  47. DonG.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    I think this is a really good game. A little hard to put the graphics on very high and make the game the best it should be. What I wanted to see was some fighting in Asia. And what happened the Africa and South America? And another thing is that troops from Europe look kind of the same just with different names and colors. Out of that the graphics could be really good (I just can't) I think this is a really good game. A little hard to put the graphics on very high and make the game the best it should be. What I wanted to see was some fighting in Asia. And what happened the Africa and South America? And another thing is that troops from Europe look kind of the same just with different names and colors. Out of that the graphics could be really good (I just can't) and the game is cool. Expand
  48. TiagoL
    Feb 28, 2010
    9
    The sound effects are just amazing, the land battles aren't boring, the use of gunpowder was very well addapted, the naval battles are the most chalenging issue in the game,and for me, as a portugues, I just loved to see the spanish conquering the portuguese and in the next turn they revolted and appear like a faccion again,very nice detail. Congratulations to the team.
  49. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome!! i am a video game enthusiast and i work at a video game store and i have to say this game is amazing! it's is by far one of the best games in the world and knocks other games of this category like sid meyers games out of the water. if you are a true fan of history and military strategy or just games in general you have to play this game! the user score it got isThis game is awesome!! i am a video game enthusiast and i work at a video game store and i have to say this game is amazing! it's is by far one of the best games in the world and knocks other games of this category like sid meyers games out of the water. if you are a true fan of history and military strategy or just games in general you have to play this game! the user score it got is definitely not what it deserves and it may have a couple of things wrong with it but it is easy to look over with a game this spectacular! I would recommend this game to anyone who wants to sit down and play a nice addicting game. Expand
  50. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Great game. Good graphics, and very playable. All in all a very amazing game. It is a must have for any strategy enthusiast out there. The graphics are amazing and the battles are intense
  51. JaredP.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    This game offers so much to time of fun. You can command almost 15+ nations! AI are great; they can make it easy, or hard for veterans. (And I mean HARD!). This is the game that has the best graphics I've ever seen in my history of gaming.
  52. AttilaCsatari
    Mar 6, 2009
    8
    9 for the game -5 for "Steam". As we used with the earlier versions of TW but with enchancments like sea battles and building you can inhabite on battlefield. Terrible the way activating with "steam" and the need if you want to play! Come on! I am certain that a pirated version is better and I am started to wonder why I've bought mine from store with all these "hocus-pocus"...
  53. MarkW
    Apr 1, 2009
    2
    Well it seems the customers and the 'game' reviewers have a big difference of opinion about this game. As a customer from day 1 that is still unable to play this game without CTD or white screen crash I can honestly say that this game is nothing more than a Beta. Dont beleive me? On C.A's official forum http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/topic/52508 they are asking theWell it seems the customers and the 'game' reviewers have a big difference of opinion about this game. As a customer from day 1 that is still unable to play this game without CTD or white screen crash I can honestly say that this game is nothing more than a Beta. Dont beleive me? On C.A's official forum http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/topic/52508 they are asking the customers if they want to become part of a Beta Group to help get their game properly tested. Never thought I would see the mighty C.A fall from grace like this. Expand
  54. FletcherS
    Apr 21, 2009
    0
    This game was broke from day 1 and after numerous patches it is still broke. I have a good rig, all the other 'new' games run just fine, but ETW crashes consistently during campaigns: Attack specific town= crash. Enter specific territory= crash. I just uninstalled the game, as it is a waste of my hard drive space. This is false advertising at its worst. But I guess the company This game was broke from day 1 and after numerous patches it is still broke. I have a good rig, all the other 'new' games run just fine, but ETW crashes consistently during campaigns: Attack specific town= crash. Enter specific territory= crash. I just uninstalled the game, as it is a waste of my hard drive space. This is false advertising at its worst. But I guess the company is happy because they receive no reprisal and make tons of money on an unfinished game. Expand
  55. Oct 17, 2010
    2
    I feel as if I am being nice to give this game a 2. The installation alone took WAY longer than it should have, and I wasn't even able to play the game. The fact that I payed $20 for a game that wouldn't work on my computer, take up memory space, add stress to my already horrible day, and waste hours trying to find an answer. Anyone looking into this game is much better off taking theI feel as if I am being nice to give this game a 2. The installation alone took WAY longer than it should have, and I wasn't even able to play the game. The fact that I payed $20 for a game that wouldn't work on my computer, take up memory space, add stress to my already horrible day, and waste hours trying to find an answer. Anyone looking into this game is much better off taking the simpler installation that comes with Medieval 2: Total War. Expand
  56. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    this review is written after all the patches and with all the dlc, apart from east units thing, i like it i play as the dutch. the blue guard is THE BEST UNIT. however i find the game crashes often(may be my pc). graphics: speechless. sound: awesome. i would like a mix of napoleon total war and empire. if they made that then total war would rule over everything.
  57. Alex
    Mar 17, 2009
    2
    If you liked M2TW you will like this.. on paper at least. The use of rifles cause the player to use amazing diffrenct tactics, the addition of a large number of very small countries and the increase in trade abilities make this a welcome addition to the series. However was clearly rushed out, the game crashes repeatedly in various parts of the game for many of the users, the campain AI isIf you liked M2TW you will like this.. on paper at least. The use of rifles cause the player to use amazing diffrenct tactics, the addition of a large number of very small countries and the increase in trade abilities make this a welcome addition to the series. However was clearly rushed out, the game crashes repeatedly in various parts of the game for many of the users, the campain AI is laughable, even when at war nations (or shall i say EMPIRES) will rarely attack in land battles, only attacking fleets causing very dull gameplay. Couped with the extreme lag faced during unit selection and turns and the all over feel of unreadiness makes this game nearly unplayable. If you are new to total war get any of the previous ones, if you aren't then go play M2TW. Clearly the 'professional' reviewers once again haven't actually played the game. Expand
  58. RandallSimpson
    Mar 17, 2009
    3
    Laggy, buggy, crash-prone ... don't take my word for it: Look at the developer's own tech support forum. Minimum system specs are a joke.
    Sadly, the little bits that do run on my (well over minimum spec) system look great. Wait until it's patched at least twice before you buy. Not a retail-ready product at release.
  59. ChrisN
    Apr 19, 2009
    1
    I never did this before but I've had such a horrible experience with this game that I could not help myself. All the "critics" must be playing a different game than the one I bought. First and the most infuriating of all is the AI. Out of all the total war games I have played in the past I can never remember it being so bad. The units are often unresponsive to your commands and when I never did this before but I've had such a horrible experience with this game that I could not help myself. All the "critics" must be playing a different game than the one I bought. First and the most infuriating of all is the AI. Out of all the total war games I have played in the past I can never remember it being so bad. The units are often unresponsive to your commands and when you do manage go get them to do what you want they usually have terrible pathing. Try taking a enemy fort without any cannons to see what I mean. Tell your units to grapple the wall and what usually happens is a few of them bounce up and down the rope while the rest of them sit at the base of the wall doing nothing. It's an exercise in frustration. Next is the load times. I don't know if it's just my computer or what but it takes upwards of 2 mins sometimes for a battle to load. Add it to the fact that after your AI does another idiotic thing and costs you a battle that you want to reload it. You spend more time at loading screens than actually playing the game. I don't know if this game was rushed out or something but it feels unfinished and it is almost unplayable in it's current state. And this is even after the patches downloaded from steam. In closing, I just want to give a big F.U. to all the people who had anything to do with this terrible, half-assed, pile of garbage. I used to like this series very much but after wasting 50$ on this embarrassment I will not be buying any more total war games in the future. Expand
  60. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    An absolutely incredible game.

    I still find it strange how a few off the wall Critic Reviews, and a slew of asinine 0 scores from users for computer/Steam issues, can keep the true greatness of this game from being fully revealed to casual searchers. A user score of 6.7 is shameful for this masterpiece.
  61. DerrickS
    Apr 21, 2009
    4
    It looks great on paper. It looks absolutely amazing on paper. Unfortunately this is a PC game, not one played on paper. There is an absolute deluge of bugs which range from rending the game unplayable to making it just not fun. Examples include save files becoming corrupted, the AI not having the ability to attack over the ocean, units gladly firing into their own lines, cannons going It looks great on paper. It looks absolutely amazing on paper. Unfortunately this is a PC game, not one played on paper. There is an absolute deluge of bugs which range from rending the game unplayable to making it just not fun. Examples include save files becoming corrupted, the AI not having the ability to attack over the ocean, units gladly firing into their own lines, cannons going off whether you tell them to or not, numerous sound bugs, the list goes on. To top it off most of the countries play just about the same, with the same units (different names) and not-unlockable minor nations. They also took out things like family trees. Aside from the terrible AI battles are pretty fun. The graphics are good and the underlying mechanics are good. I like how cities develop more in this one than in MW. Overall I'd wait a while before buying this. It's at least one major patch away from being any real fun at all, and likely an expansion away from realizing it's potential. Expand
  62. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Empire Total War is my third Total War game, and it lived up to my expectations. Does the AI have problems? Yes. Is the AI mindless? No. Perhaps I am an idiot and really do not know how to play, but I found the AI challenging and competent. Now, I am speaking from the perspective of a patched game, but the circumstances surrounding the release of the game explain much (having yourEmpire Total War is my third Total War game, and it lived up to my expectations. Does the AI have problems? Yes. Is the AI mindless? No. Perhaps I am an idiot and really do not know how to play, but I found the AI challenging and competent. Now, I am speaking from the perspective of a patched game, but the circumstances surrounding the release of the game explain much (having your main AI programmer have to leave for family problems is going to harm any game at release). Enough of an apologia. This game has a lot going for it. Stunning graphics. A much better balanced economy. Actual naval combat! A tech tree!

    Lastly, know that the Total War mod community has delivered some great mods for this game. If you do not like the game vanilla, then find the mod that works for you.
    Expand
  63. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    I play this game and I think its great. I have all these games and they are great. I am waiting for Shogun2 to come out soon! I have the first one and that is cool but the new Shogun 2 will rock your socks off.
  64. JohnD
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, and the critic reviews speak for themselves. In response to John R., are you inept? For you to rate a game, which is for all intensive purposes a masterpiece, a 2 simply because you dislike steam or it is causing you trouble is nothing short of pure idiocy.
  65. DeadGuy
    Mar 2, 2010
    6
    The much talked about battle AI does not cut it at all in ETW, and is certainly no match at all for veterans of the series. The graphics are shiny, there are many innovative features in the campaign, sadly many are left half-done, and patches have not adressed the problem over the many months ETW has been out. Despite it's flaws, I can't say I don't enjoy playing ETW, even The much talked about battle AI does not cut it at all in ETW, and is certainly no match at all for veterans of the series. The graphics are shiny, there are many innovative features in the campaign, sadly many are left half-done, and patches have not adressed the problem over the many months ETW has been out. Despite it's flaws, I can't say I don't enjoy playing ETW, even quite frequently. There are many nations to play, but very little variety between them. Line Infantry are the same across the board, even if they're called something else in some armies. Artillery is extremely powerful and can rip approaching armies to shreds due to the AI being unable to avoid it or close with your lines quick enough, but at the same time it needs to be micromanaged always, because the fire at will function will kill more of your own men than the enemy's. Expand
  66. TristanDowbiggin
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Hey John R., why do you give a bad rating to a game because you bought it from a crappy system like steam. The game itself is great and very well done, i hope no one listens to someone who blames the game being bad on steam, because steam didnt make it.
  67. StuartHayes
    Mar 6, 2009
    2
    Buggy, Buggy, Buggy, has crashed 20-30 times in my first 8 hours of playing. Now stuck at one point in the game, crashing after each battle before I can save. Game should never have been released with such stability issues. When it was working it seemed like a great game. Don't waste your time starting it until the patches have been rolled out
  68. J.Morgan
    Mar 8, 2009
    6
    Very...very very buggy.

    Under all those bugs, and honestly there are too many to list (check out the official forums and TW forums) is a great game.

    I don't know if CA will be able to claw threw them all or not, its worse than any TW game on release to date I think.
  69. AndrewHaeberlin
    Apr 1, 2009
    4
    This would have been a great game . . . if they'd finished developing it. Buggy, crash prone, and utterly unplayable. Don't buy it for at least a few months - the fact that they're apparently using fans of the series to do play testing rather than doing it themselves is frustrating, to say the least.
  70. NickMartin
    Apr 7, 2009
    0
    this game is unplayable. Repeated crashes to desktop from a multitude of reasons and corrupted save files which prevent you from reloading games. Just go here: http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/forums/126 and you can see all the issues with the game and the lack of support from Creative Assembly. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
  71. DanielBarnett
    Mar 11, 2009
    6
    A bit of a disapointment, lots of features mentioned seem to have been cut in the final release, and above all it looks terrible in the battles when zoomed out - I mean really bad, like a 10 year old game with 6 pixel soldiers with waggly legs. Granted it looks great close up, but the AI is poor and the features are alot more limited than we were led to belive.
  72. RobNadr
    Mar 18, 2009
    0
    Sounds like a great game if you could install it from the CD. Went to website to see how to do it and tried it and it did not work. Sent an email and have not heard back from Sega. Best advice... don't buy, stay with Medival War II.
  73. AaronLaed
    Mar 26, 2009
    0
    I was a huge fan of the totalwar series, but this is by far the worst of the totalwar games released. It crashes constantly (after downloading the first patch) The AI is weak and unit pathing is terrible. I can't recall buying a game as bad as this one. I doubt that I will ever purchase another totalwar game, what a piece of junk! Buy Rome Totalwar if you want to play a good game.
  74. MatthewMoore
    Apr 1, 2009
    0
    Well I wish I could complain about the crashing in this game but I still have not been able to play it. I knew i would have to register is with steam before I was able to play... was not aware that it needed to download from them. I move around the country alot and don't always have a great internet signal. I love my other Total War games but wouldn't reccomend this one to myWell I wish I could complain about the crashing in this game but I still have not been able to play it. I knew i would have to register is with steam before I was able to play... was not aware that it needed to download from them. I move around the country alot and don't always have a great internet signal. I love my other Total War games but wouldn't reccomend this one to my worst enemy. Expand
  75. JohnH.
    Mar 22, 2009
    1
    After playing Medieval II: Total War and seeing the promo videos of Empire, I purchased the game on the day of release. What a disappointment! The game is unfinished and requires a huge amount of work to become playable, let alone enjoyable. It is very buggy and will crash to desktop several times per turn. The AI is crude at best and it's almost impossible to lose the game. TheAfter playing Medieval II: Total War and seeing the promo videos of Empire, I purchased the game on the day of release. What a disappointment! The game is unfinished and requires a huge amount of work to become playable, let alone enjoyable. It is very buggy and will crash to desktop several times per turn. The AI is crude at best and it's almost impossible to lose the game. The developer, The Creative Assembly, has been slow to patch and if you read the gaming forums, has created a huge backlash through the gaming community with this release. My recommendation for anyone considering purchasing this game is to delay that purchase until it has become evident that the game has been fixed with appropriate patches and updates. At this time, the game is broken and unplayable. Expand
  76. Nov 28, 2014
    1
    Someone complained about a lack of updates on reviews?
    Ok, here it is.
    This is the worst game of the series Total War. I found the gameplay and the strategy of the entire system to be flawed and annoying. On easier difficulties the enemy would just enter your line of sight, get shot at, flee as they were being butchered, 10 seconds later they decide to make another attempt because well
    Someone complained about a lack of updates on reviews?
    Ok, here it is.

    This is the worst game of the series Total War. I found the gameplay and the strategy of the entire system to be flawed and annoying. On easier difficulties the enemy would just enter your line of sight, get shot at, flee as they were being butchered, 10 seconds later they decide to make another attempt because well - nothing changed. Again they enter the line of fire, take a few losses and run.

    How is this better than Rome 2? A Total war game in which the AI ran through my volley of catapults (barely on Hard difficulty) to reach my few melee units, circled my general with pikes and closed in for the kill, that I barely escaped from. I don't get how some people's brain works, when games like Empire total war is considered to be awesome and Rome 2, is crap. Rome 2 has it's flaws still, but years later, Empire total war is still a piece of crap.
    Expand
  77. Iain
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Great game, campaign is mode is good and so is the online play. some problems with battlefield AI and diplomacy, also the writing is hard to read. Not as good as Rome but better than medieval 2
  78. LiamH
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Excellent game although the online has been ruined by people doing anything to win for example massed skirmisher armies. This was a big let down for me but other than that it is great.
  79. travisp
    Apr 4, 2009
    5
    ok,first off,steam is the worst piece off junk ever and i think it is totally WORTHLESS! ive used steam before for other games and i couldnt even start the game i was playing,steam should have nothing to do with this game,secondly,empire itself is an amazing game.but it has so many bugs and problems that right now,in my opinion,this game would be a waste of $50,but if they would reviseok,first off,steam is the worst piece off junk ever and i think it is totally WORTHLESS! ive used steam before for other games and i couldnt even start the game i was playing,steam should have nothing to do with this game,secondly,empire itself is an amazing game.but it has so many bugs and problems that right now,in my opinion,this game would be a waste of $50,but if they would revise it,best game ever. Expand
  80. AndyTang
    Mar 11, 2009
    7
    Game wise, it is fantastic but CA has chosen a bad way of distributing their game, via STEAM. I have terrible experience with STEAM few years back and it fails me again similarly few years later. I wasted 3 hours (some folks on the net even days) without able to install the game, stuck at "Creating local game cache files" due to the large chunk of data required to be downloaded from theGame wise, it is fantastic but CA has chosen a bad way of distributing their game, via STEAM. I have terrible experience with STEAM few years back and it fails me again similarly few years later. I wasted 3 hours (some folks on the net even days) without able to install the game, stuck at "Creating local game cache files" due to the large chunk of data required to be downloaded from the internet before you can even install it. STEAM is a bad bad choice CA. Expand
  81. JonFusco
    Mar 15, 2009
    6
    With out the Modders to fix this game I will have to rate it a 6. I dont see this game having much of a future and in time I bet players will unistall this game and focus back on playing Rome and M2. To bad the nice graphics and naval battle option was fun.
  82. THoban
    Mar 5, 2009
    7
    The game looks great and the battlefield really comes alive, but the AI remains as dumb as ever. I haven't lost a battle yet because the AI doesn't protect it's artillery. This means that things are a (very pretty) pushover. Hopefullly the promised multiplayer campaign patch will provide some decent human opponents :)
  83. ronaldmcdonald
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    would like to give it a 10 because it's a fantastic game from what I have seen so far except i can't play it because it crashes ALL the time and i mean that literally all the time.
    I am currently waiting and hoping on patches to fix this before I give it another go, I really is unplayable in it's current state.
  84. CharlesT
    May 23, 2009
    9
    The graphics work fine and the game is amazing, the only gripe I have with it is that once your empire grows to the point where you own 2/3rds of the world it starts crashing if you try to take over the rest, which if we're honest is a very fun part of the game.
  85. Jackalen
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    Totally love the era Empire total war is exploring. With patience, the new patches and perhaps some mods made Empire total war an excellent, beautiful and addicting game. I would recomend it to anyone that own a good computer =)
  86. edoardoed
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    the grafic is wonderful and it s a very good strategy game. On my pc it never falls and i fink that if you have a powerful PC this is one of the best games that you can install. It s a MUST HAVE for every rts player!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  87. GregN
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    I cant possibly believe the low scores given by people who claim to have "gaming" or "high-end" CPUs. I have a 5 year old CPU that runs the game a little slow with some chop but naval battles are clean. This game rocks!!!!
  88. JohnS
    Mar 25, 2009
    5
    This could have been the best TW to date, and given six months of patching probably will be, at the moment though it is so poorly finished as to be a waste of money. The game has some awful bugs that couldn't have been missed in playtesting so I can only assume the publishers concluded a public beta was the cheapest way forward - the most game breaking bug for me is the inability ofThis could have been the best TW to date, and given six months of patching probably will be, at the moment though it is so poorly finished as to be a waste of money. The game has some awful bugs that couldn't have been missed in playtesting so I can only assume the publishers concluded a public beta was the cheapest way forward - the most game breaking bug for me is the inability of the AI to invade across water - it simply cannot use land armies and ships to land invasion forces. In effect nations like Great Britain are invulnerable at the present time. Its depressing that most reviewers (both professional and otherwise) are simply scoring it on the basis of the game they hope it will be rather than the game it is today, to what extent this is down to them simply not noticing the poor AI and attributing their success to 'skill' is an interesting question particularly in relation to those who do this for a living.

    It will almost certainly be a great game once patched up, but anyone considering the purchase may be better served holding off for a few patches.
    Expand
  89. [anonymous]
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    probably the best total war game thus far. I love the naval battles and tech tree!
  90. DaveB
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    As usual,CA turns out yet another masterful product. As for the people complaining about poor performance, I suggest they try playing on something more advanced than a Commodore 64. It's not the developer's fault if your welfare computer sucks balls.
  91. AaronY
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Everyone who says this game has glitches or crashes is 1. The don't know how to run the game, or 2. They are playing the game on an ancient computer. I've been playing this game for the past few weeks and all I got was a crash and that was because my computer had to install an update. I have always wanted a strategy game that involves all aspects of a real war and this game is Everyone who says this game has glitches or crashes is 1. The don't know how to run the game, or 2. They are playing the game on an ancient computer. I've been playing this game for the past few weeks and all I got was a crash and that was because my computer had to install an update. I have always wanted a strategy game that involves all aspects of a real war and this game is as close as you can get to that. I applaud the developer for thinking of every possible angle. Although this will be a bit difficult for new players to the strategy genre to grasp, this is an excellent game. The only drawback is that the AI in single player and to aggressive and trying to make deals and agreements with them are impossible. Expand
  92. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most amazing game ever created, much better than the previous Medieval 2 and Rome, and in my opinion, better than Napoleon.
    The scope of this game is fantastic, it includes 3 land theatres: Americas (from the Hudson Bay to Guyana), Europe (Iceland to Mesopotamia, Sweden to North Africa) and India (Mesopotamia to Calcutta); and four trade theatres: East Indies, Strait of
    This is by far the most amazing game ever created, much better than the previous Medieval 2 and Rome, and in my opinion, better than Napoleon.
    The scope of this game is fantastic, it includes 3 land theatres: Americas (from the Hudson Bay to Guyana), Europe (Iceland to Mesopotamia, Sweden to North Africa) and India (Mesopotamia to Calcutta); and four trade theatres: East Indies, Strait of Madagascar, Ivory Coast, and coast of Brazil. Together, all these spaces combine to give the player a game that truly spreads across the world.
    In this game, there are 12 major factions, 11 of which are playable. They include Great Britain, France, Spain, Austria, Prussia, Poland-Lithuania, Russia, United Provinces, Ottoman Empire, Sweden and the Maratha Confederacy. The United States is also playable in a separate campaign. These factions all have different starting positions, victory conditions, economic and military strengths and diplomatic relations. Even with these factions and the more than 50 others, the game still runs smoothly and naturally through history.
    The graphics are great, especially with the new sea battles, they really help bring the action to life.
    Most of the other reviews complain about Steam. STEAM IS NOT THE GAME! Steam can be a little annoying at times, especially the fact that you cannot play the game without Steam, however, once the game is installed and updated, Steam will hardly ever bother you again.
    To those who gave the game bad reviews because of crashes, it's not the game's fault that you have a faulty computer, if your computer were up to the task, the game would run fine.
    This is my favorite game, and I have played many games. It will be hard to top it, so Creative Assembly should keep up the good work!
    Expand
  93. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    I am a massive Total War fan, but Empire: Total War was disappointing and a missed opportunity. While some new features were extremely welcome, such as more robust diplomacy and research, ultimately what stopped this from being great were the tactical battles. There was almost no interesting dynamics to the battles. Cavalry and artillery were under-powered, and you could win the entireI am a massive Total War fan, but Empire: Total War was disappointing and a missed opportunity. While some new features were extremely welcome, such as more robust diplomacy and research, ultimately what stopped this from being great were the tactical battles. There was almost no interesting dynamics to the battles. Cavalry and artillery were under-powered, and you could win the entire campaign with only massed line infantry. Naval battles were spectacular to look at, but controlling more than one ship was a headache. As to the campaign map, while the epic scope was appreciated, the fact that the map was so large that it made the campaign slow and unfocused. Compared to such masterpieces as Rome: Total War and Medieval II: Total War, this one was a let-down. Anyone interested in the Total War series I recommend you get Total War: Shogun 2 and skip this one. Expand
  94. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This game was another perfect, eye-popping experience from the genius minds of Creative Assembly. Featuring all the features of past Total War games (minus family trees) and more (research trees), outstanding graphics, and wonderful, strategic large-scale combat. My only complaint is that you can't play as America in the multiplayer coop campaign beta. Otherwise, a must have for any TotalThis game was another perfect, eye-popping experience from the genius minds of Creative Assembly. Featuring all the features of past Total War games (minus family trees) and more (research trees), outstanding graphics, and wonderful, strategic large-scale combat. My only complaint is that you can't play as America in the multiplayer coop campaign beta. Otherwise, a must have for any Total War and history enthusiast.

    Keep in mind that this game has next to no similarities to games such as Command and Conquer and Starcraft 2. If you like fast-paced zerg spam and a quick 30 minute game fix, this game is NOT for you.
    Expand
  95. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    I have spent just over 360 hours playing this game and I have really come to love it. I have played using Prussia and after more than 400 turns I have almost taken every province in the game. Initially when the game was first released I was plagued by crashes and memory problems. Also Steam got in the way as well. If it wasn't for all of the crashing initially, i would have given the gameI have spent just over 360 hours playing this game and I have really come to love it. I have played using Prussia and after more than 400 turns I have almost taken every province in the game. Initially when the game was first released I was plagued by crashes and memory problems. Also Steam got in the way as well. If it wasn't for all of the crashing initially, i would have given the game a 10.
    The Pros: gorgeous battle scenes, good controls, good variation in battle locations (particularly the ocean battles).
    The Cons: if you are obsessed with controlling everything (if you can't trust an AI!), then the larger your empire gets, the lengthier each turn can get with managing all of your units. Also, I have a problem where the campaign map won't scroll, so I need to click on the mini-map. Auto-resolve of battles always yields a crappy result as compared with what you can do yourself, so you end up fighting a lot of battles that really you could skip over.

    Overall, although my list of cons is lengthy, the the joy of beating off multiple nations at the same time, and the gorgeous battles makes this game a winner.
    Expand
  96. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    A monumental strategy game with only a few flaws. The single player campaign is fun and really helps you get a grasp on the game especially if you are unfamiliar with the Total War series. The campaign mode is extremely fun and ripe with re playability, with the short/long campaigns and the multiple nations you can play as. The combat is very fun and requires a great strategic mind,A monumental strategy game with only a few flaws. The single player campaign is fun and really helps you get a grasp on the game especially if you are unfamiliar with the Total War series. The campaign mode is extremely fun and ripe with re playability, with the short/long campaigns and the multiple nations you can play as. The combat is very fun and requires a great strategic mind, even in the single player modes, and with the changing battle terrain depending on your location of the map, you can get some very unique battlefield situations in or against your favor. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a deep strategy game experience. Expand
  97. TotalWarFan
    Feb 27, 2010
    4
    Though I love Total War games and believe that they are among the greatest games of any genre ever made, I can't say that I was impressed. The battle graphics are horrible, especially when you zoom out, and the diplomacy is also terrible. The custom battle maps are also very bad, with the fact that there are barely any buildings, and the AI players are absolutely horrible! The Though I love Total War games and believe that they are among the greatest games of any genre ever made, I can't say that I was impressed. The battle graphics are horrible, especially when you zoom out, and the diplomacy is also terrible. The custom battle maps are also very bad, with the fact that there are barely any buildings, and the AI players are absolutely horrible! The campaign is fun, but Africa, South America, and at least parts of Central and Eastern Asia should be included. The unit detail is fairly good, but the men all look exactly the same; even the militias, Native Americans, and minutemen! Empire: Total War is okay but Medieval II: Total War is, without a doubt, the best video game ever made, and no one should ever make the mistake of comparing Empire to Medieval II or even Rome: Total War. I would give it a higher score because of the campaign, and even with all the problems it is a good game, but I must give Empire: Total War a 4 because it is a terrible game in comparison to the rest of The Creative Assembly's games. I only hope that Napoleon: Total War is better. Expand
  98. TChips
    Apr 3, 2009
    2
    Waited a few months to buy the game as suggested by other users, but its been a huge dissapointment, I installed the game and tried to load it but the annoyin windows messag came up saying that the game had stopped working. Ive been a huge fan since shogun came out and i feel let down so far by empire. im gonna write another review when the game decides it wants to work and then ill see ifWaited a few months to buy the game as suggested by other users, but its been a huge dissapointment, I installed the game and tried to load it but the annoyin windows messag came up saying that the game had stopped working. Ive been a huge fan since shogun came out and i feel let down so far by empire. im gonna write another review when the game decides it wants to work and then ill see if it lives up to game spys reivew Expand
  99. PeteB
    Apr 18, 2009
    1
    This game doesent play properly and it crashes continually- I cant understand how anyone can say it is good!! You are lucky to finish a couple of campaign moves before a crash. Avoid at all costs.
  100. AustriaFrance
    Apr 3, 2009
    0
    What a Steaming pile! I cannot even get the demo to load (through Steam) without crashing. $50 for what? So Steam can regulate what I do? No thanks. Good luck to everyone who chooses to support such pile of waste (Steam that is). I agree with the afforementioned boycott strategy! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME UNTIL STEAM GOES AWAY!!!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Astonishing...Immense... A strategy masterwork. [Mar 2009, p.54]
  2. In some ways, it's the closest we've come to the enormous social novel from the period after that which Empire chronicles: it's a Tolstoy-esque War and Peace of a game. Its problems may be the inevitable problems of trying something with such sheer scope. As such, if you want the breathtaking vision of the game, you have to accept the flaws in the details - for now, at least.
  3. This is the best Total War game thanks to all the little tweaks. Sometimes little differences make a good game great. The battles ask of you that you think more about your actions and managing your empire never was easier. The sea battles are fun to watch, but are a little hard to control. Nevertheless, Empire: Total War is a game that can make you forget about the time.